Hot Springs KOA

Open April 15 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at this KOA. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The cabins were clean and meet all expectations. I would definitely stay there again!
Jul 06, 2015
Very freiny owners. Very clean facility.
Jul 06, 2015
Clean, friendly, and quiet! Would definitely stay there again.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
The campground is clean and neat. We love camping in the tall pines. The breakfasts are very good and our grandson swam in the pool every day.
Jul 06, 2015
I had a great visit at the Hot Springs, SD KOA. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They went above and beyond their duties and made a point to find out about me at a personal level. They made recommendations of places to visit that I would not have seen otherwise. Thank you so much for making my visit memorable!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Happy to hear that you had a good visit to the Black Hills.
Jul 06, 2015
Rec room was way to hot to enjoy. There were no changing table in the restrooms. Breakfast was good and inexpensive. Bathrooms were way too far from the tent sites. This caused alot of problems. Also since the bathrooms were so far alot of people had to drive to them ... this caused headlights to constantly shine in our tent at night, waking everyone up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Our rec room has 2 air conditioners but when kids leave the door open they just can't keep the room cool. We do offer tent sites w/electric that are closer to the bathrooms that does not require driving to use them. We are sorry that just a few were passing by your site.
Jul 05, 2015
It was awesome
Jul 05, 2015
We had a great stay!! Your location is beautiful, everyone was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool, and Marcy makes a great pancake.
Jul 05, 2015
Really not large enough for our large MH towing - at least not our spot. Weeds in spots were tall, with several sticker weeds There was a lot of mud. If you have a smaller camper you would probably be fine.
Jul 05, 2015
Site was a little tight to get into but the staff helped make it work. Great support!
Jul 05, 2015
Stay was great. The only issue was some rude campers who insisted on cutting through our site when we weren't outside our camper. Walkway was 3 feet away from the camper but they still cut right passed our doorway setting our dog off every time. Amenities were great and the pool was beautiful. Laundry and bathrooms were clean.
Jul 05, 2015
Arrived late without . reservation and they assisted us Very helpful and a nice facility!
Jul 05, 2015
Told we couldn't have fire on the ground, but at least one campsite was doing so. Bathrooms were locked for 2 hours and there are only one set. The trees are lovely and the grounds well maintained. Check in was friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We have a limited # of fire rings available as per our fire permit on a 1st come basis. We close our bathrooms as per posted signs to clean them for our guests after folks check out & before new guests show up when there are not many people around. Sorry!
Jul 05, 2015
Our stay at Hotsprings KOA in SD was WONDERFUL!! There are 2 Hotsprings KOA's so we were devastated when we arrived in SD (from Canada) without a reservation...we booked in AR. John & Cathy immediately took care of us and everything worked out better than imagined. Wonderful friendly staff that go above & beyond, well maintained resort, lots of amenities, very clean & organized. AMAZING!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a good vacation & hope that you will return again.
Jul 04, 2015
The cabin was very comfortable and relaxing. The pool was clean and refreshing. We enjoyed being my all the sights we wanted to see!
Jul 04, 2015
John and Kathy were great. any issues were taken care of right away whether we needed anything for the cabin or a fire ring
Jul 04, 2015
Easy to find. Friendly hosts even delivered hot pizza to our Rv.Well stocked store. Saved 10% with my KOA value card.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the pizza.
Jul 03, 2015
When I was in need of something, I asked John and/or the staff and all of my needs were met. Unbelievable camping experience.
Jul 03, 2015
Everyone at the camp was very nice. The cabins and bathrooms were very clean and the breakfast was great.
Jul 03, 2015
Great park. Great people...
Jul 02, 2015
Owners very friendly. Showers were clean, campsites roomy. Only stayed one night as we were passing through.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Stayed in a deluxe cabin. Nice to have a tv for news after a long trip. The owners were great and accommodating to our unique needs. The mini golf was fun. The pool looked nice but we didn't use it. Bathroom a/c and fridge in deluxe cabin are so nice to have for travelers!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your wonderful comments.
Jul 01, 2015
I love this place. Its so close to everything from black hills, to custer state park and even sturgis.
Jul 01, 2015
Great Staff.
Jun 29, 2015
What a wonderful experience! We loved that so much was included with our stay. We also appreciated the attentive staff and the clean facilities.
Jun 29, 2015
KOA makes camping with an RV extremely easy, especially being able to reserve sites via the web while you are on the move.
Jun 29, 2015
Nice and clean.Even seve brekfast at 7 am. Great location . One hour up the mountain to Mt Rushmore. I was there at 8 am and no tourist were there yet...
Jun 29, 2015
Nice location, on site breakfast and pizza are a nice option.
Jun 28, 2015
We had a great time! Clean place and friendly people! Best KOA yet!
Jun 28, 2015
The owners are very nice, hard working people. We stayed in a deluxe cabin that was spotless. Great stay.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Some of the nicest people you'll ever meet at a KOA. The friendliest and most helpful owners and staff we've ever encountered at a KOA. Stay here, you won't regret it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Jun 28, 2015
They have a sign that says No Ground Fires. That leads people to think they cannot have a campfire to cook hot dogs over. There was no indication that you could ASK for a fire ring.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We post the sign to remind people to ask about campfires. Often we are in burn bans. We do offer fire rings in the campground on a 1st come 1st ask basis as per our fire permit from the forest service. We only have a limited # of fire rings available as per the permit.
Jun 27, 2015
Great rec room for cool days!
Jun 27, 2015
Great place to stay
Jun 27, 2015
two cabin nites (twice), excellent staff/happy people/very clean in all areas - love the old forest feel of the ponderosa/juniper, etc. Perhaps some time aome cyprus could be planted for traffic noise as it sits at the hwy. But overall - excellent.
Jun 26, 2015
clean and staff was very nice.
Jun 26, 2015
We were first assigned a site with a significant slant, it would have been impossible to level our motor home. we had to negotiate for a level site.
Jun 26, 2015
awesome place. but the people working there were the real highlite. to a person, they were the nicest, friendliest, cooks, managers, store workers, etc. imaginable. thanks!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments. Our staff works hard to make sure you have an enjoyable stay with us.
Jun 25, 2015
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin that was spotless and the staff was fantastic. There was a breakfast available every morning and is cooked by an incredible cook by the name of Marcy. This KOA is a great spot to stay and explore the area.
Jun 25, 2015
John was a great help. The staff was very friendly.
Jun 24, 2015
great staff, super breakfasts, nicely maintained, AAA
Jun 24, 2015
WOW-John and Cathy are friendly, helpful, cheerful hosts who aim to please their guests with great service and a quiet, clean campground. This is by far, the number one campground for personal service we have had in 15 years of traveling and camping with our family. THANKS!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
Jun 23, 2015
The owners were very friendly and the camp ground was clean. The pool needed some work, however, the gentleman that owns the place was out in the pool cleaning out debris from the storm the night before. I would recommend this particular KOA.
Jun 23, 2015
I would rate it higher but I didn't like the gravel tent pads, Had a huge thunderstorm and there was dirt and mud all around. Most KOA's we have stayed at had grass tent pads. We were over a small hill from the office and had no wifi. We were told when we checked in there would be none but we weren't told when we made reservations even though we inquired about about WIFI.
Jun 23, 2015
Great Cabin with AC, a Little Heater, Ceiling fan and also included a Mirror. Nice Location. Was little walk to restrooms & wifi is not password protected.
Jun 22, 2015
Really enjoyed our visit. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They even allowed us to use the restroom to clean off our kids after their mud fight when it was supposed to be closed for cleaning.
Jun 22, 2015
awsome
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals