Louisville South KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Email

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 07, 2016
We had a great stay. The pool was really nice & clean. We were on the curve coming into the campground. I would choose a different spot because of the rain. We had quite a lot of water in our site area. It came downhill.
Jul 06, 2016
Worst experience every at any campground. Wanted 30.00 for my son, his wife and 3 boys to spend an hour and eat dinner with my wife and I. Was told after he left it would be ok. 6.00 per person charge was for insurance. Then was told if it was between September and May would not have been a problem. Letter to KOA CEO to follow, may never stay at KOA again.
Jul 06, 2016
we stayed an extra day due to weather and found it to be the best decision I could have made.
Jul 05, 2016
A wonderful place to camp and relax....good people...great accommodations.
Jul 05, 2016
The new, new owner's seem to want a better campground. Gravel was added in a few sights, needed for years. The price is pushing us into looking for other campgrounds. I think there is a fee for everything. You would think if I was going to be there for 5 nights, dropping my camper off on the way past, going to work would be ok. Nope. Charge per hour before 1pm. Just let me unhook, unplugged.
Jul 05, 2016
Pull through site had very little gravel. Mainly dirt. Rained overnight. Waded in mud tearing down to leave. Left on the 4th of July. Supposed to be rules against fireworks in the park. People shooting fireworks until past midnight. Called after hours host to complain. No answer. Would not stay again.
Jul 05, 2016
Large campground with a nice layout. Great amenities for kids and even a walking trail. Quiet and secluded. Short-staffed for a busy holiday weekend (I think there was only one person working as an escort and responding to customer requests)
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
We arrived very late but were greeted by someone in a golf cart to help us to our site. He helped us get backed in. Next day, weather was crummy so we couldn't do what we'd come to Louisville to do but kids were happily occupied with the pool, bouncy pillow and other fun activities when we were able to dodge the thunderstorms.
Jul 05, 2016
We stayed 3 nights. The campground was clean and had many activities for our children and pets. Staff was friendly! No problems!
Jul 05, 2016
Stay was okay.did not agree w camp ground night staff.myself an son an best friend sat out the 1st night we were there it was around 12.30 site 308. YES TRUE laughing an being to loud for that hour of the morning.but we really was just laughing having great time.then camp staff came threatened us w calling shep police.al he need to say was wrap it up.threat was not nessary he only came once.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
Had a great time. Great location for Louisville.
Jul 04, 2016
The young man at the reservation desk was less than helpful when we checked in and on the phone prior to our arrival.
Jul 04, 2016
Great park, internet works great!Cable.Easy in and out!!!Great staff!!
Jul 04, 2016
Friendly and well maintained.
Jul 03, 2016
We enjoyed our stay, very nice campground, kept up well, liked the area for closeness to sites
Jul 02, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 02, 2016
Nice people running the campground. Great pool.
Jul 02, 2016
Nice walking trails around the site, great for dogs. Only stayed one night, everything went well.
Jul 01, 2016
Site was unkept; lack of maintenance; rocks on patio; grass needed mowed. Site unlevel. Laundry room clean. Would stay again only because of family in area.
Jun 30, 2016
Very clean. Very nice staff. Pool and other activity areas well maintained.
Jun 30, 2016
It was a little more than $55 a night to stay here. The pool was clean but the sides of the pool deck should be check. During my 2 day stay, I saw toilet paper and what appeared to be a diaper liner sitting on the concrete in close proximity to the pool. Additionally, the mini golf was pretty much useless because it was so weathered. For an additional $20 a night go further to Jellystone.
Jun 30, 2016
It was okay. Lots of gravel dust. Airplane noise at 3am was a surprise.
Jun 29, 2016
I only stayed there one quick night en route to other destinations, but as usual, KOAs ROCK. Great staff, great place, clean, good people.
Jun 28, 2016
Great spot, had a nice stay very friendly and helpful!
Jun 28, 2016
restrooms were dirty
Jun 28, 2016
Staff placed us in a spot with no cable and broken water line ( they knew the line was broken because they had it dug up.
Jun 28, 2016
I can tell that there have been some recent upgrades to the campground (nice pool and pavilion). The sites themselves need sprucing up. My site was mostly dirt/mud and the little bit of grass was mostly weeds. RVs were all scrunched next to each other when there were many empty areas. Please spread people apart if you are not full. Grounds behind pool are really nice. Lots of potential here.
Jun 28, 2016
Muddy gravel slot that was very sloped. Sewer was backed up. Showers were dirty and a little moldy. Staff was good. Grounds need much work.
Jun 27, 2016
The staff was very nice and helpful,bathrooms were extremely clean. Really the only issue was the sites could have been kept better. The grass needed cut.
Jun 27, 2016
Nice, clean pool, bathrooms. Did not like the grass not cut, the gravel roads were blowing dust everywhere.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
The employees at the KOA are outstanding, unfortunately that's where the good ends.Poorly kept grounds to say the least. We were given a ridiculously small spot for a 35' camper saying the campground was full when it was not. The neighbors sewer line came to about 4' from our door. Won't be back.
Jun 27, 2016
Nice place. Close to Churchill downs. Quiet. Very well run.
Jun 27, 2016
We had a really pleasant stay.
Jun 27, 2016
The staff here were friendly and very helpful. The site was clean and very accommodating to our needs.
Jun 26, 2016
Each Yellow Shirt I talked with was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were clean and air conditioned. Miniature golf could use some repair--perhaps a Eagle Scout project?
Jun 25, 2016
Nice showers and restrooms. Staff was not helpful in helping us locate our tent site. Disappointed. Campground was very nice.
Jun 25, 2016
The campground has great amenities, but they need to upgrade the sites with new gravel. Our site was not level to the point of us using our biggest riser and the gravel had washed out. If they had level sites it would be a great campground.
Jun 24, 2016
great place to stay. friendly host
Jun 23, 2016
Great place to stay , nice dog park, good tv stations well kept. Office people did not know where anything was to see sights of the area.
Jun 23, 2016
Nice facilities and nature trail. Don't get too excited with the idea of mini golf, the course is not what you'd hope.
Jun 21, 2016
A good KOA, that seems to be undergoing some improvements. New pavilion. Old and in need of repair miniature golf. Decent pool. Ok playground. Sites were typical KOA gravel and tight.
Jun 20, 2016
It was great to see our KOA family this weekend and make new friends. There is always something to do; crafts, hayless hayride, pool, putt-putt, playground. The staff is polite, friendly, and helpful. We can't wait until we return for WATER WARS!!!
Jun 20, 2016
Rules are not very well enforced.
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
Fantastic. Free jump pad! Super safe pool fence and gate. lots of open space. HUGE playground. REALLY awesome staff! and food and fun stuff to buy in the camp store. LOVE IT. Totally coming back.
Jun 17, 2016
The staff is always professional and extremely friendly. They will always do their utmost to see to your wishes. The kampground is shady, quiet and the best one near Louisville. I highly recommend this kampground.
Jun 16, 2016
Good service, excellent amenities, close to attractions
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps