Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Campground Reviews

Oct 15, 2014
The 3 days we were there could not reach any workers/help/owners, all times of day. Could have drove right in and never paid
Oct 14, 2014
The gentleman who checked us un was very friendly and helpful. He had the heat going in the kabin for us. The kampground was very quiet and the bathrooms were very clean. We enjoyed everything. We will be back next year.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Decent KOA and a good price, but this was about the strangest stay at a KOA I have had. Nobody on the phone to take our call, reserved online, no one at the office when we got there; in fact never saw an employee the whole time we were there! But place was clean and everything worked, aside from a few clogged toilets.
Oct 06, 2014
We stayed in a yurt. It was a fun experience and a special treat, prices are too high for regular stays. The campground looked very well cared for. We would visit this park again. Our only problem was staying in 40 degree weather and the yurt's propane heater kept going out. Camp attendant was very helpful getting it going but finally ended up with an electric heater to "keep the chill off".
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
The Roscommon KOA does not enforce their rules. There were 4 different groups that were very loud and obnoxious until well after the time when people were suppose to be at their own campsites and the noise level to the quiet status. One group partied until after 1:00 am and no one did anything to cease the noise.
Oct 04, 2014
Office was closed the entire time we were there. We night registered which was okay, but there was no one in the office the next morning either! Left without ever seeing a single person who was in charge.
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
This is our sixth year staying during the Fireman's Memorial Festival in September. The staff is always great and we love the lights and sirens parade.
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
It was great and the personnel was wonderful!
Sep 23, 2014
Loved everything!
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
My kids loved the bike trails! Close to many attractions. Beautiful area.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
End of season, so office hours limited. they need to deal with Charter Communications to resolve the cable situation. During the fall it is too chilly to sit by the campfire. some TV at the end sightseeing would be nice. /we love the area and the campground.
Sep 19, 2014
Because evening were so cool, could not sit outside long, so missed the Cable TV
Sep 15, 2014
We stayed in Yurt, it was very clean and fun. But it is using propane gas for heating, so you need to check gas is filled as it will be disaster if no gas in midnight. Camp site is very quiet and peaceful. Actually, I was worried about this KOA as I saw some negative reviews. But we had great time. There are not many KOA staffs unlike other KOAs, but not much things to get their help.I recommend
Sep 14, 2014
Camp sites need to be upgraded. Water was unhandy. Washrooms and front office were excellent. Host at front desk was very accommodating.
Sep 12, 2014
I was disappointed with the camp grounds. Very sandy and the deck on the cabin had an astro turf rug on it which always stayed wet after it rained. There were lots of empty cabins and we were placed next to the maintenance shed which was very noisy at times. One afternoon, we had to listen to a tractor levelling out gravel for 4+ hrs. Not very relaxing. No free upgrades either.
Sep 11, 2014
Friendly staff, made my stay very accommodating.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
Dropped in with 8 friends for an unplanned stay. Didn't phase the manager or his helper. Bathrooms we're clean & there was hot water.
Sep 08, 2014
Nice, clean and quiet campground. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 06, 2014
We made our reservations two days prior to arrival. No one told us there was no cable or TV reception. Maybe you didn't know it would be down When we got there and started setting up my husband spent half an hour trying to get the TV to work I finally caller the office and was told the cable was down It would have saved him a lot of grief if the office would have told us Not a quality koa.
Sep 05, 2014
Yurt had plumbing issue and smelled like a sewer, very little hot water , and hardly any FREE activities for ten children to do
Sep 04, 2014
We stayed in a yurt that had plumbing problems with the kitchen sink. Our daughters family's yurt had a strong sewage smell due to plumbing problems in bathroom. We had 6 children with us over Labor Day week-end & many events were cancelled due to the rain. Manager in office did reschedule 2 events, which was much appreciated. Lots of "additional fees" made it an expensive week-end...
Sep 03, 2014
Great Staff and great location!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Out campsite 22A had the dump station 10 feet from our fire pit. everytime it rained the campground was a river washing out campsites, no cable tv on full hookups due to issues with service provider, employee working store seemed stoned
Sep 03, 2014
The bathrooms were very dirty and when we asked if they could be cleaned, they still did a horrible job. The campground itself was very nice but the staff seemed like they were teenagers who were more interested in smoking cigarettes.
Sep 01, 2014
A bit frayed around the edges, but great staff, all mature tree shade, and great trails.
Aug 28, 2014
The staff was not knowledgeable on how to use the computer system at the KOA. I was charged for 3 kids when we had 2 with us. I was promised a credit that I did not receive. Disappointed Camper
Aug 24, 2014
Loved every minute! Everyone that worked there was so nice and bathrooms were very clean!
Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful park and a wonderful staff. I WILL be back!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
What a nice campground. Pleasant place to stay the weekend.
Aug 14, 2014
Very sandy, no grass. Lost water pressure for about an hour. Sap from pine trees made a mess on everything. Employees very friendly. Special thanks to Brandon and John for their help when we needed to borrow a few tools.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
This was a family camping outing including 9 people to go kayaking in a local river. The camp ground was clean, quiet, and well kept. The granite counter tops in the bathroom was a nice surprise. The flow in the shower could be improved. The movie at night was a nice touch for the kids.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Definitely not up to regular standards of KOA. Cabin was clean. We had a few good and bad interactions with the employees. Not many banana bikes, none for adults, and the did not have the ones that looks like a car for the family to ride. Our weekend did not have a theme as I was told it would. $3 for the rock climbing wall. 35 cent piece on toilet was broke and they are charging me $35 for it.
Aug 11, 2014
The staff was very friendly, but the park itself seemed a little run down. Our cabin was very nice and had everything we needed, but it was a little dirtier than I would have liked. Overall, it was a nice campground. We probably wouldn't stay at this particular location again due to the lack of things to do, but we would definitley stay at a KOA again.
Aug 11, 2014
It was wonderful and staff is super nice
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.