Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

Email

15627 Highway 178

Lake Isabella Kern River KOA

Weldon, CA 93283

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
The campgrounds were nice. Pancake breakfast was a plus! Need more bathroom facilities. Please look into the cleanliness of the pool- came out of the pool with a stench on me?!
Aug 13, 2017
People were really loud. Other than that great place
Aug 12, 2017
It was ok. The dumpsters were full, need to get more. The store was nice and stocked with small items needed. The staff was for the most part friendly. The two that stood out the most was the bearded guy and his daughter cooking pancakes. They rock. Family enjoyed the movie night. Bathrooms could be tended to more than once a day. Some people could do a little clean up after themselves to help.
Aug 10, 2017
I had a very good stay, the campgrounds were clean, well kept after and provided for and in a good location to attractions nearby.
Aug 09, 2017
Friendly staff kids loved it
Aug 09, 2017
Reserved the morning of, and on a Sat. So, I expected the 'overflow' sites, which I got, no prob. The site was not too good for setting up the tent as it was basically a sandbox, with no holding power for the pegs, ...I just slept on top of the table. Other than that (kinda expected) the place is alright. ....never tried the showers as they were too busy. Store was good and so was the staff.
Aug 01, 2017
I stayed 1 night. There was plenty of empty spaces, for a tent, it's a pity we were given a pace close to the road. A space further inside the camp would've been better appreciated. Camp facilities OK.
Jul 31, 2017
Nice staff! Great pool. An oasis in the desert.
Jul 31, 2017
Pool water was dark and dirty. Pool area full of trash,papers. Camp site infested with roaches. Toilets did not flush. Stools sitting in toilets. Dirty. Water pressure from sinks, little to nothing. Cob webs around your facility. Need to fumigate infestation of roaches.
Jul 31, 2017
Two of our three nights the quiet time enforcement did not happen. Campers were up until 3 am. Not a lot to do with teenagers. (After rafting) clean, nice staff
Jul 30, 2017
COULD have been amazing. The campground itself is really nice - but it was LOUD until about 2am. Made it impossible to get a good night's sleep.
Jul 29, 2017
The counter staff were very helpful and had great personalities. When we arrived there were about 20 people in the pool-it was super hot. It wasn't clean, but there were many bodies. The next morning it was just as bad. My daughter dropped her goggles in the deep end but you couldnt see the bottom of the pool bt you couldn't see past 3 feet! Bathrooms weren't kept up well.
Jul 28, 2017
everything as usual was fabulous; been camping here over 10 years with a big group. I did notice that our tent sites 24-27 do have trees that are a bit overgrown and might need just a bit trimming so as not to create a humid environment below. Looking forward to coming back!!!
Jul 28, 2017
We arrived a bit late, and though the campsite assigned to us was occupied when we pulled along side, they immediately gave us another without question. Very nice people and beautiful views of the southern Sierras and some gorgeous sunsets and sunrises. Would definitely recommend a a stay here.
Jul 24, 2017
The trash from the previous campers was left at our site and we had to clean our own site be before we could set up our tent. This was not just a little trash, but an entire trash bag worth and then some. It was disgusting.
Jul 24, 2017
Computers were down when we arrived, so unable to check in. Office was not open when we hit the road in the morning, so computer automatically tagged us as cancellation. Confusing. The location was very pretty, but with staying the weekend before Independence day the campground was crazy. Even though employees tried to enforce quiet time, some campers simply kept on partying.
Jul 24, 2017
Campers two camp sites down were talking and laughing til 1:30 am. I thought there was a quite time. They were not the only ones. There was someone else across the road that was also up partying til not quite 1:30am. Besides the pool, not a lot for my 7 yr old granddaughter to do.
Jul 21, 2017
Great experience
Jul 20, 2017
Great space and amenities, close access to nature activities.
Jul 19, 2017
Very nice set up
Jul 19, 2017
it was a peaceful and pleasant stay. campsites were clean and maintained. staff friendly and helpful.
Jul 17, 2017
Loved the pancake breakfast on Sunday morning!
Jul 17, 2017
The staff are very nice but I this KOA is in desperate need of remodeling. The play room wasn't all there. The splash playground for kids didn't work. No grass at all. Pavement would be nice around the campground. Again nice stuff, free icecream and movie night:)
Jul 12, 2017
Staff are really kind, bathroom most of the time are clean
Jul 12, 2017
Adequate tent site. Wifi stable with ok speed. Outdoor kitchen and sink area was clean. Bathrooms (adjacent to reception) were a horrible mess: no toilet paper and completly flooded (due to bad and insufficient Shower design).
Jul 07, 2017
Absolutely beautiful. The drive along the Kern river is amazing. Friendly staff and town. Loved it
Jul 07, 2017
One of the best Kamping experiences I had. Once you go KOA, other Campgrounds, No way!
Jul 05, 2017
Great KOA, clean and well keep. Close to lake Isabella, kern river, trail of 100 giants, we are super happy!!
Jul 05, 2017
Jun 29, 2017
It was great staff was friendly and the campground was kept very clean
Jun 19, 2017
We had a tent site, the site was right by the road very noisy. This campground doesn't offer first come first serve. I asked to be moved to T3 instead of T2 the site that they had assigned us. Due to the lack of shade. They refused. Even though the people that they assigned to that spot didn't show up for about 3-4 hours. The pool is cloudy. The bathrooms are gross H20 doesn't drain from shower's.
Jun 12, 2017
We arrived late, so we didn't get to enjoy the amenities, but there are lots of them. Our tent site on the highway was noisy and windy, and we had loud, rude neighbors who were up past 2 a.m. Pretty valley location surrounded by mountain ranges. Good place to stop for a quick stay.
Jun 06, 2017
Stayed right in front of the playground its a small but spacious camp. I got the water and electricity site which was shaded by trees vs the primitive one by the highway. If you go on a moonless night you can see the milkyway. Showered could be hot and humid and flooded bit i didnt mind.
Jun 05, 2017
I enjoyed my time there. The staff was certainly a highlight. Very personable, friendly and helpful - great activities for kids.Bathrooms and facilities clean. You are stacked against your neighbors with no buffer between, but good location to explore Kern River Valley.
May 30, 2017
We love the place, this is our 4th year and we are planing to come back next year, thank you😉

