Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2015
It was a very clean well cared for park. We had a very relaxing stay. We loved the trees that were throughout the whole park!
Aug 15, 2015
Friendly helpful staff, level site, clean.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
Nice place, fair price.
Aug 13, 2015
Very close to downtown and well kept park
Aug 13, 2015
It is a nice campground and conveniently located. The staff personnel were very friend. It did look like the campground could use some TLC and updating.
Aug 13, 2015
We love this campground. Roomy sites, showers & restrooms and pool area very clean and well kept! Close enough to everything but quiet off the beaten path.
Aug 13, 2015
Did not like co-ed showers.
Aug 13, 2015
Very welcoming, clean, organized. Staff very helpful regarding getting to Mackinac Island. Will be back!
Aug 13, 2015
We have stayed here twice in the past few years. We like that you have a free shuttle to the town. Not everyone with an RV tows a car and we tend to stay at sites that offer this amenity when their are attractions to see.
Aug 12, 2015
Very Friendly Staff, Pull through Sites,Great location to local attractions. Perfect.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time. The staff was able to take immediate care our request for an extra night and the campsite was great.
Aug 12, 2015
We enjoyed the Mackinac city KOA much as this was our first experience and camping, we found the management and the working personnel extremely helpful and very courteous there's no doubt that if we keep going with camping we will return
Aug 12, 2015
Poor Wifi,Loud motorcycles,poor placement of the fire pits. Friendly staff
Aug 11, 2015
Only wish the WiFI had worked better - it was pretty weak.
Aug 11, 2015
The campground was very clean and well cared for, and the staff were all very friendly. Our only complaint was with the WiFi, even with repeated attempts to sign on in the middle of the night, we weren't able to get anything done (we were at times able to sign on, only to lose our connection before responding to email. This would have been less disappointing had WiFi not been advertised.
Aug 11, 2015
Narrow sights made smaller by our site being the shortcut to the bath house.
Aug 11, 2015
Very nice place to stay,clean,roomy,swimming pool and friendly staffs.👍
Aug 11, 2015
We had a tent site with electricity, however the electricity didn't work and that was very disappointing.
Aug 11, 2015
All sites are shaded and nice and dark at nite. Loved the KOA and will return.
Aug 11, 2015
As in the past, this campground was fabulous. Clean, quiet, and well maintained. Bob and Beth are truly a pleasure to talk to and do business with. I highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 11, 2015
Loved how close so many things were, especially the Dark Sky Park! Our stay here was great, but the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner
Aug 11, 2015
Stayed in the small cabins for a night while visiting the UP and mackinaw. Nice and clean had a fire pit and charcoal grill, showers and bath house were very clean. Cheaper than any motel/hotel in the area. We would definitely stay again.
Aug 10, 2015
Loved our stay! Facilities were clean and staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Recommend that a plunger be left in the bathrooms overnight while staff is away.
Aug 10, 2015
Always a nice campground to stay at.
Aug 10, 2015
Needs walk ways so you are not cutting through campsites to go to the showers.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Liked being able to have two sites side by side, other campground wouldn't do that because our other party camp out of their van. Kids had a great time in the pool. Laundry facilities came in handy, office even had told of quarters.
Aug 10, 2015
Disappointing
Aug 10, 2015
Great location an grat area easy access to downtown. I'd stay there again.
Aug 10, 2015
First time here, everyone was very nice and the campground was well kept. We will come back.
Aug 09, 2015
Close to attractions, convenient shuttle, clean!
Aug 09, 2015
Had another great stay
Aug 09, 2015
We had a great time at the KOA in mackinaw city. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our site was large and had lots of shade like we were hoping.
Aug 09, 2015
I saw many reviews that said the sites were very small and I was hesitant to stay at this camp ground. We had a back in site that was very roomy. We found the direct access to the bike trail into Mackinaw City a real plus. We rode our bikes to the ferry docks and took our bikes to the island without the hassle parking. The shower rooms were clean and modern.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
The showers needed some work not all the doors had working locks and someone walked in on my sixteen year old daughter. The sites were okay. Told we had a bigger site but just got our trailer on it.
Aug 08, 2015
Not a bad campground small it was tight getting our truck and fifth wheel around camp sites tight
Aug 08, 2015
This is not what we expected from a KOA.There wifi is a joke,unless you are in the clubhouse you cannot get online. There is only one bath house,if you are staying at the far end of the campground you will have a very long walk to the facilities. They do not pick up garbage or deliver firewood and some of the staff is far from friendly. The only plus side is location and the KOA name. Never again!
Aug 08, 2015
The area is so pretty and very close to everything. You can drive, walk, or ride your bike to a lot of attractions.
Aug 08, 2015
The staff was super friendly and could answer any questions I had! It was so close to everything in town and I'll definitely be back again!
Aug 07, 2015
Park roads need pavement!!! Way to much mud when it rains.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
The KOA in Mackinaw was a pleasure to camp at. I beautiful, quiet place to stay with clean amenities! The staff was kind and always around when you needed someone. The bike path which leads to town was right there and the beach is down the street. We will definitely be back! Thanks!!!
Aug 07, 2015
Awesome. Awesome .Awesome ...look forward to returning next year..staff was so nice
Aug 07, 2015
Needs a good cleanup and upgrade. This in an OK overnight campground but as a destination it is sub-par.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice place for a overnight stay
Aug 06, 2015
WiFi totally inadequate
Aug 06, 2015
Great, clean KOA & good transportation arrangements to tourist attractions in Mackinaw City. Staff were very helpful with advice concerning tourist attractions. Will definitely visit this KOA again.
Aug 06, 2015
was disappointed in the dog policy, much to restricted. Only one bathroom/showers for the whole CG. Our picnic table was dried up and one of the top boards was split and it was is need of a paint job. On the plus sided, it was quit and peaceful and located close to town.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.