Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Mar 23, 2017
Run down, too much highway noise, poor Wifi, no cable, no over the air TV channels.
Mar 22, 2017
Recent 20% price increase was too much. Camping book said 2016 prices was between $32-$40 a night. New rate is $50.Sewer hookup ran uphill 40 feet

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am unaware of this camping book your talking about please give me more info so I can check into this. If your talking about the directory our prices are not listed in that book. HAVE A GREAT DAY.
Mar 11, 2017
Large area to run our dog. interesting extras. Only drawback was freeway noise and terraced hills.
Mar 05, 2017
Mar 04, 2017
Feb 27, 2017
Feb 26, 2017
Hate the extra charge for my kids, playground falling apart, NO other campers was ominous, putt-putt is a joke, and jumping pillow was closed every day. Won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you feel this way, The jumping pillow is closed for the winter an the Putt-Putt is being redone. As for the playground I would like to know what is falling apart. Thanks HCkOA
Feb 25, 2017
The Wi-Fi wouldn't work. Way too noisy. Besides the freeway noise there was the rooster that wouldn't shut up. We will never stay there again. On a good note the lady in the front office was friendly and apologetic for the Wi-Fi not working.
Feb 17, 2017
Great place to stop on your way south
Feb 16, 2017
Feb 15, 2017
It's a nice short stay campground. Right off expressway and close to Mammoth State Park.
Feb 14, 2017
Dec 24, 2016
The campground was beautiful and so clean!!! The staff was welcoming and very helpful. The hookups were great and site was a nice size. We stayed for an overnight, in a 5th wheel 12/23/2016. I would love to stay here again when the trees are full and everything is blooming. Very, very nice!!!
Dec 23, 2016
Nice, clean facility. Friendly staff.
Dec 13, 2016
where we had a site was at least 100 yards down hill from the showers and office, no trail or lights for the first part of climb . Went down to the lower 20s at night we could not use water at site, would have been nice if attendant had offered us a place closer to office, even though we still would not have used water being closer would have meant being able to use bathroom.
Dec 10, 2016
Site was good, although a bit steep. The campground was very difficult to find. We came in after dark and for whatever reason our gps took us past the campground entrance and the main sign for the campground was not lighted and the only sign by the Road was very small and difficult to see. I had to turn around twice and it turned into an ordeal before we finally got in.
Dec 08, 2016
The check in was fast,easy and friendly. The site was great. The park was clean.
Dec 01, 2016
Very nice!
Nov 30, 2016
Very freindly, convienent to National Park, sites clean and level. Only complaint was the noise from the Interstate, which was also our view from the camper.
Nov 30, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
We only stayed one night but loved the sight. Aren't on top of each other. Nice few of horses and pond. We got there on thanksgiving. Everything was there for us on the door
Nov 16, 2016
Only stayed for one night while traveling. The people were very friendly, but the campground does not accommodate class A coaches very well. The roads are very narrow, with many trees scraping the top and sides of the coach on the way to the only pull thru site.
Nov 07, 2016
You really need to put your KOA sign back up so people can see it.Surrounding buildings in front of KOA is a total turnoff.Very rundown.The campground is small but nice. Our site was wonderful.Highway noise but we had an RV so it didn't matter.The small animal farm was really cute to walk to and the jumpy-thing was so much fun!!The miniature golf really needs to be updated or removed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feed back. The mini golf is under repair at this time, we are gonna brick it out an put down new turf.
Nov 04, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
Highway noise is a problem, especially in the larger 50 amp. sites. Animals are charming.
Nov 01, 2016
Very nice for an over night stay.Enjoyed the animals.
Oct 30, 2016
Campground was nice. Facilities were clean. Only drawback is it is right off I-65 and there is lots of noise from the highway.
Oct 29, 2016
We knew ahead that this facility did not offer cable tv. However, no hint that it would be impossible to obtain an "air" signal because of the terrain. Couldn't watch the world series!! The quality of their firewood was poor. Soft junk wood with fungus. When I did inqujire with a differant desk clerk she somehow produced some hardwood which burnt much better. The geograpic location was ideal.
Oct 27, 2016
Park is poorly lit at night, cannot see site # from vehicle 30 amp "pull thrus" are a joke barely long enough for overnighters who do not disconnect, lots are not close to level back to front or side to side. No cable, no internet, no TV reception, will not be back
Oct 26, 2016
Like the campground. Showers need some work. One was out of order and the other one you couldn't adjust the water temperature. No cable and you couldn't get any network channels. Should reduce daily rate because I have never stayed at a KOA that didn't have cable.
Oct 26, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Oct 25, 2016
Couldn't connect to outlets. Got no refund for lesser hookup site. Poor counter person didn't seem to know or care about my needs.
Oct 24, 2016
One of the nicest and prettiest parks ever! Our cats loved watching the chickens and turkeys!
Oct 22, 2016
The grounds are nice and neat, the pull thru sites nice but all out in the open. I would give this KOA a 5 star rating except the location right on I-65 with very heavy semitruck traffic noise 24 hours a day. That spoils the feeling that you are camping in a serene environment. But it is close to Mammoth Cave and other nice tourist attractions.
Oct 21, 2016
The site was clean, we were able to level, just. wifi required that we sit at the office. The trees coming in could be pruned back a little for big rigs. The lower area, where we were had constant traffic noise from I-65.
Oct 20, 2016
Great customer service. Great facilities. Bathroom/shower area very clean.
Oct 19, 2016
Super, super convenient to Mammoth Cave National Park and other caves in the area. Sites are nice and convenient on/off the highway.
Oct 19, 2016
Nice clean campground. Good amenities. Highway is close. A lot of highway noise
Oct 18, 2016
The pull throughs at this KOA are like parking on the side of the street. The road is your front step. The WIFI is non existent, they say move closer to the building, that's not were my site is. They are only 2 stalls in the men's bathroom, no urinals for a fairly large park. Great location and clean, but not the best.
Oct 18, 2016
No wifi at all and everything at the office would have been nice if the sitting porch would have been cleaned. Bathrooms not very clean either. Would be ok for a quick overnight stay but not a lengthy stay. Entrance is very confusing, not marked well at all for us that aren't from the area.
Oct 17, 2016
Everything was great. 4 stars because putt putt was torn apart for a remodel. We could not play :(
Oct 17, 2016
We had a wonderful time. My grandson loved the playground and the bouncy pillow and all the other kids to play with. Very friendly place.
Oct 16, 2016
With it's proximity to Mammoth Cave I'd have thought that this KOA would've been more developed. The one bath house is small and quite far from the campsites that are "down the hill". There was no cable tv even though the sites are "full hook up". They also claim to have miniature golf, but it looks like it was dismantled in the past but never restored. I'd consider staying elsewhere in the future

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for the mix up on full hook up , our full hook up stands for water, electric , sewer. As for the mini golf it was just torn out a few weeks ago due to being remodeled. there is plans for another bath house.
Oct 14, 2016
We loved this campground. We had a site on the lower level next to the barn. We felt like these were the best sites because they were grassy. Loved the animals and the fish pond.
Oct 14, 2016
This was a great place the care takers were very attentive.never a dull moment. Grandchild had a blast. Getting in and out of the campground was very easy every time . Every store that we wanted was in close proximity,so we did not waste time in looking for stores. The downside was the traffic noise when you were sitting outside.overall pretty nice. Thanks for the good time.
Oct 14, 2016
Very clean, well laid out campground. We stayed there on the 5th and 10th of October.
Oct 11, 2016
We have stayed here twice this year. The first time we had a site that our door side was in the road of the drive and the second time the site was not level for our class A. The site was low to the rear of the RV and you had to use leveling blocks on the rear tire to get it level it. We also had a dirty pool the first visit and the miniature golf course out of commission.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for the unlevel site. we could have moved you to a better site, if you had come back to the office. As for the putt putt golf we are remodeling it.
Oct 11, 2016
Campground is nice and well taken care of, we were in pull thrus and very noisy near I65 with so much truck traffic.
Oct 10, 2016
No cable & no wi fi. Should be informed at reservation.
Oct 09, 2016
Clean park, but no cable or wifi at site. Lots of noise from interstate and adjacent farm animals. Sites not level.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps