Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 19, 2014
We were on a full hook up site #71 on the river. The site was very small compared to others but what really bothered us was all we had for a fire was rocks - no fire ring. I asked at the office and was told they didn't think they had any but would check. We didn't hear any more. It was disappointing as part of camping is having a fire and no one got back to us. The sites were not as clean as we ar
Aug 19, 2014
We spent a week here. We enjoyed the pig roast and ice cream social, and bingo. The staff was very friendly. The facilities are very clean. Sites are spacious. We highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 19, 2014
Location is fantastic. We have visited your campground yearly ffor the last 8 years. Now that we have young kids, we'd like to see an ungraded, safer playground and maybe a heated pool. I highly recommend this campground though.
Aug 19, 2014
Camping with the kids and grand-kids was great. Site was perfect for our needs. The rental bikes could use some maintenance as they were banged up kids still had fun with them). Restrooms and showers on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate an 8.
Aug 19, 2014
We stayed 5 nights in a 5th Wheel RV at a pull through site. Site was a nice size and the grounds were well kept. The playgrounds both at the park and the mining site need a serious overhaul. The staff what few we saw were friendly. The activities and information on them seemed disorganized. Previously only stayed at Jellystone's the children felt there was little to do here. Enjoyed Mining.
Aug 19, 2014
We had a great campsite right by the river! It was very relaxing. There was also a lot going on for the kids and they had so much fun!! We have already booked for next year.
Aug 19, 2014
Great camping grounds. Plenty to do and mishaps are easily rectified. Definitely going back.
Aug 19, 2014
Very disappointing.Restroom & showers are dirty and not maintained well. Not enough toilets to handle the amount of people. . Must have been very dry before I got there as the roads were extremely dusty If vehicles traveled at the 5mph limit it was ok but there was no enforcement or even mention of it at sign in. Even the employees exceeded and left clouds of dust behind. One older clerk worthless
Aug 19, 2014
Site was muddy .2sites over dog barking off and on very aggrevating.should have pets only area close to offic so they can hear ,and do something about it!!
Aug 19, 2014
I feel sorry for the cleaning staff due to overuse the floors in the washrooms are always muddy due to guest tracking in either mud or dirt. WE booked a back in with water and were originally placed in with the tenters , after a quick trip back to the office we were given a quiet site near the washrooms.
Aug 19, 2014
Very much enjoyed the stay. I thought the space between sites was good. The grounds were clean . The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I might suggest that you add another sign traveling up from the south on R28, that the entrance to the Kamping area is on the right and it is 500 feet ahead. Not a big deal just thought it may assist folks as the entrance is a shape 90.
Aug 18, 2014
Had a wonderful time as usual, go to this campground every year. All the new improvements are great, such as the new bathouses and lodges. Campground was extremely clean and grounds well kept. Have already made reservations for next year.
Aug 18, 2014
Clean, lots to do, but lots of goose poop, and skunks!!!
Aug 18, 2014
although it rained most of our stay, we did have a great camping experience, thank you
Aug 18, 2014
Plenty of activities for the kids, even if it rains a lot. (Only reason I rated this high.) As adult, not as impressed with campground. Adults/kids constantly running through our site. Not enough bathrooms for size of campground and not cleaned enough. Great if you want party atmosphere. This is not a commune with nature place, especially sites near the river. Diam. Mines and staff awesome.
Aug 18, 2014
This campground is excellent. The staff was very professional and organized. It felt like checking into a hotel/resort. If you have younger children they will be able to enjoy a lot of the scheduled activities. Pizza delivered to the campsite was a nice surprise (for a fee) the Hekimer Diamond Mine across the road, the creek behind the campground with some white water was great.
Aug 18, 2014
site 7 although a very nice site, the store parking lot is right in front of the site entrance and it is continually blocked.many workers use that parking lot as well taking up valuable space is for customers.I think you should consider this problem and do something about it if you can. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2014
Had a great time!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We were glad to share the facilities. Nice time with family and friends. Clean as can be expected (for camping.)
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
This is an awesome KOA. The tubing in the creek is something special. Absolutely beautiful place. Can't wait to go again.
Aug 17, 2014
Wonderful campground. Nice clean site and bathrooms were spotless. The worst part of camping is the dirty bathrooms. Here they are so clean! Workers friendly and helpful!
Aug 16, 2014
We thought it was a great campground, except we would have like to bring our puppy with us, it was extremely hard to leave him home and I feel it is unfair that you don't allow certain dogs in the park. It should be all or nothing.
Aug 16, 2014
A beautiful campsite; very well maintained and at a perfect location. Enjoy staying here every time.
Aug 16, 2014
Arriving quite late and although our paperwork was ready the map of the park to our site was not to scale (we are told this is true by camp staffers). Due to this we ended up in the cabin area where we couldn't turn around our 36' motorhome with car in tow. I had to offload the car and dolly. None of the roads/sites are well marked. My complaint was met with "I hope today is better". Terrible!
Aug 15, 2014
It was a great stay. Everything was better than expected. Clean, friendly staff, sites are close together, but that did not hinder our fun. The only issue was the roads. DUSTY! DUSTY! DUSTY!
Aug 15, 2014
We loved it so much we booked for next year and have already sent friends since our stay!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Although we had made reservations, well in advance & received confirmation, we encountered site problems upon registration. The office is very under staffed. Otherwise a very nice campground. A bit pricey, too.
Aug 15, 2014
As usual, very friendly and helpfull office staff. Manicured grounds, reallyl! We had a site by the river, it was quiet and peacefull. Lots of space for kids to play and adults to walk. Did not go to the mines , but it should be a nice experience.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Nice campground...although I wished that I knew the creekfront sites are dirt/sand sites not grass. We have two large dogs and prefer to be on sites with lots of grass rather than dirt/gravel or sand.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Family oriented camping. Secure WI-FI and BETTER WI-FI would be the only thing I would like to see improved.
Aug 13, 2014
A very busy KOA on weekends with families enjoying float tubing on West Canada Creek.
Aug 13, 2014
Dirty showers ,to small sights, rather noisy late at night,not enough restrooms for the number of people
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Nice campground overall. Clean and well kept. The sites along the river are a bit close but the view is great. Will return again
Aug 12, 2014
Bathroom floors had lots of mud & used paper towels on them. The non compliance of quiet time at the campsite next to us was very disturbing when their loud campfire went on till 1:30 am. I had to go out to ask them when they would be going to sleep. The response was, "sorry we'll keep it down" & shortly after that they wrapped it up.
Aug 12, 2014
Our stay was for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond. The "store" was very limited in things for Kids to purchase and with out a game room the activities were limited for Kids other than the pool. river access was nice and location to the mine was close. the mine was a disappointment as it is useless to try to find anything. in the 3 days no one found anything. waste
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Great quality location and service!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Absolutely love it!!!!
Aug 12, 2014
Absolutely fantastic campground! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful site right on the river, super moon and herkimer diamond mining with our 4 kids. Stayed for 2 nights, will stay for 7 next time.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We all had an amazing time.....can't wait to come back nect year
Aug 11, 2014
Although the park is great and very clean, the sites are on top of eachother and we were stuck next to some really bad people. I would love a phone call to discuss this in further detail as talking to the people at the camp ground that weekend was worthless. We had a HORRIBLE experience
Aug 11, 2014
On full hookup site 117 and 116 there seems to be a sewer problem. Will not empty pipe for complete dumping of tanks.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.