Lava Hot Springs KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Email

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2015
Lava Hot Springs KOA is the most beautiful campground we have ever stayed at. The staff was very helpful. This river runs through the campground. There are things close by to do. Very peaceful place. We are coming back next summer. Great experience. Loved it. Thank you.
Aug 21, 2015
Great spot close to the river. The only drawback is the trains can be loud.
Aug 20, 2015
Not the best customer service..... terrible camping spot.
Aug 20, 2015
The staff are always very friendly and helpful. We love all the improvements the new owners have done in such a short time. We look forward to seeing what they have planned next. We would love to see more trees. My only complaint was you were out of ice-cream snickers bars. Thanks for the fun camping trip. :)
Aug 18, 2015
The restrooms and service was good but I spent two sleepless nights due to Semi's, trains and planes going by all night long. So,I'll visit Lava Hot Springs,but won't stay over night at this KOA again.
Aug 18, 2015
Mooie plaatsen. Goed sanitair. Vriendelijk personeel.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Traveling from California to Bozeman Mt. to take grandson to college. Making road trip with family for vacation. This place had something for everyone. Fishing right out back of trailer, river rafting, cute town with lots of restaurants and cute stores. Would definitely come back.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Very clean! Very friendly & helpful staff. Because of it's location it's not particularly "quiet"...i.e. the highway, railroad & river. In spite of that, we had a wonderful stay. Lots to do in area.
Aug 18, 2015
Staff is amazing helpful and friendly. Cleal rest rooms and campground.
Aug 18, 2015
We had a reunion. The accommodations were mostly great. My 2 cousins & family stayed in a cabin that sleeps 6. There was a pull out couch with a total crappy mattress that had been fixed multiple times. The mattress MUST be changed! My Cousin talked to the manager of the KOA after the 1st night & 2 times after that. We all stayed 5 nights and the mattress was never replaced!! Replace your manager

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. The sofa sleeper has been replaced with the same one KOA Corporate puts in their cabins.
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful, beautiful location! Sites are very small, and some hook-ups difficult to reach... Would love to see more private shower arrangements
Aug 17, 2015
Overall we had a good stay and will probably return. Some concerns: The WiFi was poor, we stayed in the lower section, it worked great Friday night, but not really at all after that. Also, We had 5 spots (4,5,7,8,9) with full hookups that were similar sizes. Some spots were $45/night, some were $63/night, not sure why the difference. $23 to add a tent to a trailer site is quite steep as well.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a great experience, clean, friendly, willing to accommodate us and our family. We plan on staying at lava Koa from here on out on our yearly trip to lava. Hot springs.
Aug 17, 2015
Loved the clean and private bathrooms. Equal to some hotels, just need your own towels
Aug 17, 2015
The cabin itself was nice but the pull out sofa bed and bunk beds were horrible. Nobody slept because of how bad the beds are.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. The sofa sleeper has been replaced with the same one KOA Corporate puts in their cabins.
Aug 16, 2015
Expensive, but much nicer than Jackson KOA.
Aug 16, 2015
Great unit, a little pricy for what we paid. It felt unfinished
Aug 16, 2015
Very attractive cabin and clean but expected larger family room, larger sofa, coffee table, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion minimum.
Aug 16, 2015
The workers were friendly and it was very clean. But the location is terrible. The extremely loud trains and very busy highway right next to it were so annoying and loud. After quiet time a large group of campers were up until 2 am talking loud. Because of the above it was 3 miserable nights. It was also too expensive!!
Aug 15, 2015
Best KOA of our whole trip to Yellowstone. Lots of local activities. We wished we had spent less time at other campgrounds and more time at here. Kids had a blast on the rope swing and floating the river. Only negative was the lack of TV, but had decent wifi so we could still get news. Good store with lots of items
Aug 15, 2015
Stayed here twice and love it. Very clean pool is fun and kids love the playground. Stayed in a cabin and it was great cozy great big fireplace and clean!!
