Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
we'll be back!
Aug 28, 2013
We camped with 2 other families for 3 nights. We each had our own camp site. Not every campsite had a fire pit. The bathrooms were not very clean and could use some updating. There didn't seem to be any hot or even warm water for a shower. We tried at different times of the day for that. There does not seem to be a quiet time policy in place. People were quite loud into the middle of the night.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
The bathrooms need major updating, regular cleaning, and basic improvement. Urinals are almost 3 feet high (for giants?), too small shower stalls lack shelves for clean clothes, toiletries. Door hanging off hinges. Strong urine smell. Grounds are very clean & orderly (thanks, Tim), staff are professional, friendly, helpful. Location A+. Will return if bathrooms are fixed.
Aug 20, 2013
We have camp here for 3 years now and keep bringing friends everytime we come. The kids have a great time. The only negative I have to say is that I wish there was a bathroom closer to the tent sites.
Aug 17, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. I like the facility as a whole. Water was fun. Activities were well done. Bathrooms need more attention, more often. (out of toilet paper/ paper towels/ floors need to be swept.)
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that the wood bundles should be a bit larger for the price.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The best KOA in American in my opinion. Clean, relaxing, great location, quiet and peaceful, plenty of room, plenty to do. I'll be back again for sure.
Aug 12, 2013
Great family oriented campsite! Plenty of activities for kids and families. Large, comfortable tent sites in Treasure Cove, but the camp map needs updating...does not reflect the actual layout of sites, which made finding the right site a bit confusing. Overall great experience.
Aug 11, 2013
The park and staff were wonderful. Great time was had by all. Will be staying again !!
Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed in better KOA's in various states. Lack of adequate bathrooms for the amount of people, not cleaned well, both woman's bathrooms were filthy. The smaller Men's was trashed. Roads and campsites could us more gravel. They were a muddy mess! A number of guests vandalized the premises. The staff was very helpful.
Aug 09, 2013
We were only there for 2 nights. The site was like a swamp (but you can't help the weather). We went for smores Friday night but no one could start the fire. Went to candy hunt and my kids didn't get anything (you probably should have had an employee there with a bit extra as we weren't the only ones who came away empty handed). Not enough space on here to write how disappointed we were. :(
Aug 06, 2013
Great facilities, very clean!!! Bring your own food, the breakfast was lame. ;-(
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay - the bathrooms were clean, the area was well marked, we didn't have a fire ring at our site but that's the only negative there was!
Aug 01, 2013
My family has camped there every summer for years now and this year we had tent site 96 at the Diamond Mines KOA Campgrounds. We manage well and are prepared when rain is forecast ed. But this year that camp site flooded and we camped in a pool of water over our whole campsite. I will know for future stays that its a flood zone right there. May i suggest putting in some drainage on some sites
Jul 31, 2013
The staff was great. They actually remembered us and made an effort.
Jul 30, 2013
The site was nice. It was right next to the water. Very nice view. The bathrooms are too far away from the tent sites. They are placed right next to the RV and cabin sites (that all have their own bathrooms) The tent site had no running water and the bathrooms had no water access accept the sink (which did not have hot water and the cold only trickled out). Other than that the site was nice.
Jul 29, 2013
It is the first time I stayed at a KOA and I was very impressed....Our campsite was missing a grill went to the office to report it and they had someone put one up for us... THANK YOU!!!!:) Denise
Jul 25, 2013
Clean, reasonable. Beautiful (large) tent site.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We came twice this year. We love the campground and the mine. We have been coming for about 6 years!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
The only compliant i would have would b shortly after cleaning time, BOTH of the restroom stalls had NO toilet paper!
Jul 13, 2013
Excellent location. Could be improved by better attention to cleanliness in campsites and along river.
Jul 09, 2013
My only recommendation is reiterating a noise policy.... That's it, everything else is a 10! An enjoyable stay.
Jul 08, 2013
I always stay at Herkimer KOA when visiting the mines. Even though they suffered devastating floods prior to my stay they did an excellent job cleaning up. They are also always very friendly and attentive to your needs. Thanx for another great stay.
Jul 08, 2013
We had a great time! The only drawback was the amount of rain. Can't wait to stay again!
Jul 05, 2013
great campground! too bad for the flooding... it would have been perfect otherwise.
Jul 02, 2013
Considering the weather circumstances and the flooding of some of the grounds, the stay was good. The shop was poorly stocked. The facilities were clean and the staff cheerful and helpful.
Jun 22, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.