Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 01, 2016
Very nice!
Nov 30, 2016
Very freindly, convienent to National Park, sites clean and level. Only complaint was the noise from the Interstate, which was also our view from the camper.
Nov 30, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Great location for proximity to caves, lake Cumberland,Louisville & TN. Bathrooms are poorly designed and poorly maintained. Even in "low season," one toilet is not sufficient. Sites do not account for drainage, parking, or efficient use of water/electric.
Nov 28, 2016
We only stayed one night but loved the sight. Aren't on top of each other. Nice few of horses and pond. We got there on thanksgiving. Everything was there for us on the door
Nov 23, 2016
Very nice small cabin for a short stay. The kids loved it!
Nov 21, 2016
I wanted to use some of my points to pay for stay but the person behind the desk didn't know how to do that. I always stay at this KOA on my way to Ohio for hunting season and for the most part it is a nice place. However they need to put a little more effort into the small details in the bathroom.
Nov 16, 2016
Only stayed for one night while traveling. The people were very friendly, but the campground does not accommodate class A coaches very well. The roads are very narrow, with many trees scraping the top and sides of the coach on the way to the only pull thru site.
Nov 14, 2016
Our stay was nice. We enjoyed the playground for the kids! The reason though, that we won't stay at this one again is that the bathroom location is WAY too far from the campsites. Taking your three year old to the bathroom in the middle of the night is bad only made worse by the fact that you have to walk several hundred yards to the get there.
Nov 09, 2016
for a deluxe cabin, it was expensive especially since you can hear the expressway all night. i loved the chickens and ducks and turkeys though.
Nov 07, 2016
Had an absolutely wonderful time! Cannot wait to come back!
Nov 07, 2016
Very clean and conveniently located. Tent sites are a good distance from the bathrooms.
Nov 07, 2016
You really need to put your KOA sign back up so people can see it.Surrounding buildings in front of KOA is a total turnoff.Very rundown.The campground is small but nice. Our site was wonderful.Highway noise but we had an RV so it didn't matter.The small animal farm was really cute to walk to and the jumpy-thing was so much fun!!The miniature golf really needs to be updated or removed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feed back. The mini golf is under repair at this time, we are gonna brick it out an put down new turf.
Nov 04, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
Highway noise is a problem, especially in the larger 50 amp. sites. Animals are charming.
Nov 01, 2016
Very nice for an over night stay.Enjoyed the animals.
Oct 31, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay, staff was friendly. The cabin was perfect for our family.
Oct 31, 2016
This campground was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. For tent camping it was a little noisy and too light with the truck stop across the road. They had a connected farm which kept everybody amused with all of the farm animals .
Oct 31, 2016
Extremely clean and well cared for. Lots of things to do for the kids.
Oct 30, 2016
Campground was nice. Facilities were clean. Only drawback is it is right off I-65 and there is lots of noise from the highway.
Oct 29, 2016
We knew ahead that this facility did not offer cable tv. However, no hint that it would be impossible to obtain an "air" signal because of the terrain. Couldn't watch the world series!! The quality of their firewood was poor. Soft junk wood with fungus. When I did inqujire with a differant desk clerk she somehow produced some hardwood which burnt much better. The geograpic location was ideal.
Oct 27, 2016
Park is poorly lit at night, cannot see site # from vehicle 30 amp "pull thrus" are a joke barely long enough for overnighters who do not disconnect, lots are not close to level back to front or side to side. No cable, no internet, no TV reception, will not be back
Oct 26, 2016
Like the campground. Showers need some work. One was out of order and the other one you couldn't adjust the water temperature. No cable and you couldn't get any network channels. Should reduce daily rate because I have never stayed at a KOA that didn't have cable.
Oct 26, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Oct 25, 2016
Very clean and friendly.
Oct 25, 2016
Couldn't connect to outlets. Got no refund for lesser hookup site. Poor counter person didn't seem to know or care about my needs.
Oct 24, 2016
I didnt like how it was on the highway. Other then that it was very nice.
Oct 24, 2016
One of the nicest and prettiest parks ever! Our cats loved watching the chickens and turkeys!
