Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
Pull thru only about 57 ft. No cable available. Pull thru was seriously unlevel.
May 20, 2015
Quiet Clean camp sites. Well kept camp grounds. Many activities available. Close to all the area attractions. This place is for those that enjoy camping and not sitting around watching TV or the Internet.
May 20, 2015
We pulled our trailer, 30 amp, and camped with another rv who was pulling car. They had problems with full hookup sites with 50 amp service, unlevel (very bad). The KOA allowed us to move to much more level 30 amp sites, very nice. However the rv was not able to take full advantage of there trailer due to only having 30 amp service. Bathrooms were nice, but need some tlc
May 16, 2015
While I found the employees very friendly, courteous and helpful I found the campground lacking a few things. The wifi was spotty at best. I asked if there was a site with better service and was told they have had problems for "a while". And there was no cable tv. Come on, time to update!!! Again, I really liked the employees. Great representatives!!!
May 16, 2015
Lots of extras the staff was friendly and helpful on local places to visit
May 16, 2015
We had trouble with the electric as the 30 amp breaker would blow with only one A/C unit running. The internet is very weak and slow. The park seems in need of upgrade all around.
May 14, 2015
very clean we stayed during the week so the office was not open all hours because they were cleaning the cabins but loved the location and the grounds them self..
May 13, 2015
Positive: Grounds were well kept and clean. Negative: Had to ask for our camping discount. Assumed it was on the slip. Drive thrus were all uneven and difficult to level. Waste tank overflowed. No shade at any of the pull thrus. Could not pick up any tv stations.
May 12, 2015
The donkey was awesome.
May 12, 2015
Would have liked cable TV. Other than that it was just fine.
May 11, 2015
The cabin was nice and clean. Even though it was close to the interstate. The traffic sounds were not an issue. My grandson loved playing on the playground, seeing the farm animals and feeding the ducks.
May 11, 2015
stay in a cabin no curtains in bathroom less than half roll of toilet paper sink was dirty a/c poor lighting was bad bulbs burn out staff care more about going to a graduation then helping guess camp ground was ok also no dog bags in the k9 park
May 11, 2015
Campground was nice but noise from interstate was loud.
May 07, 2015
In order for us to recommend this campground your pull thru site would have to have some improvement. We were given site # 93 we could not get our coach level so no slides for the night and could not hook up to the sewer, to far away. We did enjoy the welcome crew in am (all the animals). Thanks you for addressing our problems and refunding some of our money
May 06, 2015
Campground was fine but traffic noise from nearby I-65 was terrible.
May 06, 2015
It was an overnight stay. we were headed for home in Indiana. Great place
May 04, 2015
Clean campground,like the trees, close to mammoth cave
May 04, 2015
The playground and putt putt were run down and falling apart. There were boards inside the playhouse with large screws sticking up. Also the drain pipe for the sewer drain stuck up way too far to drain right. Our granddaughter did enjoy the farm animals they had. We would wake up to chickens and a turkey outside our door.
Apr 28, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Staff was friendly, grounds were well taken care of and I loved the farm animals; although the rooster almost ended up in the pot for his 5 a.m. Wake up call, LOL. I would love to come back for a visit.
Apr 27, 2015
Our cabin was clean and comfortable. Office staff was exceptionally helpful and quickly resolved any issues we had. The only negative comment I have is about their WiFi availability. It was difficult to keep a connection and I could never get it to connect to my laptop. However, for people wanting to rent a cabin I would definitely recommend this Kampground.
Apr 27, 2015
Doubt there is a level site in the park.Had to move sites, got level enough with great effort. Wi-fi non-exsistent for most of our stay. Only bright spot is the staff are friendly. Park desperately needs upgrading.
Apr 27, 2015
Very difficult to level our camper in different spots. Electric polarity is reversed on many sites. No wifi. Run down. Highway noise is loud.
Apr 27, 2015
Poor / no tv, but will stay again
Apr 23, 2015
I have been a camper since the late 60's. Have a 36ft class A motorhome. Your pull thru site's were slanted so much levers would not work. Electric, water, and sewer were spread apart. Little work could help make this a much better park.
Apr 23, 2015
Not much info on sign in. The pull through sites were terribly unlevel. Level meant the rear wheels on the motorhome were 4-6 inches off the ground. Others there complained. They moved to another site. I didn't - the as they were not any better. I left the RV on the tires and walked downhill to the bathroom.
Apr 14, 2015
Very close to the highway and noisy. Could see the highway from our site. Cabin was nice
Apr 14, 2015
Men's room/showers could use updating or a family bathroom put in. No outside sink area or kitchen type area for tent campers. Over all, I enjoyed my stay.
Apr 13, 2015
Campground sites and restrooms were clean and the staff was very nice.
Apr 13, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was clean. Kids loved playground and basketball goal. Just wished there were walking trails close by.
Apr 13, 2015
We visited on April 9th. So before peak season. The good, right off the highway, close to all attractions, nice little farm inside the grounds with donkeys, chickens, and turkeys, nice scenery, laid back staff, never got bothered. The bad, too close to highway, need noise barriers, lights in the park are way too bright, felt like daylight sitting around the fire, did not the typical KOA services
Apr 13, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Horse Cave KOA. The cabin was clean, and there is so much to do around the area. We will definitely be returning!
Apr 13, 2015
Staff friendly. Campground clean. Wish they had provided some things in cabin like utensils, plates, bowls, and hairdryer.
Apr 13, 2015
This campground is always a great place to stay. It is never too crowded, there is a nice stocked pond with large catfish, and the sites are well maintained. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 star was because it is so close to the interstate.
Apr 11, 2015
Nice cabin, could use more hooks or shelves for storage. Could hear road noise, wifi didn't work. We stayed 2 nights with 2 kids, we had to request bedding for the futon and a coffee pot. Bench on porch was damaged, was mad about "no cooking in cabin" sign, that is why I book KOA with kitchen instead of hotel!
Apr 11, 2015
The full hook up pull through sites are problematic when it comes to leveling up. Also lots of traffic noise from nearby highway. Love the farm animals!
Apr 10, 2015
Very limited items to purchase in the store. Putt Putt course very run down. Cabin was nice, but shower needs door so it doesn't spray out into the toilet area. Window curtains by the main futon did not stay up on window. No directions/information in the cabin on how to use the T.V. Limited knowledge of info. for basic questions on the area from the staff. Not enough towels.
Apr 09, 2015
View was disappointingly of the highway & you hear trucks but spent most time visiting nearby attractions. Staff was nice but failed to tell us mattress protectors were removed prior to our arrival due to varnishing inside of cabin & they didn't have time to put new ones on before we got there. Gross!! Forgot cell phone charger in cabin, requested it be mailed at my expense, never got it back.
Apr 08, 2015
Staff was very friendly. I would rate it 5 stars, but the sites were not level. They sloped up enough, that a large RV cannot get level.
Apr 08, 2015
Very clean and friendly staff. The only thing that I didn't care for was the the campground is right off the freeway so at night that's what I listened too. But I would stay here again!
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
Nice campground lots of stuff for little kids to do. Clean bath house. Kinda close to the highway so expect a little roar from that, easy access to sites. Kids liked the farm animals at the lower sites, you'll here the rooster in the morning, and see some turkeys strutting around their yard. All Fun.
Apr 03, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. Cabin was cute. The down side was the noise. Noise from the interstate and farm animals. Gaps along floor you could actually see outside. The fridge must have been on Fritz it bearly kept thing cold. Down side is after 5pm office was closed and you were on your own.
Apr 02, 2015
Smooth, late arrival. Clean bathrooms. Hot showers. Enjoyed our brief stay.
Apr 01, 2015
Water running from another campsite after a broken pipe. Took 3 hours for someone to come turn it off
Mar 31, 2015
We stayed Friday night through Monday morning. The facilities were in nice shape but the bathrooms were not resupplied and the office was closed on sunday so we did not have access to the "free" mini golf or other amenities. The location was nice, being close to several attractions.
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great time camping at koa. it was easy to find. great hospitality from the workers in the office. firewood was delivered to us for our campfire. we had a great time all around. very enjoyable place to camp. will defiantly be visiting again soon.
Mar 28, 2015
We arrived late in the evening (11:00pm) in an RV. Your location was very convenient. Unfortunately, we could not set up in our assigned full hookup site, because it was too unleveled. We moved to an open water/electric site, hoping no one would come in after us. It seems fair to give campers a warning about the issue as they are making reservations. We would have only paid for water/electric.
Mar 28, 2015
Bathrooms need attention, cold water in showers, no pressure in showers, really small showers! Friendly at desk.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.