Louisville South KOA

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 14, 2015
The spot that we stayed at was horrible. When we pulled our awing out it touched to camper that was parked in front of us.We couldnt even stay where our camper was due to no place to set and the neighbor sewer was right there.I called to find out how many people could stay a lady told me 6 as long as the camper could sleep them.We get there and they charge us.We only had 5 people.KOA is all money
May 14, 2015
Everyone was friendly and the facilities were very clean. My family and I had a wonderful time.
May 12, 2015
The worker's are the best and great to be around.
May 12, 2015
I enjoyed my self but taking a tractor and a drag thu the campground and stiring up the dust on everyone was uncalled for. I call the office and complained and they did stop. to save my life I don't know what they were thinking.
May 12, 2015
Very un level sites, to much dirt. Sites need to be upgraded with gravel especially for the price that is charged.
May 11, 2015
Don't ask about your charges, someone will come over the counter on that question!!!
May 11, 2015
Had a very nice weekend with the grandkids
May 11, 2015
This campground was very expensive. The campsites were to close. We were right on top of each other.
May 11, 2015
It has been two years since I stayed at this KOA and I was unhappy at the condition of the campground area. It hadn't rain for several days and the rock area around the camp became very dusty due to an employee was dragging a blade around the area causing large amount of dust to blow everywhere and you couldn't set outside for long. Also the area of rock cliff has grown up in weeds, tv boxes cover
May 11, 2015
Amazing. The staff was so friendly and helpful! Bathrooms were nice. It was a wonderful time. We will be back!
May 11, 2015
The bathrooms were always dirty and out of toilet paper and paper towels.
May 10, 2015
Expensive for what is there. But very pretty
May 09, 2015
Our camp site was very small & cramped compared to the others our neighbors cite was set up so his door face our door
May 08, 2015
Clean and quiet. Staff was courteous. Wi-fi was terrible. Prices for Derby week were outrageous.
May 08, 2015
Very accommodating It was Derby week-end and very full, but still relatively quite. I thought the cost per night was a little high, but understood the reason...
May 08, 2015
Very nice campground. Very friendly and helpful staff.
May 07, 2015
My reservations were made in January and I asked for 2 site with full hook up. When we got to our site no sewer. Spoke to the manager who seemed to care less. After visiting with other campers we found that 4 other sites reserved full hook up and also did not get them. It seems to me that this KOA reserved whatever was available to get the Derby crowd in and once we were there we were stuck.
May 07, 2015
We had originally gone to the Louisville Metro KOA by mistake, and upon arriving at the South, we were delighted that the atmosphere was much more natural and calming
May 07, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much and plan on a longer stay in the near future.Everything was clean and the peace and quiet at night was absolute wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and Curtis. Thank You for a wonderful stay.---The Murphy's
May 07, 2015
My stay was comfortable and the escort to the room was appreciated.
May 06, 2015
Staff not as friendly as on previous visit. Escort to site not did not know the layout very well. Could not make the turns with the length of my trailer. Lots of trees close to the roads. Would not been able to get out of my site without backing out if the site in front of me hadn't been empty. If you pay for a pull thru it should be a pull through. Grass was very tall when we arrived.
May 06, 2015
Did not monitor quiet time. I was kept awake for 2 nights,even after complaining. Loud music, people shouting.
May 06, 2015
Was very surprised the office was closed so early for a campground that is open all year, loved the location. Enjoyed our stay.
May 06, 2015
May 06, 2015
Expensive
May 05, 2015
I've camped here for 34 years. I don't think I'll be back. Very Corporate, not very accommodating. Prepaid for this year and had to add some people. In the morning I was told it would be extra money per person. When I got there I was told of a 1 tent per site rule, which I never heard of before. Made us buy 3 separate sites at Premium Pricing. Moved us from grassy field to a cliff.
May 05, 2015
Very nice clean campground and all the pretty shade trees.
May 05, 2015
Will stay there again. Could understand why fri. and sat. prices were double because of the derby but Sunday night was half empty. Thanks
May 05, 2015
A-OK
May 05, 2015
Small but clean, quiet and very friendly staff!
May 04, 2015
always the best, love your campground
May 04, 2015
Great place! Really friendly staff and super clean campground!
May 04, 2015
We had a minor problem with ants in our cabins. Please consider some spraying or something.
May 04, 2015
Great campground. Bathrooms were very clean.
May 04, 2015
We stay here a couple of times a year and I was sorry to see they feel they have to gouge prices during the derby. Low class, I don't care that "everybody does it". WiFi was terrible also.
May 04, 2015
Very nice and clean. Location was convenient. The purpose of our trip was to attend The Kentucky Derby and we did not know that shuttle service was offered.
May 04, 2015
May 04, 2015
The location was great front desk very helpful The facilities need upgrades sites not level pedistals tipping over. Sewer connections broken. Dirt & dusty roads
May 04, 2015
Restrooms were beautiful. KOA provided a pricey shuttle on Derby day.The nnonrefundable price didn't work well for us. Good service otherwise.
May 03, 2015
Had an excellent stay. The KOA team was very helpful and accommodating. Kudos
May 01, 2015
The campground was on manicured hours for use of the Jacuzzi varied from day to day not posted I have pictures if you'd like to see them
May 01, 2015
Good campground in terms of location to Louisville. Needs some work in terms of general maintenance to make it really attractive. I would stay there again.
May 01, 2015
unless they did a lot of work right we left, they are not ready for the summer. The grounds needed much work.
May 01, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. The campground and staff are very friendly. The campground is also very clean.
May 01, 2015
Campground was not operating properly in my opinion. I pulled in at 4:00 pm and the office was not open. I noticed quite a few other sites were empty but I was given spot 212 which is along side a travel road which cut my space down enough I could not open my canopy in fear someone might hit it. There were no services open except for showers and wash rooms. Pool, store,office, etc were all closed.
Apr 30, 2015
Had a reserved spot for a week plus more nights to come. Put in the wettest sight their. Weekenders had much better spots. I couldn't move to another one. they did bring an old carpet to put down over the mud. The grass was a foot tall and hasn't been mowed yet. they said the contractor hasn't showed up yet and they might have to fire up their own. 2 weeks later still not done.
Apr 30, 2015
Hosts were friendly and helpful. Grass was extremely tall giving an unkempt appearance and prevented us from using fishing pond. WiFi was not dependable. Sites too close together. Lots of speeding vehicles including employees.
Apr 30, 2015
Facility was having water line issues. Staff was correcting. Office hours were limited.
Apr 30, 2015
Haven't been here for a while. Glad that you re-installed Cable TV. Sorry to see that the Game Room was gone.
Apr 30, 2015
Normally the grounds at this campground are well kept, however, during our overnight ear, the grass had not been cut yet this year. However, upon our departure they had just started to cut it. Washrooms are impeccable!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.