Lava Hot Springs KOA

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2013
Your campground is always clean. We love the bathrooms on the upper end. They are nicer than most hotel bathrooms. Thank you for a nice and clean campground. Jeff & Jan Burch
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
The kamp host was very pleasant to work with. Clean acmp ground and facilities. The noise from the Train and the Highway was very annoying. That could not be controlled by the Kamp Host.
Sep 05, 2013
Great location for easy access to the water park and hot springs.
Sep 05, 2013
Stayed here in a travel trailer over Labor Day weekend. Bathrooms in upper campground seem brand new, some of the best showers I've ever seen. I had an electrical problem with my trailer and they had an electrician out to check their outlets. Problem was on my end, so no hard feelings. I was impressed that they took the time to check. Clean park, will stay again!
Sep 03, 2013
Our stay was good, weather was wonderful, and there have been lost of nice improvements. But we understand that the cost is going up to $57.00 dollars a night. We feel that price is way out of sight, an increase of $15.00 a night. Not even worth it. We are currently looking for another camp ground in the area.
Sep 03, 2013
We love it! Need a time limit on showers! People take WAY too long for a simple camping shower! FRUSTRATING! especially when you are waiting to just go potty, and they are in there for 45 minutes.
Sep 03, 2013
AT first we were disappointed wiht the small cramped spot and electricity that was not workign m, but the camp host moved us to a premium spot to accomodate our space needs and heat sensitive dogs. Premium spot was brand new and had incredible views, large concrete pad, and gas grill for our use. Awesome customer service and on a holiday weekend to boot!
Sep 03, 2013
Love the area, we tented it. Campgrounds were over full, Labor Day Weekend, bathrooms/showers are one & always full/we waited in line, all the time. We had kids, it was horrible!! Several accidents and major meltdowns, Extra portapotties would have been great. We had to go to the hot pools so we could shower after 2 days. You're packed in like sardines, trains constantly, left a day early!
Sep 03, 2013
camping in a tent trailer with 7 people. We were charged $5.00 for each additional person beyond 2 which we were aware of prior to our stay. However, we were more than shocked to be charged an additional $22.50 per night to place another small tent next to our tent trailer. We used no additional water or electricity for this tent. We found this to be an excessive overcharge for our stay.
Sep 03, 2013
Nice and clean. The super spot had a BBQ grill which we used. Right on the river. Helpful staff. Campground is close to town. We walked back to our site after floating down the river. Only downside is the train and semis that run at night. We were in a trailer so it wasn't too bad. I had earplugs and slept right through it. The train would be heard from anywhere in that little town.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Lava Hot Springs KOA is beautiful! Great Local too. I made the reservation online and was VERY disappointed that we didn't get the site area indicated with the online booking. However, the KOA Staff (Miss Andi) handled our situation in the utmost professional manner. Because of her creative customer service & modification, we booked again next yr for 3 ngts.
Sep 01, 2013
All that work there are great. Parking for you kabin is an issue.
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
This KOA is great. The improvements this year made it nicer over years past. Parking on the west end by the river made it hard to get through and back out. There were a few late night parties that exceeded the 10pm quiet time. Will stay there again next year. Staff and owners were great.
Aug 26, 2013
Very nice cabin!!! We loved our stay. Thank you so much
Aug 26, 2013
My travel partner and I sleep in very small backpacking tents. This KOA told us that we could pitch a second tent for $22. Tent one is just big enough for a mummy bag, tent two is just big enough for a rectangle shaped bag. No other KOA that we have used has ever charged us for the second tent. Front office was being run by four teen agers who really didn't seem to care.
Aug 26, 2013
The campground was nice and the bathrooms were clean. Thought it was a little excessive to charge per kid. Camping spot should be one rate.
Aug 26, 2013
The campground was ok. The train running all night was really loud and made impossible to sleep and when the train was not running all you could hear was semi trucks rolling down the highway that is directly adjacent to the campground.
Aug 26, 2013
I enjoyed my stay, but the process was annoying. I book and reserved a campsite with electricity and water...the listing or description,"shade shade shade," was more than off as their was one young tree next to a cabin near the hwy. After a 2 hour drive I decided to pay an additional $20 to stay in the real shaded part of the campground. I had to pay for RV hookup fees w/o and RV.
Aug 26, 2013
Beautiful campground new owner is making a lot of nice improvements we will be back!
Aug 25, 2013
Very Clean , cabins, rest rooms, and showers were new... Very near road with road noise
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
we found your staff very helpful and we enjoyed our stay. will be back
Aug 23, 2013
Everything was good. Well maintained. Very clean. But at night time too many trucks and train was passing by. Makes you feel uncomfortable. If some how barricade the sound, it will be 5 stars.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Loved everything about the camp and the little town, except the train!
Aug 22, 2013
We have stayed at this campground for the past several years. This is the BEST this campground has ever looked. There is more grass the lower area campsites are all level, new electrical, sewers clearly marked, newly painted camp tables. We always stay at the lower level and I did not see the upper level, but I was very impressed with what I saw NICE NICE NICE.
Aug 22, 2013
This KOA was great. we were there on 8/8. When we returned on 8/19 they raised the price for the same space. So why did I join KOA???
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
didn't respond to the one for the 8th till I got back home. They raised the price for the same space for our return trip. So I ask again: Why did I bother joining KOA???
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
The cabins are extremely overpriced. I have stayed in similar digs for half the price. They also weren't all the clean. The mattresses are rock hard, especially on the bunk beds. Wifi is HORRIBLE. They offer watered down, tasteless coffee in the office. They good news, if there is any, is that the coffee is free. Staff consists of apathetic 16 year olds.
Aug 20, 2013
They are making great improvements. When they get done wow!!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
loved our spot
Aug 20, 2013
I have never stayed in a KOA prior to this trip. I will be coming back and staying at the KOA at Lava Hot Springs. Great location, beautiful spot, clean, helpful staff, will check out the cabins next time.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Too many trains and semis. The grass is dead and the camp spots are on top of each other.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Most sites are not level but the staff was willing to work with us to get a better site. Newer bathroom/laundry facilities were fantastic. Best of the "basic" KOAs we saw on our multi-week trip
Aug 19, 2013
Very nice bathrooms/showers on east side of campground. Store/office staff very helpful and friendly!
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly staff. Very helpful solving problems.
Aug 18, 2013
Grounds: welcome improvements spaces are larger & we heard there's more to come. They clean areas continually. NICE! Reservation: Confusion which we were unaware of-forced our group cancellation. However, owners somewhat accommodated us. We weren't together as planned. Next yr. will be better! Office Staff: needs hands on & phone etiquette training Owners: New & visible improvement! Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
short 2 night stay. staff friendly. Clean site
Aug 17, 2013
Very hard to level motor home. Bathroom/showers are fantastic! People at desk friendly. Campground clean.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.