Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
Very nice stay. Very easy access from interstate. We stayed overnight only. Very happy to find KOA because we were very tired.
Sep 12, 2013
Beautiful setting; mature trees and rolling farmland. 2 downsides: noisy highway nearby, and too lit up at night.
Sep 12, 2013
Loved the scenery
Sep 09, 2013
Really enjoyed it and will return in the future.
Sep 08, 2013
Hi: The location is good and beautiful, But, They are not as friendly as the other KOA. The swimming pool was dirty and green. Come on, it is summer! and no cable TV only in the cabin. My family did not enjoy it staying there. They need to work on they place and people skills because the location and nature is nice. Thanks
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
I had a very nice stay. I wish the campsite (58) was a little more level and concrete or asphalt instead of rock. I love how roomy the campsites are down that row. Excellent Campground, care keepers are very friendly and excellent hosts.
Sep 03, 2013
Dirty pool, kids running out of control everywhere. 50 amp level site of by 10". Park generally in disrepair!
Aug 31, 2013
Strange way to park . Cools not put awning and chaos out. It was in a convent spot
Aug 29, 2013
No RV sites with trees. Laundry did not have any working washers and it wasn't very clean.
Aug 26, 2013
Site was what we thought was going to be a pull thru and it ended up being a site that you pull off parallel right beside the main driveway. We were unable to eat outside due to a cat that would not stay off our table. We woke up to 4 chickens, a rooster and a turkey on our site and table. Laundry had 2 washers that worked. The water in the pool was so cloudy that you couldn't see underneath
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
We had a pleasant stay at this KOA. I wish my spot (84)had been a little more level, front to back. I couldn't get the front of my fifth wheel low enough to completely level it. Best firewood that I have ever gotten at a KOA, I think.
Aug 20, 2013
Great staff. Nice location
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Beautiful campground! Love the lake and the animal area. They keep it very clean. My only complaint is the laundry room is very out-dated. 4 washers, only 1 worked and 2 dryers only 1 worked. We will camp here again.
Aug 12, 2013
Trash left in every fire pit from previous guest. No place at playground to sit and watch kids. Pool dirty. Mini golf hasn't been maintained for 20+ years. Staff not the friendliest, not rude, just not friendly. At other koa's we see workers consistently cleaning/maintaining campground throughout the week, not this one.
Aug 11, 2013
While the traffic noise from nearby Highway 65 was expected and tolerable, we found Horse Cave KOA in need of attention. We were particularly disappointed in the laundry facility, which had 1 of 4 operable washing machines and 1 of 2 working (heated) dryers. On a positive note, it is centrally located to many area sites, making it a convenient stop.
Aug 05, 2013
Seemed the Koa was under staffed Pool was not safe to swim in for the first few days of our week there. 2 of the 4 washing machines are out of order & not clean womens washroom had a a toilet out of order & the hand drier was broken so owners swtiched to paper had a problem with the stand up pipe for sewer it was too tall should have been ground level it took 3 days to fix that got a $12 refund :)
Aug 05, 2013
Everything in the camp was great. We like the staf and next time we will come only to the camps of KOA. Thank you for your investments in the camps.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
GPS location address sent us on a wild goose chase 10 miles into the back country Not a road to drag a 36 foot fifth down in the dark single lane to KOA address and it was just a bush lot Finally found it at 9:30 pm we had called ahead to book so no worries ( so I thought) not even a site listed where they wanted us to pull in as the office was closed so we just picked a empty one Never again
Aug 04, 2013
Great stay, nice folks, this koa is central to alot of the attractions
Aug 03, 2013
This is not up to KOA standards.We left early lost out 9000 points that we were using for a discount night. Pool was drained when arrived on Monday and was getting refilled.Could not swim till Wed.No activites were plannned.Women's restroom by the time we left only had one working toilet. Hardly any tp or paper towels on hand, Electric hand dryer never worked. Showers had hard time getting to work
Aug 03, 2013
The condition of the pool water was only fair...too green and cloudy. Other than that, the stay was very nice.
Aug 03, 2013
Easy to access, sites are spacious, very well maintained grounds are a great place to take a morning stroll. Tiering of sites leads a non crowded feeling and very quiet.
Jul 30, 2013
Facilities were clean and staff great but WAY TOO CLOSE TO THE INTERSTATE!
Jul 30, 2013
All 50 Amp sites are on the side of a hill. had to put 6in ramps under rear wheels and 12in blocks under right jacks. tried to cancel second night was denied
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The campground and restrooms were clean. We had a nice back in full hook up site. The area was well maintained. The pool was green. That was disappointing, but the kids swam in it anyway. The area and seating around the pool was nice. Playground was great for the kids. The staff was friendly. All in all for the money it wasn't a bad place to stay.
Jul 28, 2013
Friendly and helpful stay. Loved the activities they had there for the children. Negative would be the noisy interstate..
Jul 27, 2013
This is mostly an unremarkable KOA. The pool appears to be shared with the hotel off of the street in front of it, you will hear highway road noise as it's just a few hundred yards from the expressway, and the sites are average. It's clean and well maintained though. We stayed just to have easy access to Mammoth Caves. You could do worse.
Jul 27, 2013
Loved this KOA, staff was very nice and helpfull, very clean, our kids enjoyed all the attractions, very closed to a lot of them, thanks!
Jul 26, 2013
Worst KOA we have stayed at. Dirty pool and bathrooms. Bathrooms out of order. Very disappointed...especially with pool since it was very hot during our stay. We expect a lot more from a KOA than from other campgrounds...this one does not meet those standards.
Jul 26, 2013
friendly people with comfortable camp sites with electric and wifi; kept the family up to date on my trip, what could be better?
Jul 24, 2013
you need a bigger sign at the entrance just off the freeway.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Was very clean and well maintained. The staff was attentive and friendly. Fun activities for the whole family. The kids loved the friendly deer that walked through being petted.
Jul 23, 2013
It was a nice campground! Sadly our pull through site was hardly a camping site. We were basically on the roadway camping. Did not enjoy the campsite at all but did love the farm environment and animals were awesome, mini golf was great, bathroom was clean, pool was great! Other then the campsite itself the campground was great! Would stay again with a better site!
Jul 23, 2013
Very clean. The Jellystone had a much larger offering for the kids and might stay there in the future.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The little ranch behind us with ponies, donkeys, pigs, chickens, rabbits and ducks was a lot of fun for the kids. We did have a large mud hole on our site and all the other sites in that row that could have been graveled and been much cleaner.
Jul 22, 2013
Very friendly, clean well maintained, easy in and out.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
The sites close to the interstate were very unlevel. We did not have enough wood with us to level our new trailer. We could not get enough signal strenth to access the internet. We were very disappointed at this KOA.
Jul 18, 2013
Had a great time. I love all the trees and farm animals. It was a perfect place to stay to go caving. Thanks!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.