Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn. KOA

77 Fox Farm Road

Wilmington, NY 12997

Reserve: 800-562-0368

Info: 518-946-7878

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Great campground and staff!
Aug 24, 2015
Great place, friendly staff. Site was perfect for a quiet night. Main part of the campground is a bit crowded for my vacation preference, but still a very nice place to stay.
Aug 23, 2015
I spent two weeks at the Lake Placid/Whiteface Mtn KOA and loved every minute. It is a great location; it is well maintained; the heated pool was great and the workers very friendly.
Aug 23, 2015
excellent,1st time visit.better then expected
Aug 22, 2015
We absolutely love the Lake Placid / Whiteface KOA. My husband and I got back from our 3rd vacation there this year with our dog and we're already trying to figure out when we can get back. This trip we brought some of my family to stay in a cabin for the weekend- they were super impressed by their site and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Thanks for another great vacation!!!
Aug 22, 2015
We had a great time. My only suggestion would be an update and repair of the arcade- almost nothing functioned in it. All the games were broken.
Aug 22, 2015
Everything is first class here except the ridiculous policy that the same person(s) who run the cash register also takes phone reservations. Several times we waited 10 or more minutes to buy a candy bar or wood. Many people we talked to were absolutely frustrated by the same thing.
Aug 22, 2015
Great for the kids, lots of activites for them. The deluxe cabin was also great and convenient. The only complaint was the staff at the general store were not very friendly.
Aug 22, 2015
We tent camped and were very happy with this KOA. (Site was S06). The only reason I put 4 instead of 5 stars is the tractor-trailer noise I could hear from route 86 from my tent. Some may not even notice it over the sound of the Ausable River. Otherwise 5 stars. Even the pool was great, something that others commented negatively on. Great place, great people.
Aug 21, 2015
We enjoyed our stay every day,even when it rained. This location is entirely wooded. The river is dynamic and loaded with fish. This is a great campground for kids. The grounds and sites are well kept. The bath houses are very regularly cleaned. The staff is very accommodating. There is much to do in the area. It was hard to leave!
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful, Jim greeted us upon arrival and escorted us to our site even before we left our vehicle! He was organized and the priority was to ensure our setup was as easy and quick as possible. Gave a great referral for a restaurant close by. KOA was close to all the attractions we wanted. Breakfast was great as we had no groceries. Pet park was GREAT. Bathrooms were CLEAN.
Aug 21, 2015
We had an absolutely wonderful stay. We like our time there so much that we booked another weekend for October.
Aug 21, 2015
Great location and well maintained park
Aug 21, 2015
Well, it was fine. I asked for a remote campsite, and got put eight in the middle of a bunch of noisey people. I walked the camp and found many empty more remote sites. Strike one. The free WiFi only worked near the lodge, because the WiFi 2 modum in my area did not have internet access... A dead modem. The lady at the desk has no help for that. Strike two. Toilets and shower were reasonably clean
Aug 21, 2015
The location to activities was great. The campground staff was really friendly and even showed us to our site, which was a nice touch. The pool and all the facilities we used were clean and the campground was very large.
Aug 21, 2015
I can't give this KOA five stars because the bathrooms in the U loop need more cleaning... There is wet dirt tracked all over and the bathrooms smell like urine. :( The bathrooms in the lodge however were ok. Our cabin could also use to be re-polyurethaned and re-caulked. A few of the machines in the arcade were out of order. However, our site was quiet. The staff could be more friendly.
Aug 21, 2015
Given that we had no cellular service we wished we could have accessed the wifi. Wifi service not compatible with smart phone. Better wifi gets u 5 stars.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
Nice clean cabin
Aug 20, 2015
Most of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. One of the escorts was very curt to us and repeated the same behaviors to our friends the next day upon their check-in. A few extra pleasantries go a long way to making one feel welcome. Whoever represents your park after should be happy to be there. The rest of our experiences were terrific.
Aug 20, 2015
Great place to stay, nice sites although they cam be a little dusty. Consider once with a pored concrete pad. WIFI seemed improved this year.
Aug 20, 2015
A lovely spot.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
My husband and I have an RV motor home and thought the area was beautiful and we were able to drive our motor home to different sites which were close by the KOA. We were also amazed at the view of the mountains from the campground. Just so beautiful and the campground was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2015
Perfect for young families, loads of amenities. Very nearby local attractions.
Aug 20, 2015
Totally shaded spots made the 2 hot days pleasant.
Aug 20, 2015
Great location right between the town and the Olympic Village. Just a couple of minutes from Whiteface.
Aug 20, 2015
Studio cabin was so cozy and clean and we loved the big bathroom (R20). We had such a pleasant stay we are already planning a return trip again soon. Thank You for a wonderful experience!!
Aug 20, 2015
Great location friendly staff well stocked store large tent sites with ample privice
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Beau camping tranquille et boisé! Jsi passé un beau moment avec ma Fille et nos deux chiens! Tres bien situé pour profiter des sentiers de White Face Mountain! A refaire!
Aug 19, 2015
Cabins were nice and included wifi for the kids. Campground was clean and quiet.
Aug 19, 2015
It was very relaxing the bathrooms and showers were clean. You served breakfast. Everything was great. Thank you we will be returning :)
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay was very pleasant with lots of people around that could answer any questions....both about the campground and about nearby attractions.
Aug 19, 2015
We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were told that we could not pick our campsite and must take what has been assigned to us because they were almost full. That night the campsites on either side of us and across the street were all empty and upon wAlking around at dusk we saw a lot of empty sites. On sat. In the store we saw people checking in picking their sites based on availability and a map.
Aug 18, 2015
We had the most fantastic trip. We were on site A02. It was great for my husband who loves to see rigs coming and going! I had training with Todd in the upstairs on Monday. Thank you for accommodating. Facilities were always pleasant. Thank you for supporting the best vacation we have had in a very long time.
Aug 18, 2015
Was located in a premium patio site at the entrance. The noise level was great however, the installation of a fence on the patio side of the site to block headlights is recommended. At night time, the headlights from vehicles did become annoying while sitting around the campfire. Other than that, a wonderful campground.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and loved it. Not only are the cabins nice but the campground as a whole has so much going on and so many things to make your stay better. We will be back!
Aug 18, 2015
We had an amazing time staying here. We plan on coming back again next summer!
Aug 18, 2015
Great location. Very friendly and helpful personal. We enjoyed swimming and jumping from the rock cliff in the river. Convenient and clean shower rooms and laundry machines.
Aug 18, 2015
Quiet, unexpected as we have had negative experiences at koa...tried this on a suggestion,so glad we did. Clean, pretty, state park like and great staff,,,had a car break down and they went overboard to help and accomodate us not having to move!
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
People arguing until 1 am, people playing guitar and singing around midnight. Very irrespecutful and no one from KOA to regulate. Disappointed
Aug 17, 2015
So dog friendly and incredibly clean! The Deluxe cabin had everything my family needed and was really spacious! Our dog loved the dog treats waiting when we arrived and the location was perfect near the river. Already planning a return for next year!
Aug 17, 2015
Love the campground, Love the town of Wilmington and the people. Had a great time despite all the rain.
Aug 17, 2015
Great people, great sites, fantastic service and breakfast rocked!
Aug 17, 2015
Stayed in a cabin and had a great time - as with most KOA Cabins it would be nice to have more privacy

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.