Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 989-275-8151

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2015
Nice KOA, good location for us, and friendly folks. One minor negative is that the section we were camped in (and I think most of the campground) is bare sand which tracked very badly as a result of rainy weather. It would be nice if they could get grass to grow, or, failing that, add concrete pads or decks at campsites.
Jun 09, 2015
Seeing as we were the only one there, everything was great. yes if in area will come stay with yiu
Jun 08, 2015
Loved it. It has been a few years since we have been here and it was just as great now as it was then. Very kid friendly. Will definately stay again.
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great time at this koa. Host was very nice and accommodating. The kids loved the bounce house and playground.
Jun 06, 2015
If you like more of a rustic (rather than manicured) look, this is the place. We loved it. The site was easy to get into with the full hookups. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.
Jun 05, 2015
I booked a 50amp lot. Was put on a 30amp lot. The lot was sand fill and could not got the coach level. Bearly fit. The garbage bin was over full.


Customer also wanted a lodge, wanted to be close to lodge, was offered a different site and customer refused. Said he was ok, we helped him level his rig. Brought him lumber for stability in the sand.
Jun 01, 2015
I arrived quite late due to tire trouble. The owner was very gracious in helping me get set up for the night.
Jun 01, 2015
Last of May you would the grounds to be cleaned or in the process of being raked or groomed...only one staff member doing all grounds keeping. Wifi was inconsistent.. No cable TV as advertised Roads need grading Office staff were pleasant
Jun 01, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed at this KOA. The staff is very professional and polite. The cabin was clean and comfortable.
May 30, 2015
Not our type of campground
May 30, 2015
Our stay was very pleasant.The staff was very helpful and friendly.The restrooms are kept clean.The only negative for me is that many of the lots have no grass and can make things a bit messy.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Things were great except we rented a yurt we were put in the wrong one without being asked an had to wait for ours to be cleaned an after a long drive there I was not happy about that an after paying 426.00 to stay I thought it would all be done


We moved them into another one and gave them a choice of which one because of a small issue. They chose the original, we moved them back ASAP. very sorry it took so long. We thought we were helping.
May 25, 2015
The staff was very nice & accommodating. We were, however, disappointed in the grounds. They still had leaves everywhere & the sites themselves were not even close to being level. I know the camp doesn't open until 5/1, but there should have been staff there to clean up a month ahead of time to get ready for the season. We won't be staying there again.
May 18, 2015
Generally the campground was okay, and service was good. The showers and bathrooms could cleaned better. Much dirt and cobwebs in the smaller showers and restrooms.
May 13, 2015
The camp had been open for just a few days. The weather was COLD and RAINY! Manager was helpful and friendly. Great trails to walk. Pleasant surroundings. Clean restroom and showers.
May 11, 2015
Was disappointed in what was left of the game room. It shouldn't even be open. Most games don't work. There were cobwebs inside the games and a dead wasp (these were games that had candy. Old candy). Kids were disappointed. Either fix the games or close the game room. That is my only complaint. Nice campground, nice playground, kids enjoyed the bounce house.
May 10, 2015
First, I called several times and left messages.. My call was returned 3 days later. My family has gone to this KOA numerous times. There was no TV at all. We also had no Wifi in our cabin. The toilet and frig were visibly dirty. We had no picnic table.They offered a cabin we could go back & forth to for Wifi. Not my usual pleasant experience there. New owners maybe?
May 09, 2015
Jan 07, 2015
What a beautiful park, and so clean and friendly.
Nov 05, 2014
Very nice and friendly.
Oct 22, 2014
Campground was okay but service was terrible. Showers weren't very clean.
Oct 20, 2014
No toilet paper in the potty and the toilet was backed up with nobody around to help. My stay was late in the season and I paid full price for my stay so I expected full price service. There was only one young kid staffing the place who didn't return my call or email confirming my stay and wasn't very helpful finding a site that meet my needs. I pay extra at koa to avoid state campgrounds.
Oct 15, 2014
The 3 days we were there could not reach any workers/help/owners, all times of day. Could have drove right in and never paid
Oct 14, 2014
The gentleman who checked us un was very friendly and helpful. He had the heat going in the kabin for us. The kampground was very quiet and the bathrooms were very clean. We enjoyed everything. We will be back next year.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Decent KOA and a good price, but this was about the strangest stay at a KOA I have had. Nobody on the phone to take our call, reserved online, no one at the office when we got there; in fact never saw an employee the whole time we were there! But place was clean and everything worked, aside from a few clogged toilets.
Oct 06, 2014
We stayed in a yurt. It was a fun experience and a special treat, prices are too high for regular stays. The campground looked very well cared for. We would visit this park again. Our only problem was staying in 40 degree weather and the yurt's propane heater kept going out. Camp attendant was very helpful getting it going but finally ended up with an electric heater to "keep the chill off".
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
The Roscommon KOA does not enforce their rules. There were 4 different groups that were very loud and obnoxious until well after the time when people were suppose to be at their own campsites and the noise level to the quiet status. One group partied until after 1:00 am and no one did anything to cease the noise.
Oct 04, 2014
Office was closed the entire time we were there. We night registered which was okay, but there was no one in the office the next morning either! Left without ever seeing a single person who was in charge.
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
This is our sixth year staying during the Fireman's Memorial Festival in September. The staff is always great and we love the lights and sirens parade.
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
It was great and the personnel was wonderful!
Sep 23, 2014
Loved everything!
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
My kids loved the bike trails! Close to many attractions. Beautiful area.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
End of season, so office hours limited. they need to deal with Charter Communications to resolve the cable situation. During the fall it is too chilly to sit by the campfire. some TV at the end sightseeing would be nice. /we love the area and the campground.
Sep 19, 2014
Because evening were so cool, could not sit outside long, so missed the Cable TV
Sep 15, 2014
We stayed in Yurt, it was very clean and fun. But it is using propane gas for heating, so you need to check gas is filled as it will be disaster if no gas in midnight. Camp site is very quiet and peaceful. Actually, I was worried about this KOA as I saw some negative reviews. But we had great time. There are not many KOA staffs unlike other KOAs, but not much things to get their help.I recommend
Sep 14, 2014
Camp sites need to be upgraded. Water was unhandy. Washrooms and front office were excellent. Host at front desk was very accommodating.
Sep 12, 2014
I was disappointed with the camp grounds. Very sandy and the deck on the cabin had an astro turf rug on it which always stayed wet after it rained. There were lots of empty cabins and we were placed next to the maintenance shed which was very noisy at times. One afternoon, we had to listen to a tractor levelling out gravel for 4+ hrs. Not very relaxing. No free upgrades either.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.