Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 24, 2013
you really need some crushed rock throughout the park! that would help100% and don't rake the dirt when other RV's are parked next door. Cable would be nice as there is only one blurry channel but The dirt is the biggest issue. Great people run the park, friendly and helpful!
Apr 24, 2013
Our site happened to be next to the trash and recycling bins #14. Not all pleasant and of course a lot of people traffic. I would suggest that it might be an option to move the bins to a position in the campground where they are not adjacent to a site. We asked and moved site, only problem was our hose connection could not be fitted and so could not use the water service.
Apr 23, 2013
Very freindly campground hosts. THANKS
Apr 20, 2013
As always the best. They have one one the best maint. men only know first name BOB. He is always their to help.
Apr 19, 2013
Was so happy with out cabin! Although it was a smig dirty and the carpet in the loft could be replaced I was sooooooo incredibly grateful to have a shower and a toilet!!! And although we did not have an RV I was impressed with the hookups that you provided. We will be happy to stay at your campgrounds again! And let everyone know that El Portal is an amazing restaurant.
Apr 16, 2013
Your staff was extremely accomodating and the facilities were wonderful. We had our whole high school mountain bike team stay at the campground and we were all happy with the facilities. We will be back next year. Thank you for the fantastic service you provided to the team. We will also be recommending your campground to everyone on YELP.
Apr 15, 2013
The cabin was nice. The campground: pool area and camp kitchen good. broken games in game room, playground in disrepair, broken glass and burned remnants from fire all over pet walk area behind the play ground. Local area surrounding shows that at one time 10 or more years ago this was a nice place, and Lake Isabella was thriving. Disappointed and feel like a waste of money for brother's b-day trp
Apr 15, 2013
Apr 11, 2013
Apr 09, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 04, 2013
It was not very clean. The microwave and refrigerator were dirty upon our arrival. The staff was nice but not overly positive. The blinds were broken and messy. Needed painting. Bed was actually Ok and pillows were good.
Apr 04, 2013
Apr 01, 2013
Things are looking better, there was lot updating to pub and store, my family is planning on returning in a couple of months
Apr 01, 2013
The pet area had broken glass everywhere. wish that was more administrated.
Apr 01, 2013
Clean and friendly people. No amenities available at the time of year we visited. Floor was being replaced in office. It was a good place to stop for the night.
Mar 31, 2013
not a very kid friendly location, and maybe the bar in the koa store is good for some but i wouldnt let my kids go in. The hours posted were not kept. The town is very neat and has other competition for RV parks, this one needs to step it up a bit.
Mar 30, 2013
Mar 28, 2013
thanks, had a good time. a bit cold at night but not your fault
Mar 27, 2013
Mar 25, 2013
Mar 25, 2013
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The site was far too close to the highway and the grounds appeared more like a service yard then a campground.
Mar 24, 2013
I wish we would have had access to the pool. There was very little for the kids to do. They splashed a bit at the edge of the lake, but the pool would have been more fun. I suspect it's a lot more fun in the summer, but it seems like a place to stop on the way in the spring.
Mar 23, 2013
Mar 23, 2013
Pretty bleak surroundings. Facilities were OK, but as usual the WiFi did not work. I have this response for most KOAs that we visit. Should either be fixed or not advertised as being available.
Mar 21, 2013
clean great staff and owners
Mar 16, 2013
Mar 02, 2013
Clean,quiet, great view, staff great, sites level with lots of room. Located close to variety of things to do. Will go again.
Feb 21, 2013
Feb 19, 2013
Feb 17, 2013
Clean, nice staff, fun little bar off the office that parents could go to at end if day a visit. Nice too many distractions so kids won't simply camp. Close to fun things. 100 Giant redwoods, Whiskey Flats Days (on Presidents' weekend each yr) ghost town, waterfalls, Isabella Lake.
Jan 31, 2013
you guys are the best ,thank you so much for your support of vets i really appreciate it Michael Blair. I will be calling you soon its time for the derby
Jan 22, 2013
It was very comfortable and friendly. Had a nice area to walk the dog.
Jan 22, 2013
Jan 21, 2013
Was disappointed to not have a queen size bed. I called prior to making the reservations to find out about the cabins and was told some of the cabins had queen size beds. I stated in the on line reservation the request for a queen size bed too. When I arrived I was told that none of the cabins had queen size beds. I recommend employees know the right information and it is relayed in the future.
Jan 20, 2013
Jan 19, 2013
Jan 10, 2013
Nice people, beautiful scenery.
Jan 06, 2013
About as good as camping gets! Good People and Nice Place!
Dec 31, 2012
Dec 29, 2012
Dec 24, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
Great friendly staff. Can't wait to go back.
Nov 26, 2012
Awesome. Please provide potable toilets for night walk to bathroom.
Nov 25, 2012
I was unpleasantly surprised when my family and I arrived at the campsite. The internet photos are misleading and the campground is in the middle of nowhere. Store was at least 25 minutes away.
Nov 24, 2012
The campground was clean and well-kept. There were fun activities for kids, and the campground was definitely pet friendly. The only (minor) complaint is that the mattress in the cabins are extremely thin and uncomfortable. However, everything else about this site is pleasant and we would stay here again.
Nov 16, 2012
Kim and her husband was so nice and informative and your cabin I stayed in was so so cute!! I would visit KOA Lake Isabella again and again. Thanks again Kim and hubby!!!!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.