Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 08, 2015
Our stay was awesome. Making reservations was easy- there were no issues. The campground was clean and quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 04, 2015
Beautiful site along the river very large tent sites Bathrooms always clean and well stocked, great hot showers Winderful staff Will definitely return to this GREAT KOA!!!
Jul 04, 2015
Beautiful site by the river. Clean facilities thanks.
Jul 03, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful tent site in the river. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 02, 2015
We had a great stay at this KOA it was our 4th visit there. Tubing is always a favorite activity. We got rained out the last night but that is the weather this summer.
Jul 01, 2015
Not many electric/water available on most of sites. Clean and fantastic to watch river flowing. Too bad for us to stay when the weather constantly raining during our staying.
Jun 30, 2015
Absolutely beautiful! Great location on the river. Large campsite with grassy area for tents. Large fields to play games. We will return again.
Jun 28, 2015
Tent sits are REALLY close together! Bathrooms are good; maybe they can be cleaned more than once a day??
Jun 25, 2015
We loved the location!!! Tent sites were so close together but we had good neighbors so it worked out. The bathroom cleanliness could be improved for sure! Even when waiting until just after the scheduled cleaning time they were dirty and hadn't been cleaned. Hard to keep up with bit would make a nice improvement. We all had a fabulous weekend and would return for sure!
Jun 23, 2015
We really loved it kids had plenty of things to do
Jun 23, 2015
our people are the best/your camp site is the best
Jun 22, 2015
The owners went above and beyond to help a Girl Scout troop's first camping trip have a positive outcome. They worked with us to find a safe place to stay when heavy storms drove us out of our tents!
Jun 22, 2015
The staff was very accommodating to my late arrival. Another group of campers had taken over my tent site and left a mess, but the staff took care of the problem right away. Thanks!!
Jun 22, 2015
The view along the creek was fantastic! Tent sites are a little too close together, pretty cramped. Also lack of respect amongst campers as people continuously walked right through our site, often passing right in front of our tent entrance. A little unsettling.
Jun 20, 2015
Very nice campgrounds and staff. Lots of goose poop but I guess there's not much you can do about that. We stayed in site number 93 love the river
Jun 13, 2015
One of the best kept koa camp we have ever been on, congratulations on a well run camp , thank you
Jun 12, 2015
My family and extended family recently stayed at your campground. We had a wonderful time, from tubing the river to mining for "diamonds" across the street. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked the deluxe tent sites. Keep up the good work. I would highly recommend your campground to others.
Jun 11, 2015
Really amazed at how beautiful the grounds are. Very special location. Can't wait to stay again. A plus!!
Jun 04, 2015
We only stayed one night, but we enjoyed the facility. We are considering another trip this Fall and would not hesitate to camp at KOA again.
Jun 04, 2015
It is a great campground. We are planning to come back very soon.
Jun 04, 2015
We've only been camping a few times and this was our first time at any KOA. We loved the planned activities and were impressed with the facilities. I DO wish the tent facilities were a little more spread out or had more privacy. I set up our tent next to our car just so we'd have some privacy.The only place with developed trees had the rocks creekside.The only grass was further back near the road.
Jun 02, 2015
The staff were very nice & helpful. The site was beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.
May 30, 2015
Love it there. Always seeing improvements. Nice and clean campsites. Enjoy the Herkimer diamond hunting.
May 26, 2015
loved the Sunday night dj. Always clean and easy to get in and out. Friendly, helpful staff. Appreciate the gardens, too.
May 26, 2015
May 19, 2015
May 15, 2015
Park was beautiful,employees were great. Had an issue with roudy teens on May 2nd, until 2 30 am didnt see any security but learned next day there was an emergency num posted outside of office. Other than that i look forward to coming back in August.
May 11, 2015
This KOA had so many activities going on all weekend we couldn't get to them all. The facilities were kept clean and the staff was very helpful
May 11, 2015
The only thing I would recommend is cleaning the main bathrooms more than once a day, but that is just minor!! Everyone was very nice and our sites were huge!! I had a lot of first time campers with Mr and they loved it and want to come back!
May 11, 2015
Apr 27, 2015
Hot water, clean restrooms, wonderful views and check in personal went out of thier way to accomidate our large Boy Scout Troop
Nov 02, 2014
I came for the Scout geology campout with about 20 other scouts and adults.Some were new to the area and others have been here before. We all had a great time.
Oct 28, 2014
Loved the wi-fi access for checking radar for approaching thunderstorms! One more restrrom/shower facility would help, but the facilites were excellent.
Oct 27, 2014
I am the Assistant Scoutmaster to BSA Troop #166 of Nassau, N.Y. 12123. We came out for the Scouts to work on and get their Geology Merit Badge. Your staff was very good with all Scouts. The information stations for the merit badge were very well put together and the staff kept all Scout attention up front. This is the second time we have brought the troop to this event, and it won't be the last.
Oct 27, 2014
Each time we stay we are very satisfied with the staff, services and campground. We look forward to our stay every year.
Oct 21, 2014
Stayed at the very end of the season, almost nobody around. We just needed a quiet place to spend the night while on the road. I get the feeling it's a nice place when it's active. Very nice, clean bathrooms and showers. Tent lots are very close together with a lot of rocks, but we were the only occupants and so we could spread out. Might have been problem in the busy season.
Oct 15, 2014
I visited several times with my family and have enjoyed. This visit I brought 25 Boy Scouts & leaders. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Campsite was terrific. Thanks for placing us away from the groups and on the river. Reception staff was less helpful than we have experienced at other KOAs.
Oct 06, 2014
Very well maintained!
Sep 29, 2014
My family and I had a wonderful time. Your staff are so nice and very helpful. Especially one of your men that does all around from helping me with my SUV that run our of batteries he give us a jump start, from forgetting our sticks and lend us barrow your extra once because you run out of new once. I wish i remember his name i think his Pwirto Rican. But his very very nice and so helpful.Thankhim
Sep 28, 2014
We stayed one night and had a fantastic time at the diamond mine. Our one wish was that the bathrooms were more numerous
Sep 22, 2014
The property was beautiful. Being right on the water made for one relaxing weekend. Bathrooms were quite dirty, that was my only disappointment. Overall, I can't wait to go back for another peaceful weekend!
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
This was an awesome camping experience. There are lots of activities to do and we had a blast. The only thing was the bathroom is far away from the tent sites.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Stayed at a tent site by the water, I felt my Neighbors were too close. Otherwise, I though this was a very nice camp ground.
Sep 02, 2014
Regular tent sites are very small and too close together. Deluxe site was better, however the bath house (which was well maintained)was too far away, and there was a lot of goose droppings. No privacy. There are very little trees and nothing separating you and your neighbor. The fire wood was priced too high for what was offered in the bundle. Proximity to the Mines and other attractions was ideal
Sep 01, 2014
Setting was beautiful. Staff was great! Enjoyed the ice cream social. Looking forward to coming back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.