Higgins Lake / Roscommon KOA

3800 W. Federal Hwy

Roscommon, MI 48653

Reserve: 800-562-3351

Info: 989-275-8151

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2014
The staff was not knowledgeable on how to use the computer system at the KOA. I was charged for 3 kids when we had 2 with us. I was promised a credit that I did not receive. Disappointed Camper
Aug 24, 2014
Loved every minute! Everyone that worked there was so nice and bathrooms were very clean!
Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful park and a wonderful staff. I WILL be back!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
What a nice campground. Pleasant place to stay the weekend.
Aug 14, 2014
Very sandy, no grass. Lost water pressure for about an hour. Sap from pine trees made a mess on everything. Employees very friendly. Special thanks to Brandon and John for their help when we needed to borrow a few tools.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
This was a family camping outing including 9 people to go kayaking in a local river. The camp ground was clean, quiet, and well kept. The granite counter tops in the bathroom was a nice surprise. The flow in the shower could be improved. The movie at night was a nice touch for the kids.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Definitely not up to regular standards of KOA. Cabin was clean. We had a few good and bad interactions with the employees. Not many banana bikes, none for adults, and the did not have the ones that looks like a car for the family to ride. Our weekend did not have a theme as I was told it would. $3 for the rock climbing wall. 35 cent piece on toilet was broke and they are charging me $35 for it.
Aug 11, 2014
The staff was very friendly, but the park itself seemed a little run down. Our cabin was very nice and had everything we needed, but it was a little dirtier than I would have liked. Overall, it was a nice campground. We probably wouldn't stay at this particular location again due to the lack of things to do, but we would definitley stay at a KOA again.
Aug 11, 2014
It was wonderful and staff is super nice
Aug 11, 2014
Very nice camground with fun activities for the kids. The staff was outstanding and very friendly.
Aug 11, 2014
There was pet feces in our campsite and human feces on the floor in the bathroom. Sorry, but we really did not have a pleasant stay. We did not have a pet.
Aug 10, 2014
Very unlevel site and hard to get level. Dog walk was a long way from campsite. No trash barrels handy inside the camp ground.
Aug 10, 2014
The park was nice. The site that we got was not the greatest for the size of the unit we had..It's ok for an overnight stay but not sure if i'd stay for a long period of time..
Aug 10, 2014
Very clean & accommodating! Very impressed with staff & back in RV spots. Will be back again!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Our biggest complaint was the terrible condition of the roads inside the facility.
Aug 07, 2014
Great People...below average KOA
Aug 05, 2014
Cabin was ok no cable working to watch tv . Staff appeared to be new but very friendly. Small campground not much to do there .
Aug 04, 2014
Our "deluxe" cabins were dirty, dead bugs infested in the shower, on the futon and floors.Floors were full of dirt and sand. KOA unwilling to give us a discount for the poor condition our cabins were in....very disappointed!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Did not enjoy our stay. Seem like just kids working it, was taking to the wrong cabin at first. The cabin we stayed in was dirty, the campground is not kept up. Roads are need if work, trash laying around, old stuff laying out visible to the public, bathroom had missing doors, showers not working,game room was a pit, bounce house and inflatable slide were dirty.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The two private bathrooms were amazing and clean. The overall camping was great. The price of wood was an extreme ripoff I have never had a campground rip me off like that before. $20 for 4 bundles of wood I thought was average until they delivered 12 small pieces of wood to our campsite. That is what would keep me from comin back!!!
Aug 03, 2014
This place would be Ok if you are staying in a cabin or something other than a Class A Bus. Weekends are noisy and they allow ATV's to roam the park. Need to put Class A motorcoach's on the top of the hill and have sufficient power for them. Whole park only has 4-5 spots with 50amp service. Neighbor campfire is only 10-15 away from your rig. A big "NOT" for us again.
Aug 01, 2014
Part of Family reunion. Appreciated the consideration staff provided for our event and needs.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Pull through site quite un-level with soft sand.
Jul 31, 2014
The actual campground location, wooded and still close to other things, was great. For the price though, I thought the amenities could of been a little better. The "game room" needs some TLC and maybe some more things to do such as horseshoes, playground, volley or basketball court, etc for the kids. The roads, beside the paved one by the campstore, were in poor condition. Staff was okay.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Great Cabin, location was perfect with the treed location and the quite surrooundings
Jul 30, 2014
They had a water problem and turned it off. They were to tell us when they had it fixed, but didn't. I even inquired 2 times about when it would be done--the last time after 6 hours. So I had no water for my stay. In the morning I found out that they forgot to tell us that it was on. Not happy!!!!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This was our 2nd stay at this KOA. Big difference noticed in the 1st stay and this one. Last stay we arrived on a Friday and our camp site was found clean and it had even been hand raked. This time we found trash and we were not happy. I picked up at least 4 beer bottle caps and numerous cigarette butts. Last stay someone had taken a leaf blower to clean the pavement. Not so this time.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This was our 11th year in a row staying here and the first time we've had any real issues. Will continue to stay here, and recommend to friends, but in the future the complaint process for noise violations will be confirmed before we check in. Staff oversight of the campground was severely lacking this year.
Jul 25, 2014
The place is quiet and clean. Only wish there were more 50 amp service for the newer RV's. Need to have an area specificially for the larger RV's that require 50 amp service. Plus the sites need leveling. You can see how the RR Ties are deteroriated which is allowing erosion and making the sites unlevel. Almost all campers have leveling boards under the tires.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We were very disappointed with the roads in this campground. very poor & ruts everywhere. We booked a cable site &were not told at booking or when we arrived that cable has not been available since the beginning of summer. We thought something was wrong with our TV then went to the office & were finally told that they have no cable this summer. very inexperienced staff.
Jul 23, 2014
see you soon had great great time.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
The staff are so friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean and the grounds and sites are beautiful. Definite return stay:-))
Jul 22, 2014
Great campground, lots of activities for the kids, really close to Higgins and Houghton lake! We will definatly be back next year, one downside which I don't think occurs normally but there was a cabin that was raided by the state police, which kinda put a hault on everything for one night because they wouldn't let anyone anywhere by it and it was close to the play ground where kids play!
Jul 22, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.