Luray KOA

3402 Kimball Rd

Luray, VA 22835

Reserve: 800-562-2790

Info: 540-743-7222

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
What's not to love about it?!
Aug 04, 2014
A few things that were disappointing to us: 1)based on website: wood fire pizzas on Friday evenings and pancake breakfast on the weekend. This was not the case. As a result, we had to go out to eat for these 2 meals (increasing $$$). 2) RV site for my in-laws was changed which made our tent site much further away 3) Bathrooms far with kids. I understand new ones are under construction.
Aug 04, 2014
Price is only complaint - too high. For that price would expect cable TV.
Aug 04, 2014
In the last 2 months I have stayed at the Luray KOA 3 times. Each time I make the reservation for a site when I arrive I find that I have been moved to a different site than what I reserved.I do not think I will stay at the Luray KOA for quite sometime now. The staff blames it on new hires and does there best to find a site that suit my needs Ruth does her best with what she has.
Aug 04, 2014
Super clean and nice campground and most of all super easy check in very. Ice people. A+++++++
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Beautiful facility. Miss Ruth was great at the front desk.
Aug 04, 2014
Nice quiet place. Nice framed photos in office and bath house - unique, and it shows the class of the owners. Negatives - needs retail store badly. U cant even buy kids an ice cream! Apparently owners dont want a store. Also needs professional grade playground apparatus.
Aug 03, 2014
Beautiful setting and very clean/quiet. Had lots of difficulty getting into pull-through with 5th wheel without running over landscape ties, due to very narrow roads. Bathhouse was clean but in real need of upgrade with more commercial-type fixtures.
Aug 02, 2014
This park is in a great area with great sites one of the best we have visited. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The rate per night is one of the highest we have seen, however, there is a lot offered for the price especially for families with children. Entry from New Market is via a steep winding mountain road best to enter from Front Royal via US 340.
Aug 02, 2014
Friendly staff and beautiful campground. I felt like I was in a beautiful park.
Aug 02, 2014
Very beautiful RV park well maintained, well spaced sites, friendly staff. Cable hookup would be a nice addition.
Aug 02, 2014
Not a great spots for tents. Tent sites are too close together. Its mostly an RV campground.Bathrooms could be cleaner. No store on site for small supplies.
Aug 01, 2014
very quiet and clean. A lot of flies.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Great welcoming from Ruth, husband, and Jennefer, spacious site and clean wash and laundry room, we like your place pretty much, KEEP GOING!!
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA was perfect for us older folk w/out kids - very quiet/peaceful. For tent campers, some of the sites are at the bottom of a big hill so campers need to be physically fit to go up the hill to the restrooms/showers/laundry. Pool & dog park are downhill too. We had our dogs with us & the dog park is huge, but we were not able to do the hill w/our dogs. No camp store, but we loved our stay!
Jul 29, 2014
Neat to stay in farmland area. Staff friendly and willing to assist as needed
Jul 29, 2014
I stayed at the tent site with the electrical hookups. I loved seeing the animals in the pasture outside of my tent. The pool was nice, the bathrooms were clean and the staff was very helpful.
Jul 29, 2014
Very nice place. Our spot was great, but fell in love the the premium spaces with patio etc. Next time in the area I think we'll try one of those.
Jul 29, 2014
OUTSTANDING
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
The bathrooms were too far from the tent site (new bathrooms were being built at the tent site) - and tents were way too close. We could hear everyones conversations and agruments... and late night drunken sillyness. The flyes from the barn animals were also abundant.
Jul 29, 2014
NO STORE (I'm sorry, but the shelf with 10-12 really useless items does not make a store. We like to be able to get ice cream for one thing.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Nous avons été agréablement surpris de se faire recevoir en français. Le terrain était très propre ainsi que les installations. Une expérience tout a fait agréable. Merci a Ruth et son conjoint.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great clean well kept park. Loved the wide spots, never felt you were crammed in. The office and pool close early. But in all a great stay.
Jul 28, 2014
This was one of the nicest, cleanest campgrounds I have stayed at. The views are beautiful, and the hosts (Ruby and Shelby) always had a smile and a hello. Our family will be back to this site again. Great dog park!
Jul 28, 2014
Ruth and Shelby were outstanding. They were everywhere working very hard.
Jul 28, 2014
We loved the dog park! It was a great surprise for our German Shepherd. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was very friendly.
Jul 27, 2014
One of the very very best. Great campground great hodts.
Jul 27, 2014
Nice clean campground...Quiet...we were in the back & had a few issues getting wifi to work all the time but other than that very happy.
Jul 27, 2014
Loved our stay. It was a great place to set up camp for exploring the Shenandoah Valley. Beautiful, well maintained campground and great staff!
Jul 26, 2014
One of our favorite campgrounds. We were disappointed this time that there was a charge for our 2 grandsons (ages 6 and 8. This was their first trip with us. We checked other KOAs and they were free. Also, we recommend a basketball goal to be added to the playground. We always enjoy seeing Eric and Shulamit. We will be back, maybe this year.
Jul 25, 2014
Easy access. Nice location. Nice facilities
Jul 25, 2014
Very well maintained, clean campground. Frustrations with check in but was accommodated for problems and encouraged to return for another stay with preference of site. First time out with our new camper and very pleased with our stay.
Jul 24, 2014
Level, shadey sites with good facilities. Clean and quiet.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Very Spacious...Didnt feel closed it.
Jul 23, 2014
What an awesome place to stay.the staff was so friendly and welcoming. We can't wait to come back. What a beautiful campground.
Jul 23, 2014
We were left our site paperwork where we could easily get it even though we came in WAY after office closing time. Excellent and clean facilities. Fast check out. One recommendation - paint the site numbers on your posts in flourescent paint. It was a little hard without pointing your vehicle head lights on the area and disturbing other campers. Otherwise great time, beautiful and peaceful place.
Jul 23, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, this campground is not currently the best place for tent campers. The bathrooms are quite a distance away from the tent area (up a large hill) & they aren't air conditioned. They are in the process of building closer bathhouses. The deluxe tent sites are the only ones with cooking grates on the fire rings. The flies were also horrible.
Jul 22, 2014
sites were very nice.no actitivies,cable,camp store.pool was freezing.when i inquired they sent the owner to my site&he told me "we have a walmart" very rudely.1 bathhouse.the dog park was bigger than the pool&playground put together.he turned part of his farm into the park&the flies were uncontrolable because of the animals.roosters crowing at 6am,if you have a dog&love flies it's the place to go
Jul 22, 2014
This was the cleanest campground that we have ever stayed in...It was so peaceful and quiet....The setting in the valley looking out at the mountains was breathtaking....God's beauty...The staff was wonderful and so personable...We plan to return in the fall...
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time visiting the caverns and enjoying the campsite. The dog park is terrific.
Jul 22, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. Herd of smelly sheep 10 feet from our tent. platform for tent barely big enough. Backhoe digging up tree stump 20 feet from our site at 7am. Would write more specifics, but not enough characters allowed.
Jul 22, 2014
Very well kept campground... the staff is Amazing! I look forward to staying here again

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.