Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 13, 2013
Sites too small on creekside, sewer connections to close to neighbors patio. Pet area needed mowing, trash can in area overflowing. Sites along creek needed mowing and trimming. Not up to par for KOA. No supplies in store. Shelves were empty.
Jul 12, 2013
Second time we have stayed at KOA Herkimer; it was great as expected. was able to get river site upgrade which was awesome. Enjoyed the mines and walking the riverside. Facilities were clean.Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Very beautiful campground!!! We loved our site by the river we will definitely be staying there again!!!!
Jul 11, 2013
4AM pong ball party behind me scared me the most. Wish I was told that the camp ground was evacuated during the week when I called the day before.
Jul 11, 2013
We stayed one night with a 32' TT. Great deluxe site, prim location on the river. Grounds very clean, staff very pleasant and helpful. Lovely location. Excellent wifi.
Jul 11, 2013
Nice campground with a beautiful setting. Unfortunately they were doing tree maintenance to repair the damage from the flooding. They were cutting a branch above our picnic table! We had to move our table to accommodate them!! Chain saws blazing ten feet from our site both mornings. Unbelievable. We will never return.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Although the weather was not the greatest this year, our group made the best of it and this KOA was very accommodating. Can't wait until next year.
Jul 09, 2013
Only complaint was when we called to inquire on area flooding, we were told everything was fine. Well, that wasn't the truth and Rt. 28 was being worked on by NYSDOT next to the campground, and I didnt like putting my family's safety in jeopardy.
Jul 09, 2013
we had to evacuate our campsite one evening and felt we should have received some compensation
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Just OK. Sites real close together. Coming from Maine, accustomed to more space. Was a little let down as it was listed as awarded top campground in northeast. Not the worst but we have been to many better especially @ $60/night. Bathrooms were clean and staff was friendly. Overall it was OK and would stay again if we come to do mining.
Jul 09, 2013
small clean campground. limited activities in the area. Good food and diamond mine fun for kids across the street
Jul 09, 2013
The area was wet and management could not help that fact due to weather. We stopped there and stayed for the advertisement of the Diamond mine. That was a rip off. The campground was a value and worth staying there just for the campground itself.
Jul 09, 2013
Our site was muddy and difficult to back into. Our neighbor had encroached on an already small site by 6+ feet. The bathrooms were extremely dated and somewhat clean, but not what we normally expect at a KOA.
Jul 08, 2013
We had to be evacuated twice because of the weather (flooding)and they couldn't have been any nicer there. We were treated very kindly and they bent over backwards to help us out and make us comfortable where we had to move for those 2 nights.
Jul 08, 2013
Wonderful friendly staff from check in to maintenance. Sites on creek a little tight but was able to move. Jordan and Chrissy can teach the KOA SummerShiners group how to work with kids, they were amazing, friendly and engaging. Our children already want to go back.
Jul 08, 2013
Thank you for another great stay, we had evacuate on Tuesday because of the weather. Many of us thought that maybe we would receive something for that night. I totally understand that you cannot control the weather. Beside that we had a nice week rain and all.
Jul 08, 2013
Staff very friendly/Campground clean..they do need alittle love n care on the chip and putt golf range..
Jul 08, 2013
even though the river flooded and we were evacuated, all the staff were as accommodating as possible. and even had free breakfast one morning. A special shout-out to 'Chrisy Q' the yoga instructor ( activities manager) at the park. she offered additional yoga classes to fit our schedule.
Jul 08, 2013
Great camp lay out and personnel. Clean, lots to do and yet relaxing! Impressed with agriculture and cultural aspects.
Jul 08, 2013
Could not stay more than a couple hours due to rain and the directive to leave the campground because they were opening the dam up river. Other than that we have stayed here before and enjoyed our stay.
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay, was just an over night, on our way home. While we were there, it was fine. The sites were just a little to close for us.
Jul 07, 2013
Despite the extremely unfavorable weather conditions, the staff provided outstanding service. They did everything they could to make our stay very pleasant and safe. It's no wonder they were rated NUMBER ONE!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
OUT STANDING/SUPURB!!! WITH ALL THE RAIN/FLOODING YOU'D HAVE THOUGHT OUR VACATION WAS RUINED-NOT SO. THE STAFF AND KOA WENT OVER AND ABOVE TAKING CARE OF MY FAMILY DURING THE STRESSFUL EVACUATIONS DUE TO FLOODING/MUDSLIDES ETC... AND THEY TOOK CARE OF US WITH A SMILE ON THEIR FACES AS WELL!! THEY ALL DESERVE BETTER THAN A "SLAP ON THE BACK"! WAY TO GO HERKIMER KOA!!! AND THANK YOU!
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
We had fun. Surprised there isn't an arcade.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Clean campground and friendly staff.
Jul 03, 2013
Campground was very well maintained with lots of activities for all family members. I would strongly recommend this campground. Owner and staff were very friendly professional and accomodating.
Jul 03, 2013
The rain sucked but the staff were friendly and very helpful!!!
Jul 02, 2013
Did a nice job for having such a Large amount of water keep up the good work and I pray that the rain take pity on you folks
Jul 02, 2013
We loved our site on the creek, beautiful. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 02, 2013
A clean and convenient park for overnight travelers
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
It's great, except it would be nice to have a larger site. Every thing else was world class. We had a great time.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
The weather was iffy with the flooding and all if the rain but the campground did a wonderful job! Lots of activities for kids and adults alike. We really enjoyed the scavenger hunt!
Jul 01, 2013
Clean, helpful,great spot on stream,friendly, found many diamonds two pendants and one rind set by them. Happy
Jul 01, 2013
WiFi didn't work and we were there during a flood warning, but it it was otherwise a really great place to stay and we had a great time!
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Our stay was okay. The weather did not corporate very much, as we were ther during all the flooding. The time we spent there was good and we really enjoyed the pool. The people are very friendly and we would love to return in the future.
Jun 30, 2013
This was a good experience at a wonderful park with quiet and spectacular nature in this area.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.