Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

15627 Highway 178

Weldon, CA 93283

Reserve: 800-562-2085

Info: 760-378-2001

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
best KOA in America, clean with friendly people and a pool! I will stay here again.
Aug 26, 2015
The customer service your staff provided is above and what was expected. cannot give one negative comment about your staff. That alone is worth revisiting. Thank you for making our trip a memorable one.
Aug 24, 2015
Stated it had Cable TV in literature but it didn't work!
Aug 24, 2015
Loved it. Even though the lake was low the river tubbing was fun. Been coming here for 20 years. Love this KOA
Aug 24, 2015
Great time, helpful staff, and plenty to keep the kids busy. Just wish it was closer to water, but understandable with the terrible drought. We will be back!
Aug 24, 2015
The staff was so friendly, the campground was well kept and very kid friendly! My kids had a blast and we got to stay in the awesome safari tent! They had a blast and are looking forward to doing this again soon!
Aug 23, 2015
Nice Place. Friendly hosts. Everything perfect.
Aug 21, 2015
The staff is very nice and helpful. Store prices are a bit high, but not terrible. Pool was ice cold, definitely a plus in this heat. Great KOA.
Aug 20, 2015
The playground is very nice and the pool has a section for little kids. Perfect for families.
Aug 18, 2015
Great spot and very nice staff
Aug 18, 2015
I didn't get the guy's name but he was working on Saturday afternoon around 1:00 p.m. He was such a nice guy and gave us superb service. This KOA was nice it had a nice pool and our site was great. We have no complaints. Thanks KOA staff you guys are great.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Overall Great stay. Very accommodating to bikers. Staff was amazing, friendly and very helpful when I came to directions and local eats. Clean Restrooms and decent showers. The camp sites for tents are very roomie, plenty of space for more than one tent on each site. I am looking forward to spending next summer there.
Aug 17, 2015
Great service staff is great
Aug 16, 2015
Loved the nature, river, bathing in the river. A bit stinky toilettes/boxes to close to the campsite. Did not use them. Will stay there again if we are in "the area" again.
Aug 16, 2015
Too dirty, too many bugs, no gravel to park on just dirt. The wind blows all the time so it makes it too dirty
Aug 15, 2015
Nice water playground for kids. The pub was a nice feature and my wife and I enjoyed the wings and pizza. They had a huge bug problem (box elder bugs) around the restrooms/showers; they were inside as well. One of the lights in our Kabin did not work and was not fixed during our stay. The pet area is fenced in which is a plus for us as we always have our dogs with us.
Aug 14, 2015
The campground was a good one, with plenty of shade and a friendly staff. Amenities helped make our vacation to the Sequoia National Forest convenient and comfortable. Thank you KOA Lake Isabella for providing a clean, air conditioned camper cabin and microwave oven.
Aug 14, 2015
It was a pleasant stay. The restroom were clean and the staff was very helpful.
Aug 14, 2015
Fraudulent, aggressive and humiliating experience. Police report on its way and will be emailed to KOA management as soon as we have it. Keep away and look at tripadvisor comments. We are not the only people with bad experience. KOA should not be associated with such an aggressive camp management

