Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

Open May 1 - October 24

Reserve: 989-275-8151

Info: 989-275-8151


3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 653 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 06, 2015
Took my youth group for a retreat at Higgins Lake. Despite the cold weather the teens had a great time on the obstacle course, bikes and huking. We loved staying in the yurts. Will definitely go back and take my family next time. Staff is very friendly and helpful, went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Highly recommend this KOA
Sep 08, 2015
Chris and Cheri and all the staff were friendly and courteous, the site was excellent, well run, and we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
We really loved our Yurt! The look of excitement on the faces of our kids was awesome! It was great to see how clean everything was and how great the trails for walking and biking were. We are already planning our return trip next year! Jeff from Ann Arbor Go Blue!
Aug 15, 2015
adequate but pricey and noisy. Lots of kids, dogs and sand.
Aug 05, 2015
Lots of activities for kids, great friendly staff, our yert was awesome and saw several cabins which were also amazing! Great family campground!
Aug 03, 2015
Campground was fine and well-managed. However, there were people playing really loud music till nearly midnight.
Jul 27, 2015
best camp ground in the area we will stay here all the time
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great stay in the yurt.. Very clean...
Jul 21, 2015
We stayed in a yurt. Kinda neat way to vacation. Upon arrival no linens were on and the floor was dirty (dirt, used bandaides, toliet paper) kinda disgusting. Only small broom to use. There was one gentleman that was very helpful and knowledgable...the younger staff has no answers to our simple questions.(how to get to the beach, good places to eat in town...) Overall quiet and friendly.
Jul 14, 2015
The camp site was nice and clean. Utilities were clean. Very nice. Had a great time!
Jul 10, 2015
The woman over the phone (Betty) was very sweet and very patient while trying to find us a spot three weeks before fourth of July. The camp ground is as kid friendly as you can get and my children had a blast. There were so many things just inside the camp for them to do! We stayed in a Yurt and it was perfect for small kids. We're already planning our stay for next year! Thanks KOA!
Jul 06, 2015
The staff in the main office was horrible for reservations, the park is too hilly, and not very clean would rather stay at state park 39.00 a night is a joke for a campsite with no hook ups
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
The camp staff was very nice and helpful, the sites were nice and big, clean too. Bathrooms/showers were newer and nicer than expected, clean as well. The store had very fair prices on items including ice and wood. Definitely would stay again!
Jul 06, 2015
We used this KOA as a transitory stop, but we needed a little extra rest. The playground kept our 10 year old busy while my husband slept. Very pleasant, relaxing, quiet, place and had an EXCELLENT Saturday brunch. Thank you! Barb
Jun 30, 2015
Stay was great! Loved the bouncy castle for the kids, great park onsite. Bathrooms were clean, staff was lovely. No beach onsite, my mistake I guess I didn't read well enough. Because we are not from Michigan we had to pay a fee to enter the state park and access the lake.
May 26, 2015
Things were great except we rented a yurt we were put in the wrong one without being asked an had to wait for ours to be cleaned an after a long drive there I was not happy about that an after paying 426.00 to stay I thought it would all be done


We moved them into another one and gave them a choice of which one because of a small issue. They chose the original, we moved them back ASAP. very sorry it took so long. We thought we were helping.
Oct 22, 2014
Campground was okay but service was terrible. Showers weren't very clean.
Oct 06, 2014
We stayed in a yurt. It was a fun experience and a special treat, prices are too high for regular stays. The campground looked very well cared for. We would visit this park again. Our only problem was staying in 40 degree weather and the yurt's propane heater kept going out. Camp attendant was very helpful getting it going but finally ended up with an electric heater to "keep the chill off".
Sep 15, 2014
We stayed in Yurt, it was very clean and fun. But it is using propane gas for heating, so you need to check gas is filled as it will be disaster if no gas in midnight. Camp site is very quiet and peaceful. Actually, I was worried about this KOA as I saw some negative reviews. But we had great time. There are not many KOA staffs unlike other KOAs, but not much things to get their help.I recommend
Sep 11, 2014
Friendly staff, made my stay very accommodating.
Sep 05, 2014
Yurt had plumbing issue and smelled like a sewer, very little hot water , and hardly any FREE activities for ten children to do
Sep 04, 2014
We stayed in a yurt that had plumbing problems with the kitchen sink. Our daughters family's yurt had a strong sewage smell due to plumbing problems in bathroom. We had 6 children with us over Labor Day week-end & many events were cancelled due to the rain. Manager in office did reschedule 2 events, which was much appreciated. Lots of "additional fees" made it an expensive week-end...
Aug 28, 2014
The staff was not knowledgeable on how to use the computer system at the KOA. I was charged for 3 kids when we had 2 with us. I was promised a credit that I did not receive. Disappointed Camper
Aug 17, 2014
What a nice campground. Pleasant place to stay the weekend.
Aug 12, 2014
This was a family camping outing including 9 people to go kayaking in a local river. The camp ground was clean, quiet, and well kept. The granite counter tops in the bathroom was a nice surprise. The flow in the shower could be improved. The movie at night was a nice touch for the kids.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
There was pet feces in our campsite and human feces on the floor in the bathroom. Sorry, but we really did not have a pleasant stay. We did not have a pet.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
May 28, 2014
showers near our campsite didn't have hot water. Clean campsite, a lot of activities for younger kids, my 12 y/o son was a little bored.
May 18, 2014
Nice place. We've stayed here before. We were not informed that the cable was out during our stay and would be for quite a while. We paid for premium lodging and that was what we expected. Not having TV did not completely ruin our stay, we were there to camp and see the area. However, we felt it was extremely unprofessional not to mention this situation until we arrived. We will not be back.
Sep 23, 2013
Thank you so much for accommodating our family.I can't say enough about your staff being so helpful after our change in plans with our stay. The yurt we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Our children thought is was very cool. Thanks again The Manteuffels....
Sep 23, 2013
Even though it was a cold and wet weekend, the staff was very welcoming and went that extra mile just to make our stay even more enjoyable.
Sep 20, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
The yurt seemed overpriced for what we got. We thought there should have been a few things provided like paper towel dish soap. Disappointed that there were no activities during the week.we got sand fleas from around fire pit. but the people running it were great.
Aug 22, 2013
Had another wonderful camping adventure at the Higgins Lake KOA
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Everyone was super nice and I can't believe how nicely kept everything was. Had a great time!!
Aug 07, 2013
We stayed in a yurt, and it was an awesome birthday present getaway for me. I didn't visit the restrooms, etc., in the park, so can't comment on that. The staff was very personable. I will definitely recommend it to family and friends.
Jul 29, 2013
It started to rain and our tent was leaking so I went to the store to purchase a tarp but they were sold out. One of the young staffers working offered to go dig in the supply shed to find a campground rent for us to borrow. Their hospitality saved our trip! WE WILL BE BACK.
Jul 23, 2013
Nice and clean Everyone was very nice Would definitely come back
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Stayed for two nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Grounds were well maintained and clean.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
You even provided us with perfect weather.
Jul 09, 2013
During the day it was great at night it was horrible. Very loud!!! People up playing loud music, kids running around or just adults yelling until 3am most nights.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy