Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Loved the campground and the cabins - very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. However, the bathroom shower locks were awful and I felt like I would get walked in on at any second.
Aug 03, 2015
Would stay here again and again. Wish you had some grcoeries on hand. Pleased with everything. Wonderful place and clesan.
Aug 03, 2015
The place was clean and exactly what a I expected. The only problem I had was while I was gone a gust of wind blew my tent and canopy over. Several of the campers around me reported it, someone came to look at it, said they could do nothing, and never contacted me to let me know. I didn't know about it until I returned. I had to fix everything in the darkness. A phone call should have been made.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground. Only complaint is the showers. Some of the doors would not close and most of the doors did not lock which I really did not like.
Aug 03, 2015
This was a nice quiet and clean campsite and the pool was great as well with friendly staff
Aug 03, 2015
We had a very good time. Didnt stay but two days and we where not at the sight but at night. Bathroom shower stalls..some didnt lock. A little bit of a hike to the bathrooms. clean.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
It was a great little place! We already know we want to come back next year! But this time we want to stay a little longer!
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time! Camper cabin was wonderful all the amenities you could want very clean. Great staff
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time. It's a short bike ride to the ferry. Awesome location. Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean.
Aug 02, 2015
Enjoyed the campground and the people there. The sites are good and it's well located; however, the interior roads NEED to be paved. Dirt/gravel roads now create too much dust!
Aug 02, 2015
Very good condition. . Nice location
Aug 01, 2015
Great location. Easy 15 minute bike ride to Mackinaw City. Disappointed in: bathroom showers very small, one shower door does not shut another does not lock... Pool closed at 8:30...too early. Should stay open till 9 or 9:30 Very friendly and helpful staff!
Aug 01, 2015
Beth and staff are wonderful, always courteous and helpful. The facilities are well taken care of. A nice serene atmosphere.
Aug 01, 2015
We felt like friends the moment we walked into the office. The staff was incredibly hospitable and very helpful. They recommended places to eat, things to see and what to do. They chatted as if we had known them but hadn't seen them in a while. The sites were clean as were the bathrooms and showering facilities. The kids enjoyed the pool. Even the other campers were friendly and chatty.
Aug 01, 2015
Bathhouses were always dirty. Our site was supposed to have cable and it didn't. Would not recommend this KOA.
Jul 31, 2015
Nice little campground and very close to shopping and attractions clean.
Jul 31, 2015
Super nice people. Site was a little small, but other than that, very nice.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice. Clean, quiet, well maintained.
Jul 31, 2015
Easy access to Mackinaw City. Staff very friendly. Pool is small but adequate. Sites were level. Oak trees rained sticky sap everywhere :( met lots of nice people.
Jul 31, 2015
It was a great location for us as we were heading west! Very easy to find and very friendly helpful staff!
Jul 31, 2015
Fire pit was right next to neighbors sewer. Couldn't get a good signal for wifi or cable. Although other people said theirs was very good.
Jul 31, 2015
Staff always helpful. Facility ALWAYS clean
Jul 31, 2015
Shower situation with men and women in same area was uncomfortable. Door on one shower would not close. Needs some repairs. Night staff was friendly.
Jul 30, 2015
staff very helpful. campground and facilities clean
Jul 30, 2015
Very nice park. Excellent location. Having the shuttle was great!
Jul 30, 2015
I reserved a 30/50 amp site with full hookup. I said in the reservation I had 2 slide outs. Was put in a site with a few trees I had to manuever the trailer so i could put out my slideouts but was unable to use my fire pit. Why ask how many slideouts if you don't use that info. Small close sites.
Jul 30, 2015
Great park. Very quiet and managed well. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The only reason I didn't give it a five were the bathrooms. Although very nice, half the time the bathroom doors wouldn't close enough to lock. I like to make sure the family is okay while alone in the shower. Doors just need to be worked on. Other that, Great Place!
Jul 30, 2015
WI Fi a little iffy. Otherwise a great place to stay. People very helpful
Jul 29, 2015
The worst KOA I have stayed at. Communal showers, doors don't close or lock. Not very clean. Only a pool for kids and a very old playground. Lots to close together. Miserable unfriendly staff!
Jul 29, 2015
Enjoyed staying there, loved that there was a walking trail to downtown!
Jul 29, 2015
We came to Mackinaw for our honeymoon in July of 1965 and return every year to celebrate our anniversary. This year is our 50th anniversary and we have been camping with you since you first opened in the late 1970's We love your campground and look forward to camping on site #51 every year. Thanks for the Memories and God Bless You.
Jul 29, 2015
Leaving Mackinaw City earlier than planned. Unfortunately we selected a KOA campground (Mackinaw City KOA) that is NOT PET FRIENDLY. You cannot leave your pet in your RV when you leave the park, you must take them with you. They suggest that you board them in a kennel while you are out and about. Also, they didn't like our pet fence which allowed our very small Poodles to move around freely, and n
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
We were up the road at another campground that we weren't thrilled about so randomly hit the KOA website, saw there was an available pull thru, reserved it online, drove to the campground, and sure enough it all went without a hitch! Great easy campsite, great amenities, great people! We will be back! It was close enough to everything for us to ride bikes right into town! Loved it! Thanks tons!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Location was great, everything at the cabin was situated very nicely. 1 recommendation - a ceiling fan or some sort of fan would have been excellent. It was hot and stuffy in our cabin and I didn't sleep well. But overall - out stay was excellent.
Jul 28, 2015
Good location, next to bike trail to downtown/ferry dock area (1 mile).
Jul 28, 2015
Nicely treed. A little tight for us. We prefer wider sites. No extra lights and very quiet...like and like.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great weekend stay...found everything I needed (except coffee creamer) at the camp store. Friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2015
The campground hosts were very helpful in planning our outings and making suggestions. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Had such a great time. Staff and facilities were amazing. Can not wait for next time!!
Jul 27, 2015
My only suggestion would be the cleanliness of the bathroom. Someone had vomited and it remained for almost 24 hours.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
it was an enjoyable stay and reasonably priced
Jul 27, 2015
We really loved the campground but online they said they had cable and wi-fi. We could not get the wi- fi to work at all. It was quaint and a little old fashioned but we had a great time. The game room was very outdated and extremely hot.
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.