Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 989-275-8151

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

RV Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
Only one shower in use. No pool either. Pancake breakfast was disappointing with quality of food. Office staffed by young people. Beautiful area.
Aug 31, 2015
The campground was clean except for the old crappy looking campers sitting on lots that look like permanent sites. Otherwise I liked how they had lots of trees and the nature trail was nice to walk on.
Aug 31, 2015
Great ! In every way !
Aug 30, 2015
I enjoy the setting in the trees. Glad that you got cable back. We stop every year.
Aug 26, 2015
Liked the wooded setting.
Aug 24, 2015
The sites are nice and big. We didn't have cable in our spot but John ran a cable for a quick fix. Every employee went the extra mile to make it a great weekend. However we did have a problem communicating with one employee. Thankfully it was over nothing important. The spots had old wood as barriers where bees were making nests. But it looks like someone is trying to slowly fix that issue
Aug 24, 2015
I liked the hiking trails and the proximity to the lake.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
No pool. Our dump site was higher than our sewer connections.campground was clean
Aug 19, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff. Manager was very accommodating in providing cablet to our site it was appreciated greatly.
Aug 17, 2015
Love staying there. Been going there for over 7 years. New faces there this year. Only one complaint. The young girl that runs the store at night is definitely in the wrong job. See you there next year!!! PS... Would be great if they could buy the 28 acres next door to them and put in a pool.
Aug 17, 2015
Great people place, Breakfasts and Ice Cream were a special treat....Thank you. sure we will return
Aug 17, 2015
Very clean, pleasant staff, many trees. Would definitely come back. Wish there was a pool but lakes and canoeing are close by.
Aug 17, 2015
The camp sites are just too small, they need to be wider are too close to each other, no privacy around the camp fires. Nice bath houses etc but very expensive. they charge for tghe site then charge per person. Only camped there because we could not get into the state parks.
Aug 14, 2015
Very nice stay staff was so helpful and very kind. Good place for peaceful camping. Showers needed alittle TLC but was clean.
Aug 14, 2015
very quiet, clean restrooms, kids enjoyed the blow-up ride and play yard.
Aug 13, 2015
We have been loyal KOA campers for years. This was the first time visiting Roscommon KOA. We felt that it lacked in hospitality, and was hard to understand the person on the phone. We were not given the site that we had reserved online, however they did make it right by allowing us to move.
Aug 13, 2015
Great place and staff, just need a pool. Other than that a very nice campground. We will be back!
Aug 12, 2015
grandkids loved all the activities! showers and bathrooms were clean(though one was out of order and another the spray was biting hard:) Loved breakfast on the patio and was sorry we missed the icecream social the night before. Help was courteous and available and despite the occasional drizzle we managed to take in the evening outside movie:) kids wanted to stay longer so we'll probably be back:)
Aug 11, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. The site was clean. The bathroom/shower was clean.
Aug 11, 2015
great campground,our site was wonderfull. Staff was friendly and helpfull
Aug 10, 2015
Staff extremely helpful & friendly. Sites could be more level. Pave roads & sites would be great. Bathrooms very clean.
Aug 09, 2015
Campground needs to invest in tree trimming, adding 50A sites and leveling many sites. Staff friendly and helpful.
Aug 07, 2015
Clean with a lot of stuff for kids, very freindly staff. Wish the hiking trails were maked better.
Aug 04, 2015
The staff were very friendly. The store was clean. The only complaint we have is that the sites were all dirt and there are too many trees. Also you should have full control of the shower. It was hard to find the button with soap in my eyes.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
This is possibly the worst KOA we have visited. Dirt roads, dirt pads and not a blade of grass. Not at all worth $42.00 per night. We will not revisit,
Aug 03, 2015
Tight fit
Aug 02, 2015
I had a relaxing vacation but I never would have stayed there if I had known about the swimmers itch that got my son, daughter in law and their dog. I could have found a cheaper place with a pool and not been itching the whole time.
Jul 30, 2015
This was by far, the worst experience we have had at a KOA. The showers had a crazy hand pump operation, the water would only run for about 15 seconds, and you had to keep pushing the button for more. They were filthy. We wanted firewood, but there was none available...the park manager was very kind and scraped us up some wood (at no charge). There was trash& an old mattress lying in the woods.
Jul 30, 2015
Very welcoming staff/owner.
Jul 28, 2015
I accompanied recovering alcoholics with their families and friends on a camping/canoeing weekend. The management and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and kind. Thank you for maintaining the rules and decorum of the park while encouraging the sometimes hilarious behavior of people in recovery. Everyone had a great time, we are so looking forward to next year. God bless you.
Jul 28, 2015
Wonderful stay, staff were all super. See you next year!
Jul 28, 2015
Staff were nice and friendly. Love the place. It's clean.
Jul 28, 2015
stay was fine. Personal needs Help!
Jul 28, 2015
was fine. somewhat noisy folks in the evenings with their ATVs riding around the park.
Jul 27, 2015
We have stated many KOA's in Michigan and other states. We like the fact that the staff does not hover over top of you. Our group was able to have a great time and yes, we got a little bit noisy just a little bit late. That's the nature of a group. We had a great time and the staff was absolutely great. Thank you for a great camping trip at your KOA!!😀😀😀
Jul 26, 2015
I was disappointed that there was not a swimming pool to play in.
Jul 26, 2015
Very young friendly staff, refreshing to see the younger generation learning the camping traditions.
Jul 26, 2015
no lights at night,,, and shower water is way too HOT, why cant we control temp or cold hot - for $45 a night?
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
The site we had was not a flat site. There were plenty of available flat ones so I really don't know why they put us on that one. Also we are an elderly couple and they put us next to three Yurts which are huge tents for big groups and they kept us awake every night. For the whole campground there was only five toilets (one had no door) and four showers because one was broken. They were also dirty
Jul 20, 2015
Overall the stay was nice. The initial site we were at had a neighbor playing music. The campground offered to let us move as well as they communicated to lower the volume of the music. Staff very friendly and helpful
Jul 18, 2015
We stayed a week and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The place was clean and it seemed that all the people camping there were having a great time as well.
Jul 16, 2015
This was our 2nd stay at Higgins Lake KOA and again we were very pleased!! The KOA added some wonderful outdoor activities for the kids which was a nice change and the cleanliness of the facilities remained tip top!!! Only one complaint; the young employees need to stay off of their cell phones while customers are in the store. Besides that, H.L. KOA is a fantastic place to stay!!
Jul 13, 2015
Nice campground. Lots of activities for kids. People that work there are very friendly and helpful. This was a nice few day stay on our way home from traverse city. I was a little disappointed about the area in general... There isn't anything to do in surrounding towns and Higgins lake seems to be overwhelmed with swimmers itch so we avoided it.
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice clean and accommodating campground......the only drawback was there was no pool !!!!
Jul 12, 2015
We loved are spot 88 you camp ground great when we're in the area again we will be back the lady's in the office were very helpful thanks
Jul 12, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.