Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 31, 2017
One suggestion: consider recycling or renting tubes. we had 2 families who didn't want to buy a piece of plastic for a one-use river tubing, also there were many tubes in the trash at the end of the weekend. This seemed needlessly wasteful. Otherwise, everything was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
Great KOA, friendly staff, clean facilities.
Jul 26, 2017
This campground had so much to offer with diamond mining across the street, a lazy river, pool,nightly movies. Plus the campsites bathrooms and showers were clean. A great experience.
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Excellent
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
We had our second annual group trip for ourselves and friends from out of state this time. Everyone had a wonderful time, and we plan on returning again!
Jul 21, 2017
We had a beautiful tent site on the river, I loved the view. The only thing I didn't like is water hook ups were not included so it made cleaning up after meals difficult.
Jul 20, 2017
Bathrooms are a little far from the tent sites.
Jul 18, 2017
2nd KOA I've stayed at on my bike tour. 2nd KOA that told me internet would work from my site. 2nd KOA where the Internet did not work from my site. I will avoid KOA as internet availability was the major reason I chose it.
Jul 17, 2017
Campground was very enjoyable. The family had a wonderful time.
Jul 17, 2017
The experience was by far the worst I have ever had in my 30+ years of camping. The sites were uncomfortably tight, the quiet hrs were never enforced, the bathrooms were few, and poorly stocked. The drunken, trashy behavior my two small children witnessed was something I cant even wrap my head around. The staff were kind and helpful after the fact, but we still left without finishing our stay.
Jul 16, 2017
Hunting for Herks was an item on our "bucket list". In order to make it happen, we knew we needed an affordable means of lodging. We thought we would try to tent camp. Herkimer KOA couldn't have been more perfect for our family's first go at camping. The river that ran alongside our site was the perfect setting for us to LOVE our stay. Everything else was a bonus. These Midwesterners will be back!
Jul 14, 2017
Very clean. Beautiful sites. Close to places we wished to visit. The negative was a bordering camper couple who at 0130 am every morning would scream and yell at one another using foul language while their young son cried mommy. We almost Called 911.
Jul 14, 2017
Staff 2aas very friendly, the campground was clear. For a reasonable price had w beautiful sight on the river.
Jul 12, 2017
Employees/mgr very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Bathrms cleaned timely!
Jul 11, 2017
Very nice except for the rain. Would be nice to have platforms to put tent on. Areas were little wet. Besides the wetness we enjoyed our stay will be returning. Staff was great.
Jul 10, 2017
I called in to arrange to stay by my brother and the ranger said it was, but it was not. We were far apart.
Jul 10, 2017
The reason that I wouldn't be likely to recommend this KOA is that I don't know of anyone who would be camping in that area. The campground was fine. We were there just a very short time and didn't take advantage of much of what the campground offers, but it all seemed very good. The picnic table was missing from our campsite. When I informed the manager on duty, the problem was quickly rectifi
Jul 08, 2017
Unusable campsite (96) from the day I arrived (gravel, flooded). Moved to a friend's site, flooded out, evacuated, trip ruined. Feel free to contact for MUCH more.
Jul 04, 2017
Very enjoyable for the kids. Loved the creek for rafting. Everything was close to your site....
Jul 03, 2017
Great place to camp for are first time will be there many more times
Jul 03, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 02, 2017
Jun 30, 2017
This place is hands down the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. More of a resort than a typical campground, we can't wait to visit again. Their associated restaurant across the street is seriously awesome too. The staff was super friendly and the place was clean. 5 stars all day.
Jun 30, 2017
This is the first time we stayed at a KOA. We were extremely impressed. My 7 year old son liked it so much that we decided to stay another night. Matt was a wonderful Activities Director. One activity he did was an child and adult obstacle course. The children talked him into competing. When he agreed, they all ran after him and did the course with him. It should great respect and love.
Jun 30, 2017
Rude people on both sides of campsite site 94 the father cared more about drinking and showing off his bare beer gut then making sure his two young children were under control at site92 and 91 neither camper cared about how big their fires or how bright they made them at 1 am some strange guy attempted to enter our tent in the middle of the night worst vacation I've had there will not be returning
Jun 30, 2017
Jun 30, 2017
Always a great time. Staff is great
Jun 30, 2017
This was my first time staying at a KOA. It was great! The facilities were clean and new, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and I loved the wide array of amenties, especially the diamond mine! The river was a lovely backdrop for our camping experience, and we will definitely be going back soon!
Jun 28, 2017
I wish I had looked closer to see how many daily activities there were for both my kids to do! I would have planned to stay longer.
Jun 26, 2017
Real diamonds
Jun 23, 2017
Always enjoy ourselves there. Great place with wonderful staff.
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
The staff was friendly and the campsite was awesome! My daughter and I had a great fathers day weekend and there was plenty to do. The guys doing the make your own slime were great, and the fathers day breakfast was fantastic. Highly recommend theis KOA. This was our 4th fathers day weekend at this KOA. Its become a tradition for me and my now 9year old.
Jun 13, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
This is a great campground. One of our favorite KOA. The staff is very nice and make you feel wanted there. There are a lot of thing to do here. Tent sites are of a good size and leave you with extra room. Love the movies on the weekend.
Jun 08, 2017
The grounds were beautiful, the facilities were clean, and the staff was very friendly!
Jun 05, 2017
The amenities and site were great. People were setting up for a special event the next day. They tramped all over our camp site while we were there, shone car lights into the site next to us, and were playing loud music until after 10 pm. ruined our experience.
May 30, 2017
We love camping here. Every year we see new upgrades, and the staff really seem to like what they do.
May 30, 2017
We had a great time. The campsites were huge and was more than enough room for the two large tents we had. The activities were perfect for the kids we brought, they always had something to do and weren't bored once.
May 30, 2017
Searching for diamonds is really fun! The only problem I have with this campground is how close in proximity your neighbors are. They are very obviously trying to maximize their revenue stream.
May 26, 2017
An ideal getaway
May 23, 2017
May 16, 2017
May 08, 2017
Campers next to us were up and loud until after midnight, made it hard to get a good rest. Not very respectful of others around them.
May 02, 2017
The sites were nice, the bathrooms were clean, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, there were things to do at the campground like big chess, and disc golf, the creek was nice, and the kids had a good time.
May 02, 2017
Bathroom could have been closer to tent sites, instead of next to RV sites. Also when we arrived there were campers on either side of us, which is fine for us, butperhaps you should have set them up as far from a large group as possible since every other site was unoccupied, even if you had to upgrade those folks, to make their experience more enjoyable.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award