Lava Hot Springs KOA

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2013
All facilities were quite nice. However, train noise was often and noisy as were some campers who did not observe quiet hours. Also, lots of nearby highway noise.
Jun 13, 2013
Friendly staff. But between the trains and the highway noise it was less than restfull.
Jun 12, 2013
Great campsite located close to the hot springs and river tubing. There is some road/railroad noise but not that noticeable. I would definitely stay there again and recommend this site to my friends and family.
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
This was the first time we have stayed at a KOA and it was great, the staff was very nice and the ammenities were great. the only thing I would change are the size of the campsites. I undersyand why they are so close it just seems a little too close to me. with that said I still would stay there again.
Jun 11, 2013
Very nice and clean bathrooms with privacy each bathroom has a sink, toilet and shower. There is a laundry room and fire pits that are maintained. This KOA is within walking distance from Lava main street and with a friendly staff & reasonable prices it's a must stay! I know we are going back.
Jun 10, 2013
The new bathrooms were great! The old bathrooms were gross (according to my young adult kids). Nice clean cabins to stay in. Nice grassy place for the tables and preparing dinner. Your stove and bbq grill came in handy when ours didn't work. The camping community around us were all respectful of each others space and kept noise to a minimum. Bad to advertise things not available, though.
Jun 05, 2013
Loved it! Staff very friendly. Loved that there were restrooms, showers,washer, dryers available. Thanks
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
I really like this KOA. The hosts are very nice and the campground is significantly better than my last stay 2 years ago. It was fine then, but it is much nicer now. We will return.
Jun 03, 2013
The staff was great, but the constant parade of trains all day and all night made it impossible to sleep and ruined what would otherwise have been an enjoyable trip.
Jun 03, 2013
We were first assigned to some very small spots that had not trees, picnic bench, or space for our trailer. I asked to be moved, and they did move us without issues, but all the spots were VERY close and cramped. Only about 5 feet of grass between sites. No privacy whatsoever. On the upside, the bathrooms were nicer than most fancy hotels. I think I'd rather have a private spot, though....
Jun 03, 2013
This campground has the spots packed in like sardines in a can! We reported the camper next us leaking grey/black water on to the ground and nothing was done about it. I called their number for information, no answer and my call was not returned for almost 24 hours. No, I would not stay here again.
Jun 03, 2013
Great site, great location, great hosts. Must get the award for the most luxurious showeroom/laundry. Fantastic
Jun 02, 2013
Fantastic new managers!!
Jun 01, 2013
The owners were very friendly. The campsites were relatively clean. However the entire weekend had nothing but problems with sewage and water. The bathrooms were terribly run down and need extensive cleaning and repair. Also the campsites are so close together we felt we were camping on top of each other.
May 31, 2013
My family enjoyed the tent campsite, was close proximity to the 5star bath house. It rained our entire stay,however, it was nice that we were able to fill our propane tank at the KOA for our heater. I think the best part of our stay was the the outdoor covered kitchen area, baked potatoes and brownies in a real oven. A large propane grill for use as well. My son enojoyed the trains. Plan to return
May 30, 2013
Expensive $30. For tent site w/no power, Bathrooms not very clean, and next to busy high way. noisy jake brakes all night.
May 29, 2013
The people were very freindly and help full. With the improvements that have been done and are being done, this will make them a five star in no time. Just my thought, they need some restrooms seperate from the showers so when you just need to use the restroom, your not waiting in line. I used my trailer in those cases, but the tenters don't have that option.
May 29, 2013
I like the location. The new owners are working on fixing it up. Unfortunately they were having a sewer problem while we were there and their was no hot water for showering. We will stay there again, I will call first to make sure the facility is in better working order.
May 29, 2013
Decent campground. We had a nice site for our rv, although the site was small, felt like we were packed in like sardines. Our neighbors were allowed to party late into the night. We didn't complain, but surprised the grounds weren't monitored better. Otherwise excellent shower facility and kids loved the playground :)
May 29, 2013
The campground was very clean and the employees were friendly.
May 28, 2013
The owners were very nice when we checked in. The restrooms that were walking distance had no hot water hooked up, so it was really inconvenient to walk or drive to the other, nicer facility, and it was overly crowded. Overall, it was ok though.
May 28, 2013
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only down side is the bathrooms were out of order several times due sewer pump issues. This made it pretty tricky for our family. That is the reason I only gave 4 stars.
May 28, 2013
The campground Owner/managers had only had the campground for appox. 1 month. The improvements in just a short time have been 1st class. The bathhouse was immaculate. The finest qualify and each shower and bathroom was private. As we visit this area often, KOA will be our only stop for a campground. I have already told many of my camping friends.
May 28, 2013
Campground had great customer service. It was so clean and neat. The bathrooms (w/ showers) on the campground had all been remodeled and had a very modern clean look and feel. The owner (or some KOA employee) came around on the first night and made sure everyone was doing ok and had everything they needed. Everything maintained very well and felt clean and safe to stay in.
May 28, 2013
New owners are doing a wonderful job. We had a great time. The entire park has a wonderful view.
May 28, 2013
Great campground, fantastic owners.
May 28, 2013
The stay was great will stay there again
May 28, 2013
A very busy weekend that at times seemed to overwhelm them but they worked hard to try to keep up, and hopefully they will get it worked out soon.
May 28, 2013
The only negative was the weak and inconsistent WiFi access.
May 28, 2013
Owners and staff were very friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. Newly remodeled bathroom is beautiful!!! The new owners have a lot of comitment to continue improving this campground! My family had a great time!
May 26, 2013
First bathroom I went to had no hot water. Had to go to bathroom on other end of the campground. Water faucet at my campsite was broken. All this being said it is a nice site overall and I did show up on Memorial Day weekend without a reservation and they were able to accommodate me.
May 24, 2013
We've stayed at this KOA prior to this visit. The staff were very helpful and provided wonderful follow-up
May 22, 2013
We enjoyed the hot pools,The new owner of this park are doing a grate job getting it up to date Some construction is on going but well away from the campsites and not a bother
May 21, 2013
The staff was friendly and so helpful. We will definately be back.
May 21, 2013
We had a good stay at your campground. We will have to come back after you have had a chance to rehab the grounds. The only down side were the trains, do they run every night or did we just hit it on a bad day.
May 20, 2013
Best bathrooms EVER.
May 20, 2013
Thank you so much---You are wonderful. Diane & Ted
May 18, 2013
Great staff.
May 18, 2013
May 14, 2013
I understand that they are still improving the camp. One problem might be the pavilion bathrooms. Its is nice to have the toilet and shower in one room, but if all six are in use for showers, there is no toilet available for someone that doesn't want to shower. The stay was great and we will use this Kamp again.
May 13, 2013
Very clean, excellent customer service, amazing campground.
May 13, 2013
We were enroute to a job at the West Yellowstone KOA and stopped for the night. We walked down to the town to check it out and then came back to the campground. The owners are extremely friendly and since they just bought it, they are doing a lot of upgrades and I know this campground will be looking a lot better when they get done with it. We'd come back in the future.
May 13, 2013
Clean & neat cabin and large bathrooms a plus
May 13, 2013
New owners and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Still a lot of construction for improvements going on and it will be grat when finished. YES!!! We will be back.Thank you so very much. This is a hard working group!
May 07, 2013
Great staff, very friendly. The remodels being done look fantastic!
May 06, 2013
Camp is under major renovation and many stated amenities were not available. This info was not provided at time of booking or check in. Wifi finally available last day. Great bathrooms.
May 06, 2013
Needs a bit of work-mostly clean up. Great bathrooms, Very close to road & railroad - but so is the entire town of Lava Hot Springs(the rail road is loud, but ok when you are expecting it).Nice owners. Walking distance to hot springs and town-which we liked. Think will be much improved when new owners are done with upgrades.
May 01, 2013
The campground was not far off the main road, so you heard every truck go by all night. Also, there was a railroad track just on the other side of the road and it seamed that a train went by every hour!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.