Lake Tahoe KOA

760 North Highway 50

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 09, 2013
Washrooms clean, friendly staff, nice location in the trees.
Sep 03, 2013
Sites too close together and bathroom/ showers very small. We did enjoy the area where campers could do dishes and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2013
Amazing stay. Facilities best ever seen for a campground. Personnel, the friendliest you could find. Everything easy to locate. Our info was waiting for us when we arrived. VERY HELPFUL.
Aug 26, 2013
very convenient and my kids loved the heated pool
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly staff. Rustic environment in the mountains. Facilities were clean. Good location too, not too far away from South Lake, but not too close either.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
coming from Reno, late in night had a little bit of problem to find the camp. It would be nice to have marked distances on your map how to find it (in the KOA yearly book) even if I reserved the two nights sopt for months in advance, I got probably the worst tenting spot in the kamp. I am not sure I will visit you gys again, sorry.
Aug 19, 2013
The Lake Tahoe KOA staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The pool/store area were clean & organized. Everything on the site was well signed and easy to follow. The only concerned I saw was the bathrooms located by P-51 were not as clean as I would have liked. There were dirty footprints on the last shower stall for two days. Everything else was great at this KOA. Thank you.
Aug 19, 2013
Very Friendly staff. Clean and pool was warm! A little close to hwy 50 for us due to traffic noise, but conveniently located to beaches and town. Park was nice for our son and campsite was very nice.
Aug 15, 2013
The staff was very pleasent and helpful. I was very surprised by the warm and welcoming attitude by everyone I met.
Aug 13, 2013
We really loved our stay at your campground the people were really friendly and helpful. The only problem we found with our stay was that there was no hot water at the wash station, and a hot tub would have been nice, for the price.
Aug 12, 2013
We got there' after dark and we were registered and ready. The biggest problem I saw was once we were there we were packed in like sardines. We I opened the car door I could touch the next camp's tent and the camp on the other side was the same. In the bathroom stalls I couldn't hardly move and I am not a big person. We left as soon as we were awake the next day.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We love the place and definitely will return. The facility is clean and a great staffs. Our only complaint was the noise on the highway, but beside that a great stay.
Aug 10, 2013
having made it clear that i was a single party of 1, i was assigned a tent camping site directly next to a family of 5 instead of one of the 5+ other sites that would've been more private. additionally, it was not made clear that wifi was not free. moreover, this crowded KOA cost me $45 for one night tent camping ($15 more than average) and i was beaten over the head with jesus' love. coffee-$1
Aug 07, 2013
Definitely a wilderness feeling! Helpful staff. Would use this KOA again on another visit.
Aug 05, 2013
Pricey for strictly tent camping, but it's generally worth it: great location, friendly staff, and clean bathroom facilities.
Aug 05, 2013
Nice setting in the pine forest for non-hookup sites. Very friendly and helpful staff. Need to post more rules in brochure. Some folks in large site above used the slope into our site for a bathroom overnight. Noticed a couple of sites way too close to pool area and busy path to store and bath house. Non-hookup sites seemed a lot nicer.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We all have a great time specialty the kids,the big rock was a 10+ kids loved it,
Aug 05, 2013
Our tent site had very little level ground. The only place our tent fit was on a slope. The fire pit was about 2 feet deep and had rocks that forced you to sit 4-5 feet away from the fire. Once lit, it was so low and we were so far away that you could barely feel any heat from the fire. Considering the higher prices of KOA compared to other campgrounds in the area, I expected more
Aug 05, 2013
Great staff. Clean and quiet facility. Loved it all!
Aug 03, 2013
Nice staff but the worst KOA I have ever stayed at. Double the price of a gravel pit tent spot, no grass, double price on a bundle of undried wood, 3 dollars for spotty Internet which is always free at other KOAs and any private campground, motel or hotel. Shame on the people who run this place! Never again!
Jul 30, 2013
We are a family of three and this was our first camping trip. We had such a great time at the So Lake Tahoe KOA! The campground was clean, quiet and family friendly. The office had everything you might need if you happened to forget something at home. We purchased wood, used the pool, laundry facility and even their microwave to heat up some chili. :) Beautiful, convenient & friendly!
Jul 29, 2013
the staffs helpful from the front desk and the staffs on the field. the campsite close to each other ( not so much privacy ). bathroom clean. overall, love the place
Jul 27, 2013
The campground was extremely beautiful, but if I want someone's religion shoved down my throat in a public place, I'll go to church. Awful.
Jul 23, 2013
We called & booked at the last minute. Therefore, our site was not optimal which was along a loud, busy road. Otherwise, staff was friendly & very helpful. The campsite and facilities were clean. The showers had plenty of hot water. We all enjoyed our stay & would return again booking way in advance for better site. Thank you.
Jul 22, 2013
Loved the site with the stream nearby... it was just a very small space and not very secluded...
Jul 22, 2013
Staff was great but campground was more like camping in a crowded parking lot and very run down. Not my idea of camping in mountains. I don't think i will ever stay at another koa in my life time...one of the worste camp grounds i have been to in terms of visual appearance and no space between sites.
Jul 09, 2013
Our stay with South Lake Tahoe KOA was outstanding. The campground was clean, employees were friendly, bathrooms were clean and showers were clean and had plenty of hot water. I have already recommended this campground to 2 friends. Great Job!!!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Great Site.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay.. except for the rain but nothing a. Shower can't help
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
It was great to have the stream so close and still be able to get my Starbucks on Saturday morning. Loved the pool and the clean bathroom/showers and the people and the store had some great items. Also a BBQ saturday night and pancakes Sunday morning
Jun 23, 2013
I arrived at around 8 pm and left at 730 the next morning. Didn't see much of the campground but the staff was very helpful and polite. I enjoyed hearing the sound of the river from my tent.
Jun 10, 2013
May 23, 2013
This is a beautiful location & staff are friendly. But there were leaks in the ceiling in the bathroom with a bucket to catch the rain. The main entrance to get to office and bathroom was partially blocked by a maintenance vehicle so you had to walk through the heaviest downpour of rain from the roof to get around the vehicle and into the bathroom. Ended up climbing over the vehicle.
Oct 05, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Sites are very close together and rates a little expensive. But very well run and we enjoyed our stay.
Sep 08, 2012
We stayed at this campground during Labor Day weekend. Got a site next to the creek which was especially great. Cooked our meals on the grill and sat around the fire pit, good times. This place is dog friendly which is an added bonus.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Clean bathroom and friendly staff except big boulders and big tree (a pine cone fell on top of my SUV had a big dent almost hit me on my head) on our campsite P4 no enough space for our tent and to move around especially if your a family of 5.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Super friendly, helpful staff. clean, stocked facilities. Comfortable, pleasant campsite (#P49).
Sep 04, 2012
Everyone was nice and friendly thank you for a great 1st time experience kamping KOA made it wonderful and we will be back.
Sep 01, 2012
Thanks for a great stay, great ice cream!!
Aug 26, 2012
we had a great time! love the cleanliness!
Aug 24, 2012
The service was very friendly and helpful. The actual campsites were okay, very small and very little privacy.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.