Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2014
They had a water problem and turned it off. They were to tell us when they had it fixed, but didn't. I even inquired 2 times about when it would be done--the last time after 6 hours. So I had no water for my stay. In the morning I found out that they forgot to tell us that it was on. Not happy!!!!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This was our 2nd stay at this KOA. Big difference noticed in the 1st stay and this one. Last stay we arrived on a Friday and our camp site was found clean and it had even been hand raked. This time we found trash and we were not happy. I picked up at least 4 beer bottle caps and numerous cigarette butts. Last stay someone had taken a leaf blower to clean the pavement. Not so this time.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This was our 11th year in a row staying here and the first time we've had any real issues. Will continue to stay here, and recommend to friends, but in the future the complaint process for noise violations will be confirmed before we check in. Staff oversight of the campground was severely lacking this year.
Jul 25, 2014
The place is quiet and clean. Only wish there were more 50 amp service for the newer RV's. Need to have an area specificially for the larger RV's that require 50 amp service. Plus the sites need leveling. You can see how the RR Ties are deteroriated which is allowing erosion and making the sites unlevel. Almost all campers have leveling boards under the tires.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We were very disappointed with the roads in this campground. very poor & ruts everywhere. We booked a cable site &were not told at booking or when we arrived that cable has not been available since the beginning of summer. We thought something was wrong with our TV then went to the office & were finally told that they have no cable this summer. very inexperienced staff.
Jul 23, 2014
see you soon had great great time.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
The staff are so friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean and the grounds and sites are beautiful. Definite return stay:-))
Jul 22, 2014
Great campground, lots of activities for the kids, really close to Higgins and Houghton lake! We will definatly be back next year, one downside which I don't think occurs normally but there was a cabin that was raided by the state police, which kinda put a hault on everything for one night because they wouldn't let anyone anywhere by it and it was close to the play ground where kids play!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We love this campground
Jul 21, 2014
IT was a great time, the campground was had a lot of activities for everyone. The staff (Kim) were more than friendly and helpful !
Jul 21, 2014
The cabin next to our campsite was leaking from the sewer hose and stunk up the area.
Jul 21, 2014
Kim is the new manager at this KOA, she went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We blew a fuse in our trailer and couldn't get it off our truck. The Koa store didn't have our size so she took me in her vehicle into town to find one. she is awesome. One of the friendliest managers ever. Made us feel like family.
Jul 20, 2014
Tried to put us into a site where someone had been stuck. Ruts and sand washouts made it totally un useable. Rest of the stay was OK.
Jul 19, 2014
campground was good, seems to be a lot for younger kids to do. Check in was a little disorganized and escort to our site was not very familiar with layout. Took us down wrong road and missed our site.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Miss Kim was excellent, very nice and helpful,she made our stay fun. Will stay again next year!!
Jul 15, 2014
We enjoyed your park. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
The rate was high and the grounds within were not well kept. There are old trailers which look like they were abandoned. There was an old dirty sofa sitting outside a decaying garage. The game room was dirty and old. It was inside part of the old garage. We had reservation to stay 4 nights and left on the 2nd forfeiting the $84.00 plus dollars. Postive: The people were very nice.
Jul 14, 2014
Our first stay at your campground and we loved it. We had 4 grandchildren ages 3-6 and there were so many things to keep them entertained. Park was clean, personnel friendly and helpful. Hats off to Kim and Howard. They seemed to go out of their way to make sure we had a good time. KOA very lucky to have both of them at this park! We will be back and tell others about it also.
Jul 14, 2014
Cable advertised ($) but not available; WiFi weak, unreliable and unavailable last 24 hrs, interior access roads badly eroded in places. Site clean and quiet.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
The camp ground was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the firewood we purchased was wet and did not burn very well. We purchased $20.00 worth and took it with us to our next stop and we didn't get much flame but rather a lot of smoke due to the wood being so wet. I would suggest selling dry firewood.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
The manager Kim was a great friendly person bathrooms and cabins are clean but there is not much for kids to do.
Jul 07, 2014
We arrived late and were asked to pay more, even though I had already paid the full amount online, or so I thought! All activities for the kids we had to pay each turn. There was a concert that Saturday of someone from the Voice which we had to pay to see, even though there was only 20 people in attendance.The kids got swimmers itch from the lake. Bad experience!
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
I liked the area but when I got there I was disappointed with the bathrooms. The showers looked like they haven't been cleaned in a while. I noticed someone finally cleaning them before the weekend campers came in. The bouncy house and slide were not inflated until the weekend and my daughter and I arrived on a Wednesday. I stayed at other KOA's and they were more prepared for any campers.
Jul 04, 2014
Best KOA in Michigan!
Jul 04, 2014
Beautiful park.
Jul 04, 2014
Great location near Higgins Lake. Best campground in area.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
good
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Despite the rainy weather we all had a pleasant time.
Jul 02, 2014
good size camp site and was well organized, washrooms and showers were excellent
Jul 02, 2014
Had lots of fun just sitting around the fire all weekend. Was a great relaxing place to get away for a few days. I look forward to coming back again.
Jul 02, 2014
It was a great 4 day weekend for us, the staff did everything they could to make sure we got to enjoy our stay, Thank you.
Jul 02, 2014
The bathrooms looked new and very clean. (The most important thing for me.) It was just disappointing for my daughters because there weren't as many kids or kid activities as we usually have at KOA. Maybe we were just there on a slow weekend. The playground and inflatable slide didn't look well maintained.
Jul 02, 2014
When booking woman did not know campground sites. Put us on a site in back when we could have been on a nicer site near the front. Did not tell me concert was in afternoon and charged me full ticket rate although when we complained she refunded me completely . Loved the concert even an hour into it before we got there , too bad the attendance was so poor. Went to another koa which was beautiful
Jul 02, 2014
We'll be back.
Jul 02, 2014
They mtied waterslide at end of day and all the water rushed thru our dirt campsite turning it into mud. Attendant was surpried; but tha's all. Girls at desk was fine, but now closed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.