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have contacted this camper to understand what they are referring to. Staff does not remember any issues and our tripadvisor.com comments are good? We believe may be referring to another campground that they used during their vacation.
Aug 11, 2015
This KOA seems to be a little bit old. It needs some renovation
Aug 10, 2015
this will be our second time staying there we like your staff very helpful and extremely nice, the cabin was good! unfortunately the pool look kinda dirty so we were not able to enjoy. will for sure go back there to stay again but perhaps with an RV to experience the different's Thank you again
Aug 10, 2015
My family loves camping at this KOA, the people are friendly and the facilities are clean. The kids enjoy the many activities and everything is close by so going to the river or lake is easy.
Aug 10, 2015
Stayed here several times. Always has had clean sites and the staff is friendly.
Aug 09, 2015
The hosts clearly take a lot of pride in providing all campers with a great experience. The free pancake breakfast, ice cream social, and movie night were great perks! The campers' kitchen was excellent, store was well stocked, staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the pool had an attached kiddie pool which was a huge hit with me and my young boys. The playground was great, with lots to do!
Aug 08, 2015
Nice campsite, with nice activities and shady sides. Good Wifi. When it was located on the side of the lake it would be a 10.
Aug 08, 2015
People very nice Restrooms not so clean
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Stayed 3 nights in a tent w/electric/water. Took advantage of weekend activities: ice cream social, movie night, & pancake breakfast. Staff really courteous, friendly, & professional. Unfortunately, laundry facilities had a clogged pipe, so we had to drive to Lake Isabella to do laundry. Also, bathrooms were invaded by beetles & the AC didn't seem to work. Kids loved the pool, bikes & park.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Very friendly staff and nice shady sites.
Aug 04, 2015
Wonderful will come back
Aug 03, 2015
Great cabin...... Amazing staff..... Location not great..... Not much adventure ...... However very relaxing!!
Aug 03, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at this KOA. It was very clean and all of the staff was genuinely friendly. We got free ice cream on Friday evening and Saturday there was relay races and a water balloon toss for the kids in the evening and a movie night under the stars with popcorn and cotton candy. The splash zone was the kids favorite part! I would definitely recommend this KOA to family and friends.
Aug 03, 2015
Our family had a great time at camp KOA. They have a pool that is very clean a game room and a kids park along with other fun activities. They have free ice cream for the kids along with a movie night and on sunday we got free pancakes. They also are dog friendly. The campsite also has a little bar for the adults. An outside kitchen with a microwave so you can cook a great meal.
Aug 02, 2015
Very nice campground if you are on the way back to the west coast. Very friendly crew, nice pizza's and a great pool. Nice Grocery shop very close to the campground with ample parking for RV's. Recommendable!
Aug 02, 2015
Our recent stay at this KOA was fantastic! All of the employees were kind, helpful, and were always working around the property to keep it clean and comfortable. It was a wonderful family vacation and we found the level of camping just right for us. This KOA has a large, clean cooking area, shady level spots, and we had a great time at the ice cream social. Thanks Cushman family!
Jul 29, 2015
First time camper here. My Wife & I enjoyed our stay in the cabin. Plan on returning in September for the Ho Down.
Jul 29, 2015
This was our first stay at any koa. We are hooked!!! It was awesome. I posted many pics on my Facebook and several local friends now want to go. We had so much fun at the campground we didn't even leave the first day to see any local sights. No need to leave so much fun to be had at the camp by itself. The kabins are simply the best!!! You get the whole camping experience. Loved it!!!
Jul 28, 2015
I was very disappointed in the so call delux tent. The floor is plastic material with no carpet cover. Everything is cover in dirt and dusty bed was cover in plastic. The floor boards creaks and buckled due to the thin plywood use with insufficient support structure. The beds are uncomfortable and squeaks all night. The panels over the windows slaps against the tents wall makes a lot of noise.
Jul 27, 2015
First time staying at KOA. The kids had amazing time with all the activities and the movie night!! Clean and friendly environment
Jul 27, 2015
Friendly, well shaded, groomed park. Could use some updating but overall pretty clean. Lots of things for the kids to do!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I liked the showers, bathrooms and electric hook up. I wish the spaces between each site were bigger. ;)
Jul 26, 2015
It was really nice, the atmosphere was great and the cabin and cooking areas are really well equipped. Staff was friendly and helpful
Jul 25, 2015
I give this campsite 5 stars because despite the rainy weather and bugs that migrated during our first night the hostess kept the campsite clean. They had activities like ice cream, pancakes & marathon for the kids. They also have clean restrooms and showers. This place is perfect for families with kids. if you want to rough it you can drive out to the lake and river and go hiking its not too far
Jul 24, 2015
Awesome! Kids had a great time
Jul 24, 2015
It was a nice campground. Bathrooms centrally located. Clean pool. Kabin was clean, however the ac did not work very well. We would come back.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a horrible stay. We slept with hundreds of bugs in our cabin. We kept waking up as bugs were landing on our skin all night long. This KOA campground clearly has a bug infestation. I was swatting bugs off my body when I was in the shower. It was disgusting! At night the cockroaches also came out. This used to be my favorite place to stay in Lake Isabella. Very disappointing!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.