Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 30, 2014
This is the best campground I've ever been at. Sort of surprising
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Staff, in particular management is very rude and pretentious. When I checked in the woman wouldn't even let me speak and rudely rushed me out. There wasn't even anyone behind me. Forget the gem store, their noses might as well have been right up in the air. We will not use the KOA mine, only the other down the road. Will only stay here due to its convenience.
Jun 24, 2014
This was our first KOA experience. We were surprised at how up-close and personal we were with the neighbor sites, and as parents with three young kids the language being used by our neighbor left a lot to be desired. Other than the lack of privacy, we had a great time. The staff was quick to bring us a charcoal grill to cook our dinner, the bathrooms were clean and the playground area was fun!
Jun 24, 2014
Great campgrounds, wonderful sites, very friendly and helpful staff. One of my favorite locations and a great family orientated campground.
Jun 24, 2014
Brought my grandkids for their first camping experience. It was a wonderful... Kids kept busy with all the activities and I enjoyed the relaxing surroundings. 2 will be back next month with the rest of the family!
Jun 17, 2014
All the kids had a great time even with all the rain. Playground needs some attention for improvement
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
You need another bathroom the bathroom from the tent sights along the river is way too far for tenter's and you only have 6 showers for men & woman which are located by the RVs,hard for kids and older people to make it to the bathrooms.the rest was very nice.
Jun 09, 2014
Great spot for new scouts, and family camping. People are friendly. The camp is clean and well maintained, and has many activities.
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Great campground. The staff was always friendly and helpful and the campground was clean and well maintained.
Jun 04, 2014
absolutely fantastic! Cleanest and most beautiful camp ground we've been too... We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be staying there again. We are spreading the word of this being such a great campground!
Jun 03, 2014
Loved every minute - beautiful grounds and everyone was so friendly!
May 31, 2014
You have a beautiful campground. Biggest complaint-the hours for bathroom cleaning. If you post them then do the cleaning then. If you don't clean during those posted hours then don't post the times. Some people plan around those times. I had a graduation to attend at Syracuse and the bathrooms were closed even though it was not the stated times on the sign. It caused an issue being ready on time
May 27, 2014
This was our third stay and will definitely not be our last. One of the best KOA's around. Could use more bathroom facilities/showers at the pavillion end, tho.
May 27, 2014
In spite of some rainy weather, was a great weekend. Plenty to do.
May 12, 2014
Beautiful grounds, really nice activities, and caring/attentive staff all make this the best KOA we have ever stayed at!
Oct 03, 2013
It was fantastic! We stayed right by the water, HUGE tent site, bathrooms were always clean... Great time!
Oct 01, 2013
Clean, fun, great sites, River is so beautiful. enjoyed the solar cabin, very great surprise for a campground. The best Campground I have ever seen! Friendly staff, diamond mine a great plus. I would stay there even without the mine!I bet it is really fun in the summer! Can't say enough GOOD stuff!!
Sep 30, 2013
Venture Crew 15 from CT had a great time at the diamond mines working on a geology project. The Camp staff were great with helping us book this trip and making sure we had everything we needed at our campsite. We also had the BEST pancake breakfast Sunday morning. One of the founders of complex was the person who gave us our introduction to the Diamonds and taught us what we needed to know.
Sep 27, 2013
Great place to stay! very well maintained.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Mens bathrooms needed to be cleaned tho towards the end of our stay, other than that, we loved it.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Being able to set up right along the creek, and having two firepits was great!
Sep 03, 2013
We had a lot of rain our first day and were ready to pack it in. We have an autistic son and he was not have a good day with rain and then flooded out campsite. Cliff and Daniel stepped up and changed our site (let our son pick) and gave him a smores pack! We will be back next summer!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Unclean. Planned activities were not followed through with (cancelled without notice). Unfriendly staff. False advertisement of what the weeks activities were and what the campground had to offer.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
we'll be back!
Aug 28, 2013
We camped with 2 other families for 3 nights. We each had our own camp site. Not every campsite had a fire pit. The bathrooms were not very clean and could use some updating. There didn't seem to be any hot or even warm water for a shower. We tried at different times of the day for that. There does not seem to be a quiet time policy in place. People were quite loud into the middle of the night.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
The bathrooms need major updating, regular cleaning, and basic improvement. Urinals are almost 3 feet high (for giants?), too small shower stalls lack shelves for clean clothes, toiletries. Door hanging off hinges. Strong urine smell. Grounds are very clean & orderly (thanks, Tim), staff are professional, friendly, helpful. Location A+. Will return if bathrooms are fixed.
Aug 20, 2013
We have camp here for 3 years now and keep bringing friends everytime we come. The kids have a great time. The only negative I have to say is that I wish there was a bathroom closer to the tent sites.
Aug 17, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. I like the facility as a whole. Water was fun. Activities were well done. Bathrooms need more attention, more often. (out of toilet paper/ paper towels/ floors need to be swept.)
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that the wood bundles should be a bit larger for the price.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The best KOA in American in my opinion. Clean, relaxing, great location, quiet and peaceful, plenty of room, plenty to do. I'll be back again for sure.
Aug 12, 2013
Great family oriented campsite! Plenty of activities for kids and families. Large, comfortable tent sites in Treasure Cove, but the camp map needs updating...does not reflect the actual layout of sites, which made finding the right site a bit confusing. Overall great experience.
Aug 11, 2013
The park and staff were wonderful. Great time was had by all. Will be staying again !!
Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed in better KOA's in various states. Lack of adequate bathrooms for the amount of people, not cleaned well, both woman's bathrooms were filthy. The smaller Men's was trashed. Roads and campsites could us more gravel. They were a muddy mess! A number of guests vandalized the premises. The staff was very helpful.
Aug 09, 2013
We were only there for 2 nights. The site was like a swamp (but you can't help the weather). We went for smores Friday night but no one could start the fire. Went to candy hunt and my kids didn't get anything (you probably should have had an employee there with a bit extra as we weren't the only ones who came away empty handed). Not enough space on here to write how disappointed we were. :(
Aug 06, 2013
Great facilities, very clean!!! Bring your own food, the breakfast was lame. ;-(
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay - the bathrooms were clean, the area was well marked, we didn't have a fire ring at our site but that's the only negative there was!
Aug 01, 2013
My family has camped there every summer for years now and this year we had tent site 96 at the Diamond Mines KOA Campgrounds. We manage well and are prepared when rain is forecast ed. But this year that camp site flooded and we camped in a pool of water over our whole campsite. I will know for future stays that its a flood zone right there. May i suggest putting in some drainage on some sites
Jul 31, 2013
The staff was great. They actually remembered us and made an effort.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.