Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2014
Bathrooms were out of toilet paper and paper towel. Despite the campground not being very full, they were not very clean- wet, dirty floors, etc. The fire ring was a misshapen joke. The site we had did drain well after a rain.
Jul 30, 2014
It was quiet but a basic campground. Bathrooms are important and could have been kept more clean. They need to be cleaned more then once a day when campground is busy.
Jul 29, 2014
Nice but needs cable tv.
Jul 28, 2014
the site was a bit different then we have ever stayed in - a kinda pull over site. Although we did not use it our picnic table was being used by another campsite next to ours - I would have liked to have a table outside.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Great location. Friendly staff. Bathrooms are clean.Firewood is delivered to your campsite. Cons: Mini golf course needs repair.The pool ladder is missing a step making it hard to get out of the deep end. Store closes at 8.
Jul 28, 2014
beautiful, very clean and neat. with a petting zoo, we loved. Only negative was our campsite,a pull thru, very unlevel, and on a hill when stepping out our fifth wheel, making that last step to the ground over a foot down.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Clean and well maintained KOA facility.
Jul 26, 2014
The cabin was beautiful!Personnel were friendly and helpful.Very pleasant stay!
Jul 25, 2014
The staff was wonderful. We got the prefect camping spot.
Jul 23, 2014
Loved it. No issues whatsoever.
Jul 23, 2014
Cable tv would rank it five stars
Jul 22, 2014
Great time with super people
Jul 21, 2014
Great friendly staff. Had no problem upgrading our tent site to a Lodge after it started raining on day 2. Really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 20, 2014
was a clean campground.. but for tents with water and electric it was not the best... all of these tent sites were on gravel with a little grass...we couldn't even pound the stakes in the ground
Jul 20, 2014
The campground was great but the management needs people skill training. Water was shut off overnight without any notice or communication. Very disappointing. Could have damaged the RV hot water tank. Campers with children were extremely Inconvenienced.....
Jul 20, 2014
After reading other reviews, I was a bit skeptical about this campground, however, it proved to be exactly what we needed for 5 nights with our 3 grandchildren in a 30 amp full hook-up site, nicely shaded. The close proximity to Ky Down Under and other cave areas was our reason for staying. The KOA's swimming pool ,playground,fishing pond,rooster,hens,ducks and donkey were extra perks. Nice staff.
Jul 20, 2014
Very nice Kampground. A little noisey by the interstate.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Was a very friendly place to stay! Great office staff and the gentleman who helped me to back in. (I am a woman)
Jul 15, 2014
Clean, quiet and comfortable cabins. Great 3 night stay for just the two of us.
Jul 15, 2014
Very clean and polite staff
Jul 14, 2014
We have 2 little girls. It was family friendly. The site wasn't very private. We bent up several tent stakes in the HARD gravel/dirt ground. We DID hear I65. Our fans helped. We shared our electricity with neighboring sites. One had NO power and the other had a 220 plug for a tent site! After driving around the area, it is one of the better campgrounds w/extra amenities. Friendly staff. Clean.
Jul 13, 2014
Cabin was clean and we'll maintained. Loved the farm animals that were nearby, too!
Jul 13, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Facilities were adequate. Problems with Toilets and hand dryers. Umbrellas by pool broke and were never replaced. Site was small even though advertised as large. WiFi poor. Wished we stayed at Yogi Bear park down the road.
Jul 13, 2014
We loved it here and plan to return. Nice staff, very clean restrooms, campground well kept. Kids enjoyed fishing, swimming, and petting the animals. It was our first vacation trip away from home in 9 years and we loved our campground!
Jul 12, 2014
Spiderwebs all over the cabin. Severely stained futon mattress. Mattress on bed was saggy and covered with "pills" (like an old sweater). There was no mattress cover and I found stains when I pulled the sheets as instructed. Pillows were old and lumpy. Had to ask for the porch light bulb to be replaced. Never able to connect to WIFI. Rebecca was very nice and tried to be helpful though.
Jul 12, 2014
site 83 was converted dump station. on a hill no level spot for picnic table
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Had a nice stay but bathrooms didn't stay stocked very well and weren't cleaned to good
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Nice space between campsites. Very friendly staff. Would have given 5 stars, but there were lots of cobwebs in my cabin (near the ceiling...I only noticed because of my height). Other than the cobwebs was fairly clean.
Jul 05, 2014
I booked on line and it said most sites were already booked we were given a site right next to another camper but there were a lot of empty sites would have liked to not been right on top of another person u may want to check your website reservation page
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great stay at KOA. The campground was very clean and the staff was friendly. Thanks for a nice stay.
Jul 02, 2014
Clean, clean cabin! And the air conditioning made the stay bearable! No doubt we would stay there again. We only wish we had water more conveniently located for camp cooking needs.
Jul 02, 2014
We tent camped. The camping area, listed as grass, was basically a little grass growing on rock making it extremely difficult to drive a tent stake into the ground. Some of the dryers were not working in the laundry room. Consequently, we did not to laundry because of the wait. Pool and showers were clean and well kept.
Jul 02, 2014
The campsites and the facilities were clean and well-cared for. The only thing I disliked is how close the campground is to the highway. Traffic noise was constant.
Jul 01, 2014
restrooms are close to the cabins and tent areas. but there is the gravel factor on the road.
Jul 01, 2014
This was the second year we have stayed at the Horse Cave Campground. The cabins are nice, my boys (5 & 3) enjoyed playing on the playground and in the pool. The campground is located right off the highway which makes it very convenient. The only draw back to that is that you can hear the highway traffic, but it's not that big of a deal. We hope to be back again next year!
Jul 01, 2014
Excellent staff and clean facilities. One suggestion would be to repair the road that is along the tent sites on the west side of the campground. This was our second time staying here and we will visit again!
Jul 01, 2014
Too many owner family members using facilities without regard to posted rules for guests to follow
Jun 30, 2014
We had a blast. The cabins were clean and much nicer than we expected. We will return
Jun 30, 2014
We loved our stay at your campground. We loved the way everything was done in such a beautiful layout. Our two granddaughters had a wonderful time at the play ground and our site was nice and level. Thank you for having such a wonderful place for families to stay and feel safe. The Boughners
Jun 29, 2014
Good location, friendly staff, kids enjoyed the playground and pool especially. Campsites were well taken care of. I was surprised to see the toilet was out of order the entire week we were there. The green on the putt putt course needs replaced...my kids were frustrated that it was difficult to play there. Overall our stay was nice and we'll be back.
Jun 28, 2014
The staff was very helpful! We had an issue with our reservations and they went out of their way to make it right! Definitely will be back again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.