Louisville South KOA

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Cabin Reviews

Oct 09, 2015
It was great, we got a deluxe cabin and loved how nice the staff was, and the overall experience staying there! Defiantly staying next year!!
Oct 06, 2015
We had a great time. The deluxe cabin was perfect for our 3 night stay. Will certainly go back soon
Oct 04, 2015
Oct 04, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
Everyone welcoming friendly and accommodating. Cabin was very clean and comfortable. Great walking trails to the river. Great location. Loved our stay there.
Oct 01, 2015
Very nice spa and pool
Sep 28, 2015
Cabins were very nice and clean. First time staying in a KOA and already wanting to plan the next trip.
Sep 28, 2015
It was great.
Sep 27, 2015
Sep 24, 2015
Nice and quiet. Very friendly staff. I already plan to visit again.
Sep 24, 2015
Bed was not comfortable but it was clean. Loved the treat left for doggie
Sep 21, 2015
We always have a great time at KOA & this was our first time in a deluxe cabin & we loved it!!! We will definitely be back!! Thanks!
Sep 21, 2015
The GM (Mr Ng) was personable, friendly, and helpful. The check-in woman behind the desk was off-putting and unkind. We found trash under the bed when we arrived and my daughter asked if we could re-finish the porch ourselves as the peeling was severe. When my girls went to use the bounce thing, other campers were rude and pushed them away. Not our best stay.
Sep 18, 2015
We knew in advance that the pool would be closed but we were really disappointed with the disrepair of the putt-putt course. The carpet is in terrible shape and so are several of the obstacles. Also, the deluxe cabin had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling fans. We have camped here several times in the past but this time we were really disappointed. Especially for the price we paid
Sep 18, 2015
Store closed at 6pm and wasn't open at 9:10am the next morning. Men's restroom wash basins had no soap in soap dispensers when we got there around 4pm in the afternoon and still had none the next morning at 8:30am. Our cabin had insect eggs(spider?) On the inside cabin wall. We stayed at KOA's all across the country on this trip and this is the only one where we had any negative comments.
Sep 16, 2015
Had a great time. Deluxe cabin was ultra comfy! Would have liked the pool to be open but oh well....
Sep 14, 2015
Most everyone is wonderful here and very helpful. We come for our company picnic an love to stay in the cabins.
Sep 10, 2015
What a great place! The sites were clean and easily accessible. Our children loved the bounce pillow-definitely the best part of their stay. We enjoyed walking the nature trail as well but were a little disappointed to find the stocked catfish pond almost dried up and not maintained. We also felt that the mini golf could use a little TLC. Despite that, we would definitely stay here again!
Sep 06, 2015
Sep 02, 2015
the cabin was nice. Sat. they had a full day of things for the children to do. the pool was out of service for state repairs. I asked the evening lady's when check out was they said 12.00 .Sun. when we left at 12:00 the day lady was very rude saying that check out was at 11:00. she was quite rude. It was not my fault I was told different. other than that it was nice
Sep 01, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was nice, clean and everything worked fine. The staff was friendly. It was a disappointment that the pool was closed during our stay. The putt putt area seemed in need of repair.
Aug 30, 2015
We were disappoints that the pool was closed, but the kids had a good time and it was a nice place to stay.
Aug 26, 2015
We had a great stay. The cabins are small,but very comfortable. Could use 1 more mirror maybe mounted in the master bedroom of the deluxe cabin to help with getting ready in the mornings.
Aug 25, 2015
Deluxe cabin was nice, but didn't know this was on the flight path for planes landing in L'ville. Every night from 11pm-2am... noisy campfire. Also, needs more kitchen supplies (pots, pans, utensils, etc.)
Aug 24, 2015
It was alright.
Aug 22, 2015
The pool is out of commission. If we had known, we probably would have looked for other accommodations. 10% discount doesn't help the kids with disappointment and lots of whining. Our site didn't have water or a dustpan to go with the broom. Playground is open until 11 but, is poorly lit. Kids Loved the jumping pillow... thank goodness it was there.
Aug 15, 2015
No pool hottest time of the year. If I'm not getting all of the benefits why am I paying full price. Plus Internet was available but couldn't even get anything to download.
Aug 11, 2015
The pool wasn't open, nothing posted on website about this. Hot tub was rarely open.
Aug 10, 2015
After reading a lot of bad reviews...i was a little skeptical about making reservations here!! HOWEVER...it was one of the BEST experiences we have had at a KOA... the mini golf could use ALOT of work... but the LAdy that ran the kids programs was AMAZING!!! and all of the activities they had for the kids was amazing!!! We had so much fun!!! FYI Downtown louiville is about a 30 min drive!
Aug 09, 2015
very good experience, nice price
Aug 08, 2015
The pool was closed for the summer which we were not notified of until the day before we arrived, even though reservations were months ahead. Cabin was missing sheets or had dirty sheets. Air condition worked!
Aug 07, 2015
We had a few issues with supplies when we came, but they were handled promptly.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a nice time and stayed in the deluxe cabin but communication needs to improve. We didn't know the pool was inoperable until the day before we arrived, we found out when we arrived there was no cable so no tv and they removed the arcade room. We did receive a discount but would rather have had those items with children. If we stay again I will confirm what is working and or removed.
Aug 05, 2015
We stayed at a cabin and the water didn't work at our site. Their answer was to just walk over to another site. Plenty of open cabin we could have changed sites. The reasons I wanted to stay, pool and playground, were under construction or broken. Over all the staff was awesome.
Aug 05, 2015
The cabin was very clean and accommodated a couple and two children comfortably. It was peaceful and enjoyed sitting on the deck at night. We were close by the playground where we could see the children from the cabin. We enjoyed the movie in the park Saturday night. We will be visiting KOA again and highly recommend it to friends and family. Thank you for a good time. Iris
Aug 04, 2015
Wifi was sporadic at best, pool was closed for state mandated renovations during the summer. Lots of ants around and in the studio cabin, did not have any daily water activities since the pool was closed. Very disappointed and this was our 5th year here. Probably won't be back
Aug 03, 2015
Pool closed--no notice of this on the website. This was to be a main activity for our 4 kids, so not happy with this surprise, although they gave us an additional 10% off (YMCA pool nearby). Older Kamping Kabins need maintenance and water supply. RV sites and Kabins are right on top of each other--too densely developed. Bathhouses in good shape. Nice playground. Staff friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice place for our overnight stay.
Jul 29, 2015
The campground and workers were nice. I would not recommend this facility to my family or friends at this time because many of the amenities we were looking forward too were not available. Especially the pool because of the extreme heat. Definitely will check back next yr and see if these things are available.
Jul 29, 2015
The showers were great and the staff was very accommodating with our late arrival. The beds in our cabin could have been a bit softer, however. They were very hard in comparison to other KOAs in which we stayed.
Jul 28, 2015
Out of all the KOA's we stayed at during our cross-country travels this was by far the worst. Overall campsite not kept up, older bathroom facilities and sinks, etc not working - and the camping cabins were not clean or in good condition.
Jul 28, 2015
Kinda rundown & dirty little place! Staff not the friendliest. Ok for one night but I wouldn't stay longer.
Jul 27, 2015
- Very clean campground. - Bathrooms and showers very clean. - Youngest had fun on bounce pillow. - Disappointed pool was closed (was not made aware until I was checking in). Campground gave 10% credit back due to pool closure.
Jul 27, 2015
Although the pool was under maintenance, overall Shepardsville KOA was a really nice atmosphere, with plenty to do and very friendly staff. I hope to come back in the fall!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
My husband and I visited from NE, with 2 large dogs(110&130lbs), we bought two floor fans while we were there, but we were ALL very comfortable! The cabin was very clean, it was just like a little apartment! The ONLY reason I took off the fifth star is because the pool was closed due to government mandates.
Jul 21, 2015
Disappointed about the pool. Overall a nice stay. Bathroom farther away than I like.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We have been holding our family reunion at the Louisville south location for the past 6 years. My brother and I reserve 2 deluxe cabins together for July 2015 in august of 2014. Three other family members also reserved cabins. Four of the five cabins were for 3 days. The pool was closed, the wifi was inadequate and the cable television was off for over a day in our area. The koa ladies tried
Jul 20, 2015
Cable and wifi issues, pool was out of service our entire stay due to upgrades needed to meet state requirements.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.