Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355


4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Amazing place to stay. We loved it there.
Aug 02, 2016
My neighbors were very loud when my party and I were trying to sleep. This occured for about 2 hours between the hours of 330-5am. You have quiet hours, they should be enforced.
Aug 01, 2016
This was a great experience. The staff were friendly and courteous. The grounds were superiorly kept. I only had ever stayed at a KOA campground one time previously in Maine and it was not very good experience. I am glad I gave the KOA another shot because the Herkimer Diamond KOA is worth it!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful friendly staff. Reasonable prices at store. Ladies room floor should be cleaned in the afternoon. Overall, a great stay.
Jul 30, 2016
This is our favorite place to come and stay. My grandson and I have been there the last ten years sometimes twice a year or more. We love it there. The staff are great. We meet wonderful fun people there. Nice to see you and your Father. So miss your Mother. She was always so nice to Josh and I. My terriers love camping there too. Nice it is so dog friendly. Love to you and yours. Catherine Brown
Jul 28, 2016
Loved the view of the river. Just wish there was a bathroom on the far end were we stayed. Loved the swing.
Jul 26, 2016
We've stayed here several times and will be back. Love it there! Already planning our next trip. We come in from Oh., NJ, NH and Va and used to stay at hotel. Now my whole family camps there.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place! Loved that our tent site was right on the river! Some sites had more grass than others, ours had mostly rocks. Also loved that some sites had a very nice wooden swing too. Will try and get on of those next time! Beautiful place!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
We had a great time it had been years since I had been camping and was the first for my 6 year old. The grounds were clean as was the river. General Store and gift shop was reasonable and adequately stocked the bath houses are not disgusting and there were no mosquitoes. They had plenty of activities scheduled. The entire place felt safe secure and relaxed.
Jul 16, 2016
Only issue was length of walk to the restroom. We were in the farthest away tent site with electric. Very nice place.
Jul 15, 2016
Beautiful and clean. Heading back soon.
Jul 14, 2016
very clean park. except for geese. tubing the river was adventurous. stayed on deluxe tent site right on creek, very nice big site. only real negative was garbage truck pickup at 6:15 am very loud after late night at camp fire.
Jul 11, 2016
Great location and plenty of activities to keep the whole family busy
Jul 11, 2016
Easy to find. Friendly office staff. Clean and comfortable campground.
Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful camp site. Bathrooms are a bit too spread out. More direction on tubing.
Jul 11, 2016
Got your act together. Well done. I would love a rustic, rough camp spot across the river for those who want to wade over and have a less civilized experience
Jul 09, 2016
I was disappointed at the size of the campground that we had in terms of the width of the area to set up our tent and park our car. I was not informed there was a larger campsite for just a few dollars extra. Also, there wasn't much in terms of privacy between any of the campsites. Other than that, my family and I had a great time and would like to return in the future.
Jul 08, 2016
This is our second visit to Herkimer KOA and it was another great time! We have no complaints, just a suggestion that if you ever put in another bathroom to locate it by the 86-96 tent sites. It's a long walk in the middle of the night when you need to go. We thank you for a great trip!
Jul 08, 2016
Crowded but wonderful
Jul 08, 2016
Loved Loretta the Lego activity lady!! She was the best part besides the Herkimer Mines of course😊✨💕 Thanks ! Will be back next year!
Jul 08, 2016
It was pretty great but the cleanliness needs to definitely be addressed the bathrooms were disgusting and the showers were freezing I understand it being a busy weekend and all but there is no excuse for how nasty the bathrooms were.
Jul 07, 2016
The people were friendly and the sites were clean. The sites are a little close together
Jul 06, 2016
Hermoso lugar mis niños les encanto muchisimo el rio fue fabuloso nunca me himajine que a mis hijos les gustaba romper las rocas para encontrar diamantes el la mina se entretuvieron lo unico malo es que la pisina estaba muy fria que casi no se podia estar con comodidad para disfrutarla
Jul 02, 2016
Only complaint is the tight fit of tent sites when music from other campers was heard clearly. However, everyone respected quiet hours
Jul 02, 2016
Beautiful campground. Stayed here with some friends to go mining. The campground has everything you need with lots of activities for younger kids. The only negative is that the tent sites are practically on top of each other
Jul 02, 2016
I have been going here since I was little and now beginning to start my own family I wanted to take them here and was not disappointed! Loved every second of being there, the improvements have made the KOA so much better and I will be returning throughout the season! Thanks herkimer!!
Jul 02, 2016
Staff was great
Jun 29, 2016
There are not a lot of campground options in the Herkimer area. The campground was clean and well-staffed with friendly people. Unfortunately, the sites are basically arranged like a trailer park. Whether a tent, RV, or even one of those expensive cabins they have, you are but a couple of steps away from your neighbors. I would prefer pulling off the road randomly and set up camp in the woods.
Jun 29, 2016
Beautiful area. Very clean. And you and your kids would love finding 'diamond'
Jun 27, 2016
My son's Boy Scout Troop 818 from Enfield, CT made their third return trip - this time in the summer rather than the fall. It was great to balance mining with playing in the pool and tubing in the river. They took advantage of movie night and ice cream. This is their favorite trip with the Troop.
Jun 27, 2016
My Girl Scouts had a great experience for their first time! So many fun activities to do on the campground and with the Diamond Mines across the street, you can't ask for much else!
Jun 27, 2016
We loved that there were lots of activities going on all weekend!
Jun 22, 2016
The large tent sites are so much better than the normal tent sites; you feel like you have so much more room and privacy. We also liked that we were given a list of different events we could choose to attend to.
Jun 21, 2016
Had a great weekend camping at this resort. Beautiful site with lots to do for everyone, especially kids. Staff very nice and helpful. Planning to visit again in the near future.
Jun 20, 2016
We had a great stay! All the employees were helpful and knowledgeable. The only complaints were how small and close the sites were to each other and it would be nice to have another bathroom closer to the tent sites (at the very end) loved their lotions and soaps in the bathroom! Oh and the shower all the way at the end doesn't get hot
Jun 18, 2016
I was impressed with my stay at KOA from check in to check out. The staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were clean and pristine. Convenient amenities. I plan on camping with KOA again, and I will be sure to recommend it to others !
Jun 16, 2016
I always enjoy my stay here. Love the view, the store and the activities.
Jun 15, 2016
We had a wonderful time at this campground. The setting was more wonderful than we could imagine and the facilities were top notch! We will definately be back next year!
Jun 14, 2016
Loved this KOA! Clean bathrooms, great activities, nice facilities! Kids all had a great time.
Jun 13, 2016
Campground was very well maintained and had lots of great amenities! We loved the close proximity to Herkimer Diamond Mines and to nearby Utica!
Jun 07, 2016
Great staff and great support for my scouts. Very nice facility clean and well keep
Jun 03, 2016
It was amazing!! As awlays we loving comming to Koa
Jun 01, 2016
Took a family of five on a tenting trip over Memorial Day weekend. We had a great time! We especially liked the pool & creek, the tie-dye activity and dance party. The kids favorite activity was the sluice at the mine. Thanks!
Jun 01, 2016
Great camp grounds. Extremely helpful staff, friendly and accommodating.
May 31, 2016
We had a great time. Our kids were able to play and had opportunity to participate in many different activities that were scheduled throughout the weekend. The tree house that my friend rented was really cool! We will be going back this season!
May 31, 2016
Awesome time! Cannot wait to come back in a few months! Thanks!
May 23, 2016
Very responsive and flexible about last minute site change and parking. Wonderful raspberry pancakes and friendly staff
May 18, 2016

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award