Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Oct 26, 2014
Clean! The lady at the desk was so nice and extremely helpful! I think her name was Megan. Would differently come back!
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
I only rated it 4 stars due to the fact that the showers were really dirty (hair in drain cover and used q tip) for both days we were there. Everything else was great. Staff was excellent and the stay was near perfect. Would come back again but probably in-season.
Oct 06, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Great!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
This KOA was great. The owners were on hand all the time, whether it be for crafts or inviting us into their ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to be there. Great vacation.
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good are, friendly staff. prices on store are higher as expected but not crazy high. Spaces are small but good and leveled, no rocks, and water and electricity ran all times without issues. Cons: Restrooms needs more attention, floor smells bad, looks like a drain issue. there is no cover paper in man's, we had to ask my wife to take some from the girls restroom for us.
Aug 20, 2014
The staff was somewhat friendly. Tammy was extremely helpful. Our biggest issue with this KOA was the lack of restrooms and showers. There were only three showers and four restrooms stalls all in only one bathroom area behind the registration desk. One of the showers in the ladies restrooms was not working the entire time we were there. The rec room was like a sauna.
Aug 19, 2014
Camping sympa
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
there was a terrible noise in the womans restroom. Restrooms were not very clean. Friendly and enthousiastic owners and delicious pancakes on sunday morning
Aug 16, 2014
I would not recommend this place to an individual camping alone, particularly in a tent as this place appears to cater to groups and families first. I just felt outnumbered while here, and management appeared to be aloof about what I could share (perhaps this is acceptable in CA). Impossible to use stakes to anchor a tent due to shale below a soft surface. Received most help from European visitor.
Aug 16, 2014
Our stay was awesome our kids had a blast and everyone was really nice loved it
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Good amenities in this campground (microwave, kitchen, electricity and water on each site, ...) Nice landscape Cons : restrooms may be cleaner Friendly staff
Aug 06, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. Loved the activities for the kids. Not a far drive to the lake or Kern river. We did not like the bugs at night but at least they didn't bite.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
This place is a must do. The people are so friendly. One of our group left tent poles at home and the lady at the front desk let us use her tent from home. Place is clean. They have ice cream night on Friday FREE movie night under the stars, just bring your chair and on Sunday the day we left it was raining so we packed up quick. They had FREE panckes that they made into minions. Grandkids loved;
Aug 04, 2014
We had a good time staff is friendly and helpful. That is why we keep coming back every year.
Aug 02, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
The faculty were very kind and helpful!!! My kids had a very good time with the activities and enjoying the outdoor adventure!!! I will honestly recommend this place to friends!! Thank you
Jul 28, 2014
The staff was awesome. Lots of activities to do. Sites are a little closer than we like. We tent and kept getting woken up by the guy snoring in his tent behind us.
Jul 26, 2014
Our Scout Troop has stayed here twice now. The staff is great and the pancake breakfast on Sundays helps keep our traveling costs down. We will be back again.
Jul 25, 2014
Really enjoyed the Camper Kitchen, saloon, and great friendly staff. Oh the pancake breakfast was a nice treat. The drought has been hard on the entire region and the staff are making the best of it.
Jul 24, 2014
The gentleman who checked us in was wonderful. Very kind and helpful. We opted to leave a day early due to the "lake" being nearly empty. Tried to eat at the bar/restaurant but very little food on the menu was available. Noisy tent campers nearby.
Jul 24, 2014
Camp Hosts and Staff were awesome. Extremely friendly and helpful. Great place to stay if your passing through the area or want to go rafting in the Kern River
Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful as always! Great upgrades to the camp. Playground is very nice. Cant wait for baby to use it. The only recommendation is to clean pool. It was not as clean as expected. Kids didnt mind though.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Our family enjoyed our two night stay at Lake Isabella KOA. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming.A little bit of grassy area, especially around the tent sites would be nice to keep some of the dust down. The restrooms could be cleaned twice a day instead of once, they were a little dirty after some time but never undesirable.
Jul 14, 2014
Stayed two nights with family. Enjoyed our stay. The workers there where friendly and the activities they put on for kids were great.
Jul 14, 2014
Nice pool area, clean bathrooms and pool area, friendly staff, fun activities, would go back!
Jul 12, 2014
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, nice store and great price.
Jul 09, 2014
Very considerate staff. Wifi actually works here...
Jul 03, 2014
Great stay friendly staff and will gladly.return
Jun 30, 2014
Nice little site. Cannot compare to other site that I have visited in the past. Restrooms needed more attention. 1out 3 showers worked properly. 1 shower stall drain didn't drain which is not sanitary.
Jun 25, 2014
Everything that this site offers is AWESOME! Despite the noise disturbance and invasion of our camp area by the other campers, my family and I really enjoyed our stay here! My kids loved the pool, splash zone, playground, and the activities for the kids like the relay races and the movie night. We just wish it wasn't so windy!
Jun 21, 2014
Great people working here, clean restroom/showers, only parking for the tents could be made closer to tent sites and putting tent area not so close to the passing highway would be nicer.
Jun 16, 2014
This was a fabulous KOA! They had an ice cream social and a movie night! The only problem we had was a noisy neighbor. We would definitely stay here again!
Jun 09, 2014
The KOA is great! There is a pool, a large kitchen, a restaurant, and bathrooms with showers. The only downside is that it is not within walking distance to anything. You can't walk to the river or lake. They are both a very short drive away though, and the staff here are amazing. Will definitely be back
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
The staff was so friendly. It was nice that the owners walked around to greet visitors and remind them about the nightly events. It was a very friendly environment for our dogs too which is very important to us. Thank you!
Jun 02, 2014
OK, but bathrooms need to be upgraded
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very family friendly, a lot of activities to keep kids busy, crafts, movie night and ice cream and popcorn socials. Staff very friendly. Sites a bit dusty but we're all camping, right?! Centrally looked to Lake Isabella and Kernville.
May 16, 2014
Very clean facility. Excellent staff. Will stay again!
May 14, 2014
May 12, 2014
Guest friendly staffs and quite surroundings
May 05, 2014
Managers came around to notify us about the evening activities. Very informative about the area.
Apr 16, 2014
Due to car rental issues I had to revamp this last vacation. Thus, with no advance notice 8 days earlier than my reservation dates. The staff was most sympathetic about my car rental 'issues' and accommodated me beautifully. I fully intend to return to Kern River KOA and spend a few days with them.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.