Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Clean, lots to do, but lots of goose poop, and skunks!!!
Aug 18, 2014
although it rained most of our stay, we did have a great camping experience, thank you
Aug 18, 2014
Plenty of activities for the kids, even if it rains a lot. (Only reason I rated this high.) As adult, not as impressed with campground. Adults/kids constantly running through our site. Not enough bathrooms for size of campground and not cleaned enough. Great if you want party atmosphere. This is not a commune with nature place, especially sites near the river. Diam. Mines and staff awesome.
Aug 18, 2014
This campground is excellent. The staff was very professional and organized. It felt like checking into a hotel/resort. If you have younger children they will be able to enjoy a lot of the scheduled activities. Pizza delivered to the campsite was a nice surprise (for a fee) the Hekimer Diamond Mine across the road, the creek behind the campground with some white water was great.
Aug 18, 2014
site 7 although a very nice site, the store parking lot is right in front of the site entrance and it is continually blocked.many workers use that parking lot as well taking up valuable space is for customers.I think you should consider this problem and do something about it if you can. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2014
Had a great time!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We were glad to share the facilities. Nice time with family and friends. Clean as can be expected (for camping.)
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
This is an awesome KOA. The tubing in the creek is something special. Absolutely beautiful place. Can't wait to go again.
Aug 17, 2014
Wonderful campground. Nice clean site and bathrooms were spotless. The worst part of camping is the dirty bathrooms. Here they are so clean! Workers friendly and helpful!
Aug 16, 2014
We thought it was a great campground, except we would have like to bring our puppy with us, it was extremely hard to leave him home and I feel it is unfair that you don't allow certain dogs in the park. It should be all or nothing.
Aug 16, 2014
A beautiful campsite; very well maintained and at a perfect location. Enjoy staying here every time.
Aug 16, 2014
Arriving quite late and although our paperwork was ready the map of the park to our site was not to scale (we are told this is true by camp staffers). Due to this we ended up in the cabin area where we couldn't turn around our 36' motorhome with car in tow. I had to offload the car and dolly. None of the roads/sites are well marked. My complaint was met with "I hope today is better". Terrible!
Aug 15, 2014
It was a great stay. Everything was better than expected. Clean, friendly staff, sites are close together, but that did not hinder our fun. The only issue was the roads. DUSTY! DUSTY! DUSTY!
Aug 15, 2014
We loved it so much we booked for next year and have already sent friends since our stay!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Although we had made reservations, well in advance & received confirmation, we encountered site problems upon registration. The office is very under staffed. Otherwise a very nice campground. A bit pricey, too.
Aug 15, 2014
As usual, very friendly and helpfull office staff. Manicured grounds, reallyl! We had a site by the river, it was quiet and peacefull. Lots of space for kids to play and adults to walk. Did not go to the mines , but it should be a nice experience.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Nice campground...although I wished that I knew the creekfront sites are dirt/sand sites not grass. We have two large dogs and prefer to be on sites with lots of grass rather than dirt/gravel or sand.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Family oriented camping. Secure WI-FI and BETTER WI-FI would be the only thing I would like to see improved.
Aug 13, 2014
A very busy KOA on weekends with families enjoying float tubing on West Canada Creek.
Aug 13, 2014
Dirty showers ,to small sights, rather noisy late at night,not enough restrooms for the number of people
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Nice campground overall. Clean and well kept. The sites along the river are a bit close but the view is great. Will return again
Aug 12, 2014
Bathroom floors had lots of mud & used paper towels on them. The non compliance of quiet time at the campsite next to us was very disturbing when their loud campfire went on till 1:30 am. I had to go out to ask them when they would be going to sleep. The response was, "sorry we'll keep it down" & shortly after that they wrapped it up.
Aug 12, 2014
Our stay was for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond. The "store" was very limited in things for Kids to purchase and with out a game room the activities were limited for Kids other than the pool. river access was nice and location to the mine was close. the mine was a disappointment as it is useless to try to find anything. in the 3 days no one found anything. waste
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Great quality location and service!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Absolutely love it!!!!
Aug 12, 2014
Absolutely fantastic campground! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful site right on the river, super moon and herkimer diamond mining with our 4 kids. Stayed for 2 nights, will stay for 7 next time.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We all had an amazing time.....can't wait to come back nect year
Aug 11, 2014
Although the park is great and very clean, the sites are on top of eachother and we were stuck next to some really bad people. I would love a phone call to discuss this in further detail as talking to the people at the camp ground that weekend was worthless. We had a HORRIBLE experience
Aug 11, 2014
On full hookup site 117 and 116 there seems to be a sewer problem. Will not empty pipe for complete dumping of tanks.
Aug 11, 2014
Overall at nice campground. My only comment is that the utilities are at the front of the site and most of the RV connections are at the rear. with extensions, we were able to connect water, electric and cable. I did not have enough extensions for sewer even though I paid for sewer. Not a real problewm since we were there for only one night, we used the dump station on the way out.
Aug 11, 2014
Great staff. Very friendly and informative. W/E pull through site was nice size and grassy. No 120v outlet on hookup pole though, only 30a camper. Pool was clean but cold (not surprising for Upstate NY but the kids didn't last long because of the low temp). Clean and well stocked bathrooms.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Loved the campground, clean and well kept. One note, perhaps the washrooms could be cleaned twice a day. Lots to do and the tubing was awesome.
Aug 11, 2014
Everything was great except the quiet time was not enforced. Kids playing basketball until 11:00 at night and were a bit loud.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
This is an extremely family-friendly park featuring amenities geared to young folks from the hayrides to the abundant playground equipment plus tubing and swimming opportunities for one and all. The sites are adequate in size away from the river, however tight along the river. We would stay here again.
Aug 11, 2014
Site was tight. Roads difficult to maneuver. Car parked in road made for an impossible turn. Had to back up the street. Instructions on how to get into site did not work.
Aug 10, 2014
Was not organized. The camper beside us had his camper door facing us leaving us with absolutely no privacy. Should not be allowed.
Aug 08, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.