Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 20, 2016
Had a great trip! Kids loved fishing in your pond. My son caught 15 huge catfish in 3 days!
Jun 20, 2016
This was okay for a one night visit. The pool was very cloudy so it felt a bit dirty to me. We used an RV so I didn't check out the bathrooms. The deck by the pond is a complete hazard. There is a broken board and rusty nails exposed. It's an accident waiting to happen.
Jun 20, 2016
Campground was very nice, and clean. The pool needed some TLC but other than that it was great. It would be nice to have more food drink options inside of the office.
Jun 20, 2016
Friendly staff. Close to freeway good for intermediate stop. Our campsite was dirty...leftover lemons and junk from previous camper.
Jun 19, 2016
We enjoyed a three night stay at this KOA. Our site could have been more level but I would trade a perfectly level site for the beautiful view we had of trees. Interstate is a bit noisy nearby but we couldn't see it from our site and once we started our campfire we didn't pay much attention to the traffic noise.
Jun 17, 2016
Bathrooms very clean, smelled nice, very convenient
Jun 17, 2016
Clean, but the basketball court and mini golf were run down and there were no poo bags in the dog park dispenser for both days. Interesting property with the donkeys, horses, roosters, etc.
Jun 17, 2016
Ground was not as level for walking from one place to another within the park.
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
Good stay, except for dumping station-- location on wrong side of RV which make dumping difficult since Rv is pointing up hill and may roll back if not carefull. Leaving dump area only one lane. Should have two lane to avoid meeting on coming traffic.
Jun 16, 2016
The site was beautiful & well kept but very noisy being right off the freeway which I understand makes it very suitable for an overnight stay. Campers always need wifi to make future plans, we could not use this amenity unless we were right outside the office. Making it very inconvenient. So we are very glad this was just an overnight stop to get off the road.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry as for the interstate noise that is out of our control. The internet is working poorly due to we switched to a new company an the old company has tore up a line an comeing Monday it will be fix, so maybe on your next trip stop an give us a shot to see the new repairs done.
Jun 14, 2016
the campground was very nice. Great level lots.
Jun 13, 2016
Great place to stay,very clean shower room and bathrooms.The only drawback is the noise of the highway but not a big deal.
Jun 13, 2016
Wonderful place, very clean and well taken care of. Overall very happy and will visit again. Lots for kids to do. Only thing that was bad was the WIFI said you didn't need password and listed the WIFI that you could use but my computer never found the avalible WIFI the only ones found were for the cabins and they did require password that I did not have.
Jun 13, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Liked how the sites were placed. It will be great when the wifi is working thru out the sites and may get cable. Over all great and staff is very friendly and caring.
Jun 13, 2016
Booked online a spot with plenty of shade....so it said . Got there and the lot I was to get had a waterline brake...that was fine because the shade was nowhere close so they sent me to another lot and there wasn't a tree anywhere near.I wound up cramming my 30 ft trailer in a 23 ft lot and enjoyed the rest of the stay.
Jun 12, 2016
Good place to stay, not to happy behind awaken by roosters at 4:30 in the morning.
Jun 11, 2016
Had a nice time. Need to have cable for the TV other than that it was great.
Jun 11, 2016
Asked for shade but put into the middle of stone parking lot. Did get a reassignment though. All out of worms so could not fish. WiFi not working. Highway noise deafening. Had to buy ear plugs to get to sleep. Truck Jake braking all night long. Otherwise campground well kept
Jun 09, 2016
Extremely disappointing in the wifi. We owned a campground for 30 years...90 % of our sites were wifi accessable. Wish KOA would find a server that actuall supplied wifi service!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We value your feed back. The reason we had no wifi during your stay is Comcast is installing the new wifi an was having problems doing so .
Jun 08, 2016
Overall, we had a nice stay because the staff was wonderful and very helpful. However, the bathrooms were nasty. My 7 year soon, who licks the bottom of his shoe & sniffs his underwear, wouldn't go in without a fight. This was disappointing.
Jun 04, 2016
This campground is by far the best place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. The facilities are exceptionally clean. We have been camping at this facility for the past 11 years. Jason and Sonya are the greatest host. All the staff is fantastic. We love our Horse Cave Campground!!!!!
Jun 04, 2016
Been camping there since2005 it's a great campground and good people running it
Jun 01, 2016
I feel as if the bathrooms were never kept up cleanliness wise compared to other KOA campgrounds Iand state campgrounds, which are much cheaper, I have stayed at and I know that can also be blamed on the campers as well but I was disappointed. The pool was nice and the close proximity to Mammoth Cave National Park.
Jun 01, 2016
Its a nice campground. But a couple things would make it a little better. The ladies restroom was out of toilet paper and paper towels several times and the shower door lock is broke on the middle shower. The drains are really slow in the shower so you stand in a lot of nasty water when you shower. Our site was pretty muddy but we have had a lot of rain so I'm sure that can't be helped.
May 31, 2016
We stayed at the Horse Cave Koa over Memorial Day weekend 2016. We had a great time. The campground is a great place to visit with your children. The playground area, bounce pillow, farm, and pool are all great amenities for kids. The campground is close to many attractions in the area. The staff was friendly. my only complaint is the bathroom. It needs cleaned more often.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
The dog park was GREAT!! We were at one of the newer sites that over looked the pasture and it was a GREAT view!! The bathrooms were clean, my only complaint was the height of the water faucets ... other than that we had a GREAT stay!!
May 29, 2016
We arrived to a park under construction, mud, bulldozers, backhoes, mud, freshly spread gravel, leveling jacks sunk even with pads, mud even before rain. We were not warned about construction so we could choose to reserve elsewhere. Camp store not even stocked. Signage literally falling down. Staff not available at check in. Left a day early. Road noise from I-40 very loud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you arrived while this was all going on. Our website says we are under construction.We are located off I-65 not I-40
May 23, 2016
May 21, 2016
Nice people upon checking. RV spots are not very level. Even our levelers couldn't handle the uneven terrain.
May 18, 2016
Most of the sites were being rebuild. The 50 amp sites were level but close to a barn with a lot of animals like chickens and roosters running around loose. We parked in the 30 amp sites which were pretty unlevel. Getting there is a trick. DON'T use the street address as it takes you miles around on a mostly 1lane road through the forest. I didn't think I could get around some of theUse KOA Drive
May 16, 2016
like the improvements making to camp still wish would install cable tv
May 15, 2016
It was great. Our family tent camped and we enjoyed the quiet setting, the playground, and the resident cat.
May 14, 2016
Checked in late and the site had no elec. But during our 3 day stay they put 3 other campers on the same site. Also the farm animals was a little bit bothersome.
May 12, 2016
May 10, 2016
The interaction I had with the staff was polite and professional. HOWEVER, the fact that there are free range chickens and turkeys with access to my and other's picnic tables and camping area is totally unacceptable. Farm animals are great, when restricted to an area of the campground. What a zoo! No trash receptacles except at the entrance and no doggy bags in the pet area, only a full waste can.
May 09, 2016
Was not given a back in site as reserved. At check in was informed most of campground was under construction-was put in a pull through site with no shade of any kind, camp ground pictures show lots of trees, put put golf was in terrible shape, turkeys, ducks and chickens would scaveng for food, a couple times they dumped our garbage and made a mess. The noise from the interstate was terrible.
May 08, 2016
We would have liked to have been notified of all the construction going on.We were so close to the highway we couldnt sleep.The barnyard animals were fun at first but roosters crowing at 5:30 every morning was not what we had in mind for a relaxing vacation. And they pooped on everything.And the wyfi never worked. Sorry, we won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you visited us when we were under construction , we are working on removing the roosters. The highway we can not do anything about. As for wifi new steps have been taking for that to be resolved. I hope you come back an see the new update when finished.
May 08, 2016
After the improvements are made, (especially) wifi, my ratings would improve.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

