Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn. KOA

77 Fox Farm Road

Wilmington, NY 12997

Reserve: 800-562-0368

Info: 518-946-7878

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Tent Reviews

Aug 26, 2015
The staff were extremely helpful and very informative about attractions, in the lake placid area. The showers and restrooms were clean and kept up nice. The breakfast in the morning was good as well.
Aug 25, 2015
An extremely family friendly experience with all sorts of extra fun stuff to do with the kids at the actual KOA
Aug 25, 2015
Only good things to say about this camping except for the price: US$38 for a campsite is pretty excessive...
Aug 25, 2015
Pleasant, friendly atmosphere from the check in; to the escort to my cabin; interactions with staff and other campers. Two thumbs up! The cabin was in great shape, clean, abundant amenities in the campground including a well-stocked store; pool, tasty breakfasts/dining areas. Very well managed campground and I'd definitely return!
Aug 25, 2015
Nice and clean. Lots of amenities, river and restaurant in walking distance, fantastic /helpful staff!
Aug 24, 2015
Beautiful large tent site with a large leanto. Close to bathrooms and Kamping Kitchen. Very helpful staff. We will be back:)
Aug 24, 2015
We enjoyed another visit to KOA Lake Placid. Sadly, we had a few noisy neighbours and was hoping a patrolling KOA staff member would have told them to keep it down. I also found KOA staff to not be very friendly. There's never a welcoming smile, no pleasant demeanor, and no 'how can we help you' mentality. I was made to feel that I burdened them whenever I walked into their main store.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
loved being close to the river, great swimming hole and jumping rocks
Aug 24, 2015
Clean sites. Easy check in/out. Bathrooms/showers were clean. We enjoyed our stay!
Aug 24, 2015
We had a fantastic time at the KOA in Lake Placid/ Whiteface Mtn. The staff was a pleasure to work with, we had plenty of privacy at our campsite, and the facilities were top-notch! Overall, great experience. I would certainly come back and recommend this campsite to others.
Aug 24, 2015
Great campground and staff!
Aug 23, 2015
excellent,1st time visit.better then expected
Aug 22, 2015
We tent camped and were very happy with this KOA. (Site was S06). The only reason I put 4 instead of 5 stars is the tractor-trailer noise I could hear from route 86 from my tent. Some may not even notice it over the sound of the Ausable River. Otherwise 5 stars. Even the pool was great, something that others commented negatively on. Great place, great people.
Aug 21, 2015
Well, it was fine. I asked for a remote campsite, and got put eight in the middle of a bunch of noisey people. I walked the camp and found many empty more remote sites. Strike one. The free WiFi only worked near the lodge, because the WiFi 2 modum in my area did not have internet access... A dead modem. The lady at the desk has no help for that. Strike two. Toilets and shower were reasonably clean
Aug 21, 2015
Given that we had no cellular service we wished we could have accessed the wifi. Wifi service not compatible with smart phone. Better wifi gets u 5 stars.
Aug 20, 2015
Great location friendly staff well stocked store large tent sites with ample privice
Aug 20, 2015
Beau camping tranquille et boisé! Jsi passé un beau moment avec ma Fille et nos deux chiens! Tres bien situé pour profiter des sentiers de White Face Mountain! A refaire!
Aug 19, 2015
We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were told that we could not pick our campsite and must take what has been assigned to us because they were almost full. That night the campsites on either side of us and across the street were all empty and upon wAlking around at dusk we saw a lot of empty sites. On sat. In the store we saw people checking in picking their sites based on availability and a map.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Great location. Very friendly and helpful personal. We enjoyed swimming and jumping from the rock cliff in the river. Convenient and clean shower rooms and laundry machines.
Aug 18, 2015
People arguing until 1 am, people playing guitar and singing around midnight. Very irrespecutful and no one from KOA to regulate. Disappointed
Aug 17, 2015
I have been coming to this location for years! Always a great time with plenty of fun things to do .... The river in the back is breathtaking!
Aug 17, 2015
campground was fine, mini golf, open dumpster etc are not my idea of camping. location served its purpose for my hiking trip.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Place was awesome. Matt Montreal was very helpful for activities. Only draw-back I can think of, which is EXTREMELY nit-picky, but I wasn't a big fan of the birch wood bundles at $6/each....everything else was 5 stars.
Aug 16, 2015
tent site, 2 days; very family friendly, very accommodating with food, customer service, activities. well maintained.
Aug 15, 2015
We always have a great time when we stay at this campground.
Aug 15, 2015
Awesome site and customer service!
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful stay, as always, but our site wasn't cleaned before we arrived. We loaded up a bag with the debris (two wet socks, can of bug spray, bottle caps, paper trash, and a bottle) that was around the site. These items were in plain view and should've been easily spotted by whomever checks the sites. Site was P08 and we checked in on 8/8/15.
Aug 13, 2015
Stayed at a tent site in R-street - third time in that very good area. Everything was fine and this is an excellent campground. Showers were a bit under-ventilated. Small problem of extra charges on my bill were quickly corrected.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
What a great camp ground, lcation and view of the mountains. Thank you Janice & Claude
Aug 11, 2015
Clean and nice place to stay. A little crowded but expected on a saturday night during the summer.
Aug 11, 2015
Overall, the quality of the campground was pretty good. Unfortunately, our tent site was located right in front of the washrooms and the bright light from the washroom shone through our tent all night affecting our sleep.
Aug 11, 2015
We found the same quality of cleanness, tranquility and privacy we enjoy in state park plus there is never a "temps mort" for our children. This time, ping pong and pool were a hit! We love that the showers work without coins and everything is set up to make family camping easy and enjoyable. We took a morning run through the whole site and think we will probably try a cabin in the fall sometime
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. There is a lot of space at each site and the campground is clean. It was great to have showers there. Our campsite was next to the RVs though, next we will reserve a spot that further out in the wilderness now that we know.
Aug 10, 2015
We love the KOA! best location in the high peaks
Aug 10, 2015
Overall this campground is great. I would have liked a couple more bathrooms closer to our site. Unfortunately there were only 4 bathrooms - 2 of them being showers. Also a bit more care could go into the cleaning of the restrooms. Overall they were good. One day, a Saturday, so it was busy they were not attended to. This lead to running out of toilet paper and a very muddy floor.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great stay. This was my 4th stay at a KOA and they never disappoint. The site was clean and quiet. We had great neighbors. The site was close to the river, bathroom and pool.
Aug 10, 2015
I gave this stay four stars. I would have given it five stars except for one KOA staff member. In all my many stays KOAs, mostly registered under a different name this was the worst stay ever. One particular staff member, I believe his name was JIm was rude, obnoxious and arrogant. I submitted a verbal complaint to the site manager and he informed me that there were other complaints and he wou
Aug 10, 2015
As we arrived, we instantly realized how easy of stay that will be. Not being used to wild camping myself, this was nothing like wild camping obviously. Everything is accessible, the lodge with all the goodies you may have forgot on your way, the toilets at every corner, with showers that run hot water, the sink to wash your dish and a stove, it's a stress free environment.
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent campground! Tent site was large and clean. Only suggestion is to soften up the sand pads for the tent.
Aug 10, 2015
Loved my stay here. My four year old loved this campground and so did we. We will be returning in a few weeks to this awesome campground!Bathrooms were clean, showers were perfect and all of the tent sites were amazing. 10/10 Would go again.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time, very clean and staff was helpful!
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
This was our first time and we were highly impressed. The campsite was clean and well maintained. All the facilities were clean. The staff was top notch and went above and beyond. Thank you for making this an excellent weekend. We will be coming back.
Aug 09, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The campsite provided enough trees for shade and was quiet. Great experience!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.