Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn. KOA

77 Fox Farm Road

Wilmington, NY 12997

Reserve: 800-562-0368

Info: 518-946-7878

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
I rented a lodge so my 78 year old father would be comfortable...I was more than pleased!!! Better than staying in a hotel.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Wonderful stay. Large lots, friendly staff, great amenities in a beautiful setting. what more could we ask for! :)
Aug 12, 2013
The location is great. The staff is wonderful and friendly and the grounds are kept in great shape.
Aug 12, 2013
We climbed to Flume Knob on Whiteface mountain and swam in the lower Flume near the campground. It was great.
Aug 12, 2013
Love the Whiteface Lake Placid KOA. Always come back every year!!
Aug 12, 2013
Awesome sites.
Aug 12, 2013
Perfect for our hiking trip. Only complaint would be that 1 of the 2 showers in our area was closed for 2 days.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Camping at Whiteface KOA was great as usual. Slightly frustrating that one of cabin area bathrooms was out of order for a few days, but feel that it was out of your hands because repairs needed to be completed. Thank you ! Will come again
Aug 12, 2013
Fourth year in a row at this KOA andeach year I bring more friends to stay during our time. I do want to move to the back loop or thegroup site this next year. Yes, I will be back this next year.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Only draw back, was the futon tilted toward the center, making a uncomfortable sleeping. But over all , nice place . The cottage was nice. The camp grounds in general was nice. We will be be back
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We have had to hitch and unhitch in the rain but rarely have we encountered as much pooled water and mud. Otherwise, we had an excellent experience.
Aug 12, 2013
Our stay at KOA in Wilmington, NY was great! The bathrooms were very clean, the showers were hot, and it was quiet!
Aug 12, 2013
Overall good. The only issue is the 'absolutely no refund for any reason' policy. We had a family emergency and had to leave unexpectedly and it was on a day there were over 50% of the cabins vacant so it's not as though they were losing out due to us leaving. It just would have been good business acumen given we are KOA members and have also stayed with them before.
Aug 12, 2013
Clean restrooms. Slightly noisy, late nights at site beside & behind ours. In the morning found beer cans thrown onto our site. Was disappointing.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Very friendly and courteous staff! Very clean camp facilities, and beautiful area for camping! Will definitely come back again!Thanks KOA Lake Placid!
Aug 12, 2013
Very nice sites , location and great staff.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Very poor customer service The counter is hosted by kids who dont now much Sports Center is open only one hour and has nothing Otherwise great location
Aug 12, 2013
This camp is excellent!
Aug 12, 2013
Very nice campsite, nice staff. Not all lots are nice but many are. The location is beautiful, site is well maintained. Top of the notch campsite!
Aug 12, 2013
Can't say enough about it your people were the best. Clean
Aug 12, 2013
The only thing that we didn't like was the fact that we had to move every night. We stayed 3 nights and had to move every time. It was busy and we called last minute so it's understandable. otherwise, we love it.
Aug 12, 2013
Great location and some of the best tent sites to be had anywhere. Excellent facilities overall.
Aug 11, 2013
Beautiful camground! Nice sized sites with lots of shade. Very clean bathrooms with individual showers. Customer service was exceptional. Close to Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Recommend stopping by the Wilmington visitor center for lots of great local info. Also recommend using Trail system across route 86 from the campground...well marked trails for a variety of abilities!
Aug 11, 2013
Bathrooms could use better upkeep. And the pool area an update.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Beautiful campsite. Enjoyed the cottage. Disappointed that there were not more activities planned for the kids and also disappointed that there was a charge for the mini putt and crafts. More activities (free) offered at other KOAs, otherwise great stay.
Aug 11, 2013
We had a great time the campground was clean and easy to get to.It was quiet at night and truly enjoyed our stay We would stay here again
Aug 11, 2013
Ce site était magnifique avec des terrains amples et des sentiers super surtout celui qui longe la rivière au sable. Le terrain de mini golf pourrait être mieux entretenu. Il me semble que le personnel a l'accueil manqué un peu de sourire et d'entregens. La région en général pourrait développer une piste de bicyclette plus accessible pour les jeunes enfants.
Aug 11, 2013
Everything was great, except for thelong waits for laundry room and sometimes for showers. Very nice spacious sites. Great area to explore the great outdoors.
Aug 11, 2013
Great shaded lots! Restroms and showers very clean. Close to main attractions but far enough to live the outdoor rhythm of the Adirondaks.
Aug 10, 2013
too much truck traffic in and out at 7:00am, banging of dumpsters and general prep for the day prior to 8:00am. Quiet hours posted 10:00 pm to 8:00am ???
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Campground is very clean and staff are very helpful. Always have a great time. Thanks for everything.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
The scenery at that site L2 was amazing. The size of L2 was very good but it could have used a good sweep and some kind of up keep like sealant between the logs on the walls to keep cold air and bugs out since we sleep inside the lean to with a tarp hung up in front. It was so beautiful very private , did not mind at all the hike up and down the hill- helped burn off the smores!!
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
We had an amazing time. Not only was the Lake Placid region beautiful but the campground was amazing as well! Our only issue was that we had a full hook up which I thought would have cable tv as well but we were 1 spot away from the cable. It did not riun our stay one bit though. We caught up with the world via Wifi. Thank you very much and we will be back next August!!
Aug 09, 2013
We stay in the cabins and love them. A different type of shower head in the disablity cabin might be a good idea, along with a better way of closing the shower curtain to protect the floor :) and perhaps some wooden screen doors? Taking good care of the cabins may seem a little bit more work, but in the long run it keeps them clean, comfortable and welcoming,which keeps people coming back each yea
Aug 09, 2013
We stayed in a Deluxe Kottage, it was clean and had everything we needed. Booking in and out was easy, this KOA is near all of the Lake Placid area points of interest. We will be returning in the future. Cheers and thanks for a wonderful kampground, we enjoyed staying there.
Aug 09, 2013
Beautiful area. 2nd time staying there. Children had lot of fun. Lots of activities to do outside the campground. Very disappointed that they had signs posted outside stating they had hayrides at 6pm and breakfast at 0800-1000am but didn't list the days. Also, I would have to give a thumbs down as they didn't vocalize there activities...we always had to inquire.
Aug 09, 2013
Très beau camping, les chalets sont très propres. L'accueil vend tout ce qui peut être nécessaire à des prix abordables. Le seul point négatif, le wi-fi ne fonctionnait pas mais bon, en vacance, on n'a pas vraiment besoin de ça ;)
Aug 09, 2013
Site was very nice but extremally noisy with apparently no supervision from campground management.
Aug 09, 2013
Wi-fi is way too slow and sites are too close to each others.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.