Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
Good pool, nice spot, needed to buy adapter for water connection, good campground for passing thru, environment not so interesting
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
The location is a bit desperate as the lake is very low on water. However the site had plenty on for kids with a good pool, banana bikes, gold mining, night cinema etc,
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
There was a young girl and guy (20's) at the counter both very pleasant. The septic drain clogged up and was pumped on sat morning. Stunk badly. Later that day the drain was leaking into road. The wrist bands were very unpleasant there must be a better way. There was a larger lady that was hovering around the pool making me put my band on even though my kids had theirs on.
Aug 05, 2013
great stay staff and owners can not be any better.
Aug 05, 2013
Amazing campground! Great place for kids. Not over crowded, or too loud. Very clean. Owners are very hands on, nice and accommodating. They personally make the free Sunday pancake breakfast. I was very impressed. Free ice cream on Friday night, a $3 craft for the kids, and Saturday night is water balloon toss, relay races and free movie. One thing: Playground needs upgrading, I got a splinter. A++
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Host and staff good folks. Ice cream and movies a nice thing for campers, thank you.
Jul 25, 2013
It had shade, electric for summer air, a nice pool, pub, good wifi and nice people. No complains.
Jul 24, 2013
Friendly people working there, the badroom and swimming pool could be cleaner
Jul 24, 2013
Got to talk to the hosts. They were very personable and courteous. They have done an excellent job in fixing this KOA up.Our family had an outstanding experience.Look forward to coming back!
Jul 23, 2013
The owners are super friendly. All the great activities for the kids really allow for a trip with no complaints of boredom. The pool and splash pad on hot days is perfect The cottages with bathrooms are total camping luxury and great for families.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
My only complain is that the trash & recycle accumulated for days bringing flies to our campsite also the bathroom was not clean early in the morning when every ones need to shower and use the restrooms, no paper, trashcans full, you need more personal to take care of these things. The rest was ok.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
another great stay. great place for kids. ice cream night hat ride and movie night. also pancakes on sundays. owners are hands on and really care about campers
Jul 15, 2013
We liked the swimming pool. We liked the Ice Cream social and pancake breakfast. Our pull thru spot was near everything and the kids loved the play area The camp host and everyone working there were great. Thank you. We will be back
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Nice site, pool was great in 109 degree heat!!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Nice place lots to do, friendly lady in store.
Jul 09, 2013
Great place to stay, we've gone here many times. Only negative for us is the trees need to be trimmed higher in some of the pull thru spaces to accomadate newer 5th wheels with SatTV and rubber roofs.
Jul 09, 2013
Had a great time. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
It was a packed weekend. Good service but I wish they would talk to some of the guess about riding there quads over and over threw the park. Its not a track for you and your kids and so the dust was bad from that, if they want to have quads running around make them a track outside of camp. But other then that it was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for this as quads and other OHV vehicles are not supposed to be ridden around the park, just ride out of park and back into park. We had some groups during your stay that we had to remind a couple times, myself and the rest of staff will better enforce the no riding around the park.
Jul 08, 2013
The owners are super friendly. They hosted a bunch of activities that kept the kids busy. These activities included, balloon toss, hay ride, outdoor movie night, ice-cream social, pancake breakfast. Men's bathroom needed a bit more cleaning, I felt and it needed to be stocked with soap and toilet paper more often. Some rude, annoying and inconsiderate families were staying in the cabins though.
Jul 08, 2013
Great activities to keep the kids busy. Very friendly/ helpful staff
Jul 08, 2013
This was our 5th consecutive year going to KOA at Lake Isabella. We have seen a lot of improvements since we started visiting. The place is great, the staff and administration are always friendly. My kids love the place and we will continue coming every year.
Jul 08, 2013
The weather was very hot. Except for this it was great.
Jul 08, 2013
It's a nice place, has a good pool, VERY friendly staff and a really clean campsite. The only problem is that its really close quarters. So as long as you like your neighbor your ok. We were in spot 11 it's a back in and the sewer clogged on the last morning so we had to use the dump station, it was a mess but nothing really bad. So it's nice, good staff just close quarters.
Jul 08, 2013
Very friendly staff, always willing to help.
Jul 08, 2013
There were a couple of things. We didn't have cable which I have never been to a KOA without it. The trash was never completely dumped. Just the top layer to make the trash can close so there was always a smell. And when asked when we checked in what the movie was that evening that was playing the guy had no idea. Really? I thought that you worked there and should know!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our trash gets picked up on Thursdays and until then we keep the dumpsters at a point that campers can still use them and the lids shut.
Jul 07, 2013
Extremely friendly & helpful staff, and the facility is very well run. Ice cream socials, movie nights and other organized activities. Clean restrooms & showers. A great campsite, the only thing I would recommend is to keep an eye on the local temperature for your trip. It can get toasty.
Jul 05, 2013
The campground was well cared for and was nicely decorated. The splash pad was fun for all of us. The cooking/gathering pavilion was also nice to use. The owners are wonderful people.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
It was dirty and hot. Amenities are not up to par like the other KOA campgrounds I've stayed at. I would highly recommend upgrading and expanding your campsites and other amenities. Sorry, will not be coming back to this KOA.
Jul 01, 2013
A nice, basic KOA.
Jul 01, 2013
The best staff possible... Marriot hotels would be impressed
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Campground and facilities were OK. Restrooms clean. Very dusty camping area with loose powdered dirt blowing all over. Quiet time after 10pm was not enforced. There were large groups of inconsiderate campers that made lots of noise until 11:30-midnight.
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
Very friendly staff. A lot of activities. We will be back.
Jun 21, 2013
We loved the extended hours offered for the office and the pool. After a long, hot day, the accomodating staff and clean, iviting pool was just the ticket. We will be back.
Jun 21, 2013
Clean and well kept campground. Friendly service.
Jun 17, 2013
The campground is clean with fun activities for the kids. Many of the campers left for the day to go river rafting or boating on the lake. The staff is friendly also. The KOA staff need to be more diligent with enforcing campground rules. Both nights we had 2 different campground parties impose on our enjoyment: up @ 6am with kids playing & worse case was family up until 3am drinking & cursing!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.