Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2016
We were impressed with our riverfront site. The deluxe site was well equipped with patio furniture and a swing. The sound of the creek is very relaxing. The grounds are well kept and I absolutely love the vegetable and herb gardens. Nice touch.
Jul 23, 2016
This KOA is a true gem. The place is beautiful, lots of activities available for all ages. Staff is very friendly. This KOA should be placed on all travels must stay list.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice and clean park.
Jul 21, 2016
We had a great stay in a cabin when the report was for threatening weather!Thanks for helping us out!
Jul 20, 2016
I like the sites along the river. 30 amp electric is a bummer. Interior roadways need to be paved. Dumpster overflowed with garbage while we were there. Appears to be lots of cost-cutting going on. Not a bad stay, but I wish that they invested more into the facility.
Jul 20, 2016
Best I've been too
Jul 20, 2016
Campground staff was excellent. My only complaint is the set up of the riverfront sites. Some are pull in but are used as back in. The problem is that there is no designated boundary of the sites. The people next to us backed in to a pull in site and were practically on top of us. This gave them a huge front area to squeeze in tents and tarps. we had practically no space in front of our awning.
Jul 20, 2016
Had to have maintenance man change circuit breaker, but after that all was great. We didn't find any substantial Herkimer diamonds but it was fun looking for them.
Jul 20, 2016
Made reservations for a premium pull through site with all amenities & 50 amp service Upon arrival was advised that we were to go to a pull thru that was not a premium spot. Checked spot and found tree limbs to low. After an hour, was told to go to a premium back in site that did not have cable. Took 30 min to dump due to poor site sewer connection. Not what we expected or paid for.
Jul 20, 2016
Had a little reservation problem when I got in. Someone was in the space I was assigned. I ended up with a lesser spot, but got a discount, of course. Since the park was really full, the water pressure was really low, but we still got showers. It is a nice park, though, the staff really apologized for the mix up and were very nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Awesome staff, clean, and friendly atmosphere. Will return for another week next year!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Excellent stay! Already booked for next year. KOA staff are plentiful, friendly and very helpful. We have been coming here with a group of friends for several years now & have enjoyed every stay. River tubing is a great time!
Jul 19, 2016
Everyone was very pleasant and campgrounds kept up beautifully. Great time had by all!
Jul 19, 2016
we booked this KOA online as we always do. the back in site had a nice view, but I could barely back my 24 ft trailer in without almost bumping into the playground fence, the shower handle in the men's shower was busted so I had to get dressed and change showers, not without the doors opening into each other. my wife said the shower head in the women's stall was clogged with no pressure.
Jul 19, 2016
The pull in/back out site that we were booked for (site 74) would have put our door and awning facing our neighbors door. That would have been awkward for us and them. I've never seen that before. Not sure why it was set up that way. The girl at the office was nice and found us another site. The store needs to stock canned coffee.
Jul 18, 2016
Going here 17 years the prices seem to be getting quite high for camping here. Especially $3 additional for more than two on a site. We always have six so our site cost $72 a night. The bathroom floors were filthy it seemed like they just mopped the dirt around not rinsing the mop out. The faucets sprayed water on you. The cable hookup only gave you five channels. Love the tubing/diamond mining
Jul 18, 2016
Very poor campground. Not worth the money. Sites were not level at all, very muddy after a rain storm. Trees were not trimmed and we had to adjust our motorhome so that it did not interfere with the air conditioner. No posted activities. More concerned with the Diamond mine and other business across the street than the campground. Do not understand how this received a KOA "Resort" status.
Jul 18, 2016
Loud. Busy. Parties until 2 a.m. (does not seem to have staff at night to control things). Extremely small lots. Overcrowded.
Jul 17, 2016
The staff really needs to pick up the goose droppings on the sites as well as the volleyball court and field. We spent an hour picking the droppings up ourselves. We also repaired the volleyball net that was broke for 3 days straight. The free wifi works half of the time or not at all. The bathrooms/showers closest to the tent sites (70's and 80's) are always dirty.
Jul 17, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. No complaints other than we had other campers walking through our site to visit other campers.
Jul 17, 2016
A really pretty park right on a creek good for tubing. Lots of kid activities.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Unfortunately we were only there for the one night, my daughter informed me "We HAVE to come back here" many times during the stay.
Jul 16, 2016
Need to regrade the new rv site. Much to narrow, and sides drop off to a deep gully. Also hard to get into with the planting boxes to close to parking spot. we were backed into the tree, and door was lined up to that box.
Jul 16, 2016
Always enjoy our stay as this KOA.
Jul 16, 2016
Beautiful setting, close to mine. Peaceful creek behind campground.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
The restrooms were bad. The first day so so but as the week went on the restrooms real bad. The staff was good tho. Place was quite and the site we had lots of room.
Jul 15, 2016
This campground is very nice. We had a pull they site which was great. Campground very clean and staff are very nice. The one disappointment was that they operate a day camp for local children and they bring those kids 10-15 in a group to the pool in rotating groups till 4-4:30 each day. You can still swim but day camp kids make the pool very crowded. Won't go back for that reason.
Jul 15, 2016
Lots of activities and great sites. River is a big plus, but bathrooms need cleaning, and more than once a day.
Jul 15, 2016
Needs work. Hard to turn into with big rig, branches rub sides going in and worst going out, unlevel site, water leaking, needs new manager
Jul 13, 2016
Enjoyed our stay - wonderful place for children
Jul 13, 2016
Nice staff as usual...staying aside the West Canada creek is always pleasant.
Jul 13, 2016
A little tightly packed for me and was next to cabins that all seemed to be in the party mood together. But otherwise very nice place very well kept up,
Jul 13, 2016
Absolutely loved our stay! Before the end of the first day we had agreed this would be an annual trip for us! Tons of activities for kids and friendly people!
Jul 13, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. Rained hard all night first night but that was great cause made great rubber rafting which kids enjoyed. Not to forget the diamond mines and great finds
Jul 13, 2016
Stayed on deluxe sites. Had no cable Site 16? Map shows cable. Daughter bought firewood $6. Had three and a half pieces of wood. Could not light fire.
Jul 12, 2016
Despite the extremely large number of people in the campground on the holiday weekend I was there, the restrooms and the entire park were kept clean. It would be nice if there was a bathroom and shower facility in the tent area so those campers did not have to walk so far.
Jul 12, 2016
Had a great time, booked for next year before leaving.
Jul 12, 2016
Staff, while efficient, was not friendly or helpful. Sites need gravel, as they turn to mud in rain. At this price, cable should be provided.
Jul 11, 2016
Bad behavior from woman staffer in site 104. I witnessed bullying from 104 when young mother strolled by with her baby cutting through sites to pool. The bad behavior and browbeating was harsh and not befitting of your wonderful KOA.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
First of all the staff at this KOA was great! Always courteous and helpful at every interaction. The site was good, unfortunately it rained quite a bit and our site flooded pretty bad. Some gravel to raise it up would be helpful. But that is nit-picking. We need to stay longer next time to enjoy more of the activities they offered.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect location if your going to the diamond mines, kampground was AMAZING, great site, clean facilities, loads of activities for the kids, who ever reads this comment bring a tube raft AMAZING tubing in the river!!
Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful grounds, very well maintained, great REAL restaurant with a lot of extras, river tubing, and diamond mine.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
I had stayed with you previously and my kids and had a great time. This time I camped here for my daughter's birthday and tried to coordinate the appropriate site for our camper and once we arrived we we assigned a site not capable of meeting the needs or reservations. We were then switched to another site which also would not of worked. Then I asked for a refund and finally got a site that work
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award