working on WiFi .
May 06, 2016
Under construction. Site was really far from restrooms and next to the barn where we were awakened at 5am by the roosters.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had been here when we were under construction, I know the roosters can be a bother. ( in some cases people do like them ) We are removing them . Hope you will come by an stay again an see the updated changes.
May 04, 2016
Convenient location to Mammouth Cave. Undergoing a massive re-do so a limited number of big sites. Due to be ready this summer. When this is done it will be a 5 star for sure. Great views, wonderful staff. Farm animals on grounds for kids to see. Local Italian restaurant will deliver best pizza we ever had!
May 04, 2016
Get rid of the roosters crowing at 4 am

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the noise. We thought they were taken away.
May 03, 2016
The sewers were backing up & no cable or air TV
May 02, 2016
Lovely check in woman at the site was so very kind and helpful. Just loved her!
May 02, 2016
Worst KOA experience ever. Poorly maintained A barn full of farm animals within 20 ft of rv sites made noise from 3:00 am throughout the night Highway noise added to the disturbance Electric box AND sewage were not working properly on the 1st site assigned. We moved to a 2nd site and had to hold sewage hose into another broken cap ring. Uneven gravel sites for rv parking

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you feel this way we are remodeling at this time. As for interstate we can't do anything about this. Wish you had came in to the office an spoke to us about this. Have a GREAT DAY.
Apr 29, 2016
This campground is under going major renovation. Pull through sites were just resurfaced & leveled. We didn't have wi fi or cable tv, but it was a pleasant stay& good location for visiting Mammoth Cave.
Apr 27, 2016
Under construction and to many hills lots not close to level.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

we are working on the unlevel part with the remodel.
Apr 26, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy