Luray KOA

3402 Kimball Rd

Luray, VA 22835

Reserve: 800-562-2790

Info: 540-743-7222

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
I stayed at the tent site with the electrical hookups. I loved seeing the animals in the pasture outside of my tent. The pool was nice, the bathrooms were clean and the staff was very helpful.
Jul 29, 2014
The bathrooms were too far from the tent site (new bathrooms were being built at the tent site) - and tents were way too close. We could hear everyones conversations and agruments... and late night drunken sillyness. The flyes from the barn animals were also abundant.
Jul 23, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, this campground is not currently the best place for tent campers. The bathrooms are quite a distance away from the tent area (up a large hill) & they aren't air conditioned. They are in the process of building closer bathhouses. The deluxe tent sites are the only ones with cooking grates on the fire rings. The flies were also horrible.
Jul 22, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. Herd of smelly sheep 10 feet from our tent. platform for tent barely big enough. Backhoe digging up tree stump 20 feet from our site at 7am. Would write more specifics, but not enough characters allowed.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
The facility and grounds were great. But the tent spot was not so good. The proximity to the farm resulted in a horrible fly problem. We could not enjoy sitting or eating outside because the flies were so horrible.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Clean bathrooms! they are always picking up trash etc. Delux tent sites nice as are the sheep and roosters but there are a few extra flys... but they don't bite! More breeze up at the camper sites than down at the tent sites - it was 82 and very warm in the sun. Trees gave some shade but at times you had to look for shade, setting sun etc. - we will be back - oh, not over crowded and noisy like yo
Jul 01, 2014
The campground was very well kept and nice to walk around. The facilities were a hike to get to if you were in tents. Along with the sheep pen being in such close proximity. The animal noise at night was a disappointment along with a higher amount of flies and insects due to being so close to the live animals. Otherwise it was an enjoyable experiance.
Jun 30, 2014
I think it needs to be clear bathroom and water are not at tent sites. Additionally no store on site. Loved the pizza and Ruth and fidencia, we're great. But others not as friendly. Man came to get garbage no hello or general pleasant words. Our tire blew he drove past at least 2xs, never even offered any assistance. Didn't feel the love overall at this koa
Jun 17, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The grounds were very well kept and the workers in the office were super friendly. The only issue was the volleyball/ping pong area didn't have the proper equipment so that we could actually play. But, overall no complaints!! Thanks, we plan to come again:)
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Wonderful staff supporting this campground. Ruth and her husband made the entire stay - from reservations in early Spring to check-in so easy and straight-forward. The grounds and facilities were extremely organized, neat, in good order that our friends would all come back for another visit! Thanks again!!
May 27, 2014
this site isn't good for tent campers. to access restroom and water is bad to tent campers. privecy isn't good
May 27, 2014
I stayed in a basic tent site. I am not used to camping in a open field with you tent neighbor less then 10 feet away.This place highly lacks privacy. Clean but expensive and lacking. However the grass field made for easy cleanup. The thing i cannot absolutely look over was the fact that the first day we went out when we returned our tent was wide open meaning someone went it in when we were gone
May 05, 2014
I thought this KOA was beautiful and clean. The grounds were very nice. I did not like that I had to climb a hill to reach the bathhouse. I also did not like the lack of privacy for the tent campsites. It did not feel like camping. Again, the facilities were very clean and well kept. I would not stay here again though becuase the lack of trees and privacy at my tent site.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Awesome!!!
Apr 18, 2014
This campground was great. Very clean. The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen at a campground. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars is that the bathrooms need to be closer to the tent campers, instead of the RV campers. That is quite a big hill to go up in the middle of the night to get to the bathrooms. Otherwise, everything was fantastic. I would stay there agai
Mar 27, 2014
We absolutely loved everything about the camp site. It's a gorgeous location. The staff was terrific and very helpful. We will be returning soon. Thank you for helping make our anniversary trip a memorable one.
Nov 13, 2013
very nice place! beautiful mountain views! very clean and well taken care of, plus clean bathrooms!
Oct 23, 2013
We will definitely be coming back here again. The staff was so friendly, bathrooms clean, and we loved that you could choose to set up your tent on the ground or on the gravel pad. Such a nice getaway, and a well-kept campground. Thank you for a GREAT stay!
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
The location was amazing, very clean, will be back. Jaye was a terrific campground hostess
Oct 07, 2013
The campground was well run and the people were friendly. I enjoyed the sheep and llamas. There were two things I disliked though; the closeness of the campsites to each other and the only bathroom was up a fairly steep hill. Not a problem during the day but at night proved tricky. I had two 80 yr olds with me who were not able to make this climb. They did end up driving up twice in the night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We mention in our tenting area description that there is a hill to climb to get to the restrooms, so children and the elderly may have problems with it. We are correcting this by adding restrooms in the tenting area in the near future.
Sep 21, 2013
This was one of the nicest campgrounds that we've stayed at. Very clean, the grounds were well-maintained, the people were friendly, and the view was gorgeous!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
I enjoyed my stay greatly. Thank you
Sep 03, 2013
Every single staff member was amazing, especially Rose. She took the time to talk to us, answering every question that we had. We felt right at home and met other friendly campers as well. We are already talking about planning our next trip there! I highly recommend this KOA!!!
Aug 31, 2013
Clean, well kept and quite.
Aug 19, 2013
The reason I didnt give it a better rating was because there was a 24 hr noise that came from the neighbor's yard. It sounded like they were shooting a .22 cal pistol all night/day long.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Liked the water/power tent sights, but didn't like the long trek to the bathrooms & showers!!! Also, not too keen on the rooster alarm clock.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for any and all irritants you found at the tent sites right now. We are putting bathrooms in and only deluxe tent sites are open until completion.
Aug 05, 2013
Get the bathroom finished for the tent people - that is a killer hill at 4 in the morning!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

They should be done by Labor Day weekend! Hope you will return to try them out. Thanks!
Aug 01, 2013
Nice and quiet surrounding!
Aug 01, 2013
Very clean site. Very friendly staff. The ONLY drawback was access to the bathroom from the tent camp sites. I know they're working on building a bathroom/house near the tent area. We will be back. (-:
Jul 29, 2013
I stayed at Luray campground 2 yrs ago. I loved it then and we stayed again July 2013.Very very clean, wonderful employees that are friendly and willing to help at anytime.The owners are great to. She came up to our campsite because she remembered when we stayed there before.Ask if everything was ok and if we needed anything.I love it and would highly recommend it and would stay again.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
bath house up the hill from tent sites. The camp ground was fly infested. Farm animals kept us up all night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about your unpleasant stay. We are in the process of building a bathroom at the tent sites right now. It will be completed in the near future.
Jul 08, 2013
The staff were very friendly and the facilities were clean and well-run. We loved the pool. Beautiful scenery. Just a wonderful time.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
This campground was very well maintained, nearly perfect condition. Staff was helpful, bathrooms clean, and nice RV area. However, the tent camping area is basically an open field with little to no trees for any shade. Also, it is next to a farm therefore, TONS of flies and animals were very loud from 3:30 am. Highly recommend for RVs, but not for tent campers if you prefer woodsy atmosphere.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have had many campers that love the country atmosphere of tenting by the sheep and llamas next door. Some even enjoy awakening to the local rooster's crow. They also love the personal fire pits and picnic tables. Sorry it was not your cup of tea.
Jun 04, 2013
Very Clean. We were in a tent & bathrooms were spotless. We shared Site #11 & it was so nice to set up tent on grass rather than rocks.
Jun 02, 2013
absolutely perfect from the cleanliness of the restrooms to the top notch customer service and overall employee attitude was excellent. a wonderful place with breath taking views. Plus the brick oven pizza was loved by the kids so we will b back again so thanx for a wonderful uneventfull vacation. AAA GREAT JOB.THE SOUSA FAMILY VIRGINIA BEACH.
May 28, 2013
Facilities and staff were great. The flies and the Rooster were a bit annoying... but that's about it.
May 01, 2013
We've loved the site of KOA but the owner (Ms.) whas not nice with us. The employees were perfect.
Sep 24, 2012
We had a great time! It was beautifully kept! We loved the pizza dinner Sat night and the offer of Sun breakfast! Playground was great!!! Friendly campers! Great owners and hosts!!! Wonderful tent sites! Only cons....RV sites too close to each other, and we would like to have had a few more trees. We WILL be back!!!!
Sep 04, 2012
The price was a bit higher than expected for a KOA, even though it was a holiday weekend. The bathroom stalls could use higher partitions to ensure the privacy of those using the facilities. A man using a urinal could be seen from outside the restroom through a window.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.