Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 18, 2016
The camp grounds themselves are kept in immaculate shape. The staff,especially Steve at the desk were friendly and very helpful. That said, be prepared in case you get an awkward site. Some share the electric boxes and you will need an extension cord. Also the sewer hook ups can be placed in an add spot. The luxury creekside sites are crammed right between a couple cabins which makes them tight.
Jun 18, 2016
Well maintained and nice place for a long weekend. Friendly staff.
Jun 18, 2016
Lots to do... The Miners Table had amazing food... Will be back soon with family members in tow...
Jun 18, 2016
The sites were great with trees for shade. The showers were very convenient with chairs to sit on.
Jun 17, 2016
very well kept, always new things to do or see.
Jun 16, 2016
One of the most friendly campgrounds we have been to. All of the staff is so customer oriented. Excellent campground & restaurant!
Jun 15, 2016
I have recommended this campground to my friends and family. We can't wait to go back next year!
Jun 15, 2016
Love this place - very clean and beautiful!!
Jun 15, 2016
Awesome place, great people. We keep coming back every year!
Jun 15, 2016
Nice location & handy for us. Bathrooms are a totally a mess. Dirty & many of the toilets not usable do to being plugged up. Staff not friendly. Of more than the more than 50 KOAs we have stayed at this has become the worst.
Jun 14, 2016
The sites are a little to close to each other. They were dragging the driveway before any one left didn't seem necessary since grounds would most likely be empty the rest of the week
Jun 13, 2016
We had a fantastic time! Looking for additional dates to get back and camp again!
Jun 13, 2016
all seemed fine but with rain falling in the morning, not a heavy rain at all, there was a large, deep, puddle all around the vehicle. A few inches of gravel would solve this easily.
Jun 12, 2016
Nice and easy from booking till we left. All the amenities were very good. Clean & friendly.
Jun 09, 2016
There are definitely a plethora of activities to do during our stay and there were a few noticeable changes in the park, but there was way too much goose feces on the ground in the campsites. I feel there could have been a bit of a better job done in cleaning the sites before we checked in
Jun 09, 2016
Nice sites, not a lot of privacy though. I was very upset that at 6am on our first day, the trash truck arrived to empty the dumpster that was across from our campsite. Quiet hours are supposed to be until 8am. The facility should abide by this. It was loud and woke up all 6 kids with us. I will request a site far from the dumpsters if there is a next time.
Jun 07, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. It was my birthday the weekend we stayed and everyone was so friendly and remembered our names and that it was my birthday. Thank you so much..
Jun 07, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean,will stay there again
Jun 07, 2016
It was really nice and laid back and the crew was so nice and friendly.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
Great campground. Lots are big and the ones by the creek were great. Small and quiet park which I enjoyed. Several things to do in the area, such as baseball hall of fame or diamond mining. If you want lots of activities in the campground, go elsewhere. If you want nice lots in a quiet park, come here. Only downside was the pool was very cold.
Jun 05, 2016
We liked the new improvement to the campground but needs to have the older campsites updated as they are very muddy after rain where you sit and walk in front of the campers. Something like the new ones down closer to the little cabins and not so close together as now they are more slideouts on RV;s than ever before. Other than that it was great. Thanks alot.
Jun 04, 2016
We loved Herkimer KOA, my only complaint is everyone in our whole party agreed the pool was FREEZING!! Pool should be heated, especially in the beginning of the season
Jun 04, 2016
I would love to have given this camp a perfect 10 and a five start rating, because the camp is beautiful, the river site wonderful and it is a lovely camp. However...the bathrooms were really dirty. The floors around the shower stall hadn't been really cleaned in some time. Also the staff at the desk were not efficient and seemed distracted. Also, they didn't have anyone help us find our site.
Jun 02, 2016
the dust from the roads was the worst we have ever seen it, people were driving way above the 4mph speed limit, running all the stop signs and the enforcement in the park was non existent. After multiple complaints we gave up. The owners need to do something about the dust and the speeding in the park. This was our 5th season camping there and we have never experienced anything like this before.
Jun 02, 2016
The pool was very cold and not well regulated.A lot of kids running and jumping without a lifeguard.By the late afternoon there were 3 adults drinking many beers and smoking cigarettes, in the fenced in area!Had to grab my toddler and go after one adult pushed another in the pool!The playground is very nice and my daughter really enjoyed it.All the activities at the Pavilion are great!