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We are so grateful for choosing our site.
May 26, 2017
We stayed here as a stopping point on the way home from Yosemite. We will most likely return to enjoy the lake and area again. The campsite was nice and shaded. Bathrooms were clean and well kept. Our kids loved the playground area. I took away a star because they advertise "coffee bar" but not open until 9.
May 24, 2017
Staff friendly; however, overall resort needs some updating.
May 23, 2017
Staff was very friendly and nice. Movie night was awesome. Had a great time definitely go back again .
May 15, 2017
May 11, 2017
Very clean. Shaded spots.
May 09, 2017
May 09, 2017
We choose to leave a day early due to the weather. But as always this KOA is our favorite.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We are grateful
May 08, 2017
Drove from Las Vegas where it was nice. Unfortunately too windy to set up tent (1st time doing it), did not stay. Nice setting. Any discounts/ bonus avail for another KOA stay?
May 08, 2017
We just stayed for one night but we enjoyed the site and amenities it provided.
May 06, 2017
I have so many thoughts on this campground. We enjoyed it, it well fairly well kept, the staff was friendly, the pool was clean, my kids loved the splash pad and playground. I took 2 stars away for a few reasons. First off was the trashcan near our campsite was not once emptied , and it was over flowing. This resulted in a billion flies constantly swarming us. It really put a damper on things.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately our trash service only comes once a week but we do empty the dumpsters ourselves in between and pick up trash at site. I will check into this failing and retrain staff. Thank you
May 02, 2017
It was a nice place for family alot of bugs but everything was well kept clean
May 01, 2017
Good tent sites,plenty of shade. The restrooms were clean.the 8 harley bikers starting up at 7 in the morning suckered but other than that it was a good stay.
Apr 28, 2017
Don't know if the bar is in the office or the office in the bar. Checking in late strong odor of beer. Met one man later that had been at the bar so drunk he couldn't stand up and kept falling into the stalls. Nice family atmosphere.
Apr 18, 2017
Always an amazing stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Campsites are clean and beautiful. Surrounding area is great for exploring and hiking.
Apr 14, 2017
Never been to a koa. And me and my sister was wow'd with our experience . Great scenery and location to marvel at God's handiwork. It did get chilly at night 43° but not too bad. Thank you koa!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals