Lava Hot Springs KOA

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 25, 2015
We LOVED the Bus Boys who were our hosts. They were very personable, stopped to have conversation and asked how they could help us. The grounds were kept super nice and we love the train noise late at night. I think our camp host name was Scott and ??? didnt catch the other guys name but I remember he just had cancer removed from his face so he had bandaids--Either way, WE LOVED THEM!!
May 25, 2015
Better than we expected. Employees were great and facilities were better than expected. Pretty close to other campers and water and electric were shared on one side for two units, ours was on wrong side so glad we had extra long electric cable and water hose.
May 25, 2015
People were friendly, cabin was clean, and bathrooms were fantastic. Staff was helpful but not knowledgeable about amenities. Cabins have no chairs and there should be notice to BYO chairs along with linens. Camping Kitchen was a very nice amenity with stove, oven, BBQ, and sink.
May 24, 2015
Lovely riverside site. New shower and laundry facilities exceptional. Pavilion facility handy in bad weather with cover, grill, sink, stove and tables/ chairs. Great improvements with new management. Sites could use more gravel with wet weather as there were deep areas and quite muddy. Friendly staff and convenient to hot pools, town and river rafting.
May 24, 2015
The very best KOA experience ever for me. Memorial Day weekend, with, massive amounts of rain, but the friendly staff made it far better than it could have been!!!
May 20, 2015
Very nice place to stay. The price seemed a bit steep but considering the location being a destination area I guess it's to be expected. I will definitely stay again. Coupons maybe??
May 19, 2015
Loved Lava Hot Springs and we were so impressed with the care Scott & John gave us when our propane hookup was a problem. Nice campground!
May 18, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff but the very loud screeching of train wheels several times at night was a deal killer.
May 18, 2015
Clean and the staff was very helpful
May 18, 2015
The new owners have done a great job in revamping this campground! The only suggestion I would have is they need to spray the gravel pads for chickweed, before their burrs come on!
May 17, 2015
We were only there one night but it was very clean and the staff were very helpful.
May 14, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay. I'm already planning my next trip. The whole way home I just keep saying, "Let's just turn around and go back!" The hosts were so nice and would stop and talk to us every day. They provided information about local restaurants and fun things to do. I'm a big fan of trains and I loved watching them make the bend up on the hillside. I'd watch every time I'd hear one.
May 14, 2015
Beautiful campsite . Very friendly staff. Loved it. wish we could have stayed longer .
May 14, 2015
So very lovely, and such sweet people.
May 13, 2015
Very friendly staff, very clean, beautiful place!
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
Loved everything about it!
May 12, 2015
!!!
May 11, 2015
Two gentlemen greeted us at our arrival. Introduced themselves got us registered and took us to our camping spot. They were amazing!! Loved our stay, beautiful campground, thank you!
May 11, 2015
Great
May 11, 2015
We love this location because of the river to the back of you and watching the train pass by every couple of hours. Perfect spot to watch the train without the loud air horns at a crossing. This is our second time staying here and we will be back for several years to come. Thanks for the special of $10.00 for the second night.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Very nice, though quite pricey
May 11, 2015
Loved it!
May 11, 2015
Nice RV and tent sites, friendly hosts, AWESOME bath and shower facility!
May 11, 2015
a magical location, the office people were nice.
May 09, 2015
The facilities are amazing, the grounds are well maintained, and the views are breathtaking. The only reason for a 4 not 5 star rating is the road noise. Highway 30 was quite busy during our stay and the close proximity of the campsites to the road made for some long nights.
May 07, 2015
The trains coming through at all hours of the night and day plus the traffic made our stay disappointing. Also the long sites on the upper level are far from level. Needs work.
May 06, 2015
I really enjoyed the location of this KOA so close to the geothermal springs. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the facilities were more than clean- I felt like I was in a resort or spa with the beautifully decorated individual rest rooms and hallway between them and also the laundry room. Great LARGE dryers and new washers at reasonable rates! (btw, the review site is only in Spanish!)
May 04, 2015
Noise from trucks brakes going up and coming down. noise from train. Uneven ground to park on. Requested handicapped Parking too far from bathroom and showers to us. Request a refund of $48.
May 02, 2015
I loved the river running right behind me. The short walk to the hot springs is a definite plus for this KOA. The mountains surround you and the train and highway right there don't bother anyone at night. Not even much during the day. I would love to spend a week there and enjoy more of the sights. Thank you.
May 02, 2015
They were doing a lot of work when we were there but did not bother us during our stay.
Apr 30, 2015
Great spot. Our cabin didn't have a chair or porch swing?!?
Apr 29, 2015
Beautiful site by the river.
Apr 27, 2015
Did not like having dirt instead of grass, but obviously ya'll are aware of this and are laying sod. But generally our stay was wonderful. Will be coming back often.
Apr 27, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly and assisted us in making changes to our reservations at the last minute without any issues. The cabin we stayed in was great and we loved the clean and private bathrooms. Lots of amenities and very close to town and lava hot spring. We will definitely stay here again!
Apr 27, 2015
Campground was okay. They are doing lots of work to improve it. We were disappointed in how many dogs were free (mine were always on leash). We even had 2 charge our dogs when they were in an x-pen. Would recommend stronger monitoring of the rules.
Apr 23, 2015
Disappointed with dirt and gravel work behind our trailer. KOA folks should have told us about it when we arrived and we would have switched to the upper camp ground away from all the noise.
Apr 20, 2015
I really appreciated the larger sites with the extra space for the car! Looks like you removed every other site - Great idea! I wish more campgrounds would do that!
Apr 20, 2015
We will definately stay there again. It is beautiful by the river and the restrooms/showers were very clean. The staff were all helpful and accommodating.
Apr 13, 2015
We love it here! I love the personal cabins, especially with little ones! However, our hot water went out and I wasn't able to give my boys a bath. The beds are horribly uncomfortable... Beware!! We will stay here again, even with those 2 little complaints :)
Apr 13, 2015
Had a wonderful time...beautiful KOA and awesome employees!
Apr 13, 2015
Unaware that the train was very close by, woke me up several times. Water was very cold when I went to take a shower.
Apr 13, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
It was great. The only thing was we didn't have hot water but called and they sent somebody over to turn it on in a timely manner. To take baths there is not enough hot water. Other than that the kids had a blast and it was the right size for a family of 4
Apr 12, 2015
Lovely location. Gracious staff.
Apr 09, 2015
it was great, enjoyed the closeness of the springs and reataurants, a little close to each other though, the big shower building ran out of hot water, very friendly and very helpful staff!
Apr 09, 2015
Great campground. Bathrooms were spotless.
Apr 09, 2015
Great, clean amenities. Unfortunately very loud- higway and a train going by.
Apr 08, 2015
We had a great stay at the cabin. Very clean and for the most part, very welcoming. My only complaint would be one person talking down to a trainee and being degrading right in front of me. Not only did it make me uncomfortable but also a little angry to see such disregard for the employee but towards me as the customer. I will think twice before staying at that particular KOA.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.