Horse Cave KOA

KOA AVE

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 01, 2015
The folks at Horse Cave were very accommodating. We had a late addition to our party and that was no problem. The roaming farm animals at the park were fun, too.
Jun 01, 2015
Nice clean level lots.
May 31, 2015
Easy and clean and accessible and a nice campground !
May 30, 2015
The tent area was in the furthest part of the camp and away from bathrooms. Only 2 stalls and one of the showers leaked so bad a person could take a shower without turning it on. Half of the electricity was not working.
May 29, 2015
They need to level their spots!
May 28, 2015
Very muddy, very unlevel site. Nice people but very narrow roads, HUGE tree over entrance to pull thru site. Probably nice for smaller RV'S but pull thru site was bad. Yellow pole leaning and would hit slides when out if not careful. Had to crawl in mud on hands & knees to hook up water in a black hole. Needless to say we would pick different campground next time.
May 27, 2015
Not much to do at the campground as far as having organized activity. More bathrooms/showers needed to accommodate guests in busy weekends. Not a large rig friendly campground despite what they will accept for reservations. We had a 44 ft fifth wheel that barely fit our site.
May 27, 2015
everyone was very kind and it's also cozy camping site but the bathroom was small and always occupied with the crowd people. I couldn't take a shower during my stay so came back earlier.
May 26, 2015
50 amp sites were extremly unlevel. Several times during the weekend there was sewer backup on sites next to us. Very nice people that work at the campground. Could be an excellent KOA with some work. Just not what we would of expected from a KOA
May 26, 2015
Electrical and sewer priblems
May 26, 2015
Loved the park and employees!: My only complaint were the showers never warmed up. Would stay again!
May 26, 2015
I would rate this stay as average. We have stayed at Horse Cave several times before with no issues. This time there were several. Refrigerator in deluxe cabin was not keeping things cold and the ice in the freezer meltEd. Tiolet overflowed. We was able to get a plunger from the office. And the andarak chairs rhat are normally provided were missing Which was reportedto the office.
May 26, 2015
The staff were so friendly and polite. The grounds were nice, the cabin was amazing! The pool was great, the mini golf was free, and the view was wonderful!
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great location, nice hill. If it's crowded the hot water is scares.
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
Pull thru only about 57 ft. No cable available. Pull thru was seriously unlevel.
May 20, 2015
Quiet Clean camp sites. Well kept camp grounds. Many activities available. Close to all the area attractions. This place is for those that enjoy camping and not sitting around watching TV or the Internet.
May 20, 2015
We pulled our trailer, 30 amp, and camped with another rv who was pulling car. They had problems with full hookup sites with 50 amp service, unlevel (very bad). The KOA allowed us to move to much more level 30 amp sites, very nice. However the rv was not able to take full advantage of there trailer due to only having 30 amp service. Bathrooms were nice, but need some tlc
May 16, 2015
While I found the employees very friendly, courteous and helpful I found the campground lacking a few things. The wifi was spotty at best. I asked if there was a site with better service and was told they have had problems for "a while". And there was no cable tv. Come on, time to update!!! Again, I really liked the employees. Great representatives!!!
May 16, 2015
Lots of extras the staff was friendly and helpful on local places to visit
May 16, 2015
We had trouble with the electric as the 30 amp breaker would blow with only one A/C unit running. The internet is very weak and slow. The park seems in need of upgrade all around.
May 14, 2015
very clean we stayed during the week so the office was not open all hours because they were cleaning the cabins but loved the location and the grounds them self..
May 13, 2015
Positive: Grounds were well kept and clean. Negative: Had to ask for our camping discount. Assumed it was on the slip. Drive thrus were all uneven and difficult to level. Waste tank overflowed. No shade at any of the pull thrus. Could not pick up any tv stations.
May 12, 2015
The donkey was awesome.
May 12, 2015
Would have liked cable TV. Other than that it was just fine.
May 11, 2015
The cabin was nice and clean. Even though it was close to the interstate. The traffic sounds were not an issue. My grandson loved playing on the playground, seeing the farm animals and feeding the ducks.
May 11, 2015
stay in a cabin no curtains in bathroom less than half roll of toilet paper sink was dirty a/c poor lighting was bad bulbs burn out staff care more about going to a graduation then helping guess camp ground was ok also no dog bags in the k9 park
May 11, 2015
Campground was nice but noise from interstate was loud.
May 07, 2015
In order for us to recommend this campground your pull thru site would have to have some improvement. We were given site # 93 we could not get our coach level so no slides for the night and could not hook up to the sewer, to far away. We did enjoy the welcome crew in am (all the animals). Thanks you for addressing our problems and refunding some of our money
May 06, 2015
Campground was fine but traffic noise from nearby I-65 was terrible.
May 06, 2015
It was an overnight stay. we were headed for home in Indiana. Great place
May 04, 2015
Clean campground,like the trees, close to mammoth cave
May 04, 2015
The playground and putt putt were run down and falling apart. There were boards inside the playhouse with large screws sticking up. Also the drain pipe for the sewer drain stuck up way too far to drain right. Our granddaughter did enjoy the farm animals they had. We would wake up to chickens and a turkey outside our door.
Apr 28, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Staff was friendly, grounds were well taken care of and I loved the farm animals; although the rooster almost ended up in the pot for his 5 a.m. Wake up call, LOL. I would love to come back for a visit.
Apr 27, 2015
Our cabin was clean and comfortable. Office staff was exceptionally helpful and quickly resolved any issues we had. The only negative comment I have is about their WiFi availability. It was difficult to keep a connection and I could never get it to connect to my laptop. However, for people wanting to rent a cabin I would definitely recommend this Kampground.
Apr 27, 2015
Doubt there is a level site in the park.Had to move sites, got level enough with great effort. Wi-fi non-exsistent for most of our stay. Only bright spot is the staff are friendly. Park desperately needs upgrading.
Apr 27, 2015
Very difficult to level our camper in different spots. Electric polarity is reversed on many sites. No wifi. Run down. Highway noise is loud.
Apr 27, 2015
Poor / no tv, but will stay again
Apr 23, 2015
I have been a camper since the late 60's. Have a 36ft class A motorhome. Your pull thru site's were slanted so much levers would not work. Electric, water, and sewer were spread apart. Little work could help make this a much better park.
Apr 23, 2015
Not much info on sign in. The pull through sites were terribly unlevel. Level meant the rear wheels on the motorhome were 4-6 inches off the ground. Others there complained. They moved to another site. I didn't - the as they were not any better. I left the RV on the tires and walked downhill to the bathroom.
Apr 14, 2015
Very close to the highway and noisy. Could see the highway from our site. Cabin was nice
Apr 14, 2015
Men's room/showers could use updating or a family bathroom put in. No outside sink area or kitchen type area for tent campers. Over all, I enjoyed my stay.
Apr 13, 2015
Campground sites and restrooms were clean and the staff was very nice.
Apr 13, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was clean. Kids loved playground and basketball goal. Just wished there were walking trails close by.
Apr 13, 2015
We visited on April 9th. So before peak season. The good, right off the highway, close to all attractions, nice little farm inside the grounds with donkeys, chickens, and turkeys, nice scenery, laid back staff, never got bothered. The bad, too close to highway, need noise barriers, lights in the park are way too bright, felt like daylight sitting around the fire, did not the typical KOA services
Apr 13, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Horse Cave KOA. The cabin was clean, and there is so much to do around the area. We will definitely be returning!
Apr 13, 2015
Staff friendly. Campground clean. Wish they had provided some things in cabin like utensils, plates, bowls, and hairdryer.
Apr 13, 2015
This campground is always a great place to stay. It is never too crowded, there is a nice stocked pond with large catfish, and the sites are well maintained. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 star was because it is so close to the interstate.
Apr 11, 2015
Nice cabin, could use more hooks or shelves for storage. Could hear road noise, wifi didn't work. We stayed 2 nights with 2 kids, we had to request bedding for the futon and a coffee pot. Bench on porch was damaged, was mad about "no cooking in cabin" sign, that is why I book KOA with kitchen instead of hotel!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.