Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
My family gave this KOA a 4. I was not as impressed. Spaces were very nice & we met a lot of international visitors (very cool). Didn't see a single person cleaning until day 3 of our stay. Trash bin was overflowing and showers didn't appear to be cleaned our entire stay. Staff were friendly but compared to other KOA's, they fell short. Overall, nice enough, they just need to work on the details.
Aug 17, 2013
THIS WAS JUST A STOP FOR THE NIGHT BUT IT WAS WELL MAINTAINED.
Aug 15, 2013
Awesome! Hosts were on point. Property shady and clean. Pool beautiful and clean. Bathrooms great and clean. Fun activities.. 5 stars. Ms. Tami is the Bomb!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Pleasant place with a Common kitchen. Noisy during the night.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Was our first time staying at a KOA site - we had a great stay, and one person in our group had never been camping before. She loves camping now! Nice big camp site to easily fit the 6 of us and our 2 cars. Clean restrooms/showers, very friendly staff, nice pool, great movie night - just an all around enjoyable time!
Aug 12, 2013
We liked the large level campsites and family-friendly feel. The only negative was the sand (instead of grass) dog-walking area that had broken glass littered about.
Aug 12, 2013
I thought everyone in the front office was very nice and helpful. Lots of activities for the kids! The only thing I wished was that the camp grounds were not so close together. Luckily one of the neighbors was really nice but it could have gone either way.
Aug 11, 2013
Très bon accueil, camping plaisant et bien entretenu.
Aug 11, 2013
Loved it and the staff. Not on lake or river but close to all the valley has to offer, ask Brian for recommendations of places and things to see. Will be back cause better facility then lake campgrounds.
Aug 10, 2013
The staff from checking in late to checking out late was friendly and helpful. The grounds were kept clean as well as the facilities. It was much more than we had expected and made our family outing a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Aug 09, 2013
The koa resort itself is fantastic and kept nice. However I noticed that throughout the day locals come into the resort and use the facilities. (Pool showers ect) even ay night. I found this to be very annoying and not fair to those that payed. And in the pool area the cement needs to have grooves in it to prevent slips. I slipped holding my infant. Thankfully neither one of us were hurt. ;)
Aug 08, 2013
Good pool, nice spot, needed to buy adapter for water connection, good campground for passing thru, environment not so interesting
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Love this place! My family had an AMAZING time! We will definitely be back!
Aug 08, 2013
We were disappointed to find out that this site was nowhere near Lake Isabella. We had to drive 15 miles to the lake, which was really low and come to find out they had just drained the lake for research. I was expecting tons of trees and forest being that they are so close to Sequoia, and we came to a desert. Friendly staff bad area to camp. Lots of foreigners swimming in speedos...beware.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Me and my family loved this campground. We stayed in one of the Kabins and it was perfect. I love that they have activities for kids. Will definitely stay again!!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
The place was clean and organized. Staff was kind and helpful. It was exactly what they said they would be. Thank you
Aug 05, 2013
The location is a bit desperate as the lake is very low on water. However the site had plenty on for kids with a good pool, banana bikes, gold mining, night cinema etc,
Aug 05, 2013
Stay was short but great and staff was very friendly and helpful. I would suggest restrooms get cleaned twice a day instead of once a day. Would definitely come back. My kids had a blast and loved the weekend activities.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
There was a young girl and guy (20's) at the counter both very pleasant. The septic drain clogged up and was pumped on sat morning. Stunk badly. Later that day the drain was leaking into road. The wrist bands were very unpleasant there must be a better way. There was a larger lady that was hovering around the pool making me put my band on even though my kids had theirs on.
Aug 05, 2013
great stay staff and owners can not be any better.
Aug 05, 2013
Amazing campground! Great place for kids. Not over crowded, or too loud. Very clean. Owners are very hands on, nice and accommodating. They personally make the free Sunday pancake breakfast. I was very impressed. Free ice cream on Friday night, a $3 craft for the kids, and Saturday night is water balloon toss, relay races and free movie. One thing: Playground needs upgrading, I got a splinter. A++
Aug 02, 2013
Très bien.
Aug 02, 2013
My family and I stayed late July 2013. Upon check-in, the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the Deluxe cabin near the playground. The camp was very quiet and peaceful. Our cabin was ok, not very clean. The kitchen towel, sponge, placemats were dirty. The futon was gross, covered it with an extra sheet. Just little imperfections,we still had a great time and will most likely return.
Aug 02, 2013
The cabin we stayed in was very nice but rather hot. There was some type of fan/air conditioner unit which did not help very much. It would have been nice with the price we paid to have lines provided instead of having to bring our own. With regard to the WIFI, I would not call that having internet being logged off and loosing connection every 2 minutes. However I would still recommend it.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The managers Kim and Brian were so kind to us when our car broke down and we were stranded for days at the site. The campground was a great place to stay. We loved the pool, ice cream, movie night, and pancake breakfast.
Jul 29, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed our stay here and would love to come back soon. The staff was great and for the amount of people that visit this place they did a good job of keeping the bathrooms clean. The activities for the kids were a lot of good fun. My only issue is that they only have 1 grill in the kitchen. Some guy and his steak were all in my personal space within impatient self. :-p
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Host and staff good folks. Ice cream and movies a nice thing for campers, thank you.
Jul 27, 2013
Placed next to a youth camp who stayed up yelling until past midnight even though there were other sites available. The washrooms and showers were beyond disgusting. The pool was cloudy which is an obvious sign of not being properly cleaned in months. I will never, ever stay here again and will be sure to let others know not to as well.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
It had shade, electric for summer air, a nice pool, pub, good wifi and nice people. No complains.
Jul 24, 2013
Friendly people working there, the badroom and swimming pool could be cleaner
Jul 24, 2013
Got to talk to the hosts. They were very personable and courteous. They have done an excellent job in fixing this KOA up.Our family had an outstanding experience.Look forward to coming back!
Jul 23, 2013
It was very hot, not enough trees. And the night staff kept harrassing our party. I tought it was totally uncall for. But day crew was very helpful.
Jul 23, 2013
By far, this has been one of the worst KOA camps i have been to. We have a family reunion every year with 60-70 people. We were harassed and monitored for 3 days about too much laughing from the children at 10pm or after. If u have a strict curfew for young people you should have let us know ahead of time. It's pretty hard to keep 25 teenagers and small children quiet when its not even bed time.
Jul 23, 2013
The owners are super friendly. All the great activities for the kids really allow for a trip with no complaints of boredom. The pool and splash pad on hot days is perfect The cottages with bathrooms are total camping luxury and great for families.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Our Kottage was great but where to park was not clear. We loved the splash pad, we used it everyday of our stay! The ice cream social was very nice :-) Great place to camp with kids!!! We will return!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.