Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2013
This is our fourth year at this KOA. In the past, our stay has been very enjoyable, especially for our 8 year old son. This year, we were extremely disappointed with many of the activities - hayride (no hay, VERY fast driving)tie dye(son not allowed to do himself) candy hunt (VERY little candy and not spread out lots of disappointed kids). Very disorganized and staff NOT up to the past standards.
Jul 18, 2013
Had good experience at campground. Flexible staff allowed us to pick our site. Granddaughter had fun prospecting for diamonds. Stayed two nights on our way East and decided to return for two nights on our way back home. Nice that river is so close, but that it was too big and fast to go tubing because of recent rains.
Jul 18, 2013
the kids(ages 24,21,14,12) had a blast, we couldn't count how many trips up the river/tubing. The mining was also a lot of fun and we definitely found some keepers.
Jul 17, 2013
As always had a great time.
Jul 17, 2013
The kids loved the onsite "diamond" mine adventure.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Beautiful location near the river with rapids for tubing, with new and well maintained facilities. Great find! We will return. Dan
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We spent a weekend here, and completely enjoyed our stay. The pool was clean and refreshing, the restroom were clean, and the staff was friendly and welcoming. Even with the sites as close as they were to one another, the campground was very quiet and relaxing.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
We come with family and friends every year and our group gets bigger and bigger! We all love it there and have a Most Enjoyable time! We never want to leave!!!
Jul 15, 2013
A+ campground
Jul 15, 2013
Nice campground - well kept. Pretty quiet. We were there for a full week - other campers came and went. Seemed to be a stop-over on their travels. Not a super lot to do but for a relaxing time - it was good.
Jul 15, 2013
could not use free wifi, not enough band width, sewer hook up and power hook up on wrong side of camper
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Sites along the river were nice but slightly small with little privacy
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
The sites were very close together, offering little or no privacy. While we were eating dinner the wagon came around to empty our neighbors septic. Spray from the septic got on our table. Nobody monitored quiet hours and people were up yelling and playing basketball right across from us.
Jul 14, 2013
We enjoyed staying at your campground. Staff was very friendly and campgrounds were excellent.
Jul 14, 2013
Very nice Clean. Will visit again.
Jul 13, 2013
Never gave me my KOA discount even though the clerk looked my card. I had to call later. Never gave us an activity list for the week. The ice cream freezer remainded near empty. Had to ask the goose poop to be scoped up the the campground people. Not to happy of a camper this time around.
Jul 13, 2013
Sites too small on creekside, sewer connections to close to neighbors patio. Pet area needed mowing, trash can in area overflowing. Sites along creek needed mowing and trimming. Not up to par for KOA. No supplies in store. Shelves were empty.
Jul 12, 2013
Second time we have stayed at KOA Herkimer; it was great as expected. was able to get river site upgrade which was awesome. Enjoyed the mines and walking the riverside. Facilities were clean.Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Very beautiful campground!!! We loved our site by the river we will definitely be staying there again!!!!
Jul 11, 2013
4AM pong ball party behind me scared me the most. Wish I was told that the camp ground was evacuated during the week when I called the day before.
Jul 11, 2013
We stayed one night with a 32' TT. Great deluxe site, prim location on the river. Grounds very clean, staff very pleasant and helpful. Lovely location. Excellent wifi.
Jul 11, 2013
Nice campground with a beautiful setting. Unfortunately they were doing tree maintenance to repair the damage from the flooding. They were cutting a branch above our picnic table! We had to move our table to accommodate them!! Chain saws blazing ten feet from our site both mornings. Unbelievable. We will never return.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Although the weather was not the greatest this year, our group made the best of it and this KOA was very accommodating. Can't wait until next year.
Jul 09, 2013
Only complaint was when we called to inquire on area flooding, we were told everything was fine. Well, that wasn't the truth and Rt. 28 was being worked on by NYSDOT next to the campground, and I didnt like putting my family's safety in jeopardy.
Jul 09, 2013
we had to evacuate our campsite one evening and felt we should have received some compensation
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Just OK. Sites real close together. Coming from Maine, accustomed to more space. Was a little let down as it was listed as awarded top campground in northeast. Not the worst but we have been to many better especially @ $60/night. Bathrooms were clean and staff was friendly. Overall it was OK and would stay again if we come to do mining.
Jul 09, 2013
small clean campground. limited activities in the area. Good food and diamond mine fun for kids across the street
Jul 09, 2013
The area was wet and management could not help that fact due to weather. We stopped there and stayed for the advertisement of the Diamond mine. That was a rip off. The campground was a value and worth staying there just for the campground itself.
Jul 09, 2013
Our site was muddy and difficult to back into. Our neighbor had encroached on an already small site by 6+ feet. The bathrooms were extremely dated and somewhat clean, but not what we normally expect at a KOA.
Jul 08, 2013
We had to be evacuated twice because of the weather (flooding)and they couldn't have been any nicer there. We were treated very kindly and they bent over backwards to help us out and make us comfortable where we had to move for those 2 nights.
Jul 08, 2013
Wonderful friendly staff from check in to maintenance. Sites on creek a little tight but was able to move. Jordan and Chrissy can teach the KOA SummerShiners group how to work with kids, they were amazing, friendly and engaging. Our children already want to go back.
Jul 08, 2013
Thank you for another great stay, we had evacuate on Tuesday because of the weather. Many of us thought that maybe we would receive something for that night. I totally understand that you cannot control the weather. Beside that we had a nice week rain and all.
Jul 08, 2013
Staff very friendly/Campground clean..they do need alittle love n care on the chip and putt golf range..
Jul 08, 2013
even though the river flooded and we were evacuated, all the staff were as accommodating as possible. and even had free breakfast one morning. A special shout-out to 'Chrisy Q' the yoga instructor ( activities manager) at the park. she offered additional yoga classes to fit our schedule.
Jul 08, 2013
Great camp lay out and personnel. Clean, lots to do and yet relaxing! Impressed with agriculture and cultural aspects.
Jul 08, 2013
Could not stay more than a couple hours due to rain and the directive to leave the campground because they were opening the dam up river. Other than that we have stayed here before and enjoyed our stay.
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay, was just an over night, on our way home. While we were there, it was fine. The sites were just a little to close for us.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.