Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

RV Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
This was by far, the worst experience we have had at a KOA. The showers had a crazy hand pump operation, the water would only run for about 15 seconds, and you had to keep pushing the button for more. They were filthy. We wanted firewood, but there was none available...the park manager was very kind and scraped us up some wood (at no charge). There was trash& an old mattress lying in the woods.
Jul 30, 2015
Very welcoming staff/owner.
Jul 28, 2015
I accompanied recovering alcoholics with their families and friends on a camping/canoeing weekend. The management and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and kind. Thank you for maintaining the rules and decorum of the park while encouraging the sometimes hilarious behavior of people in recovery. Everyone had a great time, we are so looking forward to next year. God bless you.
Jul 28, 2015
Wonderful stay, staff were all super. See you next year!
Jul 28, 2015
Staff were nice and friendly. Love the place. It's clean.
Jul 28, 2015
stay was fine. Personal needs Help!
Jul 28, 2015
was fine. somewhat noisy folks in the evenings with their ATVs riding around the park.
Jul 27, 2015
We have stated many KOA's in Michigan and other states. We like the fact that the staff does not hover over top of you. Our group was able to have a great time and yes, we got a little bit noisy just a little bit late. That's the nature of a group. We had a great time and the staff was absolutely great. Thank you for a great camping trip at your KOA!!😀😀😀
Jul 26, 2015
I was disappointed that there was not a swimming pool to play in.
Jul 26, 2015
Very young friendly staff, refreshing to see the younger generation learning the camping traditions.
Jul 26, 2015
no lights at night,,, and shower water is way too HOT, why cant we control temp or cold hot - for $45 a night?
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
The site we had was not a flat site. There were plenty of available flat ones so I really don't know why they put us on that one. Also we are an elderly couple and they put us next to three Yurts which are huge tents for big groups and they kept us awake every night. For the whole campground there was only five toilets (one had no door) and four showers because one was broken. They were also dirty
Jul 20, 2015
Overall the stay was nice. The initial site we were at had a neighbor playing music. The campground offered to let us move as well as they communicated to lower the volume of the music. Staff very friendly and helpful
Jul 18, 2015
We stayed a week and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The place was clean and it seemed that all the people camping there were having a great time as well.
Jul 16, 2015
This was our 2nd stay at Higgins Lake KOA and again we were very pleased!! The KOA added some wonderful outdoor activities for the kids which was a nice change and the cleanliness of the facilities remained tip top!!! Only one complaint; the young employees need to stay off of their cell phones while customers are in the store. Besides that, H.L. KOA is a fantastic place to stay!!
Jul 13, 2015
Nice campground. Lots of activities for kids. People that work there are very friendly and helpful. This was a nice few day stay on our way home from traverse city. I was a little disappointed about the area in general... There isn't anything to do in surrounding towns and Higgins lake seems to be overwhelmed with swimmers itch so we avoided it.
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice clean and accommodating campground......the only drawback was there was no pool !!!!
Jul 12, 2015
We loved are spot 88 you camp ground great when we're in the area again we will be back the lady's in the office were very helpful thanks
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Nice park, clean & quiet.
Jul 09, 2015
we booked our stay nearly 2 mts ahead of time, we planned to stay with 2 other couples to be together we were told this would be no problem, when we arrived they had placed our site way away , they did move us closer after we complained -sites are uneven and sandy drive - difficult to walk from campsite to drive grass needs to be cut- several campers on 1 site- noisy I could a=say more if space al
Jul 09, 2015
The park was quiet. It is also very hilly and sandy which makes it difficult to level a bigger rig. We had to jack up the front so high, our bike tires were almost touching the ground in the back (still on the bike rack). After the 4th, we almost had the park to ourselves
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly staff
Jul 07, 2015
The people were fantastic!! The site I had was great. Only thing I noticed that was wrong was there was one shower out of order during my entire stay.That only left two showers available at the main building, on a holiday weekend. I do understand that it would also be hard to find plumbers on a Holiday weekend,but this was the only hiccup. Thanks to all. Todd Dailey. White Lake, MI 48383
Jul 07, 2015
First of all I called May 4 to reserve a site with 50amp and was told i would get one but no all were taken when i got there. Was told 2 other friends trailers would be next to us but no. We did have good weather. Would be better with a pool. I first stayed at this campground in 1977 and didn't look to me like any improvements were made except some cabins. Would not stay here again.
Jul 07, 2015
The staff was extremely nice and friendly however the campground really needs some updates and tlc. Campsites need grass instead of sand and weeds. trees need trimming and roads could be blacktopped or neatly graveled. With some care this could be a really nice place to stay. Blowup slides were a nice touch but a cheap fix for not having a pool. Would only recommend to rustic camping lovers.
Jul 07, 2015
Was happy to see nite time was just that sleep time, no noise. Thank you and you were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 07, 2015
We were just passing through and needed a stop for the night. KOA is usually my first choice so we called ahead for as one night stay. The lady who answered the phone was not at all helpful and seemed very new at the whole RV thing. We showed up and there were no 50 campsites open. The park needs a facelift! Old, dirt roads, 30 amp sites and pricey. Won't come back.
Jul 07, 2015
When booking site we advised we had a 33ft travel trailer with 3 slide outs and a rear kitchen. The site did not accommodate for this with trees in the way. We also did not approve of the way management treated and spoke to there foreign young workers. They are humans and several Times were talked to and treated like slaves. There is also no lake within a mile via a trail as ypur website states.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

this was a internet booking, we offered to move they elected to stay in this site I'm sorry your visit wasn't everything you wanted it to be.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It was good, but small sandy camp sites and didn't have a pool. Friendly people nice place.
Jul 06, 2015
Thanks for making room for us
Jul 06, 2015
The managers were very nice but the campground is very dirty & the sites are very uneven;

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The campground is sandy but clean picked up and groomed. there are a couple of sites that are a little uneven and we have plans to straighten them but most are very nice. we are sorry your stay wasn't what you expected.
Jul 06, 2015
When I called to book my campsite I was told that there was only one left. This led me to believe that the campground would be packed. This was not true as there was vacant campsites all weekend for the 4th of July. The shower curtains were brown and covered in mildew. Dollar stores sell them real cheap. It was nasty...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

we booked every site that we had available, even our overflow tent sites. the bathrooms are and were checked about every 2-4 hours and have had no other complaints. Very sorry your stay wasn't what you expected.
Jul 04, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommend this campground to families.
Jun 29, 2015
Had a great stay. The staff was super great. Coming back in July and Aug. with grandkids.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
disappointing. arrived at assigned lot#65 saw that it was narrow with trees left rear & right front limiting ease of access. asked to be assingned to lot #70 which was wider w/o trees. were told 70 was taken, but it remained vacant the entire wkend! after much manuevering were able to position trailer to allow slides out. used valuable time doing so.roads not paved.dirt pad instead of paved/gravel
Jun 28, 2015
They finally have enough help. The grounds are looking good.
Jun 22, 2015
very enjoyable nice very nice office & staff
Jun 22, 2015
Site originally KOA reserved for us would not fit our 31 foot camper. We reserved with another camping couple and asked to be placed next to each. Once we were there they corrected this but few of activities (water slide, rock climbing wall) where not available as offered on their website. Staff seemed to be friendly and apologized for the inconveniences.
Jun 17, 2015
Great looking, friendly
Jun 13, 2015
Warm welcoming,friendly and always helpful staff.Wide &shady sites. Too quiet for a mid week stay.
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Nice KOA, good location for us, and friendly folks. One minor negative is that the section we were camped in (and I think most of the campground) is bare sand which tracked very badly as a result of rainy weather. It would be nice if they could get grass to grow, or, failing that, add concrete pads or decks at campsites.
Jun 09, 2015
Seeing as we were the only one there, everything was great. yes if in area will come stay with yiu
Jun 08, 2015
Loved it. It has been a few years since we have been here and it was just as great now as it was then. Very kid friendly. Will definately stay again.
Jun 06, 2015
If you like more of a rustic (rather than manicured) look, this is the place. We loved it. The site was easy to get into with the full hookups. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.