Jun 01, 2016
Speeding cars and trucks in the park causing dust on everything couldn't enjoy sitting outside for this resons. Made 5 complants to the office nothing was done about it.Been going to this park for the last 8 years and this has been by far the worse time we had.I will blog about this.
Jun 01, 2016
The pool was freezing!
Jun 01, 2016
friendly staff and good place for family's to enjoy camping fun
Jun 01, 2016
We loved our stay and all of the activities. The price is a little too high considering you also have to pay for the mining.
Jun 01, 2016
Enjoyable campground
May 31, 2016
Our stay was nice and we plan on returning to the campground. One change I highly suggest is heating the pool. Due to the high temperatures, a nice cool down would have been great but in you pool we would turn into popsicles. Your website says there is a heated pool?!
May 31, 2016
I love the KOA Herkimer. The only thing I would suggest is to watch for cars driving too fast including golf carts and talk to the drivers. It is full of kids excited to be there and running around. We all do our best to keep them safe but drivers need to be more aware. Other than that I have always enjoyed the place and will continue to return. See you in July:))
May 31, 2016
Just a few comments, The DJ dance party on Sunday was supposed to go until 10pm, the DJ ended it at 9:30 to the dismay of many children. They appear to be adding fences in between each site along the creek by the primitive cabins. This is a bad idea and hinders your ability to park your camper, especially if camping with a group. Please don't add anymore fences!!
May 31, 2016
Had a good time. I did not know about bringing water shoes or a tube. I did buy them in the store so I am glad they did not cost me an arm and leg. The prices were affordable.
May 31, 2016
The campground was not at all ready for the busy Memorial Day weekend. Grass wasn't mowed, potholes everywhere, concrete patio on our "premium" sight not swept for our arrival, bbq provided for our "premium" sight a grease fire waiting to happen and to cap it all off...blocked sewer line for our departure dump....nothing like the smell of raw sewage in the morning....new owner needs to get it tog
May 31, 2016
LOVE LOVE LOVED OUR FIRST STAY!!
May 31, 2016
Family friendly, but the sites are very close together. Great camp store. Bring an inner tube to float down the river.
May 31, 2016
Very beautiful, relaxing and clean campground. site are alittle to close. my site inparticular fireplace was right next to neighbors campsite so not much privacy felt like we were having a fire with them everynight.
May 31, 2016
Great weekend.No cable on delux sites seems a bit counter to the word DELUX!!
May 31, 2016
2nd time there. Had a great time. Had fun at the mine. Everyone had a great time tubing the river.It was in the 90's at the mine and had some torrential rains on Sunday but that just adds to the camping experience. The kids rented the 3 wheel bikes,hayride in the rain,and fun at the DJ dance. Love the different theme cabins.
May 31, 2016
Had a great time but you need to get rid f the geese. We always had to watch where we walk.
May 30, 2016
The grounds are very nice with plenty to do for the family. The creek is shallow enough for little ones at the edge-deep enough in middle for older children to tube down. The mines make for a fun day as well. We had a difficult stay due to careless camping neighbors but we were happy with the mangers response. Great staff; very caring. We plan to visit again, perhaps midweek when a bit more quiet.
May 27, 2016
Staff seemed very disorganized. The computers were down and it was very chaotic checking in. Site prices were a bit steep considering we traveled the country this past year and got a lot more bang for our buck many times over. Also, the prices to mine were outrageous in my opinion.
May 27, 2016
Love this place. It is nice with the river running in the background it makes very cozy. A bit of an issue with the water pressure on a couple of occasion but not a big deal. Nice and clean and well maintained.
May 26, 2016
Nice family place!
May 26, 2016
We enjoyed our 6 night stay. It is a very well kept park. There are lots of things to see and do in the area.
May 26, 2016
Great campsite, stayed on 68 by the river. Touted as a back in site but in doing so all the facilities, hydro, water, sewer etc were on wrong side quite far from our connections. Had to drive in to be able to hook up. Other than that great stay,
May 25, 2016
Needs some TLC but believe they were getting ready for the season.
May 24, 2016
Ecellent customer service made our stay very enjoyable.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award