Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
Friendly staff and a nice facility.
Jun 14, 2015
really friendly stuff, nice campground
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 10, 2015
Very nice campground
Jun 03, 2015
Noisy night because so close to the road. But nice activities and good staff.
Jun 02, 2015
Campground was well maintained, clean and staff was very friendly. Only downside was some noisy neighbors talking till late into the night. I was very surprised to see the dog pen area for off-leash potty breaks, but would be better with some grass.
Jun 02, 2015
Great customer service, clean facilities, and love Saturday Luau dinner and activities and playground
Jun 02, 2015
The lake Isabella KOA is a great place to stay with family and friends.
May 19, 2015
Perfect place to camp with young kids! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and just the right size. Our kids loved the playground, movie night, and Sunday morning pancake breakfast.
May 04, 2015
Keep up the good work I like that it's clean an kept up
Apr 19, 2015
We stayed in a primitive campsite. We did not like how the sites were right next to the road. We could hear consistent loud road noise all throughout the night. Some grass or mulch or anything on the ground to cover all the dusty dirt that we had to set our tent up on would have been nice. We were however VERY pleased with the kindness of the girl at check-in and with showers/bathrooms/pool.
Apr 15, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 12, 2015
Very nice staff great for kids!
Apr 11, 2015
Restrooms and showers old and not clean... People working there very kind and friendly, Nice bar, we enjoyed a drink at the bar and talk with the barman who is very friendly.
Apr 07, 2015
The staff was great. Grounds where very clean. Wonderful amenities. Very well kept. Spots where a bit small, but we'd stay there again.
Apr 01, 2015
Nice area, good facilities and the showers were clean. Well Done!
Mar 30, 2015
Thank you very much. We enjoyed it very much!!!
Mar 30, 2015
Very nice staff, play area/VB court nice, pool lovely. Tent spots quite noisy as they are next to the main highway.
Mar 30, 2015
I was not aware this place was catered to children and older folks. If you are into that style of camping, this place is great!! If not, however, you may want to search around for a location that fits your needs. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, unfortunately though, the scene was not what I was expecting.
Jan 20, 2015
It was an awesome KOA to stay at. Great scenery and very tranquil. Me and my Doberman had a really good time staying here over the weekend. Also, great staff.
Nov 08, 2014
We were excited until arrival and saw the conditions. The laundry room has 3 washers and dryers which only the staff was allowed to use, and the remainder of the time it was locked with a phoney "out of order"on the door. The "game room" was locked also disallowing entry; a deal breaker for my teenage son. Bathrooms were filthy and Wi-Fi didn't work. VERY POOR!!!!!!
Nov 03, 2014
Wonderful stay wonderful staff!
Oct 26, 2014
Clean! The lady at the desk was so nice and extremely helpful! I think her name was Megan. Would differently come back!
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
I only rated it 4 stars due to the fact that the showers were really dirty (hair in drain cover and used q tip) for both days we were there. Everything else was great. Staff was excellent and the stay was near perfect. Would come back again but probably in-season.
Oct 06, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Great!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
This KOA was great. The owners were on hand all the time, whether it be for crafts or inviting us into their ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to be there. Great vacation.
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good are, friendly staff. prices on store are higher as expected but not crazy high. Spaces are small but good and leveled, no rocks, and water and electricity ran all times without issues. Cons: Restrooms needs more attention, floor smells bad, looks like a drain issue. there is no cover paper in man's, we had to ask my wife to take some from the girls restroom for us.
Aug 20, 2014
The staff was somewhat friendly. Tammy was extremely helpful. Our biggest issue with this KOA was the lack of restrooms and showers. There were only three showers and four restrooms stalls all in only one bathroom area behind the registration desk. One of the showers in the ladies restrooms was not working the entire time we were there. The rec room was like a sauna.
Aug 19, 2014
Camping sympa
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
there was a terrible noise in the womans restroom. Restrooms were not very clean. Friendly and enthousiastic owners and delicious pancakes on sunday morning
Aug 16, 2014
I would not recommend this place to an individual camping alone, particularly in a tent as this place appears to cater to groups and families first. I just felt outnumbered while here, and management appeared to be aloof about what I could share (perhaps this is acceptable in CA). Impossible to use stakes to anchor a tent due to shale below a soft surface. Received most help from European visitor.
Aug 16, 2014
Our stay was awesome our kids had a blast and everyone was really nice loved it
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Good amenities in this campground (microwave, kitchen, electricity and water on each site, ...) Nice landscape Cons : restrooms may be cleaner Friendly staff
Aug 06, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. Loved the activities for the kids. Not a far drive to the lake or Kern river. We did not like the bugs at night but at least they didn't bite.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
This place is a must do. The people are so friendly. One of our group left tent poles at home and the lady at the front desk let us use her tent from home. Place is clean. They have ice cream night on Friday FREE movie night under the stars, just bring your chair and on Sunday the day we left it was raining so we packed up quick. They had FREE panckes that they made into minions. Grandkids loved;
Aug 04, 2014
We had a good time staff is friendly and helpful. That is why we keep coming back every year.
Aug 02, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
The faculty were very kind and helpful!!! My kids had a very good time with the activities and enjoying the outdoor adventure!!! I will honestly recommend this place to friends!! Thank you
Jul 28, 2014
The staff was awesome. Lots of activities to do. Sites are a little closer than we like. We tent and kept getting woken up by the guy snoring in his tent behind us.
Jul 26, 2014
Our Scout Troop has stayed here twice now. The staff is great and the pancake breakfast on Sundays helps keep our traveling costs down. We will be back again.
Jul 25, 2014
Really enjoyed the Camper Kitchen, saloon, and great friendly staff. Oh the pancake breakfast was a nice treat. The drought has been hard on the entire region and the staff are making the best of it.
Jul 24, 2014
The gentleman who checked us in was wonderful. Very kind and helpful. We opted to leave a day early due to the "lake" being nearly empty. Tried to eat at the bar/restaurant but very little food on the menu was available. Noisy tent campers nearby.
Jul 24, 2014
Camp Hosts and Staff were awesome. Extremely friendly and helpful. Great place to stay if your passing through the area or want to go rafting in the Kern River
Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful as always! Great upgrades to the camp. Playground is very nice. Cant wait for baby to use it. The only recommendation is to clean pool. It was not as clean as expected. Kids didnt mind though.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.