Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3389

Info: 928-524-6689

Email

102 Hermosa Drive

Holbrook, AZ 86025

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Apr 23, 2017
Had a great tent site. ST1
Apr 12, 2017
Nice tent site. Wifi marginal. Kept kicking me off or EXTREMELY slow. Would not even load weather app on my iPad
Apr 11, 2017
Very nice camp sites for tent camping...nice facilities as well
Apr 09, 2017
Next to freeway, no screening, lousy table, far from bathroom
Apr 08, 2017
The campground was clean. Sites level. Not to far from Petrified Forest National Park. On the downside. .they only had 1 set of bathrooms open and those were in the main building behind the office which was quite a distance from the tenting section. Also some road noise in that section as well
Apr 08, 2017
Employees were very nice. Clean. The back shower and restroom are under construction.They are remodeling.
Apr 06, 2017
Staff not as welcoming as other KOA's & bathroom & showers closest to the tent area not open for the season.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry but our back restrooms are not heated and seasonal. We have still been freezing at night, makes it impossible to open these yet.
Apr 03, 2017
Not much to do. No bike rentals. Pool was shut down, but it was too cold anyway. Bathrooms near the tents were closed, which it didn't say on the site, so we had to walk all the way to the front for bathroom use or dish sink. Tent sites were okay, could use a little update and separation as we would have been right neXT to a follow camper.
Mar 30, 2017
The campground is clean and they are trying to keep grass and trees (which can be hard in Arizona). I only gave 4 stars because the only bathroom that was unlocked was directly behind the office. I'm sure it's because it's still the slow season, however it was inconvenient to walk up to the front to use them all the way from the back where the tent sites are. I would stay again however.
Mar 21, 2017
The bathrooms/showers were amazing for a Campground, but we found the grill area disappointing. It was nearly impossible to even get wood to fit in the tiny pit and it definitely didn't provide any real heat. Not allowing campfires seems ridiculous in a campsite, but overall the place was clean, safe, and easy to locate.
Mar 21, 2017
The star-lit night sky was glorious, the playground was a HUGE plus for my travel-weary kids, and the laundry facilities were a real blessing for a family full of dusty tent campers. I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 because the tent bathroom facilities were not available, due to repairs (?). The trek to the front wasn't that big of a burden, though. We would definitely stay again!
Mar 18, 2017
Very nice.
Mar 08, 2017
Made me feel very welcome. Wish I could have seen more of the park in the daytime.
Feb 21, 2017
Althought hostess was nice, NEVER again! This was 3rd KOA fail. KOA means located in commercial area, packed in like sardines. PF, AZ website sells grass and water at sites. Truth: Few & for EXTRA fee with very little grass; water off for season; Fire ring" is half an oil drum - no air flow, no view of fire. All this under the light of a huge Burger King sign with I-40 roaring behind.
Feb 12, 2017
Super clean, nice and quiet, great staff
Jan 07, 2017
Although ratings were high we were disappointed. Upon arriving we were presented with a couple of problems. Only a few sites have grass. There was tons of mud too. Secondly we found dog crap right on our site and to make matters worse, the bathrooms closest to the tent sites were closed (seasonal) RVs were closer to the only open bathrooms than the tents were.
Dec 01, 2016
Close to the national park great location for my trip
Nov 15, 2016
Only KoA that I know of that offers the "Super Tent Camping" sites which are fantastic! Water to these two sites are apparently turned off during the winter months, which would have been nice to know in advance. Good park, well run and the wi-fi actually worked pretty good this time.
Nov 09, 2016
Came after dark when office was closed. Check-in was easy. Campground should be lit with signage that leads to various areas of the campground.
Nov 02, 2016
Was one night in a tent. Manager treated me like I was owner of a 50 foot RV. Very nice. I got electric and water, and I enjoyed the stay. Very quiet.
Oct 21, 2016
Great staff, but the camp is close to the highway (you can hear it at night). The shower and bathroom area is clean and spacious.
Oct 20, 2016
Loved the tent site.
Oct 17, 2016
Friendly employees and nice grounds but some things in need of minor upkeep. Bathrooms are decent. No lit signage so hard to find at night.
Oct 16, 2016
Clean & friendly. Well suited for tenters. Great pancake breakfast the next morning!
Oct 05, 2016
well kept, only complaint is the tent sites are right on the road, so you get traffic noise all night
Sep 30, 2016
Sep 29, 2016
Clean restrooms. Good Breakfast. Light shining above tent kept it lit up like daylight all night. Convenient location, but road noise really loud.
Sep 27, 2016
Second time here passing through to the Grand Canyon. Great place to rest and relax. All amenities you need and lots to do and see in the area of Holbrook.
Sep 27, 2016
I have stayed in the Holbrook KOA several times, each time it has got worse. The staff are OK, but the facilities are terrible. On this stay we had a dirt tent site (no grass) No hot water in the restrooms (Men and Women's) Come on now KOA, I could have pulled off the road in the middle of the desert and it would have been better. I would have asked for my money back but the office was closed.
Sep 26, 2016
We camp in tents and we're pleasantly surprised to find grass to set our tent up on! They're reseeding many of the tent areas so not much was available. Sites available are at the very back of the campgrounds, closest to the interstate and basically without wifi. All of this should improve as the grass comes in. Tents sites are small. Petrified toast was good, but I'm sure it has a million calorie
Sep 25, 2016
The tall guy with white hair could use some customer service training. Hope that guy wasn't you Larry. Check to make sure the people working for you behind the counter are happy being there. He was abrasive in just handling routine questions from customers. As if we should be so lucky to stay at a KOA. Ha!
Sep 24, 2016
Friendly staff, all amenities working fine. Good price for the super tent site. We stayed 4 nights and our Rottweiler was as happy there as we were.
Sep 16, 2016
The pavallion was very nice. I was tenting it, and the wind was kicking up. The pavallion was protected and a nice place to wait while the wind died down. The bathrooms were clean and there was decent water pressure.
Sep 11, 2016
Good point, for tentcampers there is alarge open kitchen /Sittingroom to use in bad weather. Some things were worn down a bit, for example the grills made from old weelrims, had a hard time to get it going.
Sep 11, 2016
Sep 09, 2016
Nice central location. Well maintained grounds.
Sep 09, 2016
Most of the issues I had with the place was with the windy, unwelcoming weather. This area is not a nice place to camp. However, the people were nice, the campsite was clean (although pretty sad-looking grass), and the bathrooms were clean with pretty good showers (although one shower head was so close up to the wall, I spent the shower pressed up against it.) Nice pancakes in the morning.
Sep 09, 2016
The tent sight we had S1 the fence needed some pair
Sep 06, 2016
This KOA met all of my expectations. The staff is very friendly and the campsite is extremely clean. I loved my experience and stay and will not hesitate to come back if I am in the area again. Very great customer service!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals