Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 26, 2013
Excellent facilities, wonderful staff, nice touch to have owner/family serve breakfast. Would have like the tent to be on grass, but not a deal-breaker and will definitely return. Thanks again!
Aug 26, 2013
This was our first time camping and they made the experience for our family a memorable one. Thank you and we can't wait to go camping again.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
My wife and I and mother in law had a great time there! We enjoyed using the pole area and traveling to 100 Giants Redwood Trees, walking the Kern River in Kernville. Plus stopping at the Mine Store in Bodfish and buying equipment for panning for Gold.
Aug 25, 2013
Great service (even do we arrived very late). Poor wifi connection.
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly staff and helpful, but not particularly clean.
Aug 25, 2013
I missed the lake
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Not at all close to the Kern river. The ad makes it seem as you will be within walking distance to the lake and river.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
The staff was very nice and helpful. They did everything they could to accomodate our needs. It was a wonderful stay.
Aug 20, 2013
Needs outside showers badly
Aug 20, 2013
Everything was in working order. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were ok, not great. It's a great location if you're heading to Lake Isabella. If you're in a camp/tent site, you may not be able to get your tent spikes to go into the ground. It seemed like the ground was just an inch or so of dirt on top of rock/cement. I would use this KOA again for sure, though.
Aug 20, 2013
the swimming pool was duty and the arcade was not clean
Aug 20, 2013
We had a fabulous time! Although there was an awful storm they let us stay in the club house for a few hours and Ben offered to upgrade to a cabin for a low rate. They were very helpful with hiking and where to catch the river. Ill be going back in the future!
Aug 19, 2013
this KOA is great for couples or a whole family get away. the staff is very nice and helpful. the delux kabins are decent remember your camping. bathroom shower is nice to have. close enough to the lake to enjoy a boat or skidoo rental French gulch is where we go for that, and Joy is very nice and made us feel right at home. the weekend here is the best Fri. ice cream sat. movie sun. pancakes.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
It was our first time at any KOA and we loved it. My grandkids were planning our next visit before we ever left!
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
My family gave this KOA a 4. I was not as impressed. Spaces were very nice & we met a lot of international visitors (very cool). Didn't see a single person cleaning until day 3 of our stay. Trash bin was overflowing and showers didn't appear to be cleaned our entire stay. Staff were friendly but compared to other KOA's, they fell short. Overall, nice enough, they just need to work on the details.
Aug 17, 2013
THIS WAS JUST A STOP FOR THE NIGHT BUT IT WAS WELL MAINTAINED.
Aug 15, 2013
Awesome! Hosts were on point. Property shady and clean. Pool beautiful and clean. Bathrooms great and clean. Fun activities.. 5 stars. Ms. Tami is the Bomb!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Pleasant place with a Common kitchen. Noisy during the night.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Was our first time staying at a KOA site - we had a great stay, and one person in our group had never been camping before. She loves camping now! Nice big camp site to easily fit the 6 of us and our 2 cars. Clean restrooms/showers, very friendly staff, nice pool, great movie night - just an all around enjoyable time!
Aug 12, 2013
We liked the large level campsites and family-friendly feel. The only negative was the sand (instead of grass) dog-walking area that had broken glass littered about.
Aug 12, 2013
I thought everyone in the front office was very nice and helpful. Lots of activities for the kids! The only thing I wished was that the camp grounds were not so close together. Luckily one of the neighbors was really nice but it could have gone either way.
Aug 11, 2013
Très bon accueil, camping plaisant et bien entretenu.
Aug 11, 2013
Loved it and the staff. Not on lake or river but close to all the valley has to offer, ask Brian for recommendations of places and things to see. Will be back cause better facility then lake campgrounds.
Aug 10, 2013
The staff from checking in late to checking out late was friendly and helpful. The grounds were kept clean as well as the facilities. It was much more than we had expected and made our family outing a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Aug 09, 2013
The koa resort itself is fantastic and kept nice. However I noticed that throughout the day locals come into the resort and use the facilities. (Pool showers ect) even ay night. I found this to be very annoying and not fair to those that payed. And in the pool area the cement needs to have grooves in it to prevent slips. I slipped holding my infant. Thankfully neither one of us were hurt. ;)
Aug 08, 2013
Good pool, nice spot, needed to buy adapter for water connection, good campground for passing thru, environment not so interesting
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Love this place! My family had an AMAZING time! We will definitely be back!
Aug 08, 2013
We were disappointed to find out that this site was nowhere near Lake Isabella. We had to drive 15 miles to the lake, which was really low and come to find out they had just drained the lake for research. I was expecting tons of trees and forest being that they are so close to Sequoia, and we came to a desert. Friendly staff bad area to camp. Lots of foreigners swimming in speedos...beware.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Me and my family loved this campground. We stayed in one of the Kabins and it was perfect. I love that they have activities for kids. Will definitely stay again!!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
The place was clean and organized. Staff was kind and helpful. It was exactly what they said they would be. Thank you
Aug 05, 2013
The location is a bit desperate as the lake is very low on water. However the site had plenty on for kids with a good pool, banana bikes, gold mining, night cinema etc,
Aug 05, 2013
Stay was short but great and staff was very friendly and helpful. I would suggest restrooms get cleaned twice a day instead of once a day. Would definitely come back. My kids had a blast and loved the weekend activities.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
There was a young girl and guy (20's) at the counter both very pleasant. The septic drain clogged up and was pumped on sat morning. Stunk badly. Later that day the drain was leaking into road. The wrist bands were very unpleasant there must be a better way. There was a larger lady that was hovering around the pool making me put my band on even though my kids had theirs on.
Aug 05, 2013
great stay staff and owners can not be any better.
Aug 05, 2013
Amazing campground! Great place for kids. Not over crowded, or too loud. Very clean. Owners are very hands on, nice and accommodating. They personally make the free Sunday pancake breakfast. I was very impressed. Free ice cream on Friday night, a $3 craft for the kids, and Saturday night is water balloon toss, relay races and free movie. One thing: Playground needs upgrading, I got a splinter. A++
Aug 02, 2013
Très bien.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.