Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2015
Not a bad campground small it was tight getting our truck and fifth wheel around camp sites tight
Aug 08, 2015
This is not what we expected from a KOA.There wifi is a joke,unless you are in the clubhouse you cannot get online. There is only one bath house,if you are staying at the far end of the campground you will have a very long walk to the facilities. They do not pick up garbage or deliver firewood and some of the staff is far from friendly. The only plus side is location and the KOA name. Never again!
Aug 08, 2015
The area is so pretty and very close to everything. You can drive, walk, or ride your bike to a lot of attractions.
Aug 08, 2015
The staff was super friendly and could answer any questions I had! It was so close to everything in town and I'll definitely be back again!
Aug 07, 2015
Park roads need pavement!!! Way to much mud when it rains.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
The KOA in Mackinaw was a pleasure to camp at. I beautiful, quiet place to stay with clean amenities! The staff was kind and always around when you needed someone. The bike path which leads to town was right there and the beach is down the street. We will definitely be back! Thanks!!!
Aug 07, 2015
Awesome. Awesome .Awesome ...look forward to returning next year..staff was so nice
Aug 07, 2015
Needs a good cleanup and upgrade. This in an OK overnight campground but as a destination it is sub-par.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice place for a overnight stay
Aug 06, 2015
WiFi totally inadequate
Aug 06, 2015
Great, clean KOA & good transportation arrangements to tourist attractions in Mackinaw City. Staff were very helpful with advice concerning tourist attractions. Will definitely visit this KOA again.
Aug 06, 2015
was disappointed in the dog policy, much to restricted. Only one bathroom/showers for the whole CG. Our picnic table was dried up and one of the top boards was split and it was is need of a paint job. On the plus sided, it was quit and peaceful and located close to town.
Aug 05, 2015
The workers seemed very friendly. We did not enjoy the small completely gravel lot. Some rules seemed excessive. Not sure we will stay at a koa again.
Aug 05, 2015
The campground was very friendly and clean. The staff was helpful and pleasant.
Aug 05, 2015
We always enjoy staying here as when we are in the area. The toilet rooms could use a little upgrading but were clean. We had an end spot this time and the fire pit and picnic table were on the opposite side from our doors. We were told after we had been there a day that we could have pulled in from the opposite direction since we had the end site but it was too late to unhook, move and re-hook
Aug 05, 2015
I would recommend it for the location. I gave it only 4 stars because of the dated park and Wi-Fi was only working 1/2 the time.
Aug 05, 2015
The WiFi was unbelievabley slow and unacceptable.
Aug 05, 2015
Loved location and site. Did not like the coed showers with no locks provided. Staff were super helpful and friendly.
Aug 04, 2015
Very quiet and peaceful campground! Really enjoyed our stay!
Aug 04, 2015
Great location very close to the highway and Mackinaw City. Friendly staff and very nice sites. Kids playground equipment lacks compared to other KOA's we have stayed at.
Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground, pool, Internet was weak, could only get email..
Aug 04, 2015
Very well maintained. Level site, clean restrooms. Nice Dog Run
Aug 04, 2015
Definitely would stay again, the sites are a little short for both MH and toad, or 5th wheel and a truck, but campers make it work. Office staff is excellent; easy access to town. You can request a free shuttle to take you to the ferry docks, would stay here again.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Super nice people that run the place.. Sites are a little small for the big rigs. Left a day early because of bad storms moving in wouldn't give us a refund . I know they don't because of weather but do they really want people there with trees falling down on them? They should rethink this policy and refund only if there are tornado or storm warnings ( which there was)
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The only draw back was that the sites were a little bit cramped and we were not able to have a camp fire because the fire pit ended up under our Awning.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Loved the campground and the cabins - very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. However, the bathroom shower locks were awful and I felt like I would get walked in on at any second.
Aug 03, 2015
Would stay here again and again. Wish you had some grcoeries on hand. Pleased with everything. Wonderful place and clesan.
Aug 03, 2015
The place was clean and exactly what a I expected. The only problem I had was while I was gone a gust of wind blew my tent and canopy over. Several of the campers around me reported it, someone came to look at it, said they could do nothing, and never contacted me to let me know. I didn't know about it until I returned. I had to fix everything in the darkness. A phone call should have been made.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground. Only complaint is the showers. Some of the doors would not close and most of the doors did not lock which I really did not like.
Aug 03, 2015
This was a nice quiet and clean campsite and the pool was great as well with friendly staff
Aug 03, 2015
We had a very good time. Didnt stay but two days and we where not at the sight but at night. Bathroom shower stalls..some didnt lock. A little bit of a hike to the bathrooms. clean.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
It was a great little place! We already know we want to come back next year! But this time we want to stay a little longer!
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time! Camper cabin was wonderful all the amenities you could want very clean. Great staff
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time. It's a short bike ride to the ferry. Awesome location. Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean.
Aug 02, 2015
Enjoyed the campground and the people there. The sites are good and it's well located; however, the interior roads NEED to be paved. Dirt/gravel roads now create too much dust!
Aug 02, 2015
Very good condition. . Nice location
Aug 01, 2015
Great location. Easy 15 minute bike ride to Mackinaw City. Disappointed in: bathroom showers very small, one shower door does not shut another does not lock... Pool closed at 8:30...too early. Should stay open till 9 or 9:30 Very friendly and helpful staff!
Aug 01, 2015
Beth and staff are wonderful, always courteous and helpful. The facilities are well taken care of. A nice serene atmosphere.
Aug 01, 2015
We felt like friends the moment we walked into the office. The staff was incredibly hospitable and very helpful. They recommended places to eat, things to see and what to do. They chatted as if we had known them but hadn't seen them in a while. The sites were clean as were the bathrooms and showering facilities. The kids enjoyed the pool. Even the other campers were friendly and chatty.
Aug 01, 2015
Bathhouses were always dirty. Our site was supposed to have cable and it didn't. Would not recommend this KOA.
Jul 31, 2015
Nice little campground and very close to shopping and attractions clean.
Jul 31, 2015
Super nice people. Site was a little small, but other than that, very nice.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice. Clean, quiet, well maintained.
Jul 31, 2015
Easy access to Mackinaw City. Staff very friendly. Pool is small but adequate. Sites were level. Oak trees rained sticky sap everywhere :( met lots of nice people.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.