Lake Tahoe KOA

Open April 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693

Email

760 North Highway 50

US Highway 50 @ Upper Truckee Road

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 19, 2017
Beautiful location, with great help from the wonderful staff!
Jul 18, 2017
No bear boxes! Bear came to site every night.
Jul 18, 2017
Always awesome!!! Nancy is the best, made our stay possible... beautiful site on Echo Creek.... love the spirit of this place!!!
Jul 17, 2017
I was extremely unhappy with this KOA. I was especially disappointed with the attitude of the staff regarding the menacing Black Bear we had to deal with at the site. It was extremely disruptive, threatened the lives of many families and the attitude of the KOA was callous if not negligent. A black bear weighing 700 - 800 lbs forced 6 families including ours to leave the facility early.
Jul 17, 2017
We had a lovely stay. The campground is clean and well-organized. Our fellow campers were courteous and the staff was helpful. The spaces are a little smaller and closer together than we are used to (we usually camp in state campgrounds) but it was a lovely location and the creek noise helps mask other noises in camp. I wish they had bear lockers, but it ended up not being a problem.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Outstanding campground, staff was extremely friendly. Made memories for a lifetime, thank you.
Jul 11, 2017
Our site was near the freeway and we heard the noise of the freeway and stream at night in our tents. Most of the campground is on a hill and not a place for bikes. A small but heated pool. Laundry room on site was very helpful to wash sleeping bags when we had a sudden rain storm that hit our tent. We would camp there again in the future.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
The sites and bathrooms are clean, and the employees very kind and helpful. Short drive to Lake Tahoe.
Jul 08, 2017
Beautiful campground and friendly staff. Our only criticism is that there are no bear lockers! A bear came through the campground and ate food from our cooler. There was also no warning of bears in the area when we checked in or that we should store food in our car for safety. Extremely disappointed in this lack of communication as it really ruined our first night at camp.
Jul 07, 2017
We like it we will come back next time it's so beautiful
Jul 07, 2017
Staff was courteous and friendly. It was over the 4th of July, so it was very crowded with campers, but the staff failed to keep up with bathroom supplies and the restrooms were not very clean.
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
We loved it! So happy that for two years in a row we have gotten a spot last minute and been treated great. Great stories to tell the kids about yogi the bear at our camp site but lots of fun next to the river.
Jul 06, 2017
I havent been camping since I was 10 years old so needless to say I was pretty nervous about the whole thing. However the staff here at KOA were amazing! They were so helpful and accommodating! Nanci hooked us up with the perfect site located right by the river! P52! All in all we will definetley be back!! Thank you again for everything!!! xoxo
Jul 05, 2017
The staff was all very nice and helpful. Campgrounds were clean and well-maintained. With it being a busy holiday weekend, probably needed the bathrooms checked more often. Other than that, no complaints.
Jul 05, 2017
Dixie gave me and my daughters an awesome spot! Always hot water in the showers! the staff was amazing!
Jul 04, 2017
Campsite is very crowed . Tents are very closed to each other and the place is very noisy. The only thing I like is the bathrooms are cleaned.
Jun 29, 2017
Beautiful setting. Bathrooms need lights and cleaning. Tightly packed, busy campground so not very quiet.
Jun 27, 2017
GREAT campground. Friendly hosts. I stay there every year when I'm in Tahoe
Jun 20, 2017
The campground was very clean and staff were very polite. Don't recommend paying for WiFi.
Jun 19, 2017
Wonderful! Love the expressions of Gods love throughout the campground, and that there is church on sundays!!!
Jun 19, 2017
My site was the only one with 4 hours of sun with no shade. Miserable
Jun 19, 2017
This campground is run by some dedicated people. Staff told me, when I mentioned the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers, that they clean four times per day. Tent sites by the river are good. One complaint- we paid for three days of high speed internet, but on day two the upper loop system went down and the IT person did not get up there to resolve the problem, after repeated requests.
Jun 15, 2017
Staff super friendly and helpful. Restrooms cleaner than most KOA's. One shower prayed over two other shower stalls getting our dry things wet.
Jun 10, 2017
Campsites were nice with the river drowning out any traffic and other campers. The sites were spacious. Bathroom/shower setup was not the greatest, cramped. Compared to the KOA we had stayed at the night before in Klamath Falls, OR it was heaven.
Jun 06, 2017
Kids loved it, very well kept site! Clean, very friendly staff, and great pool. Will certainly come again when visiting south lake tahoe
Jun 04, 2017
May 31, 2017
Site 24, down by the river, was perfect for our young family. Lots of white noise to mask noisy kids, plus no neighbors butted right up against us. Not as many activities as some other KOA sites, but that's not necessarily a bad thing!
May 30, 2017
I loved it and I'm sure my cousins did as well. It was great, the staff were all extremely charismatic and helpful. You are completely surrounded by nature which I desire for a campground. Just remember, bring lots of blankets hahaha. I know this from experience. Other than that, you'll have an amazing stay.
May 27, 2017
Daughter liked swimming. Really enjoyed the creek and large rock.liked the friendly staff.wish we could be there for Sunday worship. The laundry and sink in back didn't feel secure
May 09, 2017
Oct 08, 2016
awesome location, and the reception was fantastic. Will definitely comeback.
Sep 29, 2016
Convenient, great staff!
Sep 22, 2016
Quick overnight stay. Wish we had more time to enjoy all the offerings.
Sep 13, 2016
Top notch, beautiful location.
Sep 12, 2016
The grounds were well maintained and had all the necessary amenities. The staff was friendly. The setting was pretty. Unfortunately, it felt like we were attending a church retreat. It was disgusting. Fortune cookies with Bible verses. Scripture everywhere. A "non-denominational" Sunday morning prayer service that was anything BUT. Evangelical Christians will feel right at home. Others not so much
Sep 12, 2016
It was a GREAT weekend camping again at KOA. Super clean @ all the staff very nice. We love it!!! Thanks a lot!!!
Sep 10, 2016
Stay was great, road noise was a little distracting at night when sleeping and trash became full but it was labor day weekend so understandable.
Sep 07, 2016
The people were friendly and helpful and the bathrooms were well stocked and maintained.Although the campsite was quite small, it was beautifully situated along the creek. Nice place!
Sep 06, 2016
Dissapointed I had to pay extra for my kids.. Seemed like a silly extra charge.. For an already overpriced campsite.
Sep 06, 2016
Had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing. The only issue I ran into was too many yellow jackets but I understand that was beyond anyone's control.
Sep 04, 2016
We tent camped here after backpacking. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 01, 2016
I am a Christian but I found the owners of this KOA to have overstepped the boundaries of my understanding of a KOA experience. Our campsite was filthy when we arrived, in addition, and it seemed of no concern to the owners. Their focus on their Christian proselytizing makes them unsympathetic to campers' needs. I would never return or recommend this particular KOA.
Aug 23, 2016
One thing people should know before going to this KOA is that the camp sites are very small. So if you think you might prefer one of their larger sites, I suggest you do so. The staff here were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to help us out of a jam. Their thoughtfulness and consideration really amazed us.
Aug 23, 2016
With so many other things to do in the tahoe area the campground was sparse. The staff was great and very nice. Showers were a life saver.
Aug 22, 2016
NICE AREA AND STAFF PEOPLE. VERY GOOD SERVICE. HOWEVER, BEES BOTHERED US TOO MUCH.
Aug 21, 2016
Great place to stay. Night time Highway noise minor annoyance. Camp ground fills up on weekends
Aug 20, 2016
Lots of bees..lots
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals