Lava Hot Springs KOA

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2013
loved our spot
Aug 20, 2013
I have never stayed in a KOA prior to this trip. I will be coming back and staying at the KOA at Lava Hot Springs. Great location, beautiful spot, clean, helpful staff, will check out the cabins next time.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Too many trains and semis. The grass is dead and the camp spots are on top of each other.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Most sites are not level but the staff was willing to work with us to get a better site. Newer bathroom/laundry facilities were fantastic. Best of the "basic" KOAs we saw on our multi-week trip
Aug 19, 2013
Very nice bathrooms/showers on east side of campground. Store/office staff very helpful and friendly!
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly staff. Very helpful solving problems.
Aug 18, 2013
Grounds: welcome improvements spaces are larger & we heard there's more to come. They clean areas continually. NICE! Reservation: Confusion which we were unaware of-forced our group cancellation. However, owners somewhat accommodated us. We weren't together as planned. Next yr. will be better! Office Staff: needs hands on & phone etiquette training Owners: New & visible improvement! Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
short 2 night stay. staff friendly. Clean site
Aug 17, 2013
Very hard to level motor home. Bathroom/showers are fantastic! People at desk friendly. Campground clean.
Aug 17, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 17, 2013
need better numbering of camp sites
Aug 16, 2013
had a grate stay. love that the bathrooms are very clean.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
We had a great time here. The staff was very friendly and we had a wonderful time at the hot springs.
Aug 14, 2013
The only item I would improve upon is to increase the pressure rate of the showers. It needs to be higher. Great campground, friendly people, very clean and beautiful views.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The people at the KOA were very nice. The problem was it is right next to the freeway and the railroad so all night the trains and the semis kept us awake. also the bugs were insane!! The bathrooms were very nice but each bathroom is attached to showers so if we just needed to use the toilet we had to wait up to 30 min because people were in the showers and doing their hair.
Aug 12, 2013
The bathrooms and showers were nice but WAY TOO MANY PEOPLE.--Packed in there like sardines. It reminded us of a refugee camp. We were not prepared for so many people and the NOISE! Pry our own fault for not doing more pre-stay investigation. We would never, never, never come again.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
SPACES ARE TIGHT, WATER AND SEWER ARE ON OPPOSITE SIDES MAKING HOOK UP DIFFICULT. STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, AND THE AREA IS CLEAN. NOISY TRAIN NEARBY, BUT NOT ALOT YOU CAN DO ABOUT THAT.
Aug 12, 2013
Too small of Camp sites. We felt like we were camping with the neighbors. NEVER AGAIN!
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Great fun! Nice location near the river and nice town. Didn't enjoy the hornets though, four family members got stung. Train real close, noise at times.
Aug 12, 2013
While this location is set nicely next to an enjoyable river, the facility itself is lacking in many areas. Few cement pads are available and the ones they do have are only about 10 feet long making any decent size motorhome sit on gravel. The most unfortunate item however are the bathrooms/showers. They are extremely run down and seem to always be a bit on the dirty side. While this site does
Aug 12, 2013
We had such an awesome time I have told over ten people already! Thank you for an enjoyable weekend. We needed an easy and quick vacation and you provided just that.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
I selected KOA as it seem to have all the things we needed for 1st time in our trailer! I also secured it because it had WIFI as I needed to check in on my laptop for a very important project but it was not working at all! Very very disappointed! Then water issue first day we were there created a problem for grand kids! For the price we paid, it was not worth it! Thought there would be more shade
Aug 10, 2013
Can't wait to return next year!
Aug 10, 2013
Clean. Awesome Cabin. Loud :( Trains
Aug 09, 2013
Campground was awesome, very clean. We would like to suggest that a license plate number should be required at check-in to help identify who is actually staying in the space. We were mistakenly charged an extra night that we were not there, due to confusion over who was in which spot. The new owners were very cordial about it and refunded the money for that.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Campgrounds were very clean, and improvements were even being made as we stayed here. Our site was next to the river. So perfect. The owner was friendly and and attentive to all our needs. We were within walking distance of town and tubing down the river, which was a blast. We also did some fishing and had a relaxing & fun time. Would stay at this KOA again for sure.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
I don't want to recommend you because then EVERYONE WILL WANT TO COME HERE!!! You have done a wonderful job with the renovation of the west side. Love the 30 and 50 Amp service and new water faucets. WiFi does not quite reach to the western edge of the campground.
Aug 08, 2013
We stop here on our way home from Yellowstone and loved this KOA. This was our first time at Lava Hot Springs. I was kind of dreading staying here after reading some of the reviews but I quickly realized I this is a great place to stay. Yes, you have a train or two go by but we did not notice. Just 3 hours from our home we will be back for sure.
Aug 08, 2013
Very clean and very nice bathrooms for a koa . Well maintained!!!
Aug 06, 2013
It was okay I know they have new owners that are making it better!
Aug 06, 2013
The freight trains that ran all night long are enough alone to never stay at this KOA.
Aug 06, 2013
For the price we need a bigger table or something to put things on and the Air condition was to big and loud. The water outside painted red to us it means don't use it , need to be told it's okay, and to low on the ground , would we come again Don't know
Aug 05, 2013
I think there ought to be a fairly early time to have campfires extinguished completely. One across from us smoldered well into the night and was really obnoxious. The people went into their rented cabin and didn't have to smell it that late.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We were happy to have a pull thru but the one we had had the hook ups on the opposite side while the sites on each side of us had them on the correct side. Also, it hard to get into restrooms. If the showers were separate that would help.
Aug 04, 2013
The tent site was nice. The bathrooms and pavilion are excellent.
Aug 04, 2013
Very clean and well maintained.
Aug 04, 2013
We were disappointed that we did not have a table to use at our site. We were impressed with the laundry/bathroom building until the line to use one of the 5 bathrooms formed in the evening and again in the morning. Perhaps one of the rooms could be used for the toilet only because 5 people taking showers definitely makes the wait too long if you just need to use a toilet.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.