Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2014
End of season, so office hours limited. they need to deal with Charter Communications to resolve the cable situation. During the fall it is too chilly to sit by the campfire. some TV at the end sightseeing would be nice. /we love the area and the campground.
Sep 19, 2014
Because evening were so cool, could not sit outside long, so missed the Cable TV
Sep 15, 2014
We stayed in Yurt, it was very clean and fun. But it is using propane gas for heating, so you need to check gas is filled as it will be disaster if no gas in midnight. Camp site is very quiet and peaceful. Actually, I was worried about this KOA as I saw some negative reviews. But we had great time. There are not many KOA staffs unlike other KOAs, but not much things to get their help.I recommend
Sep 14, 2014
Camp sites need to be upgraded. Water was unhandy. Washrooms and front office were excellent. Host at front desk was very accommodating.
Sep 12, 2014
I was disappointed with the camp grounds. Very sandy and the deck on the cabin had an astro turf rug on it which always stayed wet after it rained. There were lots of empty cabins and we were placed next to the maintenance shed which was very noisy at times. One afternoon, we had to listen to a tractor levelling out gravel for 4+ hrs. Not very relaxing. No free upgrades either.
Sep 11, 2014
Friendly staff, made my stay very accommodating.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
Dropped in with 8 friends for an unplanned stay. Didn't phase the manager or his helper. Bathrooms we're clean & there was hot water.
Sep 08, 2014
Nice, clean and quiet campground. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 06, 2014
We made our reservations two days prior to arrival. No one told us there was no cable or TV reception. Maybe you didn't know it would be down When we got there and started setting up my husband spent half an hour trying to get the TV to work I finally caller the office and was told the cable was down It would have saved him a lot of grief if the office would have told us Not a quality koa.
Sep 05, 2014
Yurt had plumbing issue and smelled like a sewer, very little hot water , and hardly any FREE activities for ten children to do
Sep 04, 2014
We stayed in a yurt that had plumbing problems with the kitchen sink. Our daughters family's yurt had a strong sewage smell due to plumbing problems in bathroom. We had 6 children with us over Labor Day week-end & many events were cancelled due to the rain. Manager in office did reschedule 2 events, which was much appreciated. Lots of "additional fees" made it an expensive week-end...
Sep 03, 2014
Great Staff and great location!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Out campsite 22A had the dump station 10 feet from our fire pit. everytime it rained the campground was a river washing out campsites, no cable tv on full hookups due to issues with service provider, employee working store seemed stoned
Sep 03, 2014
The bathrooms were very dirty and when we asked if they could be cleaned, they still did a horrible job. The campground itself was very nice but the staff seemed like they were teenagers who were more interested in smoking cigarettes.
Sep 01, 2014
A bit frayed around the edges, but great staff, all mature tree shade, and great trails.
Aug 28, 2014
The staff was not knowledgeable on how to use the computer system at the KOA. I was charged for 3 kids when we had 2 with us. I was promised a credit that I did not receive. Disappointed Camper
Aug 24, 2014
Loved every minute! Everyone that worked there was so nice and bathrooms were very clean!
Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful park and a wonderful staff. I WILL be back!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
What a nice campground. Pleasant place to stay the weekend.
Aug 14, 2014
Very sandy, no grass. Lost water pressure for about an hour. Sap from pine trees made a mess on everything. Employees very friendly. Special thanks to Brandon and John for their help when we needed to borrow a few tools.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
This was a family camping outing including 9 people to go kayaking in a local river. The camp ground was clean, quiet, and well kept. The granite counter tops in the bathroom was a nice surprise. The flow in the shower could be improved. The movie at night was a nice touch for the kids.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Definitely not up to regular standards of KOA. Cabin was clean. We had a few good and bad interactions with the employees. Not many banana bikes, none for adults, and the did not have the ones that looks like a car for the family to ride. Our weekend did not have a theme as I was told it would. $3 for the rock climbing wall. 35 cent piece on toilet was broke and they are charging me $35 for it.
Aug 11, 2014
The staff was very friendly, but the park itself seemed a little run down. Our cabin was very nice and had everything we needed, but it was a little dirtier than I would have liked. Overall, it was a nice campground. We probably wouldn't stay at this particular location again due to the lack of things to do, but we would definitley stay at a KOA again.
Aug 11, 2014
It was wonderful and staff is super nice
Aug 11, 2014
Very nice camground with fun activities for the kids. The staff was outstanding and very friendly.
Aug 11, 2014
There was pet feces in our campsite and human feces on the floor in the bathroom. Sorry, but we really did not have a pleasant stay. We did not have a pet.
Aug 10, 2014
Very unlevel site and hard to get level. Dog walk was a long way from campsite. No trash barrels handy inside the camp ground.
Aug 10, 2014
The park was nice. The site that we got was not the greatest for the size of the unit we had..It's ok for an overnight stay but not sure if i'd stay for a long period of time..
Aug 10, 2014
Very clean & accommodating! Very impressed with staff & back in RV spots. Will be back again!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Our biggest complaint was the terrible condition of the roads inside the facility.
Aug 07, 2014
Great People...below average KOA
Aug 05, 2014
Cabin was ok no cable working to watch tv . Staff appeared to be new but very friendly. Small campground not much to do there .
Aug 04, 2014
Our "deluxe" cabins were dirty, dead bugs infested in the shower, on the futon and floors.Floors were full of dirt and sand. KOA unwilling to give us a discount for the poor condition our cabins were in....very disappointed!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Did not enjoy our stay. Seem like just kids working it, was taking to the wrong cabin at first. The cabin we stayed in was dirty, the campground is not kept up. Roads are need if work, trash laying around, old stuff laying out visible to the public, bathroom had missing doors, showers not working,game room was a pit, bounce house and inflatable slide were dirty.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The two private bathrooms were amazing and clean. The overall camping was great. The price of wood was an extreme ripoff I have never had a campground rip me off like that before. $20 for 4 bundles of wood I thought was average until they delivered 12 small pieces of wood to our campsite. That is what would keep me from comin back!!!
Aug 03, 2014
This place would be Ok if you are staying in a cabin or something other than a Class A Bus. Weekends are noisy and they allow ATV's to roam the park. Need to put Class A motorcoach's on the top of the hill and have sufficient power for them. Whole park only has 4-5 spots with 50amp service. Neighbor campfire is only 10-15 away from your rig. A big "NOT" for us again.
Aug 01, 2014
Part of Family reunion. Appreciated the consideration staff provided for our event and needs.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Pull through site quite un-level with soft sand.
Jul 31, 2014
The actual campground location, wooded and still close to other things, was great. For the price though, I thought the amenities could of been a little better. The "game room" needs some TLC and maybe some more things to do such as horseshoes, playground, volley or basketball court, etc for the kids. The roads, beside the paved one by the campstore, were in poor condition. Staff was okay.
Jul 30, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.