Aug 15, 2015
Too close to the train Couldn't sleep at all. Campers too close together.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
beautiful scenery. Excellent bathrooms. The highway is the backyard of some sites. The noise of trucks going up hill and the many times recurring trains make it almost unbearable. Also, the price is too high, but we knew that before we got there. Been there twice.
Aug 15, 2015
This KOA has a lot of activities outside the grounds and is beautiful. It would have scored higher had the beds been better. In one of our cabins the pull out bed had been held together with wires for years and the springs were shot. it was never fixed during our stay but were refunded part of the rental of that cabin on the last day. The traffic and the trains never bothered us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The pull out couch has been replaced with a new one.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Have given this such a low rating as we did not get any sleep because of the train tracks which are across the road from the site - and the trains run ALL night. Also, the dump outlets are located so awkwardly that we could not position our RV to use it and had to drive to another empty site to use theirs. Wouldn't go back to this one sorry
Aug 12, 2015
We stay at the KOA Lava Hot Springs everyyear and we always request the same 1 room cabin next to the bathrooms. That cabin had some damage done to it, so the KOA upgraded us to there new deluxe cabins above the river at no cost to us. This was a very nice stay, we were able to watch the kids on the river at their favorite spot from the deck of the cabin,we will probably get the deluxe cabin again
Aug 12, 2015
I was very impressed with this KOA. The bathrooms were amazing! Cabins were wonderful! We will definitely come again and recommend.
Aug 12, 2015
The setting along the river was beautiful. Walking proximity to town was perfect. Ideallic and will look forward to coming back and staying longer!! Thanks for the great KOA Kamping!!
Aug 11, 2015
We come to Lava Hot Springs often for our family reunion. The campground isn't as nice as it use to be. Many of the picnic tables are broken, with chipped paint. If you're not careful you'll end up getting dumped on the ground or all your stuff will get dumped on the ground when someone gets up from the table. We may consider other campgrounds next time.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
The staff was helpful. The cabins were ok. We had no hot water because the pilot light went out. The maintenance guys were fishing so we had to shower in the community showers. We found an ear wig when we first got inside and woke up with a BIG spider in our bed, that feasted on my leg. You are also RIGHT NEXT to a busy road and train tracks so BRING EARPLUGS!!!
Aug 10, 2015
Helpful staff! Bathrooms are new and very clean. The cabin we stayed in was also in great condition and very clean.
Aug 10, 2015
Great KOA! Easy walk to hot springs. Yes there is a highway and train - that made it easy to get to. Friendly and clean!
Aug 10, 2015
Cabin was great.
Aug 10, 2015
Great people and facilities! But I had made reservations online and they gave my spot to another RV. Still an ok spot but not the one I reserved.
Aug 10, 2015
I loved our little cabin it was perfect thank you so much will be back for sure😊
Aug 10, 2015
We just loved the campground it was clean the staff was helpful. We did leave early but it was because our tent ripped and we were getting to wet in the rain. Will come back for sure. But with some new gear.
Aug 09, 2015
We had the best time here. Thank you.
Aug 08, 2015
Beautiful, clean, spacious cabin with our own bathroom, micro & fridge. Very friendly & helpful staff. Quiet area yet so close to the Lava Hot Springs Recreation Area.
Aug 08, 2015
Very nice riverfront camping spot, helpful staff, loads of river rafting close by. Hot pools were close and clean.
Aug 08, 2015
Camp ground was awesome! Train going by blowing it's horn every hour,not so awesome.
Aug 08, 2015
Cabin was close to road and rail line so noise level was a bit high and staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 07, 2015
NO HOT WATER
Aug 07, 2015
The cleanest KOA ever! Luxurious bathrooms! Great visible playground. Except for the cabins being so close to the road, this place is perfect.
Aug 06, 2015
Awesome, dog friendly, peaceful setting, nestled among trees and a quiet, rippling river.
Aug 06, 2015
Loved thanks. Enjoyed short walk to spas, food, and loved the camping atmosphere without having my own camping equipment. Thanks again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals