Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 05, 2013
We come back definitely! Very, very nice place)))
Jun 02, 2013
Great family stay. Loved the little cabin, pool, playground, farm animals nearby, duck pond, friendly staff. The only thing I'd suggest is spraying your grounds for mosquitos. We, and our kids, got eaten up on the playground and at our cabin even with spray on....they were REALLY bad. Beyond that, we love this place. It was our 2nd stay and we'll be back again!
Jun 01, 2013
Second year we have had a family reunion there; plan to be there again next year. Great central location for family from OH, WV, TN, FL, AL, KY, AR.
May 28, 2013
Cabins too close to freeway but other than that an excellent value.
May 28, 2013
We had the BEST weekend that we have had in years. Stayed in the deluxe cabin and was very impressed with how clean it was. A lot of high class motels have not been this clean. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, overall could not have been better!
May 21, 2013
Great Kamp! The staff was very polite and helpful. The grounds was just beautiful. One of the best!
May 14, 2013
There was not much to do at campground. Windows had large cobwebs growing in the corners,had not been removed for quite some time. Campground is great for couples wanting private times. Our kids got bored. I really didn`t enjoy the rooster and donkey waking me up at 6 am. Highway is very noisy too.
May 13, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Quiet, clean. Arrived after office closed and were worried we wouldn't get our cabin, but they left the key taped to the office door for us. Clean restrooms too.
Apr 08, 2013
The cabin was nice, yet a little chilly even with both heaters on. Our kids loved the playground. And the roaming chickens cracked us up.
Apr 08, 2013
The cabins were very close to the highway so it made it very difficult to sleep with all the traffic noise throughout the night. The cabin itself was very nice and the campground was very clean.
Apr 06, 2013
Apr 01, 2013
You should install toilet paper holders in the bathrooms of the Kottages. Also another suggestion would be to put more hooks or pegs in the kottages.
Mar 19, 2013
Had an amazing time, will be back with children!
Mar 10, 2013
Campground was very well maintained! Only reason I give it 4 stars is because it was no fun being awakened before 6 am by roosters and 2 very large, VERY loud turkeys!!
Jan 15, 2013
we arrived late and left early, so we didn't have time to enjoy the campground. The cabin was clean and comfortable. the gravel roads washed out in places
Dec 14, 2012
Cabin was dirty. Ceiling fan was thick with dirt. Dead bugs in the window sills. Mouse trap/poison station near sink. I was told that linens were not provided, so I went through a lot of effort to pack everything, then linens were provided. Made reservation to bring dogs with us, then got a cabin with a 'No Dogs' sign on the door. Could hear highway traffic. Not a pleasant "cabin in the woods"
Nov 27, 2012
Check-in was fast and easy. The staff was friendly. The cabin however was dirty and shower did not properly operate. This must be an older cabin that has not been taken care of well. Past experience with KOA Kamping Cabins have been great, not so at Horse Cave KOA. I do not recomend staying at this KOA unless they begin to maintain the cabins.
Nov 19, 2012
Nov 17, 2012
Not a great location. Seems to be pretty much a truckers exit with Adult entertainment in TOO CLOSE PROXIMITY.
Nov 04, 2012
It was nice and we enjoyed our stay. We just became members in October and are looking forward to staying at the KOA's across the country for years to come. we like having a bonfire to relax in front of our camper kabins at all the locations after our long drives on our driving vacations.
Oct 30, 2012
Much happier with new front doors and heat/air. Would love if you all could fix the fouton so it doesn't slide off when sitted on. Maybe add a few necessities i.e. can opener, large spoon, dish soap. Things that are easily forgotten. Love the changes. We stay there a lot. My son loves the farm animals. The chickens came right up to the cabin. He loved it.
Oct 23, 2012
Nice cabins! Didn't like the rooster! Beautiful scenery. Great location to see Kentucky Down Under. Nice campfire site. Liked golfing for free, was alot of fun. Coin washer and dryers would be nice and a few more items in camp store, like milk. Also, with the fire wood it would be nice to get some newspaper & pieces of cardboard to start the fire. I loved the saved pop tabs and recycling cans!
Oct 22, 2012
Great location and our son loved the animals. Cabin was very cozy. Could have been a little cleaner...ceiling fans covered in dust and we had to pick up a few trash items left by previous guests.
Oct 14, 2012
This place is amazing! It really allows you to escape from all of your troubles.
Sep 17, 2012
Although it rained during out stay, will come again.
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
Staff and facility were great. Stayed in a cabin only thing lacking was a place to do dishes. Used laundry very efficient. Thanks!
Sep 15, 2012
The room was filthy when we got there. Cobwebs dirty shower dirty toilet stains on the mattress cover. If it was clean it would have been awesome.
Sep 04, 2012
The cabin was clean enough, however, the shower head needed to be replaced as you just got a stream of water on you and the bathroom needed a new toilet and wall repair.
Aug 27, 2012
I had 3 "Kabins" this weekend. Kabin#3 was dirty. It was obvious that the bed had not been pulled out and cleaned in months. It is funny that I stayed in the same exact Kabin#3 last year and the water leaked on the floor when you ran the sink. One year later, still not fixed! We like to stay there because it is nice to sit/talk on porch and talk w/ big group. Very iffy we come back.
Aug 27, 2012
Aug 14, 2012
We had a fantastic time, loved the campground and the friendly people. Rebecca saved the day when we broke our door handle 1/2 an hr before we had to be on a cave tour. We came back and she had it working, she was super helpful! Thanks rebecca! :-)
Aug 12, 2012
My sister's and I stayed at Horse Cave KOA 8/5/12 thru 8/10/12. The cabin was clean and roomy. The KOA employees were very nice and helpful. I would definatly recommend this KOA to my family and friends and I look forward to staying there again!
Aug 11, 2012
Aug 06, 2012
Deluxe cabin K09. Pros- Excellent beds, even the futon had a nice comfortable mattress. Didn't take children but site has lots of animals and activities on site,fishing,swimming,golf,etc. Cons- Bath sink did not have hot water. Instead of just repairing the faucet the hot water supply was shut off. The fan/light in the mstr bedroom did not work. Toilet flushed half the time. cobwebs everywhere.
Aug 04, 2012
The cabin and camp were very nice. But the cabin was very warm (hot weather does that)and the two window AC units could not seem to overcome it until after sundown. It struck me that the roof was not insulated and this put and extra load on the air conditioners.
Aug 01, 2012
Really nice campground with a great staff. Further from the interstate would make it perfect.
Jul 31, 2012
The cabin we stayed in had air conditioning units that did not cool the cabin. I had to purchase an additional fan to cool the cabin. The site was nice and shaded. My family enjoyed the pool and playground.
Jul 31, 2012
Love the cabin as well as my 7 year old son. He thought it was "cool". The pool was in pretty good shape, too.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.