Oct 22, 2016
The grounds are nice and neat, the pull thru sites nice but all out in the open. I would give this KOA a 5 star rating except the location right on I-65 with very heavy semitruck traffic noise 24 hours a day. That spoils the feeling that you are camping in a serene environment. But it is close to Mammoth Cave and other nice tourist attractions.
Oct 21, 2016
The site was clean, we were able to level, just. wifi required that we sit at the office. The trees coming in could be pruned back a little for big rigs. The lower area, where we were had constant traffic noise from I-65.
Oct 20, 2016
Great customer service. Great facilities. Bathroom/shower area very clean.
Oct 19, 2016
Super, super convenient to Mammoth Cave National Park and other caves in the area. Sites are nice and convenient on/off the highway.
Oct 19, 2016
Nice clean campground. Good amenities. Highway is close. A lot of highway noise
Oct 18, 2016
The pull throughs at this KOA are like parking on the side of the street. The road is your front step. The WIFI is non existent, they say move closer to the building, that's not were my site is. They are only 2 stalls in the men's bathroom, no urinals for a fairly large park. Great location and clean, but not the best.
Oct 18, 2016
No wifi at all and everything at the office would have been nice if the sitting porch would have been cleaned. Bathrooms not very clean either. Would be ok for a quick overnight stay but not a lengthy stay. Entrance is very confusing, not marked well at all for us that aren't from the area.
Oct 17, 2016
Everything was great. 4 stars because putt putt was torn apart for a remodel. We could not play :(
Oct 17, 2016
The cabin was nice, great location. It would have been helpful to have some wall hooks in the bedroom, back of bathroom door...more hooks. Also would have been nice for either a small bench area or shelving at the foot of the bed against the wall for bags and our stuff. Staff was nice :)
Oct 17, 2016
We had a wonderful time. My grandson loved the playground and the bouncy pillow and all the other kids to play with. Very friendly place.
Oct 16, 2016
With it's proximity to Mammoth Cave I'd have thought that this KOA would've been more developed. The one bath house is small and quite far from the campsites that are "down the hill". There was no cable tv even though the sites are "full hook up". They also claim to have miniature golf, but it looks like it was dismantled in the past but never restored. I'd consider staying elsewhere in the future

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for the mix up on full hook up , our full hook up stands for water, electric , sewer. As for the mini golf it was just torn out a few weeks ago due to being remodeled. there is plans for another bath house.
Oct 15, 2016
Awesome staff. Extremely clean bathroom. Free amenities such as mini golf, playground, dog park, and coffee in the morning!
Oct 14, 2016
We loved this campground. We had a site on the lower level next to the barn. We felt like these were the best sites because they were grassy. Loved the animals and the fish pond.
Oct 14, 2016
This was a great place the care takers were very attentive.never a dull moment. Grandchild had a blast. Getting in and out of the campground was very easy every time . Every store that we wanted was in close proximity,so we did not waste time in looking for stores. The downside was the traffic noise when you were sitting outside.overall pretty nice. Thanks for the good time.
Oct 14, 2016
Very clean, well laid out campground. We stayed there on the 5th and 10th of October.
Oct 11, 2016
We have stayed here twice this year. The first time we had a site that our door side was in the road of the drive and the second time the site was not level for our class A. The site was low to the rear of the RV and you had to use leveling blocks on the rear tire to get it level it. We also had a dirty pool the first visit and the miniature golf course out of commission.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for the unlevel site. we could have moved you to a better site, if you had come back to the office. As for the putt putt golf we are remodeling it.
Oct 11, 2016
Campground is nice and well taken care of, we were in pull thrus and very noisy near I65 with so much truck traffic.
Oct 10, 2016
The cabin was nice and clean and the area was lovely. Because it is close to the highway, earplugs might be helpful to some for a better night sleep. I didn't have a problem sleeping myself without them. Overall it was a wonderful time.
Oct 10, 2016
No cable & no wi fi. Should be informed at reservation.
Oct 09, 2016
Loved the camp grounds. We had a cabin so even though it rained the whole week-end we had a nice porch to sit on.
Oct 09, 2016
Clean park, but no cable or wifi at site. Lots of noise from interstate and adjacent farm animals. Sites not level.
Oct 07, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy