Louisville South KOA

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
great except the pool was closed
Aug 03, 2015
Nice place for our overnight stay.
Aug 02, 2015
Wonderful time staying with you all.
Aug 02, 2015
a little difficult to level our camper but we were prepared. restrooms were were very clean pool was out of service because it was not updated for the state. They claimed they weren't notified until June 2015 sorry but I have a hard time believing that employees were friendly Yes I would stay at this KOA again.
Aug 01, 2015
WE thought the price was a little high for what you received. In the book you offer Putt Putt Golf. It looks like it was for 6yr old's and under. WI-FI was often unavailable. I often gave up trying to use it. Table at camp site was in need of refurbishing. Just didn't feel that we received the bang for the buck!
Jul 31, 2015
We have a question? We had Reservasion well ahead of our arrival, & you put us so close to each other that our table was sitting right next to our neighbors sewer pipe. WE we're there almost 2 weeks.
Jul 31, 2015
Pool was unavailable due to repairs and wasn't disclosed until check-in.
Jul 30, 2015
The Camp sites or uneven and very hard to set up. The laundry has no AC. You can not stay in the building you have to set outside.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
The campground and workers were nice. I would not recommend this facility to my family or friends at this time because many of the amenities we were looking forward too were not available. Especially the pool because of the extreme heat. Definitely will check back next yr and see if these things are available.
Jul 29, 2015
The showers were great and the staff was very accommodating with our late arrival. The beds in our cabin could have been a bit softer, however. They were very hard in comparison to other KOAs in which we stayed.
Jul 29, 2015
Quick but pleasant stay
Jul 28, 2015
Out of all the KOA's we stayed at during our cross-country travels this was by far the worst. Overall campsite not kept up, older bathroom facilities and sinks, etc not working - and the camping cabins were not clean or in good condition.
Jul 28, 2015
Kinda rundown & dirty little place! Staff not the friendliest. Ok for one night but I wouldn't stay longer.
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived very late. Our reservation info was ready for us in the late arrival section.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
- Very clean campground. - Bathrooms and showers very clean. - Youngest had fun on bounce pillow. - Disappointed pool was closed (was not made aware until I was checking in). Campground gave 10% credit back due to pool closure.
Jul 27, 2015
It is advertised as pool and fishing pond. Pool was condemned and fishing pond is impossible to fish do to weeds and low water. Way to expensive for what you get and misleading advertisement. Although activity girl (Kendra) was awesome !!!
Jul 27, 2015
This site was a long way out of Louisville.On a plus it was the best nights sleep we had on a 10 day roadtrip, most KOA's seem to be along side an Interstate, this one wasn't. The swimming pool had be drained and looked to be out of service for sometime.
Jul 27, 2015
Although the pool was under maintenance, overall Shepardsville KOA was a really nice atmosphere, with plenty to do and very friendly staff. I hope to come back in the fall!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Clean well maintained campground
Jul 26, 2015
People were nice and the amenities were good also planned programs were fun.
Jul 26, 2015
Way overpriced even with the extra 10% discount for no swimming pool. This would have been very nice 20 years ago but not by today's standards.
Jul 26, 2015
Nice campground, disappointed the pool was closed and the website did not mention and it was still listed as an amenity.
Jul 26, 2015
Disappointed pool was closed, everything else about park was great
Jul 26, 2015
Everything was clean except the laundry area, it needs attention ... Hopefully next time the pool will be open ...
Jul 25, 2015
The site had very little gravel on it. It rained & the site became a mud hole. The inside gravel roads were washed out with gulleys. Sites sewer hookups of next site right beside the picnic table of our site.
Jul 25, 2015
My husband and I visited from NE, with 2 large dogs(110&130lbs), we bought two floor fans while we were there, but we were ALL very comfortable! The cabin was very clean, it was just like a little apartment! The ONLY reason I took off the fifth star is because the pool was closed due to government mandates.
Jul 25, 2015
Too bad the pool was not available, but otherwise was OK.
Jul 25, 2015
Very unhappy when we arrived and found out the pool was not working. This should have been stated in email, on website or through some sort of communication.
Jul 25, 2015
Probably one of the worst we have ever stayed at.
Jul 23, 2015
Very unkept!
Jul 22, 2015
The pool was undergoing an overhaul during our stay. Should have been on website, or warn those with reservations. I only found out 2 days before our trip when I sent an unrelated email question. I was then told that they were hopeful that it still might reopen in time. Not even close. Disappointing! Metal slides in playground should be replaced, and min. golf course needs repair. Overpriced!
Jul 22, 2015
We had a great stay. We were escorted to our site. We purchased firewood and it was delivered to our site. Bathrooms were clean and air conditioned. Everyone was very friendly. Our kids enjoyed the jumping pad!
Jul 22, 2015
Dirty,no pool (I am sure a corporate KOA has lawyers that could have made the state open it), spots too short for us and our car had to be parked elsewhere
Jul 21, 2015
Disappointed about the pool. Overall a nice stay. Bathroom farther away than I like.
Jul 21, 2015
Was disappointed the pool was closed. I wish they had updated their website to inform customers it had been closed due to failed inspection. There was not a timeframe for it coming back in service. Spoke with a fellow camper that had already been there for a week, and they were told it would be fixed. We were here 4 days and saw nothing being done or any ECD given.
Jul 21, 2015
Kudos to your staff
Jul 21, 2015
Very nice camp with good amenities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The store was one of the best I've seen in any KOA. BTW.....beers sales = very good idea :) We will plan our future trips to stay at your camp.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a pull thur that was good for overnight stay, for big Rigs! Nice people working! Nice walking trail in the park! Gravel parking spot, level!
Jul 21, 2015
Very friendly staff, however, camp run down, we had ant hills on our site, urinal broken all 3 days of stay, miniature golf rotted, dirty restrooms, could not connect to Tengo. Party at 2 A.M. Will avoid KOA's with Tengo internet.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We have been holding our family reunion at the Louisville south location for the past 6 years. My brother and I reserve 2 deluxe cabins together for July 2015 in august of 2014. Three other family members also reserved cabins. Four of the five cabins were for 3 days. The pool was closed, the wifi was inadequate and the cable television was off for over a day in our area. The koa ladies tried
Jul 20, 2015
Cable and wifi issues, pool was out of service our entire stay due to upgrades needed to meet state requirements.
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was friendly, but it was disappointing that we did not know the pool was closed beforehand.
Jul 20, 2015
And the heat was on (105 degree heat index that is). The staff did a wonderful job with the activities-crafts and games inside and a huge slip'n'slide and ice cream for cooling off! The office offered a cool retreat from the heat with warm smiles. The grounds crew continually checked on campers well-being. Can't ask for anything better than Louisville South KOA!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground; well maintained and clean. Lots of activities for children and families, especially on weekends. The only thing I didn't like was that this campground is just south of the airport; if you are tent camping, you will hear planes.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.