Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 26, 2017
Nice sites tucked into trees. Friendly and informative staff. Plenty of Onsite activities to do..personally enjoyed the mini golf. Restroom/shower house was clean but could use a few more stalls during peak usage hours. Overall a pleasant experience.
Jun 26, 2017
Friendly people, clean bathrooms. Needs some structural work, trimming, leveling of tent sites w/o rock/pebble platforms so you can still sleep on the ground. Nice place.
Jun 26, 2017
Very well kept up and clean bathrooms/showers. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that campfires weren't allowed when the fire ban in the area was moderate.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for the lovely comment. We are only in a fire ban when fire danger is High. There is a Prairie Area fire danger and a Black Hills Area fire danger rating. We fall under the Southern Black Hills fire danger for our permit.
Jun 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay & will be going back. The owners & staff were great, and the surrounding area was beautiful.
Jun 25, 2017
Stayed here 5 times over 6 years, Internet service was poor every year and still is, is out most of the time. PLEASE FIX THIS!!! Rest of campground is great!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your return visits! I'm sorry to hear about your wifi experience! We made changes from last year and I thought it was working much better so I'm sorry to hear that was not your experience. I am also working with a campground wifi company to improve it even more. See you next time!
Jun 24, 2017
People and site were both amazing!! Location was great!
Jun 24, 2017
We got in late and just stayed one night...not enough time to fully evaluate
Jun 24, 2017
The owner and staff are great. Well maintained facility and kids had a great time. Thanks Todd and staff.
Jun 23, 2017
Nice Kampground, helpful crew
Jun 23, 2017
Really tight spaces. Wifi was poor to non existent. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. But good experience all in all.
Jun 23, 2017
Very pleasant campground with friendly and helpful staff. We stayed an extra day to relax during a two-week journey.
Jun 22, 2017
Had a great 5 day stay here with a wonderful breakfast served each morning. The hosts were more than helpful and Zoe was a joy.
Jun 22, 2017
Great place. Glenn showed us our site and gave us some tips on local places to go. They even provided us with free wood. Super clean, nice sites, everything was wonderful.
Jun 22, 2017
Over and above from the hosts, even got invited to join their family birthday celebration. Clean, friendly, and we will be back!
Jun 22, 2017
Very nice and hospitable. Made out stay very easy.
Jun 21, 2017
very clean and friendly. Fair rates. We would stay again.
Jun 21, 2017
very friendly, pleasant people to stay with. Lovely location.
Jun 20, 2017
Great Campground
Jun 20, 2017
The front desk guy (he moved from CO) recommended a great hike that made my stay awesome!
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
Site very skinny and lose to neighbors. Good pool and laundry
Jun 19, 2017
A very nice campground and very helpful staff. Only minor issue is that sites are quite tight and not level for today's bigger rigs
Jun 19, 2017
Owners are friendly and helpful. Free mini golf & firewood nice! Cabins need a microwave and fold down table or cupboard no place to put food!Otherwise nice campground!
Jun 19, 2017
This facility was clean and well kept up. Staff was very friendly.
Jun 19, 2017
We stayed in your deluxe cabin. Family of four and we all loved it. Enjoyed having a bathroom in the cabin!
Jun 19, 2017
Beautiful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even provided firewood so my our grandkids could make s'mores. Even though the sites are not level someone came and helped you get level with blocks the have at the sites.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Great stay, only complaint wifi never worked or the range was never adequate unless right next to main building

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm so sorry about that! I haven't heard to much about it so I didn't realize guests were having issues. We made changes from last year and thought it was working much better. We are working to improve it even more with new equipment and more bandwidth from the phone company. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Jun 19, 2017
The camp employees were wonderful. The sites were acceptable as well. My only gripe refer to the mattresses: they were rather smelly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yikes! I'm sorry! Please don't hesitate to let us know if you experience that again and we'll get them re-scrubbed!
Jun 18, 2017
nice site, good hosts, kids were happy
Jun 18, 2017
Very uneven sites, the guy on the golf cart only wanted to smoke cigarettes and sit on the cart, nothing like Palmer Gulch KOA where we usually stay at.
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Great KOA....clean, very well maintained, staff very friendly and approachable. Thanks for making it a very enjoyable stay!!!!
Jun 17, 2017
After having to change spots for the third time, the site was manageable, but still not a level site. I appreciate the owner allowing us to move and getting food for the kids. This would be good for a couple night stay, but too far from major attractions for a family who already traveled 700 miles. Has good things to do that the kids enjoyed and a great pool area.
Jun 17, 2017
Very friendly staff. Breakfast was good and always hot. Would recommend the sites be more level. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 16, 2017
A wonderful place to stay. We stayed at many KOA on our 2 week road trip and this is the best one of all!!!
Jun 16, 2017
Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Made sure we knew of a possible severe thunder and hail storm going to hit that night, and found a protective location for our Motorcycles. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in the black hills.
Jun 16, 2017
We had a great time and everyone was friendly! Great place to stay!
Jun 16, 2017
One of the nicest KOA's I've been at. Warm and friendly greeting, amazing help picking spot and then expert help getting parked and level in my case with my motorhome. The bathrooms were so clean and fresh, gift shop bright, clean, lots of items, the pool was lovely for my granddaughter and the couple who own this campground should be very successful. Lots of luck. Will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the lovely feedback!!
Jun 15, 2017
Great place to stay..staff was very good
Jun 14, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Campground was neat and clean. Great location..
Jun 14, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean. Like camping in the woods.
Jun 14, 2017
I rarely offer 5 stars to any establishment on account of always having room for improvement but the staff and hospitality just blew me away! Everyone at the park was so accommodating and helpful when we needed it and not pushy when we didn't. I researched the many different Koa's South Dakota had to offer and I am not disappointed with my choice. Please stay here so you can see what I mean!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for the incredible review!!
Jun 13, 2017
Very friendly and helpful people, especially the owner. Made our stay an enjoyable one.
Jun 13, 2017
We had the whole tent area to ourselves for 3 nights. What a peaceful spot. All managers/staff were amazingly helpful. Thanks for a great time!
Jun 12, 2017
Wonderful experience. Very nice facility, amenities, and staff. Thanks for recommending Iron Mountain Road and The Garlands. They were awesome!!!
Jun 12, 2017
Excellent campsite. Clean facilities. Clean and warm pool. It didn't feel like it was right off the highway. Impressed by the breakfast offered. It was freshly cooked and reasonably priced.
Jun 12, 2017
Super nice staff, wooded sites, clean bathrooms.
Jun 11, 2017
Stayed 4 night. Really enjoyed the campground. Employees were almost too helpful with the set up. Thank You
Jun 11, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy