Louisville South KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1880

Info: 502-543-2041

Email

2433 Highway 44 East

Shepherdsville, KY 40165

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
It is advertised as pool and fishing pond. Pool was condemned and fishing pond is impossible to fish do to weeds and low water. Way to expensive for what you get and misleading advertisement. Although activity girl (Kendra) was awesome !!!
Jul 27, 2015
This site was a long way out of Louisville.On a plus it was the best nights sleep we had on a 10 day roadtrip, most KOA's seem to be along side an Interstate, this one wasn't. The swimming pool had be drained and looked to be out of service for sometime.
Jul 27, 2015
Although the pool was under maintenance, overall Shepardsville KOA was a really nice atmosphere, with plenty to do and very friendly staff. I hope to come back in the fall!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Clean well maintained campground
Jul 26, 2015
People were nice and the amenities were good also planned programs were fun.
Jul 26, 2015
Way overpriced even with the extra 10% discount for no swimming pool. This would have been very nice 20 years ago but not by today's standards.
Jul 26, 2015
Nice campground, disappointed the pool was closed and the website did not mention and it was still listed as an amenity.
Jul 26, 2015
Disappointed pool was closed, everything else about park was great
Jul 26, 2015
Everything was clean except the laundry area, it needs attention ... Hopefully next time the pool will be open ...
Jul 25, 2015
The site had very little gravel on it. It rained & the site became a mud hole. The inside gravel roads were washed out with gulleys. Sites sewer hookups of next site right beside the picnic table of our site.
Jul 25, 2015
My husband and I visited from NE, with 2 large dogs(110&130lbs), we bought two floor fans while we were there, but we were ALL very comfortable! The cabin was very clean, it was just like a little apartment! The ONLY reason I took off the fifth star is because the pool was closed due to government mandates.
Jul 25, 2015
Too bad the pool was not available, but otherwise was OK.
Jul 25, 2015
Very unhappy when we arrived and found out the pool was not working. This should have been stated in email, on website or through some sort of communication.
Jul 25, 2015
Probably one of the worst we have ever stayed at.
Jul 23, 2015
Very unkept!
Jul 22, 2015
The pool was undergoing an overhaul during our stay. Should have been on website, or warn those with reservations. I only found out 2 days before our trip when I sent an unrelated email question. I was then told that they were hopeful that it still might reopen in time. Not even close. Disappointing! Metal slides in playground should be replaced, and min. golf course needs repair. Overpriced!
Jul 22, 2015
We had a great stay. We were escorted to our site. We purchased firewood and it was delivered to our site. Bathrooms were clean and air conditioned. Everyone was very friendly. Our kids enjoyed the jumping pad!
Jul 22, 2015
Dirty,no pool (I am sure a corporate KOA has lawyers that could have made the state open it), spots too short for us and our car had to be parked elsewhere
Jul 21, 2015
Disappointed about the pool. Overall a nice stay. Bathroom farther away than I like.
Jul 21, 2015
Was disappointed the pool was closed. I wish they had updated their website to inform customers it had been closed due to failed inspection. There was not a timeframe for it coming back in service. Spoke with a fellow camper that had already been there for a week, and they were told it would be fixed. We were here 4 days and saw nothing being done or any ECD given.
Jul 21, 2015
Kudos to your staff
Jul 21, 2015
Very nice camp with good amenities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The store was one of the best I've seen in any KOA. BTW.....beers sales = very good idea :) We will plan our future trips to stay at your camp.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a pull thur that was good for overnight stay, for big Rigs! Nice people working! Nice walking trail in the park! Gravel parking spot, level!
Jul 21, 2015
Very friendly staff, however, camp run down, we had ant hills on our site, urinal broken all 3 days of stay, miniature golf rotted, dirty restrooms, could not connect to Tengo. Party at 2 A.M. Will avoid KOA's with Tengo internet.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We have been holding our family reunion at the Louisville south location for the past 6 years. My brother and I reserve 2 deluxe cabins together for July 2015 in august of 2014. Three other family members also reserved cabins. Four of the five cabins were for 3 days. The pool was closed, the wifi was inadequate and the cable television was off for over a day in our area. The koa ladies tried
Jul 20, 2015
Cable and wifi issues, pool was out of service our entire stay due to upgrades needed to meet state requirements.
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was friendly, but it was disappointing that we did not know the pool was closed beforehand.
Jul 20, 2015
And the heat was on (105 degree heat index that is). The staff did a wonderful job with the activities-crafts and games inside and a huge slip'n'slide and ice cream for cooling off! The office offered a cool retreat from the heat with warm smiles. The grounds crew continually checked on campers well-being. Can't ask for anything better than Louisville South KOA!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground; well maintained and clean. Lots of activities for children and families, especially on weekends. The only thing I didn't like was that this campground is just south of the airport; if you are tent camping, you will hear planes.
Jul 20, 2015
When we got there and new we had 2 kids they put us right by the play ground. We could set just out side and chill and watch the kid from the camper. The staff was very nice and help full. Thanks
Jul 19, 2015
Great site and facility. I am disappointed that we were charged extra for a third child and our dog since we made the reservation online and got a confirm indicating "three children free." It is misleading in the reservation process and it seems sneaky to charge more when you arrive.
Jul 19, 2015
One of the poorest maintained KOAs I have been too. Pool wasn't open and it was very hot out. It was all dug up and no one working on it on a Friday even. We were not notified in advance. Mini golf course in poor repair. Fishing pond was close to being dried up. No hot water at 10 a.m. on a weekday for showers. Also gave us a last resort site (dumpster, dump site view) when sites were open.
Jul 19, 2015
The cleanest bathrooms EVER !! THANK YOU 😍
Jul 19, 2015
Good pull through site. 50 amp. Over priced. Bathrooms average. Not much shade. Nice staff.
Jul 18, 2015
The staff was very friendly. We appreciated having the cabin with the AC, but it was a overpriced for what we got. At other KOAs we've stayed at, at a lower rate, we had a mini fridge (sometimes a microwave) and tv in the cabin. Plus, we weren't warned ahead of time about the pool (which is down for several months). The cabin got the job done.
Jul 18, 2015
Needs a lot of maintenance. Builds are getting old and need work.
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
Campground was not mowed and very unkempt. The pool was closed and being upgraded so we did receive a 10% discount.
Jul 17, 2015
Very nice place. Pool was out of order but we don't use the pool. They did give $10.00 off because of this. Very easy in and out for a motorhome.
Jul 17, 2015
The pool was not available, they should have told us this before we made the reservation. They did, however, give us a discount when I complained
Jul 16, 2015
The staff was great! I was working in the area and needed a place to stay. After the first week the rates shot through the roof.I was working 12 hour days and didn't have it in me to move. At the end it have been just as easy to stay in a motel.If you are just passing through, it would be ok,, but if your are a working person, forget about it.
Jul 16, 2015
No pool but $20dis. Poor Wifi. Sites ver cramped. Bathhouse was clean. Staff very nice. Price seemed high
Jul 15, 2015
Mud wifi sucked so close together I was waiting for my neighbors camp fire to burn my coach. A truck full of weed and feed would help. Way over priced
Jul 15, 2015
We stayed one night very clean, friendly, and assessable for bigger units. will stay here again in the future.
Jul 15, 2015
Had made a late reservation so when arrived there was no record on the door. Called the number and Jim came right away and took us to a site. Linda in the office the next morning gave a refund because we had been charged for a dog. Very friendly and helpful people.
Jul 14, 2015
Planned our vacation approx 6 months ago to visit family. Picked Louisville KOA - it looked kid friendly and also had a pool to enjoy. Very disappointed the pool was shutdown by the state and would not be open til the end of July at the very earliest. Recieved additional 10 percent off and was told about the YMCA pool at $4/per person. We stayed only because it was close to our family. Worst vaca.
Jul 14, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals