Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Apr 14, 2014
The cabin did not have enough lighting. The overhead light had 3 flame style bulbs of 15 watts each. It was to dark to read or crochet in the evening.
Apr 07, 2014
Delux cabin size was comfortable, but not very clean or efficient for our stay. We found many cobwebs and dead bugs in corners and windowsills and the cabin smelled stronly of smoke. The futton cushion kept sliding off it's frame even while we were sitting on it. Also, the walls needed more hooks and shelves to hang towels and toiletries, especially in the bathroom.
Mar 31, 2014
Garbage around cabin prior to entering it at 4:00 pm. Something gross on the ceiling of the bedroom.... black stuff. Crack window by the futon with a cracked stick. (Didn't feel safe knowing that the stick is the lock for the window AND it was a broken stick.) Dirty floors that showed on our white socks. Filthy coffee pot. Cob webs above refrigerator. Cute cabin minus the negatives above.
Nov 23, 2013
Great country atmosphere. Love all the animals. Cabins are cute and homey. Great place to relax and unwind after a hard day at work!
Nov 12, 2013
The cabin was very nice (as all KOAs) my issue was there was no dishes, no coffee maker, etc. I know when I made the reservations it said to bring linen, but when I've stayed at KOAs before the coffee maker and dishes, etc were supplied. So I was a little disappointed. Also the road was a little close for me. The staff was wonderful and the cabin was clean.
Oct 27, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
All the staff were extremely helpful, and my wife and I had a great time visiting! Thanks for keeping the pool open while the weather was still hot. We plan on returning in the near future for another visit, thanks again!
Sep 01, 2013
beautiful cabin - loved the chickens and the turkey
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Location is convenient for those wanting to visit area attractions. It is very close to the highway exit. We stayed in a cabin which had a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Accommodations were clean and adequate, at times could hear traffic on highway. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed our brief stay.
Aug 22, 2013
We loved our stay at this KOA camp site, although the cabins were really too small for a family of 4, unless the kids were 10 & under, even then, a little tight. But...Great job maintaining the grounds and cabins, enjoyed the fishing, pool and miniature golf. Close proximity to lots of fun things to do; we did the zip lines, repelling, and the Mammoth Cave. Bill, from Nevada.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. Military discount was appreciated.
Aug 06, 2013
The lady that checked us in was super nice and very helpful. The two remotes for the TV were confusing to a couple of seniors like us and she was very patient and helpful showing us how to use them.Thank you!
Aug 01, 2013
This was our least pleasant KOA experience. No one escorted us to our Kabin. The pool is in disrepair. The freeway is but a stone's throw away. The place was practically deserted when we were there at the end of July, and had a lonely and depressing vibe about it. If not for the proximity to local attractions, I wouldn't give it any stars at all. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 26, 2013
The facilities were very nice. But it was understaffed. However, I would not recommend staying in a Kabin. Our Kabin was right near the barn. The (4) roosters woke us up all the time. If the roosters were not there, I would rate this KOA higher.
Jul 24, 2013
The staff was really nice & helpful. But, there were issues with our cabin. The futon had large holes on both side. One side had a rag stuffed in it. The staff replaced it. The shower was scalding hot. The plate behind the control was wrong. To get a somewhat tolerable temperature, you had to put the control on 'hot'. 'Cold' was scalding. Mouse droppings in the drawers & the floor was not sw
Jul 19, 2013
Had a great time- loved the chickens wandering around
Jul 19, 2013
clean cabin great place, loved the animal`s
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a cabin. The cabin floor could have been cleaner and a new white cover for the futon due to it being stained up. The campground was clean and peaceful besides the highway noise which did not bother us. The playground was nice. I would like to suggest that it would be nice to have benches at the playground for parents to sit on. We will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
Nice staff. Clean cabin. Our kids liked the swimmingpool, mini golf and the animals. Store has nothing. Noise of highway wasn't too bad.
Jul 12, 2013
We had a very nice stay, very easy to get to different attractions. Our 8 month old son loved the pool, just wish there would have been no smoking allowed!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
IT WOULD MAKE A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE IF YOU JUST HAD A DISHWASHING SINK LIKE ALL THE OTHER KOAS IN THE REST OF THE COUNTRY. ALSO IT WAS A SHAME THAT THE WINDOW WAS BOARDED UP WHICH BLOCKED THE VIEW.
Jul 03, 2013
The kitchen was great with the large fridge. The cabin was not clean, especially the floor. It was mopped when requested. Is very convenient to Mammouth Cave.
Jul 03, 2013
The site was great. Could not hear I65 or the roosters. A campers sink would be a welcomed addition to your campground as there is no water at the cabin site. Changing the clanging door knob system to a round doorknob would also be a good thing. This door had to be lifted and holding that "knob" and lifting without making too much noise is impossible. I doubt kids can even open the door.
Jul 02, 2013
Relaxing. Great staff. Excellent accommodations.
Jul 01, 2013
We stayed in the Deluxe Cabins. Very well kept and clean. The only thing we didnt like was the chickens, ducks, and turkey from the barn below the hill were not fed at a proper time in the morning(One day it wasnt until after 11) and because of this they would swarm up to our cabins and walk around our area.Twice we had chickens on top of our picnic tables while we were trying to eat. Annoying.
Jul 01, 2013
Nice setting, very quiet and pretty!
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Very upset. I planned on staying 3 nights with my family in a cabin. Roaches were every where, we could not stomach a night there. We packed up at dark and went to a hotel. The office at the koa was closed til the next morning. I was not reimbursed for the night we bugged out. I also had to pay more for a hotel. I could not get them on the phone to talk to a manager. Very disappointed.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We arrived at 8:10pm just as the pool was closing, BUMMER! Got to our cabin and were really happy with it, they even included some fire wood, we did have to get a light from the neighbors that were some cool about it. The beds were OK. The best was being woke up in the morning with the chickens and mules. Good Place, but get there early to enjoy the pool and putt-putt. We'll go again soon!
Jun 16, 2013
Pool was very cloudy,couldn't see feet & was told it's always like that. Camp ground had MANY roosters that start waking everyone around 4:30 a.m. I don't wake up that early for work, much less for vacation. The plus is that our deluxe cabin was clean.
Jun 16, 2013
The kids loved the farm animals + the deer that grazed in the mornings & evenings. We had a great time & plenty to do all day at the campground without sightseeing.
Jun 11, 2013
We loved it there!We really loved the Cabin that we stayed in. We have stayed @ other K.O.A. camp grounds before in the smaller cabins. No compairison!! We loved EVERYTHING about the cabins and the camp grounds. Right down to the animal farm with the white rabbits & the wild turkey & the PIG!!! The fishing pond and all else was great Too !! We will & have told others!!!! Larry & Sherry Shatzer
Jun 10, 2013
We loved the cabin. But we had to leave unexpectedly. I was disappointed with the policy of no refund or at least a voucher for another stay. So other than that I was very happy with the campground. Loved the animals.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
The campground and cabin was very clean and well kept. We were surprised that the cabin bed already had linens on and made up on our arrival. The cost for the night was very reasonable.
Jun 09, 2013
We had 4 people in our group and there was only linens for 2 in our cabin. We thought linens were furnished. So our stay was not that great.
Jun 05, 2013
We come back definitely! Very, very nice place)))
Jun 02, 2013
Great family stay. Loved the little cabin, pool, playground, farm animals nearby, duck pond, friendly staff. The only thing I'd suggest is spraying your grounds for mosquitos. We, and our kids, got eaten up on the playground and at our cabin even with spray on....they were REALLY bad. Beyond that, we love this place. It was our 2nd stay and we'll be back again!
Jun 01, 2013
Second year we have had a family reunion there; plan to be there again next year. Great central location for family from OH, WV, TN, FL, AL, KY, AR.
May 28, 2013
Cabins too close to freeway but other than that an excellent value.
May 28, 2013
We had the BEST weekend that we have had in years. Stayed in the deluxe cabin and was very impressed with how clean it was. A lot of high class motels have not been this clean. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, overall could not have been better!
May 21, 2013
Great Kamp! The staff was very polite and helpful. The grounds was just beautiful. One of the best!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.