Luray KOA

3402 Kimball Rd

Luray, VA 22835

Reserve: 800-562-2790

Info: 540-743-7222

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jun 23, 2015
Loved every minute of it. I only had one issue, I rented a tent with electric and water, however, it had electric but no water at the actual site. I told the lady at the front desk and she can out to the site and she was even baffled that there was no water. Was charged the same also :(. That being said, I still loved the location, it was clean, friendly and just relaxing.
Jun 22, 2015
Great open space, lovely views.
Jun 22, 2015
This campground is so beautiful and well kept. The Yurt was wonderful. We will be back.
Jun 17, 2015
The campground was nice, clean and quiet. One recommendation I would make for the yurt is to place a sun blocking retractable shade over the plastic bubble to keep some of the heat out during the day. It reached 93 degrees in there during the day and the ac could not keep up with it. We will absolutely be back here again soon.
Jun 16, 2015
We stayed in the deluxe yurt and loved it! It met all our needs perfectly.
Jun 08, 2015
The facilities were excellent, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We have a group that visits the area every year, and this will definitely be my first call when I start making plans for next year.
Jun 01, 2015
Everything was great. Site was nice and the staff were wonderful. Only thing I had problems with is other campers allowing their kids to run around screaming at 5:45 a.m. Everything else was just great. Thank you
May 26, 2015
We stayed at a deluxe camping site. The sites were very close to each other. Not much privacy at all. Staff was friendly, and bathrooms were very clean. Our site stated a water hookup, but there was not one. There was a campers kitchen not too far away, however.
May 26, 2015
KOA was very well-maintained and the staff was friendly. Great location. I was a little disappointed by the number of ticks we found in the campsite area due to the risk of Lyme disease. We also had really loud neighbors our last night.
May 21, 2015
It was a great time and the people that work there & run it were very outgoing and friendly. Only negative (and not much of one) is there is no campground store like all others that I have stayed at.
May 15, 2015
Wonderful, friendly staff that goes out of their way to make your trip better. They switched my and my wife's campsite just so we could have a little more room. I highly recommend!
May 09, 2015
The campground is basically in the middle of a farm right off the main road. If you have a large RV and can't get into the nearby (10min away) national park then this may be only option... otherwise I highly suggest the parks along skyline drive for less than half the costs of this. $40 tent spot by the animal building on a farm, 5 ft from the next tent spot, and doesn't include firewood.
Apr 09, 2015
The campsites were perfect. The bathrooms & showers were spectacular. We will be back & we might stay in a yurt!
Oct 27, 2014
Campsites were very very close together but well appointed and clean. New bath house was very clean butbcould have used more than two bathrooms (one for men and one for women). Separating the toilet from the shower would be beneficial as well so you don't have to wait for someone showering just to urinate. Campers kitchen with a microwave was a very nice touch. Friendly staff, easy to find.
Oct 22, 2014
Had an extremely hard time finding it but once I got there it was fine.
Oct 22, 2014
Loved this KOA. We stayed in a deluxe site and appreciated the light as we didn't get in until after 9:00 pm. The table was also appreciated! These bathrooms are the cleanest I have seen at a campground and the "Campers Kitchen" is an added bonus! Another bonus are the llamas and sheep that we watched as we cooked dinner over the fire. We will definitely return.
Oct 21, 2014
When I arrived I was told that I was booked on a deluxe tent site even though I have a 11' pop up camper. This would not have really been an issue except the site I was booked on had an elevated pad that made it impossible for me to get the camper on the site. In addition the grounds were completely booked so there was no where else for me to go. I set up on a hill side and experience wasn't good.
Oct 20, 2014
It was a really nice camp ground, very clean and the staff was very accommodating and helpful suggesting activities to do around the area.
Oct 14, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Beautiful scenery. Very clean and well kept. Only complaint is the rooster. He wakes up just a bit earlier than we would have liked.
Sep 22, 2014
The staff were very nice and helpful. The bathrooms were very clean. The issue is with the "Deluxe" tent sites. They are so cramped together that it felt more likea tailgate party. The tent next to us had to park 6 feet from our fire ring. The gravel tent pads were mostly sharp edged rocks. It's also on a farm with no wooded area. A rooster crowed from ~2am to ~8am along with the barking dogs.
Sep 12, 2014
My wife and I arrived as they were closing the office for the day. They were very nice and rebooted the computers and set us up with a great little site and firewood. We had a great overnight stay.
Sep 03, 2014
For the most part everything was great, stayed in the tent camping area and the bathhouse was still under construction and had to go to the RV bathhouse. But was assured it will be ready soon!
Sep 03, 2014
Ruthie and Shelby were fabulous! Best hospitality I have ever seen,they are naturals at customer service! The bathrooms were clean continuously, and everyone we met were truly friendly. The kids always had something to do, pool, playground, and "neighborhood" baseball. The town of Luray,Va.was completely charming,the shop called Rainbow Hill is a must see and Uncle Buck's Restaurant was fabulous.
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Very nice campground. Will most definitely be coming again and telling my friends about it.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Very nice campground, can't wait for the bathrooms to be renovated by the tent sites!
Aug 11, 2014
We enjoyed the Luray KOA very much! The deluxe tent sites were really comfortable and well shaded. When the new bathroom is complete, then it will be perfect!
Aug 10, 2014
THE FLIES. We camped deep in the forest before here and did not have this problem. The young man at the desk was wonderful, helpful, friendly. Very clean site despite flies.
Aug 08, 2014
Convenient location but if you are tenting the sites are a fishbowl and you have to walk up a big hill to get to bathrooms. Tent sites are just makeshift side-by-side. Overpriced for what you get. Clean bathrooms.
Aug 04, 2014
A few things that were disappointing to us: 1)based on website: wood fire pizzas on Friday evenings and pancake breakfast on the weekend. This was not the case. As a result, we had to go out to eat for these 2 meals (increasing $$$). 2) RV site for my in-laws was changed which made our tent site much further away 3) Bathrooms far with kids. I understand new ones are under construction.
Aug 02, 2014
Not a great spots for tents. Tent sites are too close together. Its mostly an RV campground.Bathrooms could be cleaner. No store on site for small supplies.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
I stayed at the tent site with the electrical hookups. I loved seeing the animals in the pasture outside of my tent. The pool was nice, the bathrooms were clean and the staff was very helpful.
Jul 29, 2014
The bathrooms were too far from the tent site (new bathrooms were being built at the tent site) - and tents were way too close. We could hear everyones conversations and agruments... and late night drunken sillyness. The flyes from the barn animals were also abundant.
Jul 23, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, this campground is not currently the best place for tent campers. The bathrooms are quite a distance away from the tent area (up a large hill) & they aren't air conditioned. They are in the process of building closer bathhouses. The deluxe tent sites are the only ones with cooking grates on the fire rings. The flies were also horrible.
Jul 22, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. Herd of smelly sheep 10 feet from our tent. platform for tent barely big enough. Backhoe digging up tree stump 20 feet from our site at 7am. Would write more specifics, but not enough characters allowed.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
The facility and grounds were great. But the tent spot was not so good. The proximity to the farm resulted in a horrible fly problem. We could not enjoy sitting or eating outside because the flies were so horrible.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Clean bathrooms! they are always picking up trash etc. Delux tent sites nice as are the sheep and roosters but there are a few extra flys... but they don't bite! More breeze up at the camper sites than down at the tent sites - it was 82 and very warm in the sun. Trees gave some shade but at times you had to look for shade, setting sun etc. - we will be back - oh, not over crowded and noisy like yo
Jul 01, 2014
The campground was very well kept and nice to walk around. The facilities were a hike to get to if you were in tents. Along with the sheep pen being in such close proximity. The animal noise at night was a disappointment along with a higher amount of flies and insects due to being so close to the live animals. Otherwise it was an enjoyable experiance.
Jun 30, 2014
I think it needs to be clear bathroom and water are not at tent sites. Additionally no store on site. Loved the pizza and Ruth and fidencia, we're great. But others not as friendly. Man came to get garbage no hello or general pleasant words. Our tire blew he drove past at least 2xs, never even offered any assistance. Didn't feel the love overall at this koa
Jun 17, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The grounds were very well kept and the workers in the office were super friendly. The only issue was the volleyball/ping pong area didn't have the proper equipment so that we could actually play. But, overall no complaints!! Thanks, we plan to come again:)
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Wonderful staff supporting this campground. Ruth and her husband made the entire stay - from reservations in early Spring to check-in so easy and straight-forward. The grounds and facilities were extremely organized, neat, in good order that our friends would all come back for another visit! Thanks again!!
May 27, 2014
this site isn't good for tent campers. to access restroom and water is bad to tent campers. privecy isn't good
May 27, 2014
I stayed in a basic tent site. I am not used to camping in a open field with you tent neighbor less then 10 feet away.This place highly lacks privacy. Clean but expensive and lacking. However the grass field made for easy cleanup. The thing i cannot absolutely look over was the fact that the first day we went out when we returned our tent was wide open meaning someone went it in when we were gone
May 05, 2014
I thought this KOA was beautiful and clean. The grounds were very nice. I did not like that I had to climb a hill to reach the bathhouse. I also did not like the lack of privacy for the tent campsites. It did not feel like camping. Again, the facilities were very clean and well kept. I would not stay here again though becuase the lack of trees and privacy at my tent site.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.