Lake Tahoe KOA

760 North Highway 50

South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Reserve: 800-562-3477

Info: 530-577-3693

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2012
Aug 24, 2012
Facility was very large and clean, but could use some upgraded bathrooms. TV cable was sub-grade; wifi was extra.
Aug 24, 2012
Again, BIG signs each way telling the customer KOA in 1/2 or 1 mile / other than that all KOAs that I stayed at we're fine / just the last two need better signs // Thanks
Aug 24, 2012
The service was very friendly and helpful. The actual campsites were okay, very small and very little privacy.
Aug 23, 2012
The staff was very friendly and the bathrooms were nice and clean, however the camp rate was VERY expensive (you charged additional $5 PER CHILD), there was zero cellphone reception and there was NO Wed/Sat night BBQ/Activites as advertised on the website.
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 21, 2012
Super clean facilities, lots of help from staff with big smiles with anything we asked for, and the best store we ever found at a campground.
Aug 20, 2012
Nice informal lay out.Extremly helpful. Will be back.
Aug 20, 2012
This is a nice clean campground located right off Highway 50. Nice heated pool and playground. Only problem I have with this campground is it is located right off a very busy highway. There is constantly highway noise.
Aug 20, 2012
We have stayed here before, and we will be back. Great friendly people take care of your needs. Great campsite and close enough to drive to the beaches.
Aug 20, 2012
It was great. Few suggestions (i) water was leaking from the shower. (2) the fridge was very energy inefficient (old).
Aug 20, 2012
This was our first-ever camping experience and this camp site made our stay so easy and wonderful! Only bummer was we were very close to Hwy 50 so we had a lot of traffic noise, but other than that it was a fantastic experience. We will be back for sure!
Aug 18, 2012
To many things are extra. Bathrooms are very dark and ran out of supplies. Some of the desk personnel were very curt to deal with.
Aug 17, 2012
Rude people. Alot of religious propaganda in office, which closes at 7, and we arrived at 9. No info left for us except our campsite # which we ended up taking a much nicer sight then assigned. This was our 9th Koa on this trip and only one wouldn't go back to or recommend. In future will go back to Tahoe Valley campground which we love. Gave koa at tahoe a try and was a mistake, charge forInterne
Aug 17, 2012
Aug 14, 2012
Just Great!
Aug 13, 2012
Aug 13, 2012
Aug 13, 2012
as always, the friendly folks at KOA made us feel like we were at a very familiar place (home away from home) even though, it was our first time at this property. Everyone was great and the scenery was gorgeous! Thanks from the Dragon family
Aug 13, 2012
The air conditioner broke and nothing was done about it, I talk to the office three times and still nothing. This KOA has very bad customer service.
Aug 11, 2012
At at time when it feels like most KOAs are turning into RV parking lots, the Lake Tahoe KOA knows what it means to be a CAMP ground. We LOVED our stay! Spacious, tree-lined sites, fire pits, picnic tables....all amenities we needed were right there. The staff and owners were friendly and service-oriented. We can't wait to go back!
Aug 11, 2012
Aug 11, 2012
It was very difficult to back into our site with our 28 ft 5th wheel RV. Thank goodness the RV across the road had not arrived or we would not have been able to get in. The site had a huge dump pile full of debris and ashes from other camp sites in plain site as we set outside or at the picnic table, unaccecptable. There was no where to walk the dog the "pet area" in 20 x 20 if that. Not expected.
Aug 11, 2012
Aug 10, 2012
We rented the lodge for 6 people. I just don't know why they charged us extra for 2 kids when there was only 6 of us. Pool was a little small, but we had a great time.
Aug 10, 2012
Great camp, just a bit too close from the main road, ask for a possible site away from it! The KOA team is very welcoming and kind!
Aug 10, 2012
We have been to KOA Campgrounds across America. The Lake Tahoe KOA was in the top 10 we have stayed at. Great location, friendly staff, wonderful facility. We are definitely coming back.
Aug 09, 2012
Aug 08, 2012
The tent sites were nicely treed on a creek - probably the nicest spot on our 3 week road trip. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Very clean bathrooms and showers. The only complaint that I have is other guests were given the site beside and overlooking our site, when there was no one else in the tent section. Even one space between us would allow more privacy. Otherwise, it was great!
Aug 08, 2012
This was our first time at Lake Tahoe KOA. I've NEVER had a negative comment until now. The pool was dirty. My kids wouldn't go in. The cost for what we received was much higher than the other KOAs that we enjoyed. The greeter in the office was friendly, but seemed in a hurry to go home.
Aug 08, 2012
The Chalet/cabin was amazing! Location was great - not in all the chaos of Tahoe traffic, but close enough to the lake and all the fun. Owners where very attentive to campers. Really clean and well stocked cabin. Pool, although small, was warm and great for the days we didn't go to the lake. I would stay again - absolutely!!!
Aug 06, 2012
Everyone was so nice and helpful. The site was clean when we arrived. The pool was nice and warm. The KOA store was loaded with everything you need. Nancy and her crew were very helpful with directions to surrounding activities in South shore. I would recommend South Lake Tahoe KOA to everyone. We had 5 sites (family reunion), including 11 adults, 6 kids, and 3 dogs! We will be back!
Aug 06, 2012
We both loved the setting.
Aug 06, 2012
Very dirty sites. No gravel just loose dirt. Sites so close together and difficult to navigate. Restrooms very nice & management very friendly.
Aug 06, 2012
First time taking my 3 year old grandaughters camping. I chose this campground because it offers a variety of activities for kids. Staff was very nice and friendly. The bathrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. It was a fun trip.
Aug 05, 2012
Nice time.Lots to see and do .Need to tow car in to get away and will do that next time. Overall a good time
Aug 05, 2012
We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Nice and quiet and the laundry room was clean. Thank you
Aug 04, 2012
The caretakers were very nice. The campsites are very small but the campsite itself is very clean and well-kept.
Aug 03, 2012
We have several complaints: 1. sites were not cleaned in between campers. 2. wifi was only 1 hr. per day. We had to pay for extra time. (Every KOA we have ever stayed at had unlimited wifi. 3. Outside cyclist came into our showers after a ride to use facilities. 4. Our dog was attacked by another dog while we were walking and owners did not do anything. They said to call 911.
Aug 03, 2012
The workers there are extremely nice. We really enjoyed our stay. The only disappointment was that there was not a seperate room for the pool table. You would have to play pool in the middle of the store. My son was bummed that they didn't have a game room like another KOA we went to. Overall, we enjoyed ourselved and again, very nice employees.
Aug 02, 2012
Good stay...neighbors liked to stay up late and argue. But everything else was clean and nice.
Aug 02, 2012
Jul 31, 2012
This is our third time staying at the Lake Tahoe KOA. It has become a favorite family destination. We appreciate the friendly owners & staff, the amenities offered, and the cleanliness of the facilities. We hope to periodically return for extended vacations in the years to come.
Jul 30, 2012
Very clean, very well maintained. Staff is very friendly. We will return here next time we are in Lake Tahoe!!!
Jul 30, 2012
Jul 30, 2012
Making reservations was complicated. Staff workers did not accomondate our request for three trailers to be together. Reservations were made months ago. Bit bull dog allowed to be in park. There was a bad dog incident involving another dog and the pit pull. I travel with my three grandchildren. This place is unsafe for children. We won't return again because pit bulls are allowed. Sorry.
Jul 30, 2012
I was displeased about the size of my camping spot. It was rediculoulsy tiny and almost didnt fit my family. I didnt appreciate being told by the custodian not to pick up broken branches or scraps of wood to burn. My guess is it was a ploy to sell 4 sticks for $8 in the store. There was also a LOUD party site that kept us up ALL night both nights. Family campgrounds? Not so sure....
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.