Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Jul 21, 2015
I have stayed at a few different KOA's in Michigan and this was definitely not our favorite. The bathrooms are not clean, the showers are awful. You get a slight most of your lucky, and they advertise certain things for kids on the website but when you get there they don't have them. Too many young kids running the place always on their phones. They don't seem to take any pride in the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The only activity on our web site that we don't have is the jumping pillow, we have 3 inflatable units instead, 2 obstacle course and one slide instead. All of them can be jumped on. We also have a very large water slide.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great stay! Our only complaint is that our cabin obviously wasn't cleaned well. The floors were sandy and there were cobwebs in the corners. We understand that we weren't staying in a five star hotel, but still...eww!
Jul 13, 2015
Cabins were small with furniture that was too big. Pretty dirty for being new. Staff should instruct that hot water switch needs to be flipped on. Also charged $10/day for my two children for "activities" which include a bounce house and a nightly movie. That's it. Doesn't even include the ice cream sundae. Disappointed. If you have children, stay at Jellystone Grayling.
Jul 11, 2015
Absolutely love this KOA! I stay in the cabins and love the sites.
Jul 09, 2015
Our picnic table was old and warped. our cabin seemed like the oldest one there but they gave it to us while the others were vacant. No air, just heat. Seemed like a buch of teenagers were running the place.
Jul 08, 2015
We had a great time and will be returning!!
Jul 06, 2015
This is the first time staying at a KOA, so I don't know how it compares to others. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Campground was clean. Our cabin was clean. It even came with some plates and silverware. It was crowded, but that is to be expected on the 4th of July Weekend. Overall, it was a good experience.
Jun 28, 2015
We have stayed here 6 years in a row. The studio cabins are wonderful. Great campsite and the staff is great.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
When we got to our cabin, there were spider webs all over, bugs, and there was even dirt and saw dust all over. Before we could bring any of our items in, I had to clean the cabin. Outside of the cabin there was a step that went up onto the deck and it wasn't attached to anything. When my 4 year old son stepped onto it, it flipped over and threw him off and hit his shins very hard.
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great time at this koa. Host was very nice and accommodating. The kids loved the bounce house and playground.
Jun 05, 2015
I booked a 50amp lot. Was put on a 30amp lot. The lot was sand fill and could not got the coach level. Bearly fit. The garbage bin was over full.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Customer also wanted a lodge, wanted to be close to lodge, was offered a different site and customer refused. Said he was ok, we helped him level his rig. Brought him lumber for stability in the sand.
Jun 01, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed at this KOA. The staff is very professional and polite. The cabin was clean and comfortable.
May 11, 2015
Was disappointed in what was left of the game room. It shouldn't even be open. Most games don't work. There were cobwebs inside the games and a dead wasp (these were games that had candy. Old candy). Kids were disappointed. Either fix the games or close the game room. That is my only complaint. Nice campground, nice playground, kids enjoyed the bounce house.
May 10, 2015
First, I called several times and left messages.. My call was returned 3 days later. My family has gone to this KOA numerous times. There was no TV at all. We also had no Wifi in our cabin. The toilet and frig were visibly dirty. We had no picnic table.They offered a cabin we could go back & forth to for Wifi. Not my usual pleasant experience there. New owners maybe?
Oct 14, 2014
The gentleman who checked us un was very friendly and helpful. He had the heat going in the kabin for us. The kampground was very quiet and the bathrooms were very clean. We enjoyed everything. We will be back next year.
Oct 06, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
My kids loved the bike trails! Close to many attractions. Beautiful area.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 12, 2014
I was disappointed with the camp grounds. Very sandy and the deck on the cabin had an astro turf rug on it which always stayed wet after it rained. There were lots of empty cabins and we were placed next to the maintenance shed which was very noisy at times. One afternoon, we had to listen to a tractor levelling out gravel for 4+ hrs. Not very relaxing. No free upgrades either.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
The bathrooms were very dirty and when we asked if they could be cleaned, they still did a horrible job. The campground itself was very nice but the staff seemed like they were teenagers who were more interested in smoking cigarettes.
Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful park and a wonderful staff. I WILL be back!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Definitely not up to regular standards of KOA. Cabin was clean. We had a few good and bad interactions with the employees. Not many banana bikes, none for adults, and the did not have the ones that looks like a car for the family to ride. Our weekend did not have a theme as I was told it would. $3 for the rock climbing wall. 35 cent piece on toilet was broke and they are charging me $35 for it.
Aug 11, 2014
The staff was very friendly, but the park itself seemed a little run down. Our cabin was very nice and had everything we needed, but it was a little dirtier than I would have liked. Overall, it was a nice campground. We probably wouldn't stay at this particular location again due to the lack of things to do, but we would definitley stay at a KOA again.
Aug 05, 2014
Cabin was ok no cable working to watch tv . Staff appeared to be new but very friendly. Small campground not much to do there .
Aug 04, 2014
Our "deluxe" cabins were dirty, dead bugs infested in the shower, on the futon and floors.Floors were full of dirt and sand. KOA unwilling to give us a discount for the poor condition our cabins were in....very disappointed!
Aug 04, 2014
Did not enjoy our stay. Seem like just kids working it, was taking to the wrong cabin at first. The cabin we stayed in was dirty, the campground is not kept up. Roads are need if work, trash laying around, old stuff laying out visible to the public, bathroom had missing doors, showers not working,game room was a pit, bounce house and inflatable slide were dirty.
Aug 01, 2014
Part of Family reunion. Appreciated the consideration staff provided for our event and needs.
Jul 30, 2014
Great Cabin, location was perfect with the treed location and the quite surrooundings
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
The manager Kim was a great friendly person bathrooms and cabins are clean but there is not much for kids to do.
Jul 05, 2014
I liked the area but when I got there I was disappointed with the bathrooms. The showers looked like they haven't been cleaned in a while. I noticed someone finally cleaning them before the weekend campers came in. The bouncy house and slide were not inflated until the weekend and my daughter and I arrived on a Wednesday. I stayed at other KOA's and they were more prepared for any campers.
Jul 03, 2014
good
Jul 02, 2014
Despite the rainy weather we all had a pleasant time.
Jul 02, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Run down.
May 23, 2014
Quiet (pre-season). Felt like we had the whole place to ourselves! Close to town, restaurants and other conveniences as needed. Limited staff, but available for check-in.
May 14, 2014
May 14, 2014
Oct 15, 2013
there were very few campers so it was very quiet and peaceful...very friendly staff...close to a beautiful lake,,,i would like to return and stay longer...
Oct 02, 2013
Only way to improve is to put curved shower rods in the cabin shower. great and safe weekend with the kids.
Sep 25, 2013
We had a great time.With all the activities and evening movies, it was our best vacation ever !It was great to have fire wood delivered to our site too. The staff was so friendly.Also the restrooms were the cleanest I've seen at a campground.We will visit again next year.
Sep 24, 2013
was a great place to stop by for the night.
Sep 23, 2013
The campground it's self was OK, but I chose a Kamping Kabin on purpose due to the "time of year." I got up in the middle of the night to utilize the heater, only to discover that there wasn't any fuel to the furnace! I guess was has bothered me the most, is that I left a note {I checked out before they opened} and sent an E-mail, and have not heard a reply!
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
We stayed for the weekend 9/13-9/15 and loved it! We rented a studio cabin which was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful the entire stay. This is one of the best KOA's I've stayed at before. We will be returning again soon!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.