Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Sep 14, 2014
Camp sites need to be upgraded. Water was unhandy. Washrooms and front office were excellent. Host at front desk was very accommodating.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
Dropped in with 8 friends for an unplanned stay. Didn't phase the manager or his helper. Bathrooms we're clean & there was hot water.
Sep 08, 2014
Nice, clean and quiet campground. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 06, 2014
We made our reservations two days prior to arrival. No one told us there was no cable or TV reception. Maybe you didn't know it would be down When we got there and started setting up my husband spent half an hour trying to get the TV to work I finally caller the office and was told the cable was down It would have saved him a lot of grief if the office would have told us Not a quality koa.
Sep 03, 2014
Great Staff and great location!
Sep 03, 2014
Out campsite 22A had the dump station 10 feet from our fire pit. everytime it rained the campground was a river washing out campsites, no cable tv on full hookups due to issues with service provider, employee working store seemed stoned
Sep 01, 2014
A bit frayed around the edges, but great staff, all mature tree shade, and great trails.
Aug 24, 2014
Loved every minute! Everyone that worked there was so nice and bathrooms were very clean!
Aug 14, 2014
Very sandy, no grass. Lost water pressure for about an hour. Sap from pine trees made a mess on everything. Employees very friendly. Special thanks to Brandon and John for their help when we needed to borrow a few tools.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
It was wonderful and staff is super nice
Aug 11, 2014
Very nice camground with fun activities for the kids. The staff was outstanding and very friendly.
Aug 10, 2014
Very unlevel site and hard to get level. Dog walk was a long way from campsite. No trash barrels handy inside the camp ground.
Aug 10, 2014
The park was nice. The site that we got was not the greatest for the size of the unit we had..It's ok for an overnight stay but not sure if i'd stay for a long period of time..
Aug 10, 2014
Very clean & accommodating! Very impressed with staff & back in RV spots. Will be back again!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Our biggest complaint was the terrible condition of the roads inside the facility.
Aug 07, 2014
Great People...below average KOA
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The two private bathrooms were amazing and clean. The overall camping was great. The price of wood was an extreme ripoff I have never had a campground rip me off like that before. $20 for 4 bundles of wood I thought was average until they delivered 12 small pieces of wood to our campsite. That is what would keep me from comin back!!!
Aug 03, 2014
This place would be Ok if you are staying in a cabin or something other than a Class A Bus. Weekends are noisy and they allow ATV's to roam the park. Need to put Class A motorcoach's on the top of the hill and have sufficient power for them. Whole park only has 4-5 spots with 50amp service. Neighbor campfire is only 10-15 away from your rig. A big "NOT" for us again.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Pull through site quite un-level with soft sand.
Jul 31, 2014
The actual campground location, wooded and still close to other things, was great. For the price though, I thought the amenities could of been a little better. The "game room" needs some TLC and maybe some more things to do such as horseshoes, playground, volley or basketball court, etc for the kids. The roads, beside the paved one by the campstore, were in poor condition. Staff was okay.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
They had a water problem and turned it off. They were to tell us when they had it fixed, but didn't. I even inquired 2 times about when it would be done--the last time after 6 hours. So I had no water for my stay. In the morning I found out that they forgot to tell us that it was on. Not happy!!!!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This was our 2nd stay at this KOA. Big difference noticed in the 1st stay and this one. Last stay we arrived on a Friday and our camp site was found clean and it had even been hand raked. This time we found trash and we were not happy. I picked up at least 4 beer bottle caps and numerous cigarette butts. Last stay someone had taken a leaf blower to clean the pavement. Not so this time.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This was our 11th year in a row staying here and the first time we've had any real issues. Will continue to stay here, and recommend to friends, but in the future the complaint process for noise violations will be confirmed before we check in. Staff oversight of the campground was severely lacking this year.
Jul 25, 2014
The place is quiet and clean. Only wish there were more 50 amp service for the newer RV's. Need to have an area specificially for the larger RV's that require 50 amp service. Plus the sites need leveling. You can see how the RR Ties are deteroriated which is allowing erosion and making the sites unlevel. Almost all campers have leveling boards under the tires.
Jul 24, 2014
We were very disappointed with the roads in this campground. very poor & ruts everywhere. We booked a cable site &were not told at booking or when we arrived that cable has not been available since the beginning of summer. We thought something was wrong with our TV then went to the office & were finally told that they have no cable this summer. very inexperienced staff.
Jul 23, 2014
see you soon had great great time.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
The staff are so friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean and the grounds and sites are beautiful. Definite return stay:-))
Jul 22, 2014
Great campground, lots of activities for the kids, really close to Higgins and Houghton lake! We will definatly be back next year, one downside which I don't think occurs normally but there was a cabin that was raided by the state police, which kinda put a hault on everything for one night because they wouldn't let anyone anywhere by it and it was close to the play ground where kids play!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We love this campground
Jul 21, 2014
IT was a great time, the campground was had a lot of activities for everyone. The staff (Kim) were more than friendly and helpful !
Jul 21, 2014
The cabin next to our campsite was leaking from the sewer hose and stunk up the area.
Jul 21, 2014
Kim is the new manager at this KOA, she went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We blew a fuse in our trailer and couldn't get it off our truck. The Koa store didn't have our size so she took me in her vehicle into town to find one. she is awesome. One of the friendliest managers ever. Made us feel like family.
Jul 20, 2014
Tried to put us into a site where someone had been stuck. Ruts and sand washouts made it totally un useable. Rest of the stay was OK.
Jul 19, 2014
campground was good, seems to be a lot for younger kids to do. Check in was a little disorganized and escort to our site was not very familiar with layout. Took us down wrong road and missed our site.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Miss Kim was excellent, very nice and helpful,she made our stay fun. Will stay again next year!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.