Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME AT HERKIMER KOA. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK NEXT YEAR. WE LOVED ALL THE ACTIVITIES THERE ARE FOR EVERYONE. ONLY IMPROVEMENT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ARE THE SHOWERS. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO REGULATE THE WATER TEMPERATURE. WAS EITHER COLD OR TOO HOT. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE TOILETS WERE FLUSHED.
Aug 25, 2014
Beautiful, clean, well kept great sites
Aug 25, 2014
Great campground. Had everything we needed. Even dinner delivery from nice restaurant. Only thing that would make it even better would be bigger play area for the dog. A place to throw the ball to really get out the energy. Current play area is only good for small dogs. The kids seemed to play more on the agility equipment.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
we enjoyed staying at this kOA there was a little confusion, but was accommodated.overall 5 star
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Great time!!!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We only stayed one night but if traveling through the area with more time we would stay there and take in some of the area attractions.
Aug 24, 2014
The campground itself was beautiful, but the staff was very rude and mismanaged, and the equipment was really outdated, old, and broken. In fact,my children rented their trikes, and we showed them one with a broken pedal & the man went back in the store not knowing my husband was in there and said "those kids are gonna get killed on those things, oh well!!". Really rude and mean.
Aug 23, 2014
The staff was really friendly. All the facilities were quite clean. One night there was a thunderstorm where it downpoured for about 1 hour and then rained for another few hours. Are there protocols for this when there is extreme weather? Perhaps a posting when extreme weather is expected?
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Staff very helpful and friendly
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
We stayed hear in 2008 and loved it so we came back and it's even better now. They have made so many up grades to the park.
Aug 21, 2014
Good campground for families. Bathrooms were filthy because they were not cleaned enough times during the day with the amount of people camping. the dog owners don't pick up the mess from their dogs. management needs to address this problem by riding out in the campground and seeing what's going on.
Aug 21, 2014
this is a top notch campground. plenty to do-movies every nite, very nice pool, the river is great for tubing,diamond mine was fun. very clean great sites, very helpful staff. this is my 2nd time here, we will be back!
Aug 21, 2014
Great location, it rained a lot, there were plenty of things to see and do- covered bridgein salsbury, antiques all around, Herkimer county fair, boat rides. even to just drive around the beautiful countryside. the campground is very clean, run well, staff friendly and accommodating. the river-tubing, and the diamond mines are big fun, we will definitely come again.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Kamper DOG Etiquette is Not followed here  our site was full of poop
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
We were on a full hook up site #71 on the river. The site was very small compared to others but what really bothered us was all we had for a fire was rocks - no fire ring. I asked at the office and was told they didn't think they had any but would check. We didn't hear any more. It was disappointing as part of camping is having a fire and no one got back to us. The sites were not as clean as we ar
Aug 19, 2014
We spent a week here. We enjoyed the pig roast and ice cream social, and bingo. The staff was very friendly. The facilities are very clean. Sites are spacious. We highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 19, 2014
Location is fantastic. We have visited your campground yearly ffor the last 8 years. Now that we have young kids, we'd like to see an ungraded, safer playground and maybe a heated pool. I highly recommend this campground though.
Aug 19, 2014
Camping with the kids and grand-kids was great. Site was perfect for our needs. The rental bikes could use some maintenance as they were banged up kids still had fun with them). Restrooms and showers on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate an 8.
Aug 19, 2014
We stayed 5 nights in a 5th Wheel RV at a pull through site. Site was a nice size and the grounds were well kept. The playgrounds both at the park and the mining site need a serious overhaul. The staff what few we saw were friendly. The activities and information on them seemed disorganized. Previously only stayed at Jellystone's the children felt there was little to do here. Enjoyed Mining.
Aug 19, 2014
We had a great campsite right by the river! It was very relaxing. There was also a lot going on for the kids and they had so much fun!! We have already booked for next year.
Aug 19, 2014
Great camping grounds. Plenty to do and mishaps are easily rectified. Definitely going back.
Aug 19, 2014
Very disappointing.Restroom & showers are dirty and not maintained well. Not enough toilets to handle the amount of people. . Must have been very dry before I got there as the roads were extremely dusty If vehicles traveled at the 5mph limit it was ok but there was no enforcement or even mention of it at sign in. Even the employees exceeded and left clouds of dust behind. One older clerk worthless
Aug 19, 2014
Site was muddy .2sites over dog barking off and on very aggrevating.should have pets only area close to offic so they can hear ,and do something about it!!
Aug 19, 2014
I feel sorry for the cleaning staff due to overuse the floors in the washrooms are always muddy due to guest tracking in either mud or dirt. WE booked a back in with water and were originally placed in with the tenters , after a quick trip back to the office we were given a quiet site near the washrooms.
Aug 19, 2014
Very much enjoyed the stay. I thought the space between sites was good. The grounds were clean . The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I might suggest that you add another sign traveling up from the south on R28, that the entrance to the Kamping area is on the right and it is 500 feet ahead. Not a big deal just thought it may assist folks as the entrance is a shape 90.
Aug 18, 2014
Had a wonderful time as usual, go to this campground every year. All the new improvements are great, such as the new bathouses and lodges. Campground was extremely clean and grounds well kept. Have already made reservations for next year.
Aug 18, 2014
Clean, lots to do, but lots of goose poop, and skunks!!!
Aug 18, 2014
although it rained most of our stay, we did have a great camping experience, thank you
Aug 18, 2014
Plenty of activities for the kids, even if it rains a lot. (Only reason I rated this high.) As adult, not as impressed with campground. Adults/kids constantly running through our site. Not enough bathrooms for size of campground and not cleaned enough. Great if you want party atmosphere. This is not a commune with nature place, especially sites near the river. Diam. Mines and staff awesome.
Aug 18, 2014
This campground is excellent. The staff was very professional and organized. It felt like checking into a hotel/resort. If you have younger children they will be able to enjoy a lot of the scheduled activities. Pizza delivered to the campsite was a nice surprise (for a fee) the Hekimer Diamond Mine across the road, the creek behind the campground with some white water was great.
Aug 18, 2014
site 7 although a very nice site, the store parking lot is right in front of the site entrance and it is continually blocked.many workers use that parking lot as well taking up valuable space is for customers.I think you should consider this problem and do something about it if you can. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2014
Had a great time!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We were glad to share the facilities. Nice time with family and friends. Clean as can be expected (for camping.)
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
This is an awesome KOA. The tubing in the creek is something special. Absolutely beautiful place. Can't wait to go again.
Aug 17, 2014
Wonderful campground. Nice clean site and bathrooms were spotless. The worst part of camping is the dirty bathrooms. Here they are so clean! Workers friendly and helpful!
Aug 16, 2014
We thought it was a great campground, except we would have like to bring our puppy with us, it was extremely hard to leave him home and I feel it is unfair that you don't allow certain dogs in the park. It should be all or nothing.
Aug 16, 2014
A beautiful campsite; very well maintained and at a perfect location. Enjoy staying here every time.
Aug 16, 2014
Arriving quite late and although our paperwork was ready the map of the park to our site was not to scale (we are told this is true by camp staffers). Due to this we ended up in the cabin area where we couldn't turn around our 36' motorhome with car in tow. I had to offload the car and dolly. None of the roads/sites are well marked. My complaint was met with "I hope today is better". Terrible!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.